BT50 Suspension Noise

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
V2NR 3.0

BT50 Suspension Noise

Postby V2NR 3.0 » September 21st, 2009, 8:40 pm

Hearing a "clank" on the front driver side every time i go into a pot hole, cross over a speed bump etc. My mechanic buddy was in the car and said all that was needed was a little underwash and a grease down.

But lack thereof, would that cause the noise?

Vehicle under 5000km....going in for 1st service next week.

Its near to impossible that cradle bushings or associated rubbers may need changing already...

Pick up men - respond...

10-01

Postby 10-01 » September 21st, 2009, 9:06 pm

thats a norm i have 2 mazda's they do that all the time wen ever u goin over bumps or into deepp holes u get a noise , under washing may take it away fro a few days depending how and where u drive .... my bt50 doin 75 XXX kms and i was geting that noise since i a few weeks after i bought the van and my suspension has no bad parts remeber u dont have springs in front u have the torsion bar thingee ( i dnt knw the name ) , jus under wash and shock oil and u good to go buddy !!!!!!!!!

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » September 21st, 2009, 9:11 pm

^ Thanks alot dude...under washing in the morn

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » September 21st, 2009, 9:13 pm

thought was only me getting that with the ranger ... guess its the suspension

and the quarry road that van beats daily is not forgiving on the van either....

Postby wagon r » September 21st, 2009, 9:18 pm

i going thru that same thing......last night comin from Biche....everytime i back off the rear suspension weight transfers....i hear creakin from the back.....jumped on the rear bumper a few times....it stopped for awhile.....but....some lit. grease tomorrow for that....

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » September 23rd, 2009, 1:05 pm

so what is it ? - im still getting noise ?

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » September 23rd, 2009, 3:17 pm

booge wrote:so what is it ? - im still getting noise ?

You is not the same man who went offroading and thing?

Maintenance after off road excursions is a must.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » September 23rd, 2009, 9:25 pm

Define mtce.

All the suspension parts are in tact and brand new as the first day. The last time i under-washed was about a month ago. Is it this what you are referring too ? - Underwash and grease down ?

New to this Diesel business - how often do you wash and grease

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » September 24th, 2009, 9:40 am

booge wrote:Define mtce.

All the suspension parts are in tact and brand new as the first day. The last time i under-washed was about a month ago. Is it this what you are referring too ? - Underwash and grease down ?

New to this Diesel business - how often do you wash and grease

Every time u go offroad is serious mud and salt and etc...

Underwash the gurl and greease she up :-)

The suspension noise is usually dusty getting trapped inbetween the suspension. As soon as the rain start again u will see it gone.

But seriously, at 5K km u shouldnt be getting so much dust in there... But then again I dunno how much you does do.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » September 24th, 2009, 9:46 pm

cool dude

venum

Postby venum » September 24th, 2009, 10:11 pm

i was hearing a similar noise in my L200

turned out to be 2 broken leaf springs

you can use teh lithium grease between teh spring lifts

or some of teh grease that they use to graese nipples - but this is very messy after a few days

miniray

Postby miniray » September 24th, 2009, 11:10 pm

someone mentioned earlier that these vehicles has a torsion bar in front....my question to anyone that can help...how does this affect the vehicle suspension after it is adjusted to raise or lower the vehicle????....im hoping there is someone out there with some knowledge/experience in this area.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » September 25th, 2009, 3:33 am

bump

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » September 29th, 2009, 10:26 pm

Torsion bars basically use the twiting action of a steel bar to provide the 'spring'..
by adjusting the torsion bar , all you do is rotate the fixed end so raising the cradles.

The net effect is that the suspension has more up travel and less down travel, which depending on the size of your bump stops can strain the torsion bars (plastic deformation) causing a sag thats seen by some vans

i dont know how that relates to the noise you guys are experiencing though.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » September 29th, 2009, 10:46 pm

Good Day,

Today was the first service @ SSL. Changed Oil and Oil filter. The replacement was the Delvac 1300 Full Synthec oil and a K&N Drop in filter. The vehicle moves like a charm now, effortless.

