Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
robbieg

Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Postby robbieg » November 26th, 2007, 3:33 pm

Any particular diesel treatments that should be used?

What kind of oil is reccomended?

Any thing that should be checked frequently to be changed or cleaned?

How often should i change my air filter? And what brand air filter?

turbohead

Postby turbohead » March 18th, 2008, 10:14 pm

if u want give me a shout @ 4952320 an i will handle ur vehicle for u. trained toyota trainee

robbieg

Postby robbieg » March 19th, 2008, 11:46 am

trained toyota trainee

I just find at Toyota, yuh hadda wait too long and I like my ting working crisp
so I was just going and do a DYI

turbohead

Postby turbohead » March 19th, 2008, 3:41 pm

sene

aR&D

Postby aR&D » April 2nd, 2008, 9:05 am

turbohead wrote:if u want give me a shout @ 4952320 an i will handle ur vehicle for u. trained toyota trainee

Turbohead will you service any Toyota? What advantages and or benefits you can offer that the "other" mechanic cant?

thanks!

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » April 2nd, 2008, 11:23 am

Robbie, whats the mileage on the hilux and what kinda service do you have in mind?

Some points to note about servicing the hilux:
- Although the manual states the fuel filter doesn't have to be changed, I find it 'safe' to still change it every other service.
- If you are not changing the fuel filter, at least purge it when you're doing the service to remove any impurities
- I use Mobil Delvac 1 syntec. Its designed for turbo diesel engines. You will require 7 quarts (or you can just buy 2 gallons and have extra).
- The manual recommends changing the oil at 5000km intervals and changing the oil filter every other oil change (10000km intervals), however with the delvac 1 I change both oil and filter at 7500km intervals.
- Check and clean your air filter as well. I've heard they can be washed and reused, I havent verified this. Maybe turbohead can let us know if this is so.
- If its a 10000km service you'll have to grease your crosses on the drive shaft.
- Lots of people use cetane boost, my mechanic advised against it, however its possible to use diesel treatment in less than the recommended amounts.

If you need any help or have any questions, let me know and we can organize from there.

robbieg

Postby robbieg » April 2nd, 2008, 12:14 pm

323_wagon_dude

Thanks bro, I am out of the country right now but I believe I am around the 15,000 mark right now.
The service I had in mind is whatever Toyota might not do since I maintain it there.
I shall be back in May, you saw the TRD version of the vigo they offer in AUS?

http://www.webwombat.com.au/motoring/ne ... -hilux.htm

Damn I want one of those :lol:

turbohead

Postby turbohead » April 2nd, 2008, 3:56 pm

hilux filters not rinseable. dont use diesel treatments wit common rail vehicles.

give meh a shout wen u get back i will link u

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » April 3rd, 2008, 9:06 am

turbohead, you know TTTL told me its safe to use the diesel treatments.

Just for curiousity sake, why is it unsafe to use the treatments?

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » April 3rd, 2008, 9:07 am

robbieg wrote:
323_wagon_dude

Thanks bro, I am out of the country right now but I believe I am around the 15,000 mark right now.
The service I had in mind is whatever Toyota might not do since I maintain it there.
I shall be back in May, you saw the TRD version of the vigo they offer in AUS?

http://www.webwombat.com.au/motoring/ne ... -hilux.htm

Damn I want one of those :lol:

Yeah I saw this.... I wold love to get that body kit and rims.

hilux junkie

Postby hilux junkie » May 9th, 2008, 4:19 pm

323 wagon i use penray diesel conditioner often now this is a conditioner alot of guys get mixed up with cleaners and conditioners...doh really c it being unsafe usin a treatment....waiting on turbohead to reply on that topic....i also use the delvac mobil1 oil works lovely..tried the cetane boost worked nice but u have to bleed out your fuel filter after started givin a rough idle

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » June 2nd, 2008, 9:01 pm

T-Head. whats up Cous--- Saied here dude..... :twisted:

Hit me a shout....

robbieg

Postby robbieg » June 5th, 2008, 8:15 am

What have you guys done recently to your hilux/pickup?
Any changes for the upcoming rainy season?

