What oil can I use up to 10000k
Posted: September 19th, 2009, 10:26 am
by RishiG
hey fellas an ladies hear wha nah I hav a frontier but I livin penal working up Santa Cruz and hav evening classes in Omeara UTT so right now my oil need changing but I doing dat drive everyday so I need ah oil dat can hold up to those conditions. thanks....
Posted: September 19th, 2009, 12:41 pm
by sweeks
Couple of the guys use Mobil Delvac1 and Amsoil ... both full synthetic oil. I use Delvac1 and run it up to 7500km (1kz-te) .... some of the guys go up to 10 000km.
If it's a high mileage engine (over 100 000km) and already broken in , I wouldn't recommend using it at this point.
The new common rail engines can safely go up to 10 000km between oil changes.
Do some research and see what you come up with.
Posted: September 19th, 2009, 1:31 pm
by equipped2ripp
use a fully synthetic as sweeks said...
he could use the synthetic if it's over 100K, I used the Castrol Syntec Blend and the Castrol Hypuron when my Frontier was well over 100K without any problems... sometimes I used to change oil every 12000kms when I didn't get the change to change it at 5000 or 7500.
Posted: September 19th, 2009, 6:27 pm
by RishiG
ok guys I was browsing 3ne2nr and saw some guys got an Amsoil 15/40 for diesel...i also saw some guys talkin about royal purple...anyone got any feedback about the royal purple.....
Posted: September 19th, 2009, 8:26 pm
by V2NR 3.0
None - Follow your vehicle's manual and recommended intervals at changing oil
Posted: September 20th, 2009, 10:26 am
by RishiG
I buy the royal purple...15/40 will let you guys know how it perfroms....
Posted: September 27th, 2009, 11:12 am
by Dj_Bee
bump....
i gotta change my oil in my frontier soon, last change i did i flushed the engine and used the castrol hypuron 15w40...still noticed that it was smoking
the engine is currently doing 68k km
what oil do you all reccomend?
Posted: September 27th, 2009, 6:42 pm
by RishiG
I find the royal purple ok nothing spectacular buh wha yuh guh do...I think i goin use the amsoil 15/40 I hear it bess....but DJ try ah use ah fuel treatment for d smoking maybe dat shud help amsoil also has one i seeing selling.....
Posted: September 27th, 2009, 9:01 pm
by sweeks
Dj_Bee wrote:bump....
i gotta change my oil in my frontier soon, last change i did i flushed the engine and used the castrol hypuron 15w40...still noticed that it was smoking
the engine is currently doing 68k km
what oil do you all reccomend?
Dude whatever you decide on, remember we get the worst diesel you can find ... so it's virtually impossible to eliminate all of the smoking.
The best advice we can give is to change the oil regularly and use a high quality filter.
Posted: October 20th, 2009, 10:32 am
by sweeks
speedaholic wrote:sakura fitlers ftw
Wouldn't recommend them for 10 000km services ....
Posted: October 21st, 2009, 1:48 am
by equipped2ripp
OEM if you going for the long haul...
Posted: October 21st, 2009, 6:35 am
by Strugglerzinc
RishiG wrote:I find the royal purple ok nothing spectacular buh wha yuh guh do...I think i goin use the amsoil 15/40 I hear it bess....but DJ try ah use ah fuel treatment for d smoking maybe dat shud help amsoil also has one i seeing selling.....
What exactly you lookin for the oil to do that it becomes spectacular?
Sweeks mentioned the Mobil and the Amsoil in the first place...

Posted: October 21st, 2009, 3:43 pm
by devonramphal
is it normal for oil in diesel engines to go a brown tan colour after say 1500kms?
I using Amsoil an its geting a tan colour right now spoke to some friends and they said diesel getting black or even tan is normal just ah fact of diesel engines
Can any one shed some light on this
Posted: October 25th, 2009, 9:29 pm
by brams112
all diesel oils turn black after awhile,,,,,,,,,,,this is the a normal thing,,,,,
Posted: October 26th, 2009, 8:29 am
by Cooper
devonramphal wrote:is it normal for oil in diesel engines to go a brown tan colour after say 1500kms?
I using Amsoil an its geting a tan colour right now spoke to some friends and they said diesel getting black or even tan is normal just ah fact of diesel engines
Can any one shed some light on this
It's supposed to be black, what's the mileage on your vehicle? If it's brown you could have a blown head gasket resulting in coolant mixing with oil.
Posted: October 26th, 2009, 12:34 pm
by Greypatch
Change every 5k man...it eh no big thing
Posted: October 27th, 2009, 8:06 am
by devonramphal
well its bout 1500kms its kinda black now
Glad to know its a norm with Diesel engines