how do i increase fuel in a turbo diesel?

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
killersuzuki

how do i increase fuel in a turbo diesel?

Postby killersuzuki » September 7th, 2008, 11:49 am

I need some help diesel people. How can I increase fuel in a ford ranger turbo. I will be upgrading the intercooler, adding water/methanol injection, upgrading the intake and exhaust, and raising boost.....

I can't find bigger injectors, and I don't know how to upgrade the fuel delivery system. Anybody?

Thanks!

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » September 8th, 2008, 7:58 am

bump!

Postby wagon r » September 8th, 2008, 8:11 am

yuh gone in unkown bush there pallie.......try a web search and see, never heard of anyone doing that here......but yuh know i lookin orn

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » September 8th, 2008, 8:16 am

Boy, I have been searching all over the net, All the information is about American Big Diesels......I can't find anything for our vehicles.....I gonna start with the intake, exhaust, and intercooler though, then hopefully I'll get some info.....I wanna turn up boost, but I want to be sure there is enough fuel.....I heard you can re-calibrate the fuel pump, but I can't find anything on that.

Anyways, if you see anything, send it my way please!

Thanks!

And BUMP!!!

Postby wagon r » September 8th, 2008, 8:56 am

no scene.....

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » September 8th, 2008, 1:02 pm

bump! anybody?

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » September 8th, 2008, 5:08 pm

Bump! Need help ASAP!

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » September 9th, 2008, 7:17 am

Help!

Bump!

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » September 9th, 2008, 7:28 pm

thaz a tough one dude..
dunno how the WL`s made up but ther eis supposed to be an a set screw to increase the fuel. As for calibration thats another story - the morefuel you add - at low rpms you`ll be belching black smoke

TL had a pretty good link on a turbo`ing a 3L toyota and what needed to be done to the fuel pump - that included a vacum line to the pump adjust the amount of fuel to the injectors..

Post up what you find - we can all learn a thing or 2

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » September 9th, 2008, 7:54 pm

Will do, as soon as I find any info!

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » September 10th, 2008, 6:12 am

Bump!

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » September 11th, 2008, 7:42 am

Still looking....

Mr. Ralliart

Postby Mr. Ralliart » September 11th, 2008, 9:04 pm

Finally someone esle who is tryin to modify a new ford ranger. 0X Where are you going to get youir intercooler piping done please pm me cuz i'm dong that as well and i want to ko where to go.

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » September 12th, 2008, 12:37 pm

Well it's not a new ranger, it's the old ranger limited. I am going to go to BCR Limited in Princess Town. He's on the forum as BCRLtd, check hom out....

web_phantom

Postby web_phantom » September 12th, 2008, 3:12 pm

You would have to recalibrate the pump and/or use bigger injectros... but to get that to run right may be difficult, smoking!!

hilux junkie

Postby hilux junkie » September 18th, 2008, 3:28 pm

u can either use a performance chip...its raises/advances the diesel pump to increase fuel...or if ur pump is not computer controlled u can manually advance it so i guess u make friends with a mechanic from ford service center to find out if it is computer controlled or manual and let them do it for u..cause u doh wana have problems as the other guys said with black smoke etc..

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » September 23rd, 2008, 9:17 am

BUMP! Still looking for info, ESPECIALLY now that premium is $4.00/litre

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » September 25th, 2008, 9:56 pm

BUMP!

Bezman

Postby Bezman » October 9th, 2008, 12:45 am

hey killer, I have done allot of research on this and found allot of info. we have a few options, some as you mentioned above. here is my list.

1) K&N Air Intake
2) Intercooler
3) Intercooler Piping
4) Increased boost
5) Adjusted Fuel Mapping

as for the K&N intake, W2J has that for us. The intercooler shouldn't be anything too big, infact all you really want is something that has better flow characteristics and improved efficency. from the space there is there and the oil cooler being in from there too you have two options, move the oil cooler (new lines would be needed and a bracket to move the oil cooler up about 6") OR - use a small square intercooler to occupy the same space as the stock.

