Installed Boost Gauge in Ranger - Photos - Video

Posted: October 22nd, 2008, 11:02 am
by Bezman
more details below

Posted: October 22nd, 2008, 11:35 am
by Bezman
ok looks like tapping the inlet manifold/charge pipes is the only route..

Posted: October 22nd, 2008, 11:55 am
by Dion76
so u got it working?

Posted: October 22nd, 2008, 12:13 pm
by Stuckindmud
pics?

Posted: October 26th, 2008, 7:34 pm
by FCCA
so can u install a boost controller on a frontier? doh kno

Posted: October 26th, 2008, 11:21 pm
by Bezman
OK so I went ahead and installed the boost gauge.

I got a VDO Guage that reads boost only. Wiring was pretty simple, I tapped the wires for the dash lights dimmer switch. I ran a 1/8 nylon hard vacuum line to the engine bay through a rubber plug on teh firewall that I drilled for the nylon line to pass through.

The biggest part of the install was removing the hard pipe from the intercooler to the inlet tube/intake manifold. I took a few photos, but as my hands were dirty i didn't want to get my phone too dirty LOL.

SO - I removed the hard pipe, drilled a hole, used a tread tapping tool to tap in a brass NPT fitting with a 1/4 vacuum hose filling.

then attached a hard nylon to vacuum hose fitting and joined the two. viola.

i have a short video i did, i'll post once it finishes uploading..

what i have noticed is that my 08 Auto TDCi Ranger (Twin cam 2.5 Turbo/Intercooled Common rail Diesel) runs about 15psi average topping out about 18psi or so when shifting and then it drops off. Boost is ~10psi from about 2000rpm or just about any touch of the throttle. My only mods so far is a K&N filter.. I realized that my Auto TDCi Ranger uses the big round intake like the 3.0's and from riding and checking out the manual TDi's the auto is faster and has a completely different engine.

Next... installing a Chip and hopefully and before and after Dyno (and upgraded intercooler and hard pipes.. more on that later)

Posted: October 26th, 2008, 11:33 pm
by Bezman
<embed src="http://vimeo.com/moogaloop.swf?clip_id=2076852&server=vimeo.com&show_title=1&show_byline=1&show_portrait=0&color=&fullscreen=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowscriptaccess="always" width="400" height="300"></embed><br /><a href="http://vimeo.com/2076852?pg=embed&sec=2076852">Boost Gauge in my Ford Ranger</a> from <a href="http://vimeo.com/user757671?pg=embed&sec=2076852">MyTriniPhone</a> on <a href="http://vimeo.com?pg=embed&sec=2076852">Vimeo</a>.

Posted: October 27th, 2008, 12:11 am
by 3stagevtec
nice install..

Posted: October 27th, 2008, 8:27 am
by wagon r
...intresting... :D

Posted: October 27th, 2008, 1:43 pm
by badart
well done

Posted: October 27th, 2008, 3:48 pm
by killersuzuki
sweet!

Posted: October 27th, 2008, 8:34 pm
by venum
soon . . .

soon . . .

you'll have company

:twisted:

Posted: October 27th, 2008, 11:36 pm
by Bezman
thanks guys

took her up to the beach, i wonder if this ranger has an tranny fluid cooler?? doubt as its a sealed box.. we'll find out soon.. anyway, ran it red all the way there and back :)

(photos taken with meh eyefone)

Posted: October 28th, 2008, 3:08 pm
by AllTrac
the tranny cooler for my lux is inside the radiator as it uses the radiator water for cooling, but if i push it hard enough in the beach sand i would get the tranny overheat light coming on, so time for me to put an external tranny oil cooler in conjunction.

Posted: October 29th, 2008, 9:47 pm
by Stuckindmud
^^^ Alltrac, is that normal? Any chance its a defective cooler or somn that should be changed under warranty :twisted:

Posted: October 30th, 2008, 12:56 pm
by AllTrac
yes normal, lots of guys get that same problem with the auto, the manual lux get away, because they dont need that cooler.

Posted: October 30th, 2008, 3:11 pm
by Bezman
i only experience a couple hard shifts when it got hot..

Posted: November 19th, 2008, 5:28 pm
by Greypatch
nice install the firm know about this ?

Posted: December 1st, 2008, 7:54 pm
by Bezman
not yet :P

Posted: December 1st, 2008, 8:58 pm
by Dion76

is that a K&N or thats wa d van came with?

Posted: February 7th, 2009, 2:30 pm
by Dragsta
Bezman, How mch Boost u gettin in the Ranger????

Posted: February 7th, 2009, 3:55 pm
by equipped2ripp
Dion76, he installed the K&N.

Posted: February 7th, 2009, 6:03 pm
by Dion76
thanks equipped2ripp,

Posted: February 9th, 2009, 10:56 am
by Mr. Ralliart
:) nice nice i recognise i getting company.

Posted: February 9th, 2009, 2:49 pm
by wagon r
Bezman wrote:... i wonder if this ranger has an tranny fluid cooler?? doubt as its a sealed box..

.....yuh van has a tranny oil cooler...all Auto rangers have one. look thru the bumper, it's right next to the intercooler......

...and dragster....re-read his install post.

Posted: February 9th, 2009, 11:13 pm
by Toyopet
That dash identical to the bt50

Posted: February 10th, 2009, 9:35 am
by Dragsta
^ its not identical....its the same :|

Posted: June 21st, 2009, 3:39 am
by devonramphal
do these rangers require a turbo timer?

Posted: June 21st, 2009, 8:57 pm
by sweeks
Dion76 wrote:is that a K&N or thats wa d van came with?

It's a K&N.