0X

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » June 5th, 2008, 8:30 am

turbohead wrote:dont use diesel treatments wit common rail vehicles.

come again? :?

with the quality of diesel in Trini, you go say dat? i am using the Redline now with every fullup; almost exclusively for its fuel pump lubricating properties....not to mention the added bonus of water-dispersion

give me a real good reason for not using treatments turbohead

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » June 5th, 2008, 9:47 am

^^ I agree with biggy. Saying not to use something without a reason is not a good enough reason...

robbieg

Postby robbieg » June 13th, 2008, 10:02 am

fellas/ladies BUMP

Need some help....warning light for purging the fuel filter came on....
I read the manual before and it stated that when it comes on to drain it.....
They say to put a catch can when draining it to catch the water/'non-diesel' fluids...
Well I'm not sure where the fluids drain from, also do I have to start the engine for it to purge? i.e. after turning the release, do i need to run the engine to purge it?

Any help would be grateful, if i dont get a response, I will give Toyota a call..

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » June 13th, 2008, 10:52 am

robbieg, check out this thread... It explains how to change the filter and includes draining it...

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=185256

robbieg

Postby robbieg » June 13th, 2008, 11:08 am

323_wagon_dude,
Good write up man and thank you very much.....I'll just purge it for now and at the next service I will ensure that I change the fuel filter!
How is your van working?

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » June 13th, 2008, 11:17 am

Robbie, My van is working great... Ramped thru some flood water this morning in POS.

You might want to consider installing a prefilter on you hilux like what stuckindmud has. I installed one... I'm sure TTTL would consider that voiding the warranty, however I've already seen my start to filter off gunk.

My next major warranty voiding mod is changing the one way diff breathers to a free flow design :twisted: This will help when driving thru flood waters :mrgreen:

robbieg

Postby robbieg » June 13th, 2008, 1:18 pm

This will help when driving thru flood waters

like you planning to go up in some rivers lol

last night i had sum fun with the wet roads :twisted: :twisted:

I was looking like my avatar except no smoke :lol: :lol:

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » June 13th, 2008, 1:31 pm

more like Port of Spain flooded streets....

You have to be a lil careful on wet roads though... Always check your tyre pressure. I was going over the lady young the other day and the vehicle just started to skid. I'm thinking its the tyre itself cause i had checked the tyre pressure last week, I might have to lower it again.

robbieg

Postby robbieg » June 13th, 2008, 3:30 pm

you on the stock 16s? and what pressure you ridin?
30-32?

im on 18s with some nice rubber runnin 32 psi....i might lean towards the 30 as the roads are wet

what tires are you using as well?

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » June 14th, 2008, 2:37 pm

I was just thinking that not much info gets posted here... Seems like the 3.0 Hilux dosen't need much Maintenance.. :D
:twisted:

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » June 14th, 2008, 3:23 pm

323_wagon_dude wrote:more like Port of Spain flooded streets....

You have to be a lil careful on wet roads though... Always check your tyre pressure. I was going over the lady young the other day and the vehicle just started to skid. I'm thinking its the tyre itself cause i had checked the tyre pressure last week, I might have to lower it again.

I had the same problem trying to go up the S bend (hairpin bend) after the Hilton coming up...

I attribute this wheelspin and sliding to the fact that no rain fell for so long and the surface was greasy...

This was on... Thursday evening.

robbieg

Postby robbieg » July 1st, 2008, 11:53 am

bump for tyre pressure used on your tyres on your truck?

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » July 1st, 2008, 1:51 pm

34 psi all round.....Falken 285/40/22

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » July 2nd, 2008, 7:59 am

32 front, 32 rear... Bridgestone Duellers 265/70/16

robbieg

Postby robbieg » July 8th, 2008, 10:51 am

biggy82,
your ride not stiff and bouncy?

323_wagon_dude,
same here but on 18's, cant remember the exact dimensions of the tire!

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » July 8th, 2008, 11:45 am

robbieg, is ah Nissan :roll: :roll: :roll:

but seriously, the Nav rides way better than the D22 model, so the ride is good

even hav nuff meat on de tyre to make ah lil romp offroad :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

robbieg

Postby robbieg » July 8th, 2008, 1:34 pm

^^ nice, best of both worlds i guess :twisted:

Next Question, has anyone converted there headlamps with the HID kits?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”