I would move the oil cooler. Ideally you would want bar and plate intercooler (like Apexi- Not the cheap chinese intercoolers), with really BIG tubes and the same inlet and outlet as the piping you'll be using. you should be able to look through one end and see out the other, we are looking for really good flow (throttle response)

As far as chips go I have found quite a few options, most give about 25% increase and some as much as 50% increase in HP and torque.

here are a few links
1) Power Chip
Type: Ranger Original Chip Tuning Torque
2.5 TDI 12V before - 80 KW / 109 HP - 266 Nm, After - 102 KW / 139 HP - 326 Nm Old model Ranger TDi 350 €
New Model Ranger TDCi €350

http://www.chiptuning.tv/uploads/media/FORD.pdf

2)Smart Cars Ford Power Chip
Ranger

from year 2006

2.5 TD 12V
Before - 109 hp / 80 kw
After - 133 hp / 98 kw, +53 N-M

2.5 TDCI

Before - 143 hp / 105 kw
After - 170 hp / 125 kw, +75 N-M

http://www.smart-smart.info/Ford-Power-Chiptuning.htm

3) Ford Ranger 3.0 guys - http://www.dastekpower.com/STATS/Ford-R ... FordRanger

0 - 120 km/h: before - 20.16 secs After - 15.46 secs

Quarter mile:
before - 19.06 secs @ 116.98 km/h
After - 17.57 secs @ 127.26 km/h

4) Ford Ranger 2.5 TDCi

http://www.tuningstyling.co.uk/tuning/f ... ing451.htm

Specifications
Model: Ford Ranger 2.5 TDCi
CCM: 2499
KW original: 105
NM original: 330
BHP original: 143
BHP with tuning: 175,89
NM with tuning: 405,9
Safe and reliable trimming and tuning, since the original system is not altered - no replacement of chips or changes in the vehicle´s electronic program
Plug&drive - original connectors. No loose wires
Lower fuel consumption - increased MPG
Faster overtaking
Car tuning
Diesel performance
Chip tuning

I think i may get option 4) but i was told that there are a few people selling them locally (6800 installed :shock: ) so I would like to shop around and more so get others results.

from what I have been told the chip handle the fuel pump and different load points of the fuel map, I was told that they increase the boost as the boost in controlled electronically (two solenoids) by the ECU. so I am very interested in how these chips work and how much they actually increase the boost (if they do at all - none of the sites mention an increase in boost)

I am going to install some gauges to monitor things as I go along.

you not alone, i am really looking for parts and info..

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » October 9th, 2008, 4:55 am

Bezman, basically all these tuning chips do is give you a better fuel map than the stock ECU. it does this by biasing the ECU signal appropriately depending on where you are on the power curve. the stock fuel map is much less agressive because to preserve the engine longer and for less environmental emissions. so you cant tap in to the true power of the engine. by giving the engine more intelligent fuelling, the tuning chip can increase power, eliminate pre-turbo flat spots and even give you better mileage. they DO NOT interfere with anything else (boost pressure etc).

however, some chips over-fuel the engine, and force the engine to go into limp mode (a safe mode that limits the fuel to a minimum when there is a problem). so be very wary of which tuning chip you use in your van. do some more research and talk to ppl who have used chips with engines like yours and make sure they have no over-fuelling problems.

roti102

Re: how do i increase fuel in a turbo diesel?

Postby roti102 » June 25th, 2014, 12:14 am

OK, here it is and I want some feedback please? BE CAREFUL WHEN DOING THIS!

On a VE pump like what I have, there is a screw just about the output lines to the injectors. If it was never adjusted, there will be a collar on it and you will have to pry it off. This screw adjusts the over all fuelling through the off boost and on boost range. Adding too much will cause the engine to smoke and may give you high exhaust temps, so careful.

You can also adjust the turbo compensator to give more fuel when on boost and off boost separately but this is trial and error, so again careful here. Best to install an exhaust temp gauge to monitor the performance so that you don't bun your engine.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”