Tech Thread - Ford Ranger

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » June 29th, 2009, 10:32 pm

Cooper wrote:In a nutshell...

The WLT is a 12valve TurboCharged Engine. It's very powerful on a Ranger you can rip tires up to 3rd gear on a manual tranny.

The DuraTorq 2.5 is 16 valves and has a better turbo that not only delivers better fuel economy but more power.

...this is why GoSlow liking heself now with the 3.0 :twisted:

That is the truth right there brother!

I drove up terra cita today for "sheits n grins" ... Now let me say, when I was testing the Navara, the salesman told me to drive up there so I could feel the power,
I'll tell you now, the Navara is quicker up top (hp) than the Ranger on flat ground, but for torque, there's no contest, the Ranger is king!

My Ranger barreled up that hill like it was a speed bump! Effortless climbing, and for those that know the hill, the last turn before the top is quite steep and sharp. The Navara got stuck there (no lsd) and we had to roll back and take it with speed to get up with the 4wd on ...

The Ranger however, just cruised through (2wd whole trip) and torqued it's way through that corner, there was some wheel spin, but the lsd did it's thing and I was just grinning and having fun.

Awesome friggin truck!

neckto

Postby neckto » July 1st, 2009, 10:57 am

sweet
congrats go slow
was folowwing your other thread and gald u got somethig u love

now take some pics of the interoir nah

Postby wagon r » July 1st, 2009, 12:16 pm

i guess i'm no longer the Lone Ranger... :mrgreen:

Cooper

Postby Cooper » July 1st, 2009, 12:24 pm

^^^Hopefully the numbers will continue to grow..... 8-)

Postby Greypatch » July 1st, 2009, 1:07 pm

misery loves company....

*pulls off**

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » July 1st, 2009, 2:24 pm

Greypatch wrote:misery loves company....

*pulls off**

*Greypatch get's stuck due to a lack of LSD and power and I barrel over his arse*

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » July 1st, 2009, 8:04 pm

wagon r wrote:i guess i'm no longer the Lone Ranger... :mrgreen:

Ay Boy, I have a Ranger!!! 8-)

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » July 11th, 2009, 10:44 pm

killerhyundai-DET wrote:

Thought you were rocking a D-Max?

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » July 11th, 2009, 11:16 pm

Never!

I have a TBW Ford Ranger Limited workhorse: 167,000kms and counting, and still going strong! :mrgreen:

When I change vehicles, is a 3.0L Manual I want! (even if I have to order it and wait for it!)

Cooper

Postby Cooper » July 12th, 2009, 8:04 am

^^ Order before the end of this month, you'll get it in December ^^

I personally cannot wait that long....... :mrgreen:

Samo

Postby Samo » July 24th, 2009, 7:22 am

hey there...i got my Ranger XL yesturday....Love it so far :D

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 24th, 2009, 8:55 pm

so wait there is a waiting time for the new rangers?

samdam

Postby samdam » July 24th, 2009, 11:34 pm

IN THAILAND MAZDA AN FORD IS A ALLIANCE.THE 2010 MAZDA 3 AN 2010 FORD FOCUS IS THE SAME AN IT IS BUILT IN THAILAND.BUT STILL CAN TOUCH THE NISSAN NAVARA.

samdam

Postby samdam » July 24th, 2009, 11:44 pm

THE NISSAN NAVARA HAS 174HP WHILE THE FORD HAS 156HP.THE FORD HAS SLIGHTLY A LITTLE MORE TORQUE THAN THE NISSAN NAVARA.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » July 25th, 2009, 7:18 am

civic minded wrote:so wait there is a waiting time for the new rangers?

Just for the 'Special Orders'.... if you want a different configuration that isn't in their standard list of options, they will have to check to see if Ford sells your requested configuration in our region. If it is available in our region, they will put in and order for you to have the vehicle built and sent over in the next shipment.

ztune

Postby ztune » July 25th, 2009, 9:00 am

I finally got to see these vehicles up close. It looks really swell, especially with the touch of black in the headlights.

HondaHo de 1st

Postby HondaHo de 1st » July 25th, 2009, 9:43 am

samdam wrote:THE NISSAN NAVARA HAS 174HP WHILE THE FORD HAS 156HP.THE FORD HAS SLIGHTLY A LITTLE MORE TORQUE THAN THE NISSAN NAVARA.

if your navara could pass where my ranger does pass....................READ WELL EH..............I'll buy you any CASE of your favorite drink...

yuh only have one try eh........so is either yuh pass or yuh stick....

IF HOWEVER YOU DON'T PASS.................YOU HAVE TO PUT THIS STICKER ON YUH BACK GLASS

"MY A S S IS IN A NISSAN.............BUT MY HEART IS IN A FORD"

WHAT YUH SAY? YUH GAME???

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » July 25th, 2009, 9:57 am

HondaHo de 1st wrote:
samdam wrote:THE NISSAN NAVARA HAS 174HP WHILE THE FORD HAS 156HP.THE FORD HAS SLIGHTLY A LITTLE MORE TORQUE THAN THE NISSAN NAVARA.

if your navara could pass where my ranger does pass....................READ WELL EH..............I'll buy you any CASE of your favorite drink...

yuh only have one try eh........so is either yuh pass or yuh stick....

