Well I test drove the new Navara ...

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Mr. Go Slow

Well I test drove the new Navara ...

Postby Mr. Go Slow » July 22nd, 2008, 7:35 pm

I absolutely did not like it!

I drove the 6 speed manual ... Damn that's a big friggin' truck!
Power was good, but the vehicle is so huge, I doubt power to weight is much better than some of the other offerings.

Did I mention how friggin' big it was? It's just too much vehicle for me. Definitely felt like a big truck as opposed to a nimble 4x4.

I didn't like the feeling of the gears at all either ... 1st was way too short and the snick snick of the shifting felt half assed ...

Don't get me wrong it's a nice vehicle, it's just too friggin' big as far as I'm concerned. And the ride and handling were very truck like indeed.

So, I went today and test drove the Mazda BT-50, just to see if this whole diesel truck thing is not for me. Only comes in manual and it's a single cam turbo diesel ... I suspect its equivalent to the 2.5t SOHC in the manual ranger (120 hp or so) ... The power was adequate, but the ride was nice, handling (for a truck) was nice as well!

Shifter and clutch felt great, the vehicle size was very manageable ... I REALLY liked it.

So I figure I better wait for the styling update next month and decide then as well as test the auto 2.5t ranger which has the DOHC engine and about 20 more hp ...

Stay tuned. Anyone drive both and can compare with the L200?

Postby wagon r » July 23rd, 2008, 6:31 am

...one correction....the Navara.....is fast.....esp. on top.....take my word for it..... :|

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » July 23rd, 2008, 6:42 am

I'll give you that, it does have quite a bit of grunt ... The diesel power delivery is (for me) very weird and difficult to appreciate, but the Navara has the juice.

That said, it's still too truck like for me to appreciate ... Kinda like riding a big strong bull when you are accustomed to a racehorse :wink:

Postby wagon r » July 23rd, 2008, 7:02 am

i understand where yuh coming from....it's a bit too wide to squeeze in spots and so orn.......could imagine tryin to parkit in PP or any mall with small spots......

...the era of nimble 4x4s is getting smaller....as both hilux and navara have gone to more car like size cabins but i know the 'lux still has the off road prowess....

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » July 23rd, 2008, 7:10 am

i know the 'lux still has the off road prowess....

yes it does.... yes it does.... :twisted:

Postby wagon r » July 23rd, 2008, 7:11 am

....*sigh...*... :roll:

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » July 23rd, 2008, 9:19 am

^^ Submit i say submit !!! yaaahhh :twisted:

Mr. Go slow , - Was this test drive a paved road only kinda thing?

Postby wagon r » July 23rd, 2008, 9:25 am

Never professor...never... :lol: :lol: :lol:

...but i'm sure it would have been.....dem salesmen doh like yuh ruff up the van too much....

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » July 23rd, 2008, 10:44 am

Stuckindmud wrote:^^ Submit i say submit !!! yaaahhh :twisted:

Mr. Go slow , - Was this test drive a paved road only kinda thing?

Yes paved road, but some serious hills with the Navara ... serious hills!

He took me up some back route to the top of Chancellor and there were times when the angle of the front was high enough that I couldn't see what was ahead of me.

Like I said the Navara definitely has the juice.

I also discovered that the manual Range rand the manual BT-50 share the same engine, that is the 2.5t 12 vlalve. This is NOT the higher spec Common Rail Diesel, so I'm waiting to see if the new BT-50 coming next month with the facelift and sportier suspension, gets the better engine ... Else the Ranger, look to be the winner.

Couple shots of the new Mazda:

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » July 23rd, 2008, 10:46 am

BT-50 Drift ... Try that in your Hilux:

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/ZvIdIcw2bwY&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

originalbling

Postby originalbling » July 23rd, 2008, 11:39 am

What are the maintenance and parts costs like on a Navara compared to say a Mazda or Toyota?

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » July 23rd, 2008, 11:57 am

Why the hilux is NOT an option ... For me anyway:

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/aZF8N9NItHI" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="344"></embed>

Postby Greypatch » July 23rd, 2008, 1:56 pm

so ride and gear shift was not as expected...

let me hear the review on the ford

also u plan on test driving a lux ?

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » July 23rd, 2008, 2:05 pm

Greypatch wrote:so ride and gear shift was not as expected...

let me hear the review on the ford

also u plan on test driving a lux ?

Soon as I drive the Ford, I'll update the thread.

Not interested in the lux due to instability issues ... See the vid above!

