What oil u using in ur diesel van?

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
WestIndian424

Re: What oil u using in ur diesel van?

Postby WestIndian424 » August 19th, 2018, 2:37 pm

What oil/body would you folks recommend for a 2010 ranger/BT50 gearbox & rear diff(LSD)?

Postby adnj » August 19th, 2018, 3:39 pm

I don't know about Castrol vs. Shell but oil will blacken depending on the kind of additives in that particular brand.

The number one cause of oil blackening in a diesel engine is soot from unburned fuel/oil during combustion.

All things considered, black oil is still an effective lubricant.
Dave wrote:Castrol has more detergents than shell hence the dirtiness quicker. Castrol however has a lower flash so burn off will be higher.

Postby *KRONIK* » August 19th, 2018, 4:39 pm

Calor wrote:What oil/body would you folks recommend for a 2010 ranger/BT50 gearbox & rear diff(LSD)?
What the manufacturer recommend.

Those ranger are LSD so you will need to get a lsd specific oil.
Most likely gl5 lsd 75w90 for the rear diff
And a gl4 for the gearbox.

Try to get the the specs some someone with a manual.

Postby Dave » August 19th, 2018, 5:02 pm

kamakazi wrote:
Dave wrote:Castrol has more detergents than shell hence the dirtiness quicker. Castrol however has a lower flash so burn off will be higher.
Do you have proof of that.
Oil bible empirical data. Numbers are old but have noticed even though they are a bit old the properties that I have heard in discussion still seems to represent those findings. I have noticed some manufacturers started publishing that data on their products. I started doing my own but time didn't permit.

Postby Dave » August 19th, 2018, 5:07 pm

Some shots of pages I had printed and had on my phone. 10/30 and 10/40 products.
IMG_20150917_203907.jpeg

Postby Dave » August 19th, 2018, 5:10 pm

Others
IMG_20150917_203855.jpeg

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 19th, 2018, 5:35 pm

Ok..pal... I'm glad you acknowledge the age of the information you possess cause those formulations would have undergone significant revisions by now. Also note that the formulation is different in different regions, so I can't see how that document is still relevant today.

That document can be used to make some connections however... Like high tbn oils tend to have more sulfated Ash.

Anyhow... Once the oils are certified and approved by the same groups ... There should be no problem using it as it was intended.

Postby *KRONIK* » August 23rd, 2018, 10:58 am

900kms so far

20180823_103322.jpeg

ru$$ell

What oil u using in ur diesel van?

Postby ru$$ell » August 24th, 2018, 5:18 pm

Dave wrote:Np oils are very good. Just because ppl feel it is local it isn't good. However our garage was sponsored by Np and we got oils free and no race care ever suffered an engine oil failure. Now that they have the many different blends I am sure they can compete with the best of them.

What this guy said, been running NP for the past 11 years in heavy equipment vehicles and never had any issues regarding oil whatsoever

As for personal vehicle, running bel-ray 10w-40 some years now, no issues whatsoever

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 24th, 2018, 8:53 pm

Anyone here running diesel additives in between???

I tried the fuel medic off and on.. dunno if it makes a difference, i just do it in case it has benefits

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 25th, 2018, 3:49 am

Usually run redline 85 plus. Right now I'm using power service diesel clean. Now and again I use a little bit of two stroke oil.
When I don't use anything the Diesel rattle is a bit louder

Postby *KRONIK* » August 25th, 2018, 7:33 am

Using the deisel kleen right now. Not sure if it makes a difference.
But i bought the big bottle in pricesmart so i have to use it out....

Last time i used a liqui moly...
That made a noticable difference.
I also made a lot of black smoke for about 2 days, but the van was like scary faster.

I find the fuel medic is a waste.
A padna who selling it recommended it but i dont find it does do anything. I think any treatment that work on both gas and deisel is a gimmick.

I have to try the redline and the amsoil still.

Its good to run something still tho, even tho you cant feel a noticable difference as the treatments provide pump and injector lubrication, and help with the high sulphur content and boosts the cetane rating.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » August 25th, 2018, 9:49 am

Used to blue smoke on start up since I started using regular absolutely no smoke finds quieter too

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » August 25th, 2018, 6:34 pm

Big Z wrote:Running Kendall 10W30 syn blend in the 2012 Hilux. Switching to Amsoil 10W30 upcoming weekend.

Finally got around to this oul change. Ended up running about 5000km on the kendall.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 26th, 2018, 12:51 am

PariaMan wrote:Used to blue smoke on start up since I started using regular absolutely no smoke finds quieter too

What you using?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » August 26th, 2018, 7:54 am

Mostly red line that blue smoke on morning startup was real irritating

ADONI

Postby ADONI » August 27th, 2018, 9:11 am

Was using Redline for quite a while. Mix it up now between liqui moly and Diesel Kleen. Also when I change fuel filters, I does fill it with some liqui moly diesel purge and idle it out.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » August 27th, 2018, 11:29 am

Yea I mix it up with the unipet one to save on cost that one is 11$ per bottle

Youngstar1989

Postby Youngstar1989 » September 22nd, 2018, 6:43 am

Hi Tuners I am using Mobil 1 Delvac on my hilux 2013 3.0 engine. I change oil and filters every 5000km.
I replace my fitlers with original Toyota filters.