IF HOWEVER YOU DON'T PASS.................YOU HAVE TO PUT THIS STICKER ON YUH BACK GLASS

"MY A S S IS IN A NISSAN.............BUT MY HEART IS IN A FORD"

WHAT YUH SAY? YUH GAME???

LOCO

Postby LOCO » July 25th, 2009, 10:10 am

killerhyundai-DET wrote:

Me too! and lovin it!

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » July 25th, 2009, 10:17 am

Hondaho, if my ranger could pass will you buy me a case of my favorite drink too?
Lol!

HondaHo de 1st

Postby HondaHo de 1st » July 25th, 2009, 11:24 am

killerhyundai-DET wrote:Hondaho, if my ranger could pass will you buy me a case of my favorite drink too?
Lol!

yuh driving ah ford so yuh good tuh go....

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » July 26th, 2009, 1:15 pm

HondaHo de 1st wrote:
killerhyundai-DET wrote:Hondaho, if my ranger could pass will you buy me a case of my favorite drink too?
Lol!

yuh driving ah ford so yuh good tuh go....

BLESS! I will collect at the next diesel boys run....

BTW I still waiting on the stuff we talked about on Sat eh. :wink:

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » July 27th, 2009, 8:10 am

So one month with the Ranger!

Pros:

1. The truck is particularly fun to drive at night or on a cool day ... Very torquey and responsive

2. I do mainly city driving and I get about 300K per 3/4 tank ... about 60$ diesel ...
Goes up to over 400K per $60 of diesel for highway driving. Note I drive very aggressively ;-) This is basically less that half of my previous premium bill, with the same route ... Win!

3. Build quality is superb, broken pavement and trinidad's best potholes are handled with aplomb. Truck feels rock solid over bumps and ruts.

4. The handling (for a big arse 4x4) is brilliant and predictable. Very nice ride and cornering ... The truck will do more than I'm willing to do in a 4x4 on Carenage's bending winding roads. Nice ...

5. No buyers remorse! I'd buy another tomorrow, if this one disappeared, without hesitation!

Cons (there must be something I don't like):

1. the Nav's and the 3.0 Hiluxes have better top end, but they don't have the low end punch of the Ranger! Anyway, Spider chip for that! This truck with 30 more hp or so will be perfect :twisted:

2. I passed and bent my front number plate by accident, so I had to take it off to bend it back ... This was the most complicated job in the world! Maybe I'm a little daft and another Ranger owner can chime in, but there's a little plate that the screw goes into, that's held in place by nothing. Take out the screw and the plate falls away. Fine, just push it and hold it in place and screw back in right? To get access to place and hold the place requires that the 'placer' be a slim built skilled contortionist ... Luckily my wife is fit and flexible ... HAS to be an easier way ...

3. The back seat doesn't fold flat, and there's no under seat storage in the back ... Not a big deal for me, but it would be nice

I've since installed a bedliner ... gonna see if I get some side steps today. Wonderful truck, love driving it.

I only ever fill at the Park and Edward Street station ...

Not a single issue to date. Will keep everyone informed.

nick009

Postby nick009 » August 2nd, 2009, 5:15 pm

anybody drove the 2.5 4x4 manual?
how is it compared to the 2.5 automatic ?
i think the auto is duratorq and d manual is wlt

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » August 2nd, 2009, 6:56 pm

nick009 wrote:anybody drove the 2.5 4x4 manual?
how is it compared to the 2.5 automatic ?
i think the auto is duratorq and d manual is wlt

Correct, I drove both ... (well I drove the manual wlt in the mazda) and the 2.5 duratorq auto in the ranger.

The power delivery between the two for normal driving is not far off, I'd actually be hard pressed to tell the difference between the two if someone drove me blindfolded in each.

If you like manual, go with the wlt, if you need auto go with the duratorq 2.5.

If you want grunt, go with the 3.0 ...

devonramphal

Postby devonramphal » August 2nd, 2009, 8:23 pm

Yea i agrre the space behind an under the back seat is limited but i find the cabin space is quite good diesel consumption is great can't complain one tank goes about 400 kms for me both highway an short runs.Have yet to try the servicing at Ford trinidad any advice ?

bredder78

2010 Ranger

Postby bredder78 » August 10th, 2009, 4:09 pm

Hey guys, I got another 'con' for you I can't find the dipstick for the transmission fluid..... :shock: ....

Got mine about three weeks now........luv it.. 8-)

Mr. Go Slow

Re: 2010 Ranger

Postby Mr. Go Slow » August 10th, 2009, 5:17 pm

bredder78 wrote:Hey guys, I got another 'con' for you I can't find the dipstick for the transmission fluid..... :shock: ....

Got mine about three weeks now........luv it.. 8-)

No con, it's a completely sealed maintenance free unit! :twisted:

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 10th, 2009, 8:56 pm

Go Slow ... help me get this right ... there is no dip stick for the auto. Ranger?

If so, what the recommended interval for the transmission fluid? Is it the same for the 2.5 and 3.0 auto?

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » August 10th, 2009, 10:14 pm

sweeks wrote:Go Slow ... help me get this right ... there is no dip stick for the auto. Ranger?

If so, what the recommended interval for the transmission fluid? Is it the same for the 2.5 and 3.0 auto?

Correct, no dip stick! Completely sealed!

According to the manual, replace tranny fluid every quarter million kilometers!! :shock: :shock:

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”