What oil u using in ur diesel van?

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
rmrunner

Re: What oil u using in ur diesel van?

Postby rmrunner » July 8th, 2018, 9:26 am

SNIPER 3000 wrote:
rmrunner wrote:Been using the Mobil 1300 super 15w 40 for the last three oil changes and works well. Price is also reasonable at around 160gal. It is low ash so can work with egr and dpf

Where are you getting it for 160?

Tuneup Shop Munroe rd

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » July 8th, 2018, 10:34 am

rmrunner wrote:
SNIPER 3000 wrote:
rmrunner wrote:Been using the Mobil 1300 super 15w 40 for the last three oil changes and works well. Price is also reasonable at around 160gal. It is low ash so can work with egr and dpf

Where are you getting it for 160?

Tuneup Shop Munroe rd

That is a good price i pay 200tt.

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » July 8th, 2018, 1:21 pm

Yupppp

Postby adnj » July 8th, 2018, 7:57 pm

V2NR 3.0 wrote:You all know it’s just a matter of branding right ??? Once the oil meets OEM manual specs
I have been involved in more than few studies on the effects of motor oil on engine wear. Maintaining proper oil level, air filter maintenance, changing the oil filter, using the proper service/certification spec of oil, and the correct viscosity were key. We saw no significant difference between synthetics and organics

City taxi fleets, police fleets, long haul and delivery truck fleets were checked. Mileage was up to about 250k miles.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » July 8th, 2018, 8:31 pm

adnj wrote:
V2NR 3.0 wrote:You all know it’s just a matter of branding right ??? Once the oil meets OEM manual specs
I have been involved in more than few studies on the effects of motor oil on engine wear. Maintaining proper oil level, air filter maintenance, changing the oil filter, using the proper service/certification spec of oil, and the correct viscosity were key. We saw no significant difference between synthetics and organics

City taxi fleets, police fleets, long haul and delivery truck fleets were checked. Mileage was up to about 250k miles.
Kinda figured out some time ago that it didn't make much difference regarding wear unless i am running my engine ragged.
That is the reason why I'm back using conventional oil, and saving money in the process.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » July 9th, 2018, 7:01 am

Saw this advertised for $241 - anyone using ?

Postby adnj » July 9th, 2018, 4:24 pm

^^ There is a new certification that replaced CJ4 a few years ago. I guess this one didn't get tested in time to qualify.

Ripped from api.org:

API CK-4 and FA-4 will first appear in the API Service Symbol “Donut” on December 1, 2016. This delay in licensing allows marketers time to test their new formulations and ready them for market.

Most truck manufacturers recommending API-licensed CJ-4 engine oils will likely recommend truck owners start using licensed API CK-4 oils as soon as they are available. API CK-4 oils will better protect today’s diesel engines.

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » July 9th, 2018, 10:55 pm

V2NR 3.0 wrote:Image

where? I dont mind trying it

richgold1000

Postby richgold1000 » July 10th, 2018, 6:02 am

Yes using on my bus. No problems at all

Postby Dave » July 10th, 2018, 9:18 am

Np oils are very good. Just because ppl feel it is local it isn't good. However our garage was sponsored by Np and we got oils free and no race care ever suffered an engine oil failure. Now that they have the many different blends I am sure they can compete with the best of them.

Postby adnj » July 10th, 2018, 9:39 am

I very seriously doubt that NP is manufacturing their own synthetic lubricants. Being a local brand, they are likely swapping crude oil for finished lubricants in bulk from someone like BP.

It takes a lot of additives to make just about any type engine lubricant.

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » August 10th, 2018, 11:05 pm

Just FYI i bought this is south today @ $200 /GAL

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 11th, 2018, 2:13 am

So much for NP?

Postby *KRONIK* » August 11th, 2018, 8:29 am

Allyuh, doh laugh at me eh...i accustomed to a set of ole van.

I changed oil for the 1st time in the hilux since i bought it and the next morning i was trying to check the oil level. Everytime i pull the dipstick, i eh seeing no oil, but i feeling the liquid at the end of the dipstick. Turns out the oil was there, just not black....i always thought oil does turn black 1 time in diesel vehicles because thats what i got accustomed to over the years with 2 different ld20t mazdas, 2 fontiers and a l300.