Is Mobile 1 Delvac 5w40 a good oil for me to use?
Whats the best oil change interval with this oil and original Filters?

supernedd

Postby supernedd » September 22nd, 2018, 6:50 am

Youngstar1989 wrote:Hi Tuners I am using Mobil 1 Delvac on my hilux 2013 3.0 engine. I change oil and filters every 5000km.

i used to use that on my mazda bt50 .. but mechanic say as d engine got older . i needed a thicker body of oil to use

supernedd

Postby supernedd » September 22nd, 2018, 6:51 am

Calor wrote:What oil/body would you folks recommend for a 2010 ranger/BT50 gearbox & rear diff(LSD)?
castrol.. the manual have the body .. i forgot

supernedd

Postby supernedd » September 22nd, 2018, 6:53 am

*KRONIK* wrote:Allyuh, doh laugh at me eh...i accustomed to a set of ole van.

I changed oil for the 1st time in the hilux since i bought it and the next morning i was trying to check the oil level. Everytime i pull the dipstick, i eh seeing no oil, but i feeling the liquid at the end of the dipstick. Turns out the oil was there, just not black....i always thought oil does turn black 1 time in diesel vehicles because thats what i got accustomed to over the years with 2 different ld20t mazdas, 2 fontiers and a l300.

I feel shame
after a few days of driving..it will build soot n change color

Postby *KRONIK* » September 22nd, 2018, 6:54 am

supernedd wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:Allyuh, doh laugh at me eh...i accustomed to a set of ole van.

I changed oil for the 1st time in the hilux since i bought it and the next morning i was trying to check the oil level. Everytime i pull the dipstick, i eh seeing no oil, but i feeling the liquid at the end of the dipstick. Turns out the oil was there, just not black....i always thought oil does turn black 1 time in diesel vehicles because thats what i got accustomed to over the years with 2 different ld20t mazdas, 2 fontiers and a l300.

I feel shame
after a few days of driving..it will build soot n change color
Yea
It took around 900km to start to get dark

Postby adnj » September 22nd, 2018, 9:42 am

Info from an old article for all of the 3000 mile/5000km oil changers:

The majority of automakers today call for oil changes at either 7,500 [12,000km] or 10,000 miles [16,000km], and the interval can go as high as 15,000 miles [24,000km] in some cars. Yet this wasteful cycle continues largely because the automotive service industry, while fully aware of the technological advances, continues to preach the 3,000-mile gospel as a way to keep the service bays busy. As a result, even the most cautious owners are dumping their engine oil twice as often as their service manuals recommend.

"Vehicles are so sophisticated that oil is one of the last things that customers can have a direct influence over," said Matt Snider, project engineer in GM's Fuels and Lubricants Group. "There's maybe some feeling that they're taking care of their vehicle if they change their oil more often."

The 3,000-mile myth is also promoted by the quick-lube industry's "convenient reminder" windshield sticker. It is a surprisingly effective tool that prompts us to continue following a dictate that our fathers (or grandfathers) drummed into our heads: It's your duty to change your oil every 3,000 miles — or your car will pay the price. But as former service advisor David Langness put it, the 3,000-mile oil change is "a marketing tactic that dealers use to get you into the service bay on a regular basis. Unless you go to the drag strip on weekends, you don't need it."

https://www.edmunds.com/car-news/tips-advice/stop-changing-your-oil.html

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » September 22nd, 2018, 9:59 am

supernedd wrote:
Youngstar1989 wrote:Hi Tuners I am using Mobil 1 Delvac on my hilux 2013 3.0 engine. I change oil and filters every 5000km.

i used to use that on my mazda bt50 .. but mechanic say as d engine got older . i needed a thicker body of oil to use

Boy i use spec oil and never used thicker bodies in no vehicle especially my diesels.. i would say stick to whats recommended.

On a next note, oil change coming soon for the nav, Motul to be used again.. The Fortuner will get same. Been using the recommended shell on 2018 bt50, soon to be Motul.

Very very Slight injector rattle starting to come up on the nav at 270k kms. Will be sorting that out and post back when it gets completed

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 22nd, 2018, 1:10 pm

So manufactures list a longer drain internal so that it reduces the overall cost of ownership.
Dealers recommend the shorter intervals so they can get you to spend more doing services with them.
Thing is the manufacturer really doesn't care for your vehicle after a certain amount of time or mileage and the dealer is trying to make as much money form you as possible.

I personally change between 5000-7000kms and use conventional 15w40 oil (gulf superfleet supreme or wolf vitaltech)

Manual lists 5w30 as preferred but allows for higher viscosities up to 20w50.

Run Valvoline branded Purolator filters

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » September 23rd, 2018, 9:12 am

^^ where you get the valvoline filler??? Anyone knows in central where i could get for d40?? Cant seem to find any..

Paging valvoline dealer!!

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 23rd, 2018, 10:21 am

I bought a box from the previous Valvoline dealer...
The new dealer should have as well.

GixxerMan

Postby GixxerMan » September 26th, 2018, 3:25 pm

hey guys my frontier TD27 engine is nearing the 300k mileage mark, i will like to try the NP high mileage oil, is this a good to use? and what grade?....

supernedd

Postby supernedd » October 16th, 2018, 3:14 am

gas brainz wrote:well ill tell u that sum how oil isnt being thrown out to the turbo/ blow by
it performs a bit better but personally i was expecting more but ill give it till next oil change 7400km and run it again cus i used ah restore together wit it which i shouldnt do. it is a bit quieter and runs smoothly
previously used rimula R3 X and it "was back pressuring" badly but now no oil is showing up on the catch can level
yd25 frontier
same thing i did ..lol . i use eengine restore n put in a catch can .lol

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”