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » July 23rd, 2008, 2:16 pm

I have to point out the video above is specific to the hilux sold in sweden... It is not for all regions. Differing regions have differing suspensions.

Also note further in the video the mitsubishi showroom is in the background.

Remember these test can be biased based on the outfit performing them.

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » July 23rd, 2008, 2:54 pm

Mr. Go Slow,

Not that imakin a pitch for the Mafia, but to be fair , ALL 4x4`s generally have high COG`s and under the wrong conditions will be unstable. Even though suspension tuning vary from brand to brand , it is possible to put it in a serious roll or slide, Just by applying power at the wrong time.
Dont discount the lux just because of this vid.This flipping issue hasnt been highlighted much in other reviews/forums. (btw , i cant see the vid nor pics from my pc :( ) - so give it a test run, for all you know you might just like it .. then again ..

Btw , i agree - the new ranger does look alot more rugged than the others.. :roll:

Postby wagon r » July 23rd, 2008, 2:56 pm

^...noooowwwww who's coming over to the other side...... :lol: :lol: :lol:

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » July 23rd, 2008, 3:20 pm

323_wagon_dude wrote:I have to point out the video above is specific to the hilux sold in sweden... It is not for all regions. Differing regions have differing suspensions.

Also note further in the video the mitsubishi showroom is in the background.

Remember these test can be biased based on the outfit performing them.

I'll give you that, but I've heard my fair share of local Hilux 'flip' stories ... It's not like I've never heard of this happening locally ....

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » July 23rd, 2008, 3:25 pm

Stuckindmud wrote:Mr. Go Slow,

Not that imakin a pitch for the Mafia, but to be fair , ALL 4x4`s generally have high COG`s and under the wrong conditions will be unstable. Even though suspension tuning vary from brand to brand , it is possible to put it in a serious roll or slide, Just by applying power at the wrong time.
Dont discount the lux just because of this vid.This flipping issue hasnt been highlighted much in other reviews/forums. (btw , i cant see the vid nor pics from my pc :( ) - so give it a test run, for all you know you might just like it .. then again ..

Btw , i agree - the new ranger does look alot more rugged than the others.. :roll:

Ok, but fact is I can find vids of l200's and bt-50's and Rangers drifting ... Not one lux!

Not that I'm planning to drift the damn thing, but you see my point ...

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » July 23rd, 2008, 3:56 pm

i am surprised that the 6-speed Nav did not shift well.....ah the joys of AT :twisted:

cant fault you on the size of the Nav: its definately imposing in size. wifey was really afraid to drive it at first....but she is accustomed now. just need to install a rear view cam; coupled with the backup sensor, she will be able to park anywhere

the Nav has really great top end speed in spite of its size.....but i think its the size mostly that turned you off.....

venum

Postby venum » July 23rd, 2008, 5:25 pm

biggy82 wrote:well.....ah the joys of AT :twisted:

Biggs, he talking bout a real man's truck

Go Slow L200 owner here

prob the only reg one in here with a 2003 turbo model

RNR gots one too

She is a damn good truck, a bit simplistic in design, but that is in favour of the person who maintains it, bot practically and economically

to be fair, the Lux is a good truck, as is teh Ranger

Mazda BT-50 right up there with them

you should come to a Diesel Boyz lime where you will get to inspect and fiddle with many various models

while teh mafia men will have their day due to majority, you still have some variety

i wouldn't count that vid against the lux, as it isn't comprehensive

dunno what 323_wagon_dude implying bout mitsu

they are good trucks as the Diesel Boyz realized at teh last maintenance lime

every brand has its pro, cons and sweet spots

none of allyuh have headlamp spray washers - ha, ha, ha :!: - l200 sweet spot

i am personally very cautious of Common Rail engines, but that is just me

what you should do to make a better decision is to talk to owners of the respective vehicles, who are willing to discuss the bad points of their vehicle - constructive criticism

also when checking out review sites beware that certain countries favour certain brands - L200 and Hilux has a big following in the UK, Toyota and Mitsu, big following in Austraila etc

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » July 23rd, 2008, 5:29 pm

biggy82 wrote:i am surprised that the 6-speed Nav did not shift well.....ah the joys of AT :twisted:

cant fault you on the size of the Nav: its definately imposing in size. wifey was really afraid to drive it at first....but she is accustomed now. just need to install a rear view cam; coupled with the backup sensor, she will be able to park anywhere

the Nav has really great top end speed in spite of its size.....but i think its the size mostly that turned you off.....