I feel shame

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 11th, 2018, 9:50 am

Doh feel shame na mamoo, i does get catch there too.

But i bought one of those drain pans with markings, amount that comes out goes back in, plus a lil for the oil filter.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 11th, 2018, 9:55 am

Btw update,

Motul oil in Navara, Fortuner and new Bt50 2 changes each.. works well, and definitely reduced the Toyota engine noise in the Fortuner.

Will recommend and continue using it personally.

And I recently changed coolant also in the Nav, the honda coolant (blue) works well for me, will continue with that also.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 11th, 2018, 12:47 pm

Calor wrote:

Just FYI i bought this is south today @ $200 /GAL
Where in South did you find it

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » August 11th, 2018, 3:47 pm

Double R

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 11th, 2018, 3:55 pm

Thanks

Postby adnj » August 12th, 2018, 8:40 am

Take a look in the "Fluid Capacities" section of the vehicle owner's manual. It will give you the precise amount needed to fill the oil pan or the oil pan plus filter.

Sorry kronik but I laughed out loud about the black oil.

nick639v2 wrote:Doh feel shame na mamoo, i does get catch there too.

But i bought one of those drain pans with markings, amount that comes out goes back in, plus a lil for the oil filter.

Postby *KRONIK* » August 12th, 2018, 10:51 am

adnj wrote:Take a look in the "Fluid Capacities" section of the vehicle owner's manual. It will give you the precise amount needed to fill the oil pan or the oil pan plus filter.

Sorry kronik but I laughed out loud about the black oil.

nick639v2 wrote:Doh feel shame na mamoo, i does get catch there too.

Its true...i never experienced clear oil in a deisel engine before.

All the diesels i ever owned were work vehicles which all had like 4-6 previous owners and broken odometers.

2 mazda b1600 with nissan ld20t (old series TAX and TAY)

2 nissan frontiers 1 TBJ with td27 the other a TBW with qd32

1 TBW mitsubishi with a 4d56

So... *shame*

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 12th, 2018, 2:39 pm

I trying to tell people some time now... That just because it is a diesel engine doesn't automatically mean that the oil gets black as soon as you change it; it also doesn't mean that the oil isn't doing its job of cleaning.
Glad you got through... Don't follow the owner's manual recommendations exactly regarding volumes... Use the lowest value you see and then use the dipstick... Hilux manual recommends to much

Postby *KRONIK* » August 12th, 2018, 2:58 pm

I always fill and test with the dipstick.
And re-check the next morning when its really cold.

zaria

Postby zaria » August 18th, 2018, 11:50 am

Anyone know where I can get 80-90 gear oil
Gl 4
So far I’m only getting gl 5

Postby Dave » August 18th, 2018, 11:59 am

Np is gl4

trebornattaj

Postby trebornattaj » August 18th, 2018, 12:09 pm

Recently experienced the clear oil concept as well, had an engine rebuild done on a bt50 , wlt, serviced turbo and oil pump too, everything replaced besides pistons, new oil she'll R4, couldn't see it on the stick for a good while. Eventually turned dark though.

zaria

Postby zaria » August 19th, 2018, 9:19 am

Dave wrote:Np is gl4

The one I was shown Was gl5

I got Valvoline at faiz yesterday
Rated gl4 gl5
$115 qt

Postby pugboy » August 19th, 2018, 11:07 am

I have found since I started using shell r4x the oil is much cleaner than the castrol which the toyota dealer was using.
First couple times I changed myself it was very easy to read dipstick after starting engine and reading
but last couple time I am getting the same hard to read clear dipstick syndrome lol

even spilled some old r4x oil on the ground and even though the oil is black it did not leave very bad stain on the ground when cleaned with purple blaster

I am pouring from a pail into a big plastic juice jug, so have a good idea of how many jugs to refill.

Postby Dave » August 19th, 2018, 12:04 pm

Castrol has more detergents than shell hence the dirtiness quicker. Castrol however has a lower flash so burn off will be higher.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 19th, 2018, 2:26 pm

Dave wrote:Castrol has more detergents than shell hence the dirtiness quicker. Castrol however has a lower flash so burn off will be higher.
Do you have proof of that.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”