Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 25th, 2009, 1:01 pm

Firestone Destination A/T are the #1 rates A/Ts on tirerack.com

Rush

Postby Rush » March 25th, 2009, 10:23 pm

what size u put on ur hilux ff786?

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » March 26th, 2009, 10:21 am

I saw some ironman AT tires this morning.

Anyone ever heard about that brand?

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 26th, 2009, 10:51 am

265/70/16

Same as the Factory size Rush . works well...

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » March 26th, 2009, 10:57 am

BTW, what allyuh think about going up to 275/70 or 285/75 or 265/75 from the original 265/70 tires I have?

Rush

Postby Rush » March 26th, 2009, 12:37 pm

323_wagon_dude,

what i have nopw is what toyota gave,
275/70/16

was looking for the same size,
but its not too much differnt from what ff786 using now, 265/70/16

go here to see the difference in tyre sizes,
to make a good comparison

http://www.miata.net/garage/tirecalc.html

(its funny they misspell 'tyre' in the url)

Rush

Postby Rush » March 26th, 2009, 12:44 pm

juss called the guy

he said he still dont have in stock,
and price is $900 but will try to organise a better price if we buying plenty,
and he will find out what better price that is when he gets the stock in abt 2-3 weeks time,

so i guess we have another 2-3 weeks to see if there is anything else as good/economical as this one?

so far is me venum and biggy who interested rite?

vickyexp

Postby vickyexp » March 26th, 2009, 2:53 pm

I'm interested in buying a set, my tyres still have some life on them
but at that price, I'm willing to buy a set and keep them till I'm ready.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 26th, 2009, 3:09 pm

Seems liek the Diesel Boys scored again.... Hurayyyyy! For some bess tires and bess Prices..

doing 50km on mines so far.. cya even tell they roll on the road yet.. lol

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » March 27th, 2009, 6:47 am

Rush wrote:323_wagon_dude,

what i have nopw is what toyota gave,
275/70/16

was looking for the same size,
but its not too much differnt from what ff786 using now, 265/70/16

go here to see the difference in tyre sizes,
to make a good comparison

http://www.miata.net/garage/tirecalc.html

(its funny they misspell 'tyre' in the url)

Rush, you sure is a 275/70R16 you get from toyota? The stock sizes on the alloy rims are 265/70R16 and 265/65R17

I saw the Ironman tires yesterday... 265/70R16 was $800 and the 275/70R16 was $900. Apparently Ironman is made by Hercules.

Also saw a lot of used duelers there. The guy at the tire shop said how everyone changing them as they cause you slide on the road a lot. I concur. At this point I have almost zero traction on the road.

venum

Postby venum » March 27th, 2009, 8:52 am

Rushil

if you upgrading the tyre width and sidewall - it is imperative that you check that it will not touch on full steering lock

I may have a pardna to add to teh buying list - he has to get back to me

i want broader tyres as well, but have only ~ 2 inches clearance from my bumper, so upgrading may be an issue

also broader tyres may cause slower acceleration\speed but improved stability

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » March 27th, 2009, 9:17 am

guys not to spam the thread , but i spoke with a guy yesterday , who says if we can get abt 6 ppl to group buy - he can bring in ARB front bumpers (winch type) for abt 6-7000 TTD.

pass th word around for some initial feedback

carry on abt tyres.. :roll:

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 27th, 2009, 9:47 am

LOL :twisted:

Yes carry on smartly...

"List for the ARB winch type Bumper
1. Shane
2. Saied ... "

Rush

Postby Rush » March 27th, 2009, 10:11 am

323_wagon_dude wrote:
Rush, you sure is a 275/70R16 you get from toyota? The stock sizes on the alloy rims are 265/70R16 and 265/65R17

Yea, i sure, its the duellers, and its the 16" rim, same as ff786 has in the pics,
when i went to toyota last weekend for their 25 point check,
i also loooked at the tyres on their 3.0 Hilux, and saw the same 275/70/16
as mine,
will like to stay at that size, but they are hard ti find in other brands, since i doint want duellers anymore,
the 265/70/16 seems like the closest, most easily available thing
323_wagon_dude wrote:I saw the Ironman tires yesterday... 265/70R16 was $800 and the 275/70R16 was $900. Apparently Ironman is made by Hercules.

