Please, Is anything wrong with my Hilux?

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
newto4x4

Please, Is anything wrong with my Hilux?

Postby newto4x4 » December 16th, 2008, 3:23 pm

Its the 4x4 2.5 manual, TCJ. At 4,000km before my first service, the h'way was clear I decided to see what it have. At x-to-board I only got to 140kmph. This was for about five mins with the x all depressed.
Some one told me it has to break in, so no problem.
But yesterday (@8,900 km on speedo) I floored it again for a good few mins and only 140kmph. Is this normal? And also how do you know when the Turbo kicks in?
Thanks guys.

RGF Asset Management

4x4 hilux

Postby RGF Asset Management » December 16th, 2008, 3:56 pm

Perfectly normal as far as I am aware. Doh get more than 140-150 on mine. Exact same model.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » December 16th, 2008, 4:09 pm

its not a Navara yuh buy yunno :roll: :roll: :roll:

Postby Greypatch » December 16th, 2008, 5:43 pm

140....u get plenty dwag.....

Postby wagon r » December 16th, 2008, 8:16 pm

but why would you want to floor a 4x4.......havevn't you seen enough dead 4x4 drivers.... :|

...worse yet yuh doing it on the stretch that is as smooth as riding in a dingy in the bocas......allyuh good we....

Postby Greypatch » December 16th, 2008, 8:20 pm

hilux powaaa

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » December 16th, 2008, 9:30 pm

normal on the 2.5.

boost builds from 1300 rpm - thaz why you dont feel it "KICK IN"

mazdaspeed

Postby mazdaspeed » December 16th, 2008, 9:58 pm

i got 150 IN MY B2500 NOT DOIN IT AGAIN THOUGH... :twisted:

roadhog

Postby roadhog » December 16th, 2008, 10:17 pm

how fast them navara is go biggy?

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » December 17th, 2008, 1:30 am

i hit 160+ already and had to back off cos the van was starting to feel unstable. and dat is stock :twisted:

ray_S.T.R.A_man

Postby ray_S.T.R.A_man » December 17th, 2008, 4:43 am

I don't think vans was meant for speed. I does get 140 for the max 150 was the most going down south on the hill by petrotrin there. My cousin ford ranger 3.0 real fast 170+ but that was a frighting ride. the rangers are pretty good with plenty torque. toyota have better resale value and more durable it think. i don't know i might be biased.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » December 17th, 2008, 4:54 am

might? :roll:

Postby wagonrunner » December 17th, 2008, 5:39 am

i think the l200 warrior was somewhere between 160-170k for top end.

Postby Team Loco » December 17th, 2008, 6:56 am

remember toyotas are built with low end torque in mind. the 2.5 4x4 gives you max 140kms. the 2.5 4x2 can give you as much as 160kms.

but please back off. if you wanna go faster i suggest you put the van up for sale, and buy a fast car :lol:

Postby Greypatch » December 17th, 2008, 7:01 am

them vans cannot be stable at them speeds

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » December 17th, 2008, 7:57 am

mazdaspeed wrote:i got 150 IN MY B2500 NOT DOIN IT AGAIN THOUGH... :twisted:

Yeah I get a 160 with the ole gurl too...

Anyways, for the original poser, I mean poster of the thread. That was a little too soon to be hitting full throttle on the pickup... You only do that after the first service....

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » December 17th, 2008, 8:11 am

the 3.0 lux is well capable of 200 , i hit 19* on the highway - road clear early on a sunday morn.

its not somn i`d reccommend you do.. know yuh vans limits and drive in moderation.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » December 17th, 2008, 8:22 am

i enjoy de acceleration more than the top end....yuh does know when my tobo spool :twisted:

venum

Postby venum » December 17th, 2008, 9:09 am

wagonrunner wrote:i think the l200 warrior was somewhere between 160-170k for top end.

I tell yuh already it is an Animal, we never got warriors locally :)

but, yes i get 170km\h

2.5L intercooler turbo

allyuh direct turbo boys not ready :twisted:

LOCO

Postby LOCO » December 17th, 2008, 11:13 am

I get 160 - 165 on my ranger hurricane quite easily.

Stello

Postby Stello » December 17th, 2008, 12:20 pm

nah man newto4x4,

i just get my TCK 2.5 hilux and the rep tell me that the engines supposed to be pre- broken in. so i hit the south highway a night 1st week i got it and acceleration was good, ran up to abt 150-160 and had to slow down cuz of traffic, but still felt like u can do more.

speedo says 200 is what they can do, i believe more like 180-190 max

but would be very unstable at those speeds.

venum, i accept ur challenge lol :twisted:

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » December 17th, 2008, 1:22 pm

Did a 16x, dont ask me what the x was, all i know is between 160 and 170. I was too busy paying attention to this guy with a ranger in front. :twisted:

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 17th, 2008, 2:39 pm

i got 180 already wit my navara...was doin about 4500rpm in 6th....
prefer cruise about 100-120thought...outta boost and in 6th lol...

snowman

Postby snowman » December 17th, 2008, 2:44 pm

Hit 160+ in the 3.0 Hilux. But i have 24s so i doh think it would've ventured further than that. Plus...i was worried about stopping.

Black Scorpion

Postby Black Scorpion » December 17th, 2008, 2:57 pm

155+ with the 2.5T Frontier..probably more cuz i didnt realise n slowed down..wasnt even mashing the pedal hard

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » December 17th, 2008, 3:55 pm

150km flat out with my hilux..older model by the way..it have a 2L non turbo engine in it. Funny thing is H20 have the same model hilux..same engine and the needle hits the 180km mark.

Black Scorpion

Postby Black Scorpion » December 17th, 2008, 4:18 pm

maybe his tyres smaller :?:

venum

Postby venum » December 17th, 2008, 4:39 pm

Stello wrote:venum, i accept ur challenge lol :twisted:

Toyota men does take chain up faster than their rides can go

yuh have to get in line

a Nav and a 3.0 lux gonna have it out first

then u and me can tango

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » December 17th, 2008, 5:12 pm

but i done run ah 3L Vigo dong de h/way already.....was not much of a contest. :roll:

and he was on stock wheels too :mrgreen:

but the instability scares me so you wont find me doing that often....

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » December 17th, 2008, 5:13 pm

THe Mafia like Jep ...

what yuh expect :lol: :lol: :lol:

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”