The Suspension Noise which i started this thread with is exactly that - The Torsion Bar. From speaking with the service technician, it was indicated that this "clanking" noise is the most single complaint to the point where it is accepted as the norm.

The only way is to keep it well lubricated and greased up.

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » September 29th, 2009, 10:56 pm

did the noise stop?

what did they grease on the bar?

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » September 30th, 2009, 6:11 am

Stuckindmud wrote:did the noise stop?

what did they grease on the bar?

Yes the noise did infact stop. The guy placed the grease gun on the "insides" of the torsion bar. The general area.

323_guy

Re: BT50 Suspension Noise

Postby 323_guy » August 21st, 2010, 5:23 pm

I got a 2010 Ranger (Bt50 lil brother) wit the same problem, that ANNOYING "Clank".... After about 3months of watchin everyone in Mc Enery scratch their heads in confusion, I got desperate and carried my van to a "Mango tree" mechanic, who i was told is really good with rangers, he adjusted the torsion bars, and just like that, de noise gone!! pparently, (I was told) the torsion bars can be ajusted, and most mechanics make the mistake of assuming that over-tightening it is better.

Once again, im not an expert, but wat he told me is that wen the T.Bar is too tight, it makes a "Clank!" noise wen ur van hits a bump, depreesion, or comes to a sudden stop. Wat u actaully hear is the underbody ladder frame, attempting to flex, and the bar, if too rigid makes that clanking noise as it resists flexure... All i know (and care about, is de mnoise stop! lol..

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » August 21st, 2010, 8:01 pm

cool...so slackening it is the solution ?

323_guy

Postby 323_guy » August 22nd, 2010, 2:21 pm

worked 4 me.... but check a guy dat kno wat he doin.... u doh wanna over slacken it either

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » August 24th, 2010, 4:26 pm

Adjusting the torsion bar too low or high will cause wear on the CV joint. Before making any adjustment the torsion bolts should be sprayed with WD40 for a few days and the front of the van should be lifted off, to release the pressure off the bar when turning the bolts, these bolts have been known to snap with such force the bolt can burst through the flooring. A good pratice is to place a board between the flooring and the bolt.

Risiing too high also gives the van more body roll and rides like shiet.......

323_guy

Postby 323_guy » August 24th, 2010, 10:56 pm

Good info.... Cuz I doh kno NUTTING under my van... lol... Tell me something, I know a van will never ride smooth like a limo, bu is there any adjustment you can make to reduce the jitteriness? ... especially in the back?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 25th, 2010, 7:01 am

Listen to the noise at 1:32 in that video (and ignore the shiddy intro music & scary-looking european man).

V2NR - did your truck sound like that in the back?

323_guy

Postby 323_guy » August 25th, 2010, 5:04 pm

Im no expert, but CLEARLY his suspension needs grease.... Sounds like the leaf springs... My noise was more of a definite "CLAK" anytime i stop suddenly, or hit a depression (especially when descending a hill).

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » August 26th, 2010, 4:56 am

lighthammer wrote:

Listen to the noise at 1:32 in that video (and ignore the shiddy intro music & scary-looking european man).

V2NR - did your truck sound like that in the back?

Light Sometimes it sounds like that, but thats when its in need of a lil grease up and underwash. Other than that, negative bro

babygirl

Postby babygirl » September 15th, 2015, 10:40 pm

Finally found out exactly what causes that creaking/cracking/clack noise heard when going over humps etc. Its the torsion bar adjustment bolt. The fix is very easy.
1. Jack up the front of the van just until wheels are off the ground
2. Spray wd40 on the adjustment bolt
3. Tighten the bolt exactly 8 complete turns using a breaker bar and 17mm socket (clockwise)
4. To the entire excess of the bolt above the adjuster apply a generous coating of heavy duty grease (bearing grease)
5. Back out the bolt exactly 8 complete turns (anticlockwise) to ensure that the grease gets into the adjuster threads and the bolt is back to its original position
6. Repeat process for other side.
7. Say goodbye to the annoying noise.

Its also good if you measure front end height before and after job to ensure no height alteration or alignment offset.
Let me know how this helps

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”