Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
carluva

Re: Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Postby carluva » October 16th, 2019, 8:22 pm

Your best option is to get it diagnosed and scanned.

Many grey market vigos came with an exhaust gas recirculation system. This is required in countries with emission control regulations. The system actually send some of the exhaust gas back into the engine chamber to burn off some of the noxious chemicals. The problem is that there is increased carbon deposits in the engine, which over time can build up to levels that cause reduced performance, poor idling and poor acceleration. Coupled with our poor diesel, well, the problem could be compounded.

The vehicles from TTTL did not have this system because T&T has no such emission control regulations. So these just spew out fumes but the engine was a lot cleaner over time as no exhaust gas was introduced to build up the carbon.

This can be one issue.

Another could be a fouled fuel system.

Yet another issue could be the injectors need servicing or worst case the rails need to be replaced.

And it could be none of those too.

A scan with the Toyota techstream software will pick up the issues.... I am not sure about other diagnostic software, but techstream will run the system checks to identify the sources and the issues.

Let us know what you eventually find out as it'll be good to learn and educate the masses with similar vehicles.

carluva

Postby carluva » October 16th, 2019, 8:24 pm

Oh yes. And if you have black deposits around the exhaust and the exhaust is black and cloudy chances are it's an issue with the EGR.

Youngstar1989

Postby Youngstar1989 » October 16th, 2019, 10:54 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Try and get it scanned

See if any trouble codes showing up
Youngstar1989 wrote:Guys, i a 2013 vigo from Rampersad. The engine sounds very loud almost as if it has a knock. My mechanic said its normal for the hilux, but for me its alot louder than before and other vehicles. Can anyone advise on how to stop this?
My hilux is having a delay when i accelerate aggressively before it picks up. This never happened before. Any ideas why?

Thanks for the recommendation. Any suggestions where i can get the scan in central?

Youngstar1989

Re:

Postby Youngstar1989 » October 16th, 2019, 10:58 pm

turbohead wrote:hilux filters not rinseable. dont use diesel treatments wit common rail vehicles.

give meh a shout wen u get back i will link u

How about the treatment which states it can be used on common rail?

Youngstar1989

Postby Youngstar1989 » October 16th, 2019, 11:01 pm

carluva wrote:Your best option is to get it diagnosed and scanned.

Many grey market vigos came with an exhaust gas recirculation system. This is required in countries with emission control regulations. The system actually send some of the exhaust gas back into the engine chamber to burn off some of the noxious chemicals. The problem is that there is increased carbon deposits in the engine, which over time can build up to levels that cause reduced performance, poor idling and poor acceleration. Coupled with our poor diesel, well, the problem could be compounded.

The vehicles from TTTL did not have this system because T&T has no such emission control regulations. So these just spew out fumes but the engine was a lot cleaner over time as no exhaust gas was introduced to build up the carbon.

This can be one issue.

Another could be a fouled fuel system.

Yet another issue could be the injectors need servicing or worst case the rails need to be replaced.

And it could be none of those too.

A scan with the Toyota techstream software will pick up the issues.... I am not sure about other diagnostic software, but techstream will run the system checks to identify the sources and the issues.

Let us know what you eventually find out as it'll be good to learn and educate the masses with similar vehicles.

Thanks very much, can u recommend somewhere to get it checked?

carluva

Postby carluva » October 16th, 2019, 11:18 pm

Check your PM

carluva

Postby carluva » October 16th, 2019, 11:24 pm

@ Kronik

How are the DBA rotors working out in the Hilux? I'm organising to go that way week after next so some feedback would be nice as you should have had some run time on them.

Postby pugboy » October 17th, 2019, 6:05 am

Soot buildup is not good for the variable turbo
The carbon buildup can cause the vanes/fins which rotate to stick causing power issues

Worst case the motor controller which provides power to the actuator to move the vanes can burnout when the vanes stick and motor is binding.

carluva wrote:Oh yes. And if you have black deposits around the exhaust and the exhaust is black and cloudy chances are it's an issue with the EGR.

Postby *KRONIK* » October 17th, 2019, 6:10 am

No complaints so far.
I using them woth OEMnpads, so they not doig anything special (except not warping)

Lol
carluva wrote:@ Kronik

How are the DBA rotors working out in the Hilux? I'm organising to go that way week after next so some feedback would be nice as you should have had some run time on them.

carluva

Postby carluva » October 17th, 2019, 6:50 am

Good. That's encouraging. I'm gonna put on the DBA on but not using the OEM pads. Gonna put on aftermarket but I cant remember the name right now. Just need to get smtgh that does not warp.

Postby *KRONIK* » October 17th, 2019, 7:02 am

Come hawk pads will work great with them
Have a padna runnin that combo, he say he can never go back
He on 20s with MT, and front and rear steel bumpers and winch, so his van rellll heavy.
carluva wrote:Good. That's encouraging. I'm gonna put on the DBA on but not using the OEM pads. Gonna put on aftermarket but I cant remember the name right now. Just need to get smtgh that does not warp.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 24th, 2019, 2:11 am

Changed front (10mm allen key helps) and rear diff oil with a mix of
-Mobil 1 Gear LS 75w90
-Valvoline 80w90 Gear oil Limited Slip and
-Total Quartz TM 80w90 (not limited slip)
cause I forgot the requirements and bought non limited slip gear oil and had to use what I had on my shelf. I now have extra quarts of total gear oil that I have to figure out how to use (Might look into using amsoil slip lock to make this oil viable in my rear diff next time)

Half a bottle of Power Service Diesel Kleen to handle injectors.

Greased the driveshafts as i had to wade through some water in El Socorro South this week.

Changed cabin air filter; don't leave it in there like myself for about 40000kms.