Where was this?
Will like to have a look at them, at that cost,
(still biased towards the firestone tho...)
323_wagon_dude wrote:Also saw a lot of used duelers there. The guy at the tire shop said how everyone changing them as they cause you slide on the road a lot. I concur. At this point I have almost zero traction on the road.

x10

venum wrote:Rushil

if you upgrading the tyre width and sidewall - it is imperative that you check that it will not touch on full steering lock

Will double check just to make sure, but since these have always been there, dont expect to see any problems,
but will check anyway and post later

venum wrote:also broader tyres may cause slower acceleration\speed but improved stability

Thats more important for me,

Stuckindmud wrote: ARB front bumpers (winch type) for abt 6-7000 TTD.

Looking for on arbusa.com, but cant seem to find what u are talking abt,
link?

venum

Postby venum » March 27th, 2009, 11:58 am

what about the winches only :?:

i may be interested in teh winch only, TL could arrange teh rest for teh bumper

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 27th, 2009, 6:40 pm

Yeh Shaun old buddy old pal.... I waiting for the plans / quote for the Arctic Bar still eh!!! :twisted:

Postby Team Loco » April 2nd, 2009, 3:18 pm

FYI, milage mack now stock the michelin Latitude tyres. its a highway terrain tyre.
TT$1000.00

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » April 2nd, 2009, 5:02 pm

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » April 2nd, 2009, 8:10 pm

Stuckindmud I prefer this ARB Style. It also uses the OEM fog lights... Can you get get it.. do a lil digginup.. I knnow it will be cheaper and its not covering up the headlights..... thats the beauty of the Hilux.....

I prefer the one on the Prado .. without the winch... Of course cost will determine which is the better bang for the buck..

Work on this Shane... I see lots and lots of fun comming up.. :lol:

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » April 2nd, 2009, 8:29 pm

I feel someone will have to Move these to a "ARB Front Bumpers for HILUX" thread yes.. it will grow for sure.. :twisted:

Postby Team Loco » April 2nd, 2009, 10:07 pm

i pass a prado looking just like that every morning

venum

Postby venum » April 2nd, 2009, 11:26 pm

FF786 take this, local thing

she even sweeter up close

3.0L auto lifted and mean, she got a winch as well

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » April 3rd, 2009, 11:49 am

Oh gosh boy V............ Mama looking sweet too bad.... you got more pics...

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » April 3rd, 2009, 2:24 pm

:) ARB bar fuh yuh there :) thaz one of 3 winch styles available

Postby Team Loco » April 3rd, 2009, 4:14 pm

and it even has a steering lock lol

nice lux!!! sweet too bad...but automatic :?

Postby 3stagevtec » April 4th, 2009, 9:24 am

finally! a hilux with some proper rims / tyres...

Rush

Postby Rush » April 8th, 2009, 10:32 pm

Hey fellas

I got a flat this evening, and need to change it tomorrow...
cant do it over this long weekend bcuz of the holidays, and cant afford to not have the vehicle for this weekend and the whole of next week (work)
so i have to buy tom...

Called maraj today to get those tyres...still doesnt have in stock, and could nto put a definite date on it, just soon.

also, was speaking to my mechanic, who i kno for over 10 years now,
(just to sho he has nothing to gain/lose from saying this)
and he said he knows a guy called maraj from south that buys second / lower grade tyres, and sells them here, and sometimes they blow...
he said it may/may not happen, and that the guy he is thinking abt may/may not be the same one i was telling him abt

now,
I feel my alternative will be the hancook i was talking abt earlier..
and i may buy them tomorrow for ~860

so...i may have to pull out of the group buy... :(

venum

Postby venum » April 9th, 2009, 9:19 am

there is a guy called maraj on teh wharf sando that sells cheap tyres

prob him

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » April 30th, 2009, 10:44 am

FF, how these tires going so far? any complaints?

Lets get a lil review.

venum

Postby venum » May 5th, 2009, 8:36 am

I check teh gut for teh Destination AT this weekend, still no stock

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”