Installed Boost Gauge in Ranger - Photos - Video

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Bezman

Installed Boost Gauge in Ranger - Photos - Video

Postby Bezman » October 22nd, 2008, 11:02 am

more details below
Last edited by Bezman on October 26th, 2008, 11:54 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » October 22nd, 2008, 11:35 am

ok looks like tapping the inlet manifold/charge pipes is the only route..

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » October 22nd, 2008, 11:55 am

so u got it working?

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » October 22nd, 2008, 12:13 pm

pics?

FCCA

Postby FCCA » October 26th, 2008, 7:34 pm

so can u install a boost controller on a frontier? doh kno

Bezman

Postby Bezman » October 26th, 2008, 11:21 pm

OK so I went ahead and installed the boost gauge.

I got a VDO Guage that reads boost only. Wiring was pretty simple, I tapped the wires for the dash lights dimmer switch. I ran a 1/8 nylon hard vacuum line to the engine bay through a rubber plug on teh firewall that I drilled for the nylon line to pass through.

The biggest part of the install was removing the hard pipe from the intercooler to the inlet tube/intake manifold. I took a few photos, but as my hands were dirty i didn't want to get my phone too dirty LOL.

SO - I removed the hard pipe, drilled a hole, used a tread tapping tool to tap in a brass NPT fitting with a 1/4 vacuum hose filling.

then attached a hard nylon to vacuum hose fitting and joined the two. viola.

i have a short video i did, i'll post once it finishes uploading..

what i have noticed is that my 08 Auto TDCi Ranger (Twin cam 2.5 Turbo/Intercooled Common rail Diesel) runs about 15psi average topping out about 18psi or so when shifting and then it drops off. Boost is ~10psi from about 2000rpm or just about any touch of the throttle. My only mods so far is a K&N filter.. I realized that my Auto TDCi Ranger uses the big round intake like the 3.0's and from riding and checking out the manual TDi's the auto is faster and has a completely different engine.

Next... installing a Chip and hopefully and before and after Dyno (and upgraded intercooler and hard pipes.. more on that later)
Last edited by Bezman on October 27th, 2008, 10:06 am, edited 1 time in total.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » October 26th, 2008, 11:33 pm

<embed src="http://vimeo.com/moogaloop.swf?clip_id=2076852&server=vimeo.com&show_title=1&show_byline=1&show_portrait=0&color=&fullscreen=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowscriptaccess="always" width="400" height="300"></embed><br /><a href="http://vimeo.com/2076852?pg=embed&sec=2076852">Boost Gauge in my Ford Ranger</a> from <a href="http://vimeo.com/user757671?pg=embed&sec=2076852">MyTriniPhone</a> on <a href="http://vimeo.com?pg=embed&sec=2076852">Vimeo</a>.

Postby 3stagevtec » October 27th, 2008, 12:11 am

nice install..

Postby wagon r » October 27th, 2008, 8:27 am

...intresting... :D

badart

Postby badart » October 27th, 2008, 1:43 pm

well done

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » October 27th, 2008, 3:48 pm

sweet!

venum

Postby venum » October 27th, 2008, 8:34 pm

soon . . .

soon . . .

you'll have company

:twisted:

Bezman

Postby Bezman » October 27th, 2008, 11:36 pm

thanks guys

took her up to the beach, i wonder if this ranger has an tranny fluid cooler?? doubt as its a sealed box.. we'll find out soon.. anyway, ran it red all the way there and back :)

(photos taken with meh eyefone)

Postby AllTrac » October 28th, 2008, 3:08 pm

the tranny cooler for my lux is inside the radiator as it uses the radiator water for cooling, but if i push it hard enough in the beach sand i would get the tranny overheat light coming on, so time for me to put an external tranny oil cooler in conjunction.

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » October 29th, 2008, 9:47 pm

^^^ Alltrac, is that normal? Any chance its a defective cooler or somn that should be changed under warranty :twisted:

Postby AllTrac » October 30th, 2008, 12:56 pm

yes normal, lots of guys get that same problem with the auto, the manual lux get away, because they dont need that cooler.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » October 30th, 2008, 3:11 pm

i only experience a couple hard shifts when it got hot..

Postby Greypatch » November 19th, 2008, 5:28 pm

nice install the firm know about this ?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » December 1st, 2008, 7:54 pm

not yet :P

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » December 1st, 2008, 8:58 pm

is that a K&N or thats wa d van came with?

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » February 7th, 2009, 2:30 pm

Bezman, How mch Boost u gettin in the Ranger????

Postby equipped2ripp » February 7th, 2009, 3:55 pm

Dion76, he installed the K&N.

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » February 7th, 2009, 6:03 pm

thanks equipped2ripp,

Mr. Ralliart

Postby Mr. Ralliart » February 9th, 2009, 10:56 am

:) nice nice i recognise i getting company.

Postby wagon r » February 9th, 2009, 2:49 pm

Bezman wrote:... i wonder if this ranger has an tranny fluid cooler?? doubt as its a sealed box..

.....yuh van has a tranny oil cooler...all Auto rangers have one. look thru the bumper, it's right next to the intercooler......

...and dragster....re-read his install post.

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » February 9th, 2009, 11:13 pm

That dash identical to the bt50

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » February 10th, 2009, 9:35 am

^ its not identical....its the same :|

devonramphal

Postby devonramphal » June 21st, 2009, 3:39 am

do these rangers require a turbo timer?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » June 21st, 2009, 8:57 pm

Dion76 wrote:is that a K&N or thats wa d van came with?

It's a K&N.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”