TOTAL Cost for 100000km service parts so far:
gear oil: $400
Fuel filter: $180
Fuel additive: $70
Cabin Filter: $200

$850 :)

Postby pugboy » October 24th, 2019, 7:12 am

nice, you have your own lift or did this on the ground ?

how did your diff oils look ?

kamakazi wrote:Changed front (10mm allen key helps) and rear diff oil with a mix of
-Mobil 1 Gear LS 75w90
-Valvoline 80w90 Gear oil Limited Slip and
-Total Quartz TM 80w90 (not limited slip)
cause I forgot the requirements and bought non limited slip gear oil and had to use what I had on my shelf. I now have extra quarts of total gear oil that I have to figure out how to use (Might look into using amsoil slip lock to make this oil viable in my rear diff next time)

Half a bottle of Power Service Diesel Kleen to handle injectors.

Greased the driveshafts as i had to wade through some water in El Socorro South this week.

Changed cabin air filter; don't leave it in there like myself for about 40000kms.

TOTAL Cost for 100000km service parts so far:
gear oil: $400
Fuel filter: $180
Fuel additive: $70
Cabin Filter: $200

$850 :)

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 24th, 2019, 12:16 pm

On the stock tyres (255/70/R15), there is just enough space for me to crawl under the vehicle and work on it. Still a bit tough though. I have a Pennzoil Fluid Transfer Pump (bought online) which helps in the process.

The fluid didn't look too bad after 65000Kms, less metal debris on the magnets than the first time the fluid was changed; to be expected as the parts are now worn in. There were still some visibly reflective fine metal flakes (bronze coloured).

Postby pugboy » October 24th, 2019, 3:41 pm

I did mine last at 120,000 by a transmission guy who had a lift and drill powered pump.

It was pretty much pristine. Previous change was done by Tttl.

kamakazi wrote:On the stock tyres (255/70/R15), there is just enough space for me to crawl under the vehicle and work on it. Still a bit tough though. I have a Pennzoil Fluid Transfer Pump (bought online) which helps in the process.

The fluid didn't look too bad after 65000Kms, less metal debris on the magnets than the first time the fluid was changed; to be expected as the parts are now worn in. There were still some visibly reflective fine metal flakes (bronze coloured).

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 5th, 2019, 6:54 pm

So recently I started to experience brake judder. It happens when the brakes get hot; and I only experienced it after having to cross 8 humps twice between Fyzabad and Santa Flora while giving the brakes a hard time. I've experienced slight pulsing before but nothing this prominent

Currently have 96000km on the original brake pads and counting... There is still some life left in it... But I'm considering changing them early or taking a scouring pad to the surface
Last edited by kamakazi on November 5th, 2019, 6:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

carluva

Postby carluva » November 5th, 2019, 6:59 pm

Never heard of that before. Care to explain a bit more on what that is and what it feels like?

Postby pugboy » November 5th, 2019, 7:08 pm

Warped rotors?

carluva

Postby carluva » November 5th, 2019, 7:11 pm

pugboy wrote:Warped rotors?
... is what i was thinking.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 5th, 2019, 9:10 pm

Essentially the brakes are normal when cold and warm... But if I keep pouring heat into them (using them aggressively)they will start to judder.

I'm applying the same pedal pressure, but the feeling of deceleration is pulsing; the hotter it gets, the worse it gets. Pedal does not pulse but the feeling of deceleration does. If I continue using the brakes it gets worse and I will start feeling it through the steering wheel.

I don't feel this any other time except when there are a lot of humps in fairly quick succession (200-400m apart; 8 or more); or nearing the end of a Maracas beach run.

When the brakes cool down all this is gone and it's back to normal unless I repeat the conditions that created it.

I normally don't use a lot of brakes... But I still drive pretty fast.

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » November 6th, 2019, 10:22 am

Rota wap

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » November 6th, 2019, 10:22 am

Ah mean d tawa wap

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 6th, 2019, 10:42 am

Big Z wrote:Ah mean d tawa wap
Happened more than once in my 312000 km in a hilux

Change rotor and you good to go for a while again

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 6th, 2019, 1:36 pm

Change it for what... This issue only comes up when I give them hell.

I plan to use it for quite a while still... When I change brake pads I'll let you know how it goes.

Postby *KRONIK* » November 27th, 2019, 7:33 am

Guys

Front diff relocation kits available
30mm drop
2000 a kit
2500 installed (by appointment only)

708-0101

20190910_162535.jpeg

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 4th, 2019, 2:31 pm

Back to servicing the Tonka truck.

Changed brake pads to Bosch; still bedding them in. Better initial bite than oem so far. Also drained some brake fluid and refilled with ferodo DOT4.

Drained and refilled ATF in pan once; currently do this every 30000kms using Mobil 1.

Changed power steering fluid in reservoir; usually done every oil change and that time is also coming

Cost
Previous total - $850
Bosch brake pads - $370
Mobil 1 ATF (4 quarts) - $280
Castrol dex/merc (1 quart)- $45

Total - $1545

carluva

Postby carluva » December 9th, 2019, 8:18 am

Morning.

Anyone knows where I can get a set of the 18" Hilux wheels?

carluva

Postby carluva » December 9th, 2019, 8:57 am

Like this
Screenshot_20191208-211557.jpeg

ADONI

Postby ADONI » December 9th, 2019, 9:02 am

carluva wrote:Morning.

Anyone knows where I can get a set of the 18" Hilux wheels?

You can check Mathai Imports Ltd 289-4901.
They have a tonne of pickup stuff.

carluva

Postby carluva » December 9th, 2019, 6:57 pm

A popular wheels store is selling new replicas for $4900.

Are the replicas inferior to the original and what kind of durability can I expect from a replica?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”