Tech Thread - Nissan Frontier, Navara, Pathfinder.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
robbieg

Postby robbieg » April 13th, 2009, 9:34 pm

biggy82 wrote:it is when you come to a complete stop and the tranny auto selects 1st gear. the tranny engages the diff in preparation to move the vehicle forward
Greypatch wrote:Kinda feels like someone hit u from de back.

Ok,, So it is an automatic thing......Cheers

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » May 7th, 2009, 8:08 am

bump....Nav owners may want to check their chassis to frame bolts as they may run slack. you will know when they are coming loose when you start to hear squeaking noises when driving over bumpy roads. those bolts have no locktite on them so i suggest that you put some

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » May 7th, 2009, 8:08 am

EDIT: double post 8-)

Aaron, suppossed to have it; will check later and post it up
Last edited by biggy82 on May 7th, 2009, 9:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 7th, 2009, 8:19 am

^ had mine tightened already and its still making noise after a couple days...steups..i feel ill have to do it myself instead of goin into massy again..for the third time....

biggy you got a diagram for the location of bolts?

Postby Greypatch » May 7th, 2009, 1:54 pm

noise (squeaks) seem to be a problem

how can it be solved ?

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 7th, 2009, 2:00 pm

^ wait u get urs already??

my noise come and go...especially after taking like a 2 hr drive, its freaking annoying....

trinirider

Postby trinirider » May 7th, 2009, 2:37 pm

badart wrote:^ good info,,,where;s a good place to use 4WD..somewhere not far?...i never really use my 4WD....jus test it out in a savannah

Caroni where the farmers plant rice if you get stuck the farmers will help you
they have big 4x4 tractors there have fun.

Postby Greypatch » May 8th, 2009, 6:24 am

bump....Nav owners may want to check their chassis to frame bolts as they may run slack. you will know when they are coming loose when you start to hear squeaking noises when driving over bumpy roads. those bolts have no locktite on them so i suggest that you put some

how come the bolts loosen so fast are u sure this is the problem ?

can it be something else...

aaron waiting on some paper work
Last edited by Greypatch on June 29th, 2009, 12:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 9th, 2009, 9:27 am

biggy82, who u got to tighten yours??

i fed up talk to dem fawkers at massy

neckto

Postby neckto » May 11th, 2009, 10:50 am

maybe some sort of defect?
excessive vibrations causing it maybe?

Postby Greypatch » May 11th, 2009, 5:41 pm

so alluh new and noisy ?

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » May 11th, 2009, 6:03 pm

Aaron, the files i have are in PDF format and ah seeing some pressure to attach them here.....will give you what i have when i get back

yea boi Patchie....wifey going to organize it sometime this week by my mech

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 13th, 2009, 11:30 am

yea boy dem squeaks rel firetruck annoying

so who u goin by to go it? avg cost

Postby Greypatch » May 13th, 2009, 2:29 pm

not sure what u said there pal...

so what is the solution to the noise.

I cannot believe bolts loosen so quickly...

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » May 13th, 2009, 4:25 pm

Same problem i had with the bolts running slack... three times i took it to Massy and after a week it started back... my solution...

I bought locktite, and a saturday evening, my bro and i put it on all nuts on the under carriage, then went back to the engine bay and did a shock oil spray...

all squeking stops till it rains and/or u drive thru water...

On another note... you all still take u r vans to Massy for service... i just did the first one and stop after that...

No Fuel problems thus far, i am very particular where i full diesel, and it is only one service station i full in 95% of the times...

The Diff backlash is a normal/defect i think... which ever way u look at it... but it think it has something to do with the gear selection as biggy said and also, it is magnified with the larger rim size u run...

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 13th, 2009, 4:37 pm

so all bolts need removing and lock tight put on??

Postby Greypatch » May 13th, 2009, 6:51 pm

Nav owners may want to check their chassis to frame bolts as they may run slack

So its just the bolts for the tray ? or both tray and cab ?

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » May 14th, 2009, 4:41 am

ray786 wrote:I bought locktite, and a saturday evening, my bro and i put it on all nuts on the under carriage, then went back to the engine bay and did a shock oil spray...

all squeking stops till it rains and/or u drive thru water...

and this is why my mechanic wants to remove each bolt, grease it, then replace it with locktite at the end. this will prevent that squeak you hear after rainfall

it will be done tomorrow and i will keep you guys updated

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » May 14th, 2009, 7:19 am

We did not remove the nuts completly, threaded them out abt 1/4 inch and put the locktite... the tray bolts are the most notorious... cab not so much... but i was just fed up with the noise so we did all... it took like abt 2hrs, not long...

Also the 'lef springs' at the back and front end's between each 'lift' is a piece of 'plastic' i suggest you go in a machine shop, and get teflon ones made... you will need 4 for each side... and replace the plastic one the van came with, this will reduce/eliminate most of the suspension noise you may/may not be hearing...

The teflon should be tapered to one end, it should be a square, 3" x 2" tapered from abt 2" to one end, the non tapered end should be 5mm thick and the tapered end should be abt 3mm.

:)

Postby Greypatch » May 14th, 2009, 7:40 am

good info man

Rah

Postby Rah » May 18th, 2009, 5:05 am

Hey Guys, quick question. I also have a Navara , TCJ approaching about 15000 KM. All services done so far at Massey but i really want to try another option, i dont get the feeling that i am getting my money's worth in the service. Where do you guys do your servicing? Or is it a case of DIY ?

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » May 18th, 2009, 5:35 am

N&M will under no circumstances honor the warranty if the vehicle is not serviced by them during the warranty period. it is not like TTTL.

when you get off of warranty, there are good mechs out there who can fix you up

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 18th, 2009, 7:05 am

on N&M or MasterServ...nowhere else otherwise your warranty would be void

Postby Greypatch » May 18th, 2009, 8:34 am

not true ..u can miss a service in between...and u are still ok

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » May 18th, 2009, 9:56 am

Greypatch wrote:not true ..u can miss a service in between...and u are still ok

since when? :?

Rah

Postby Rah » May 18th, 2009, 1:10 pm

This is a grey area still, i spoke to a service guy about two months ago and the impression he gave me is that you can do some services outside and still have the warranty honoured. I think each warranty is handled on a per case basis, but im not sure. Ne way i would like to do the smaller services outside. What options ?

Postby Greypatch » May 18th, 2009, 6:25 pm

once you dont miss 2-3 straight services yuh ok..

Q. How long did it take for the squeaks to happen

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » May 19th, 2009, 2:22 am

Greypatch wrote:Q. How long did it take for the squeaks to happen

i had my van 16 months before i heard squeaking

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » May 19th, 2009, 4:07 pm

^^ yeh just abt a year and a half for me...

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » May 25th, 2009, 12:09 am

bump....so far so good, no squeaking :wink:

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”