Coming Home

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Mr. H

Coming Home

Postby Mr. H » September 4th, 2008, 7:11 am

Hi Guys

I've been a lurker on the site for a while, but I'll be posting a bit more now as Mrs. H and I are planning our return to T&T.

Don't even start on crime, food prices, and everything that's bad about the Island. We've thought long and hard about what is going to be best for us, both in the short and long term, and believe me, it may be bad in Trini atm, but there's a big bad world out here, and we've lived amongst the worst of it!!!

Mrs. H might be my wife, but my mistress is my 2005 Alfa Romeo:

I'd love to bring her home with me, however I know that spares will be impossible to get hold of, so she's going to have to go. I'm trading over the next few weeks to get a diesel 4WD, something like a Hilux or an L200, however it will all depend on what I can get and at what price. Diesel hit about $17TT/litre recently, as a result there are a lot of decent off-roaders on the market at better than good prices.

I've always been a bit of a petrol/diesel-head, so I've a fair idea about what I've looking for, and how to spot a good truck, however I'm a bit out of touch about things like dealer locations, spare part availability etc etc. I hope you'll tolerate my posting lame sounding requests for info about whatever has caught my interest on any particular day

Postby wagon r » September 4th, 2008, 8:01 am

well.....welcome back....er.....home.....and as far trucks go, we have almost everything.....ranger, l200, hilux, b2500, navaras......

...so whatever your heart fancies, it should work here. that said, what you should do is talk to the dealers here and over there to find out if there any subtle variances in market models and work to suit.....

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » September 4th, 2008, 11:31 am

05-reg alfa romeo looks good.....dont let Jeremey Clarkson get ahold of it tho.. :lol: :lol: :lol:

and yes, i know of all the fuel woes in the UK.....125p / litre......spent 60 quid on 3/4 tank of diesel for a chrysler voyager jes a few weeks aback :shock:

whatever info you lookin for, we're here to help! :mrgreen:

Mr. H

Postby Mr. H » September 4th, 2008, 11:55 am

Thanks for the welcome fellas (and the comment about the Alfa) Clarkson has always said he loves Alfas (although you wouldn't think it to see the mess he made of the 75!?!?!?), he did a great test on a 166 a few years ago (although he compare it to the price of a house :? )

I brought mine new, and it's been great - the first car I brought for pure selfish pleasure, for many years previously I'd driven a series of cars that I had little choice in what I drove, as I was driving for work!

Anyway I'm off out to have a look at a 7 seater Isuzu Trooper I assume there's an Isuzu dealer out there? :wink:

Thanks again guys - I'll catch up soon

Postby Greypatch » September 4th, 2008, 12:44 pm

southern sales carries the ISUZU and mazda brands

neal and massey - nisan

Ansa Mcal - ford, mitsu..

bring back some good cricket vids

ray_S.T.R.A_man

Postby ray_S.T.R.A_man » September 4th, 2008, 1:24 pm

when you get your new 4X4 remember to put armor plates and bullet proof glass for safety. welcome back to sweet TNT

Postby wagon r » September 5th, 2008, 1:08 pm

i wouldn't go isuzu....

ford, toyota and l200/triton is yuh best bet.....narava too.

Postby Greypatch » September 5th, 2008, 2:20 pm

how long u leave T&T dwag ?

venum

Postby venum » September 6th, 2008, 2:10 pm

as far as teh L200 is concerned

we have teh Animals down here

4D56 N/A and Turbo

parts are widely available

body parts available for teh older models mostly

03 Animal owner myself

come join teh crew

techspeak

Postby techspeak » September 7th, 2008, 11:53 pm

yess Mr H. !! I'm just seein this thread... you know the scoop and a smart move!! :wink: Thats a nice car by the way, you could never see something like that on the streets of Canada

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » September 8th, 2008, 12:15 am

welcome. Will you be here for the next diesel boys run?

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » September 8th, 2008, 12:18 am

welcome.
Will you be here for the next diesel boys run?

techspeak

Postby techspeak » September 9th, 2008, 2:40 pm

WHENS THAT HAPPENING, I REACHIN ON THE 16TH

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » September 9th, 2008, 7:18 pm

there is an announcement on the trucks forum - check there for updates. Last date - 2nd Nov

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”