Page 1 of 2
HELP!!! Van Buckin
Posted: December 11th, 2008, 9:29 pm
by Ronnie203
what you guys think might be causing this?? its a 2.5 frontier
I thought it was bad diesel, i started to drain the tank, but the fuel was clean.
I changed the fuel filter and the air filter
I put 2 bottle of Redline in the tank...I even ran some redline direct through the pump.
A guy told me their might be a strainer on the intake of the fuel pump that needs cleaning....is this ture ??? anybody know??
Posted: December 11th, 2008, 10:26 pm
by Stuckindmud
i think the strainer is only on the mazda/ford WL`s ..
when and how it buckin?
Posted: December 12th, 2008, 12:49 am
by equipped2ripp
injectors maybe? or even the fuel injector pump...
Posted: December 12th, 2008, 7:32 am
by Greypatch
there is water in the system..have you changed your fuel filter...
also lean your tank...
after taht what is left should burn out at low speeds b4 you attempt to drive normal..
if that does not work you may have to take down your fuel pump and drain it...
Posted: December 12th, 2008, 7:41 am
by Ronnie203
equipped2ripp, what you think injectors gone bad? or just cleaning
Posted: December 12th, 2008, 11:33 am
by equipped2ripp
they could be bad yeah... or it needs cleaning.
you might have to do a bunch of sheit to find the problem though.
Posted: December 12th, 2008, 11:37 am
by biggy82
when i had the proble of bad siesel, the mech said thet the entire fuel rail had to be taken down and cleaned. maybe like Patchie said, there are residual contaminants in your system.
but e2r is right....start with the pump and work forwards....you'll isolate the problem eventually

Posted: December 12th, 2008, 4:11 pm
by Stuckindmud
^^ sceen
there was a guy on the forum said his van used to buck on rough roads only - when he check it was cuz he wore steel toes through the rough roads and as the the van bounced his foot stayed and feathered the throttle causin it to buck !!! lol
Hope is somn minor like this.
Posted: December 13th, 2008, 7:25 am
by Greypatch
problem solved ?
Posted: December 13th, 2008, 9:05 am
by biggy82
Stuckindmud wrote:^^ sceen
there was a guy on the forum said his van used to buck on rough roads only - when he check it was cuz he wore steel toes through the rough roads and as the the van bounced his foot stayed and feathered the throttle causin it to buck !!! lol
haha...this happens on the road fror my house cos the accelerator pedal is quite soft
Posted: December 13th, 2008, 12:12 pm
by Ronnie203
Greypatch wrote:problem solved ?

....i wish....i don't drive with steel toe boots
So i drained the tank and fill new diesel......

same problem
going to do a scan, then work from their
Posted: December 13th, 2008, 4:42 pm
by 3stagevtec
biggy82 wrote:Stuckindmud wrote:^^ sceen
haha...this happens on the road fror my house cos the accelerator pedal is quite soft
i had asked about that in the tech forum once.. our Frontier at work used to buck in 3rd gear alot..
it turned out that it was the heavy steel tip boots i wore + rough roads caused the feathering effect on the throttle.. it used to happen to everyone at work and NO one knew why..

Posted: December 13th, 2008, 6:14 pm
by Stuckindmud
^^ lol the culprit exposed !!

Posted: December 14th, 2008, 5:59 am
by biggy82
see how real simple stuff can have you scratchin head

Posted: February 3rd, 2009, 8:35 am
by prelude2madness
I am experiencing the same problem, were you able to rectify it.
van bucking
Posted: February 7th, 2009, 8:27 am
by prelude2madness
I can do with some help here tuners
Posted: February 7th, 2009, 1:24 pm
by equipped2ripp
prelude2madness, bucking at which speed? which gear?
van bucking
Posted: February 7th, 2009, 5:28 pm
by prelude2madness
The vehicle is bucking from the 2nd gear and up its worst on 3rd and 4th once you run out the gears it starts bucking over 80 kms its really annoying very similar to the problem which generated this tread. So far I have changed all filters origal from massy, drained and cleaned tank, serviced egr valve, serviced injectors and pump now my biggest fear is its the injector pump.
Posted: February 7th, 2009, 11:44 pm
by equipped2ripp
the pump needs to service... pistons in it might be worn etc.
call sookhai's diesel service in chaguanas and organise with them.
it would cost about $10,000 to service it though... unless you could source an injector pump from a crashed vehicle, then yuh on there...
van bucking
Posted: February 10th, 2009, 5:12 pm
by prelude2madness
Changed out the pump with another and experiencing same problems, installed boost gauge and the system holding 14 psi +/_ constantly
Posted: February 10th, 2009, 5:20 pm
by equipped2ripp
prelude2madness, did you decat the vehicle?
go to a good muffler shop and tell them you want to take out the catalyst from it.. they will break it out from underneath the vehicle. it takes like 1/2hr to 45mins to do.
the catalyst could become clogged and dirty, thus affecting the performance.
Posted: February 14th, 2009, 3:26 am
by diddy007
Clean the injector pump strainer. Thats your problem, 99.99% certain. That will cost you some beers.
help van bucking
Posted: February 19th, 2009, 11:25 am
by prelude2madness
there is no strainer in the fuel pump 100% sure
Posted: February 19th, 2009, 6:03 pm
by 3stagevtec
equipped2ripp wrote:the pump needs to service... pistons in it might be worn etc.
call sookhai's diesel service in chaguanas and organise with them.
it would cost about $10,000 to service it though... unless you could source an injector pump from a crashed vehicle, then yuh on there...
SO MUCH!!!!

Posted: February 20th, 2009, 7:17 am
by dbaby
there is no strainer...pm me i could purge the system for you.
Posted: March 9th, 2009, 5:59 pm
by jackal
Dude........
Its your fuel filter, change it out, and don't put the original. The original only give me about 2000 km and then is trouble. Put in an after market, the one for about 35 to 45$$ and your problem solve. If you still getting problems, then you have some real issues, sugest that you carry it to a good diesel mechanic.
Posted: April 21st, 2009, 10:29 pm
by equipped2ripp
Ronnie203, you ever got this sorted out?
was it one of the sensors on the gearbox?
Posted: October 26th, 2009, 8:11 pm
by nick009
interested in answer
Posted: October 26th, 2009, 8:32 pm
by equipped2ripp
yeah it was the neutral sensor... spoke to him about it already.
Posted: November 2nd, 2009, 9:23 am
by Ronnie203
yep....a lil neutral sensor on de gearbox was bad and causing the van to 'buck' the good part about it, it waz only $125

by Massy