Check engine /Malfunction light

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
sufferrar

Check engine /Malfunction light

Postby sufferrar » July 15th, 2008, 7:55 am

Driving my 2003 frontier to work on the highway and the light started to flash and i felt the speed drop.
Pulled to the side and switched off and it returned to normal. Driving again about 10mins the light started to flash again.
After reading the workshop manual they say that the fuel filter has accumulated water and the switch is also connected to that same light.
I have to wait till evening to drain the water to see if that is the cause.

I usually drain the water during each oil change but didn't last time since the rain was fallin and darkness started to take over.

This ever happend to anyone?

Postby wagon r » July 15th, 2008, 8:05 am

happened to patch awhile ago but it's to affect frontier guys....drain yuh trap and you should be good to go...

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » July 15th, 2008, 9:02 am

so i is not ppl too wagon r :? :? :?

flashing yellow CEL on the D40 Navara is also high water level in fuel filter; steady red means check error code

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » July 15th, 2008, 4:58 pm

Change ur fuel filter while you at it.

sufferrar

Postby sufferrar » July 16th, 2008, 7:29 am

I drained it yesterday and it didn't come on since.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » July 16th, 2008, 8:23 am

Monitor it closely. And careful where you full diesel

drift_master

Postby drift_master » July 29th, 2008, 11:34 pm

hav a hilux, manual says if special fuel light is blinking, i need t drain d water, but if the light stays on, how to reset it.

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » July 30th, 2008, 7:26 am

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”