Correct, I must admit I never was into big vehicles ... I can feel the bulk of of a large vehicle around me and it's an instant turn-off

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » July 23rd, 2008, 7:58 pm

venum, just to clarify...i wasn't implying anything about the mitsubishi vehicles... I was merely pointing out after the moose test they were outside a mitsubishi showroom... so its possible that the clip shows one aspect of the test. If you go to youtube and read the comments (and there are lots of comments) ppl talk about the difference in the way the guy pulled the wheel to the tires on the vehicles. They also stated the hilux did pass a consequent moose test.

WRT to local flip stories... there are stories on all brands and models. These vehicles have a high center of gravity and though they are powerful, they are not sport cars. I've had my share of men in pickups trying to taunt and race me in my pickup... but I know i bought a pickup once you remember this, the "flip factor" would be greatly reduced.

I agree with stuck, every one has their taste and the same pickup will not fit all. My recommendation is test drive them all, and choose the one you're happiest with. Remember you're the one whose gonna have to see this vehicle in your garage and drive it every day... choose something you are happy with.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » July 23rd, 2008, 11:19 pm

well said 323_wagon_dude

venum wrote:Biggs, he talking bout a real man's truck

doh lemme start on you hear? :twisted:

venum wrote:also when checking out review sites beware that certain countries favour certain brands - L200 and Hilux has a big following in the UK, Toyota and Mitsu, big following in Austraila etc

Navara was voted best pickup in the UK two years running. and the Aussies swear by the D22s......you need to check your sources :mrgreen:

but venum is right....pass tru in ah diesel boyz run and you will get a nice cross-section of vehicles and opinions.....and maybe it will help you make up your mind Mr. Go Slow 8-)

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » July 24th, 2008, 7:59 am

*sings Bob Marley - One Love* .. lol

Mr. Go Slow - Also consider your waranty and servicing period. (and well - who doing the servicing) There are horror stories abt all brands , but i`ve heard the most abt N&M.. <- could be cuz they sell more vehicles ... :roll:

venum

Postby venum » July 24th, 2008, 12:06 pm

biggy82 wrote:Navara was voted best pickup in the UK two years running. and the Aussies swear by the D22s......you need to check your sources :mrgreen:

not doubting that . . .

I know of their love for Mitsu and Toyota, didn't know about the Nissans - but just where are Nissans not loved :?:

323 :twisted: but true, Go Slow, as he said, you have to look at it everyday, so buy what you like

even check this:

Ssang Yong Actyon Sports
http://www.ssangyongaustralia.com.au/actyonsports.html

selling at Sterling Services - teh price is good

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » July 24th, 2008, 7:58 pm

http://www.ameinfo.com/126878.html

Australian magazine crowns Mazda's BT-50 as UTE of the Year
Launched in November last year, Mazda's BT-50 has been steadily gathering accolades the world over.

"The BT-50 turbo-diesel dual cab was tested in Australia's harshest outback terrain. A panel of six experienced judges voted Mazda's participant the year's must-buy 4WD ute. The Mazda BT-50 has won this title over five of its closest rivals - the Toyota Hilux, Nissan Navara, Holden Rodeo, Mitsubishi Triton and Ford Ranger. It outshone its competitors on all of the key judging criteria that included off-road ability, interior design, engine performance, overall design and engineering and underbody damage inspection after the test."

Note though their BT-50 has the 16v engine unlike the 12v in the local trucks.
Once the new BT-50, due next month, has the 16v engine, I think I'm sold.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » July 24th, 2008, 8:17 pm

New BT-50 with updated suspension ... This is exactly the sort of thing I'm looking for!
A sport truck!

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/BCD9fzdOCAI&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

sweeks

Postby sweeks » July 25th, 2008, 1:11 pm

All of the 4x4s have their pros and cons.... however a lot still has to do with the driver and his/her preference, experience and intelligence.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » July 26th, 2008, 8:43 am

biggy82 wrote:i am surprised that the 6-speed Nav did not shift well.....ah the joys of AT :twisted:

But not for men like you and me :)

Size doesnt scare me! In fact, I think I look a lil silly my Trueno now. Looking at how SMALL that is! Wow... Imagine that taking a good hit from a Navarra? Anyways...

I think you will get accustomed to the size after a few weeks and then you'll see that there is no turning back for you Mr. Go Slow.

The Mazda (old model/engine/12V) is really fast as well...

And no I cant get the hilux to slide either... :-)

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”