meh b2500 feelin rell sluggish
Posted: January 22nd, 2009, 7:17 pm
by mrboxman
i have a b2500 turbo 2.5l
i dont have a boost gauge installed but it feels like boost comes in at about 2500 to 3000 rpm
but to get to that rpm takes forever
the acceleration is very slow and top end is non existant i prolly reach about 130 on a really long stretch
any ideas to what may be the cause of this?
i service fairly regularly and use cetane etc
oh the engine is under 70000 kms
thanks
Posted: January 22nd, 2009, 8:02 pm
by Stuckindmud
fuel filter , and fuel pump strainer , clean it .. or so i hear from the WL guru`s around

Posted: January 22nd, 2009, 8:11 pm
by dlion
Well,
1. you have to be in the right gear
2. you have to press the accleratr
3. Check your air filter. Diesel needs plenty air
4. Check fuel filter - drain, if lots of water / dregs - replace
5. Water in fuel, emulsion. Drain some liquid from fuel tank to check quality of fuel.
6. Injectors may be plugged - check / clean
7. Carbon on valve seats - loss of comprsn
8. Low fuel pressure - Fuel pump seals leaky / pressure relief valve faulty
9. Any noise? worn or broken rings? Excessive blowby, loss of comprsn in cylinders
Posted: January 23rd, 2009, 7:44 am
by bt50
start by changing fuel /air filters and cleaning strainer. I hope you not adding cetane boost more than the required amount plus i put 2-3 ounces every 2 fill ups.
if you find alot of water in fuel filter as dlion said check fuel tank as well.
Posted: January 23rd, 2009, 8:20 am
by mrboxman
i changed fuel filter about 2 weeks ago
i put cetane every 3/4 fillups about 2 oz per tank
when i checked the strainer there was no strainer
at what rpm is boost supposed to come in ?
Posted: January 23rd, 2009, 4:41 pm
by damieG82
are u getting any louder-than-normal whistling/hissing sound while accelerating? If so could be an intake leak or blown turbo
Posted: January 23rd, 2009, 8:24 pm
by Stuckindmud
Mr Boxman, 3stagevtec had some trouble finding the strainer too, start with eliminating the simple stuff first.
he also had agood post on what he did when he was having similar problem,
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... highlight=
3stage - whey yuh !!
Posted: January 23rd, 2009, 9:18 pm
by mrboxman
no abnormal sounds from the turbo
i checked that post but there definately isnt anything in there i dont know if the previous owner had it cleaned and lost
i have had the van for approx 1 3/4 years
i recheked the vaccuum hoses and changed the air filter
i got a little better performance but still sluggish imho
Posted: January 24th, 2009, 12:05 am
by mazdaspeed
how are the injectors for this van cleaned like how dey normally service a fuel injected car? mine is a little sluggish as well but more during the day in d nite it like a tief i guess the weather is a factor there..

Posted: January 24th, 2009, 9:41 am
by biggy82
man say press accelerator yes
but seriously, check fuel system thoroughly
Posted: January 24th, 2009, 12:30 pm
by bleedingfreak
Your fuel pump strainer is clogged. If you dont have a good mechanic who knows about it or where it is, PM me.
Posted: January 24th, 2009, 10:13 pm
by 4X4 Trinidad
bleeding freak you are correct .
mrboxman , you can get this problem resolve at our service stations as we specialize in servicing diesel vehicles .
Posted: January 24th, 2009, 11:29 pm
by 3stagevtec
when my pops bought his own, it was pretty sluggish as well.. got a huge improvement in performance when i changed the fuel filter and even more when i washed out the air filter..
i ran 2 bottles of Cyclo injector cleaner (one after the other) through it as well..
i was never able to find the 2nd strainer though.. seems as though the previous owner didn't want it there..

Posted: January 25th, 2009, 11:38 pm
by bleedingfreak
3stagevtec wrote:when my pops bought his own, it was pretty sluggish as well.. got a huge improvement in performance when i changed the fuel filter and even more when i washed out the air filter..
i ran 2 bottles of Cyclo injector cleaner (one after the other) through it as well..
i was never able to find the 2nd strainer though.. seems as though the previous owner didn't want it there..

if i ever meet allyuh i will show you where it is...
kinda hard to describe
Posted: January 26th, 2009, 7:07 pm
by SNIPER 3000
In my engine the strainer is in the inlet to the pump, if you remove the hose and fitting you will not even know there is a strainer there, it has a spring keeping it down and you have to use a screwdriver with a magnetic tip to take it out, it can easily be missed.
CD 17 engine.
Posted: January 27th, 2009, 5:43 pm
by Sabot
bleedingfreak wrote:Your fuel pump strainer is clogged. If you dont have a good mechanic who knows about it or where it is, PM me.
What he said ^^^^^^^
Posted: March 26th, 2009, 7:56 am
by mrboxman
k it wasnt the strainer cuz there wasnt any
took the van to sookhais
rebuilt the fuel pump and replaced the injector tips
van running like new

Posted: March 26th, 2009, 8:20 am
by biggy82
glad you got sorted then

Posted: March 27th, 2009, 2:09 am
by 3stagevtec
mrboxman wrote:k it wasnt the strainer cuz there wasnt any
took the van to sookhais
rebuilt the fuel pump and replaced the injector tips
van running like new

you can rebuild those pumps? interesting..
Posted: March 27th, 2009, 3:17 am
by biggy82
3stagevtec, apparently they have all the internal parts there (brand new, OEM parts). also, the are certified to do the refurb.
Posted: March 27th, 2009, 3:48 am
by equipped2ripp
they change internal parts like pistons and so on... the pistons wear out after time.
mrboxman, how much did it cost you?