How to: Change the Fuel Filter in a Toyota Hilux (2005, up)

Posted: May 4th, 2008, 7:20 pm
by 323_wagon_dude
I put together a simple how to thread showing how I change my fuel filter (2007 Toyota Hilux). This should be the same for both the 2.5 and 3.0 D4D engines.

This is what my filter setup looks like:

The tools required:
Yeah, thats a bottle cap with a makeshift hole in it.

Firstly, Drain the filter via the butterfly valve:

Insert one end of the hose into the cut bottle cap on the bottle and push the other end of the hose onto the butter fly valve:

Pump the primer pump on top a few times.
Heres what came out of my filter:

Disconnect the two wire harnesses and slacken the ring holding the primer pump to the fuel canister

Lift the primer pump assembly up

Remove the filter cartridge from primper pump

This is what inside the canister will look like (the amount of gunk will vary depending on fuel quality)

The following is only required if you're going to clean inside the canister...

Remove the canister from the vehicle by sliding it up

After I drained the diesel this is what we get in our fuel...

Hose out the inside of the canister and let dry properly. I left it in the sun for about 15 minutes.
I forgot to take a pic of inside the canister after it was clean and dry.

Re-install the canister by inserting it into the bracket as shown and then sliding it down

Continue here if you didnt have to remove the canister

This is the new filter still in the box

And the contents...

Change the rubber ring on the canister with the new one with the filter..

Remove the new filter from the packaging and admire...

After admiring, insert the filter cartridge into the canister

Ensure the filter cartridge is seated properly

Re-install the primer pump on top of the canister and tighten the ring to secure the primer pump to the canister

Bleed the fuel filter by repeatedly pressing in the top of the pump until it gets hard to press.

Start the hilux and you're done.

Posted: May 5th, 2008, 2:20 am
by biggy82
gerry....sticky this please...or place in DIY folder

Posted: May 8th, 2008, 2:33 pm
by bleedingfreak
good job!

Re: How to: Change the Fuel Filter in a Toyota Hilux (2005,

Posted: May 9th, 2008, 9:30 am
by Cooper
323_wagon_dude wrote:Remove the new filter from the packaging and admire...

After admiring, insert the filter cartridge into the canister...

allyuh is kicks yes!..... Good info there dude!

Would have been nice to see a 'before and after' of that canister though......well at least we have the before. 8-)

Posted: May 9th, 2008, 9:32 am
by wagon r
will do biggy...

Posted: May 9th, 2008, 11:03 am
by 323_wagon_dude
^^-- I'll try to take an after shot next week when I'm adding the prefilter.

Posted: May 9th, 2008, 3:37 pm
by hilux junkie
one question doh at what milage did u change this filter....

Posted: May 9th, 2008, 9:28 pm
by 323_wagon_dude
civic boy wrote:one question doh at what milage did u change this filter....

I planned on changing my filter every 15000 Km. The actual figure since the previous filter change is 13931 Km.

Interesting thing to note, on the side of the canister there is a little note:
"No need for periodic replacement"

Posted: May 12th, 2008, 9:16 am
by hilux junkie
"No need for periodic replacement"...yeah right hahah....not with our sheit diesel....think i gona change mines this weekend now approaching 15000k thanks great info on this

Posted: June 13th, 2008, 6:22 pm
by robbieg
i purged it just now and the light is still on.....filter replacement?

Posted: June 14th, 2008, 7:13 am
by 323_wagon_dude
To get the light off:

- ensure the engine is off
- unplug the wires to the diesel filter
- turn ignition switch to on for a few seconds (about 10 should do) & turn off
- plug in the wires on the filter
- start engine and let run for a few mins

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=177585

you should at least open your filter and if its dirty inside. If it is you could clean it out as i described in the other thread. Chances are the light will come on again if there is gunk in the fuel canister.

Posted: March 15th, 2009, 10:27 am
by kurpal_v2
bump to keep this up top

Posted: March 15th, 2009, 11:40 am
by RGF Asset Management
Thanks for the info. I am going to change mine now. I was also told about a cetane boost. Is this neccesary/recommened?

Posted: March 16th, 2009, 12:13 pm
by Rush
Was looking for this thread

thanks

Posted: March 16th, 2009, 7:41 pm
by Team Loco
very nice write up. congrats

Posted: March 17th, 2009, 6:09 am
by Mr. Cheese
Nice write up man..

BTW - I have an extra fuel filter housing for sale if anyone interested

Posted: March 17th, 2009, 7:37 am
by 323_wagon_dude
Mr. Cheese wrote:Nice write up man..

^^ :idea: Hmmm.... dual filter setup anyone?

Posted: March 17th, 2009, 7:47 am
by Mr. Cheese
323_wagon_dude wrote:
Mr. Cheese wrote:Nice write up man..

^^ :idea: Hmmm.... dual filter setup anyone?

:idea: :idea: :idea:
Not a bad idea...
Might just have to "retro-make" a bracket and hose connection fittings.

Posted: March 14th, 2011, 7:22 pm
by MaelstroM
how much does this filter cost?
who has it besides toyota?

Posted: March 7th, 2015, 7:04 pm
by *$kїđž!™
MaelstroM wrote:how much does this filter cost?
who has it besides toyota?

Great Thread ...was now about to post up but did a search...

Anyways I changed my fuel filter today......at 17500km.....Was wondering if this was a good interval to change as I didnt notice any guidance from toyota as to when it should be changed......

When i opened the canister and checked it though it need replacement......but didnt get the chance to get the original filter so had to use an aftermarket one for the vigos......cost $55......

May still get the original one and replace after a couple miles again.....

Also had the cause to change the air filter $100....after market again.....

Thinking about getting the K&N filter for it .........

Any advice or recommendation about using after market filters.......apart from oil filter which I use the original...and about interval period between changes?.

thanks guys......

Posted: March 26th, 2015, 9:48 pm
by SNIPER 3000
Good info.

Posted: August 14th, 2015, 7:21 am
by jhon03
The diesel fuel filter on your car model is only changed every 90000km, so depending on your mileage it may be very old! Replacement costs about R220 and can easily be done by yourself. The link below is to a step by step guide on how to replace.
http://www.hilux4x4.co.za/change-diesel-filter-hilux/

Posted: August 14th, 2015, 2:17 pm
by 10-01
nice info gonna try to change mines sat ....

Posted: August 28th, 2015, 12:28 am
by *$kїđž!™
it takes about 10 minutes max....