What oil can I use up to 10000k

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
RishiG

What oil can I use up to 10000k

Postby RishiG » September 19th, 2009, 10:26 am

hey fellas an ladies hear wha nah I hav a frontier but I livin penal working up Santa Cruz and hav evening classes in Omeara UTT so right now my oil need changing but I doing dat drive everyday so I need ah oil dat can hold up to those conditions. thanks....

sweeks

Postby sweeks » September 19th, 2009, 12:41 pm

Couple of the guys use Mobil Delvac1 and Amsoil ... both full synthetic oil. I use Delvac1 and run it up to 7500km (1kz-te) .... some of the guys go up to 10 000km.

If it's a high mileage engine (over 100 000km) and already broken in , I wouldn't recommend using it at this point.

The new common rail engines can safely go up to 10 000km between oil changes.

Do some research and see what you come up with.

Postby equipped2ripp » September 19th, 2009, 1:31 pm

use a fully synthetic as sweeks said...

he could use the synthetic if it's over 100K, I used the Castrol Syntec Blend and the Castrol Hypuron when my Frontier was well over 100K without any problems... sometimes I used to change oil every 12000kms when I didn't get the change to change it at 5000 or 7500.

RishiG

Postby RishiG » September 19th, 2009, 6:27 pm

ok guys I was browsing 3ne2nr and saw some guys got an Amsoil 15/40 for diesel...i also saw some guys talkin about royal purple...anyone got any feedback about the royal purple.....

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » September 19th, 2009, 8:26 pm

None - Follow your vehicle's manual and recommended intervals at changing oil

RishiG

Postby RishiG » September 20th, 2009, 10:26 am

I buy the royal purple...15/40 will let you guys know how it perfroms....

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » September 27th, 2009, 11:12 am

bump....

i gotta change my oil in my frontier soon, last change i did i flushed the engine and used the castrol hypuron 15w40...still noticed that it was smoking
the engine is currently doing 68k km

what oil do you all reccomend?

RishiG

Postby RishiG » September 27th, 2009, 6:42 pm

I find the royal purple ok nothing spectacular buh wha yuh guh do...I think i goin use the amsoil 15/40 I hear it bess....but DJ try ah use ah fuel treatment for d smoking maybe dat shud help amsoil also has one i seeing selling.....

sweeks

Postby sweeks » September 27th, 2009, 9:01 pm

Dj_Bee wrote:bump....

i gotta change my oil in my frontier soon, last change i did i flushed the engine and used the castrol hypuron 15w40...still noticed that it was smoking
the engine is currently doing 68k km

what oil do you all reccomend?

Dude whatever you decide on, remember we get the worst diesel you can find ... so it's virtually impossible to eliminate all of the smoking.

The best advice we can give is to change the oil regularly and use a high quality filter.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 20th, 2009, 10:32 am

speedaholic wrote:sakura fitlers ftw

Wouldn't recommend them for 10 000km services ....

Postby equipped2ripp » October 21st, 2009, 1:48 am

OEM if you going for the long haul...

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 21st, 2009, 6:35 am

RishiG wrote:I find the royal purple ok nothing spectacular buh wha yuh guh do...I think i goin use the amsoil 15/40 I hear it bess....but DJ try ah use ah fuel treatment for d smoking maybe dat shud help amsoil also has one i seeing selling.....

What exactly you lookin for the oil to do that it becomes spectacular?

Sweeks mentioned the Mobil and the Amsoil in the first place... :roll:

devonramphal

Postby devonramphal » October 21st, 2009, 3:43 pm

is it normal for oil in diesel engines to go a brown tan colour after say 1500kms?
I using Amsoil an its geting a tan colour right now spoke to some friends and they said diesel getting black or even tan is normal just ah fact of diesel engines

Can any one shed some light on this

Postby brams112 » October 25th, 2009, 9:29 pm

all diesel oils turn black after awhile,,,,,,,,,,,this is the a normal thing,,,,,

Cooper

Postby Cooper » October 26th, 2009, 8:29 am

devonramphal wrote:is it normal for oil in diesel engines to go a brown tan colour after say 1500kms?
I using Amsoil an its geting a tan colour right now spoke to some friends and they said diesel getting black or even tan is normal just ah fact of diesel engines

Can any one shed some light on this

It's supposed to be black, what's the mileage on your vehicle? If it's brown you could have a blown head gasket resulting in coolant mixing with oil.

Postby Greypatch » October 26th, 2009, 12:34 pm

Change every 5k man...it eh no big thing

devonramphal

Postby devonramphal » October 27th, 2009, 8:06 am

well its bout 1500kms its kinda black now
Glad to know its a norm with Diesel engines

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”