Changing CD deck in sportero/l200 (2008)

Posted: August 8th, 2008, 1:37 pm
by gorganl2000
first of all.....let me say hello to all in this forum

well....i just checke dout the l200 sportero, d-max, ranger /mazda

and i think i'm going to buy a sportero.....however, i'm wondering about one single thing...can the CD deck be changed, as i realise it seems to be hooked up somehow to the display screen above........and i dont particularly like the stock deck----seeing i already have a brand new kenwood waiting to be installed :lol:

seems like the ford deck is even worse---integrated into the centre console :shock:

so can the cd deck be changed in the sportero???....has anyone actually done it or know any links to where it has been done???

yeah, i'm just being cautious beofre i buy this thing 8-)

Posted: August 8th, 2008, 3:09 pm
by gorganl2000
http://www.l200.org.uk/community/index. ... ic=11206.0

i think i found something on this site.....it may be useful for other members

Posted: August 9th, 2008, 8:12 am
by MonsterPower
ford deck can be changed ... just u have to buy the whole center console

Posted: August 9th, 2008, 11:08 am
by plk
The CD deck in the Sportero can be changed as it is an aftermarket deck installed locally. No it is not hooked up to the to the center display as seen in the catalog, that is only for the factory deck.

Posted: August 12th, 2008, 2:57 pm
by roadhog
if it's stock or aftermarket it can be changed. although it may be hooked up to the screen when thwire is disconnected the lower right hand corner where the station is displayed doesn't display the station thats about it. not hard to change the deck either. i did it for myself.

Posted: August 12th, 2008, 3:47 pm
by gorganl2000
thanks for all your support guys

i'm hoping to get this pick-up by month end.........cant wait
and for sure the deck will be changed :lol:

Posted: August 14th, 2008, 2:09 pm
by sentinel
Bought a Sportero in April. It had a locally installed Pioneer DEH2000MP Deck. DM did not even supply the manual and I had to download it from the net to find out how to change the time.
Make sure you get the removal tool. DM did not give me one and when asked they said they had to get it from the contractor who happened to be out of the country. Luckily I was able to borrow one from an electronics store.

Installed a 4.3" 1-din Touchscreen DVD/TV/USB/MP3/DIVX/BlueTooth/4.1ch deck. :mrgreen:

Posted: August 18th, 2008, 6:24 pm
by mammoo
so ah go pay ah $500 fuh d ole 1 :idea:

Posted: August 19th, 2008, 9:34 am
by 323_wagon_dude
sentinel wrote:Bought a Sportero in April. It had a locally installed Pioneer DEH2000MP Deck. DM did not even supply the manual and I had to download it from the net to find out how to change the time.
Make sure you get the removal tool. DM did not give me one and when asked they said they had to get it from the contractor who happened to be out of the country.

Most dealers outsource the changing, installation of the head units. The original toyota cd/cassette player was malfunctioning on my corolla. When I carried it to them they had a contractor work on it.

They also install the aftermarket alarms. Just something to note