Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
mitch1980

Re: Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Postby mitch1980 » March 12th, 2019, 11:08 am

*KRONIK* wrote:Both 1kd and 2kd are belt driven

The van in the pic is 2kd (no bonnet scoop, no intercooler)
SNIPER 3000 wrote:Thought thoes were 1KD.

Only the 3.0L had bonnet scoop. the previous 2.5l and 2.7 L Gas had a flat bonnet. Just an FYI the last 3.0L was in the late TCR series.

The new 2.4 and 2.8L models have no scoop

Postby Dave » March 12th, 2019, 12:18 pm

Even chains stretch. All depends on how the engine is used.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » March 12th, 2019, 1:11 pm

https://www.engadget.com/2019/03/12/jap ... Q06eiQAOkY

Japan's moon rover will be made by Toyota
Toyota is going to the moon. The Japanese Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA) has teamed up with the carmaker to build a pressurized self-driving rover that will land on the lunar surface in 2029. The six-wheeled transporter will be able to carry two humans for a distance of 10,000 kilometers using solar power and Toyota's fuel cell technology. The rover will be about the size of two minibuses, with 13 square meters of habitable space, and the astronauts on board will be able to take their suits off inside the vehicle as they explore. It will land on the moon before the human expedition arrives, and travel independently to meet them.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » March 12th, 2019, 2:14 pm

mitch1980 wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:Both 1kd and 2kd are belt driven

The van in the pic is 2kd (no bonnet scoop, no intercooler)
SNIPER 3000 wrote:Thought thoes were 1KD.

Only the 3.0L had bonnet scoop. the previous 2.5l and 2.7 L Gas had a flat bonnet. Just an FYI the last 3.0L was in the late TCR series.

I believe the 3.0 (KUN26r) edged into TDA series.. the new models (2.8 and 2.4) might be chain driven

Postby *KRONIK* » March 12th, 2019, 6:57 pm

mitch1980 wrote:Just an FYI the last 3.0L was in the late TCR series.

Where you get that info from hoss...
It had 3.0 up to TDH

And the revos from TDK (local) came with the 1kd with bonnet scoop for the intercooler.

Its just within the last year or so TTTL bringing the 2.8 in the revo

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » March 12th, 2019, 7:28 pm

I meant TDR in November 2017
*KRONIK* wrote:

It had 3.0 up to TDH

And the revos from TDK (local) came with the 1kd with bonnet scoop for the intercooler.

Postby *KRONIK* » March 12th, 2019, 7:30 pm

Lol

Understood.

See what a lil typo could cause.

But yes, 1st batch of local 2.8 revo was around TDR/TDS
mitch1980 wrote:I meant TDR in November 2017
*KRONIK* wrote:

It had 3.0 up to TDH

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » March 12th, 2019, 7:32 pm

correct.
i had paid down on a new hilux when i realised it was the same enigine and transmission as my TCT , i took my deposit back ....lol
uncle ended up buying it from TTTL late TDR series ....November 2017.

*KRONIK* wrote:Lol

Understood.

See what a lil typo could cause.

But yes, 1st batch of local 2.8 revo was around TDR/TDS
mitch1980 wrote:I meant TDR in November 2017
*KRONIK* wrote:

It had 3.0 up to TDH

ADONI

Postby ADONI » March 13th, 2019, 8:46 am

All this chain up talk.... :mrgreen:

trebornattaj

Postby trebornattaj » April 1st, 2019, 1:13 pm

Not sure if this was answered, can I use 285 70 17 on a 2010 TCS 4x4 hilux 2.5? I'd appreciate and answer asap please, getting a set to buy but want to know first, thanks in advance tuners

telfer

Postby telfer » April 2nd, 2019, 7:10 am

trebornattaj wrote:Not sure if this was answered, can I use 285 70 17 on a 2010 TCS 4x4 hilux 2.5? I'd appreciate and answer asap please, getting a set to buy but want to know first, thanks in advance tuners

Will touch slightly

trebornattaj

Postby trebornattaj » April 2nd, 2019, 7:22 am

telfer wrote:
trebornattaj wrote:Not sure if this was answered, can I use 285 70 17 on a 2010 TCS 4x4 hilux 2.5? I'd appreciate and answer asap please, getting a set to buy but want to know first, thanks in advance tuners

Will touch slightly

Thanks, what's the biggest size I can use that wouldn't touch?

Postby *KRONIK* » April 2nd, 2019, 7:30 am

Nah bro, that go rel touch

Stock is 265/65/17
Which is 30.6” OD

Anything bigger will touch unless u lifted.

That 285/70/17 is 32.7” OD

Daiz rel pressure to fit and operate properly

pinkz

Postby pinkz » April 2nd, 2019, 7:47 am

Buddy i have 275/65r17 on my stock 2010 hilux an it does touch when i lock all..so you mite get some problems with such a bigger size

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » April 2nd, 2019, 6:39 pm

275/65/17 here and i get a slight touch when turning hard

trebornattaj

Postby trebornattaj » April 2nd, 2019, 8:32 pm

Thanks all, noted...

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » April 3rd, 2019, 10:04 am

pinkz wrote:Buddy i have 275/65r17 on my stock 2010 hilux an it does touch when i lock all..so you mite get some problems with such a bigger size

Folks I have a TCT 2011 Hilux with 285/65/17 tires. they DO NOT TOUCH.
Tires: Continental Cross Contact II
tires.jpeg

Postby *KRONIK* » April 3rd, 2019, 10:41 am

mitch1980 wrote:
pinkz wrote:Buddy i have 275/65r17 on my stock 2010 hilux an it does touch when i lock all..so you mite get some problems with such a bigger size

Thats just 1” over stock
You can get away with that depending on the wheel offset

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » April 3rd, 2019, 7:10 pm

mitch1980 wrote:

I notice you have no mudguard

trebornattaj

Postby trebornattaj » April 3rd, 2019, 8:47 pm

Question, is the 3.0, higher than the 2.5? And will that affect the tyre size application? Thanks

Postby *KRONIK* » April 4th, 2019, 7:02 am

No
And
No
trebornattaj wrote:Question, is the 3.0, higher than the 2.5? And will that affect the tyre size application? Thanks

trebornattaj

Postby trebornattaj » April 4th, 2019, 8:55 am

*KRONIK* wrote:Not
And
No
trebornattaj wrote:Question, is the 3.0, higher than the 2.5? And will that affect the tyre size application? Thanks

Thanks kronik. ...good to know

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » April 4th, 2019, 10:00 am

PariaMan wrote:
mitch1980 wrote:

Correct. Van did not come with front mud guards.

Postby *KRONIK* » April 5th, 2019, 7:30 am

Yea

You would have gotten touching issues if you had them installed.

I running 285/60/18 currentlt with a 2”lift and i still getting some touching, but it so slight, i cant find the spot.
I had to do a lot of heating & reshaping of the fender shields and flares and mudguard to run that size
mitch1980 wrote:
PariaMan wrote:
mitch1980 wrote:

Correct. Van did not come with front mud guards.

msg1

Postby msg1 » April 26th, 2019, 12:55 pm

Went to install remote start on my 2006 Hilux, was told that it will be a problem. They said that when installed it can wring/damage the starter of the van. They said the same thing happened with others and the Landcruiser.

Anyone knows/experienced anything like this?

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » April 29th, 2019, 2:55 pm

Oh the old D4D Thread. How I've missed you so.... LOL

Postby Ted_v2 » May 26th, 2019, 11:48 pm

remote start? ew.

Toyotas tend to like the stock wiring, keyless, alarms built in. No turbo timers ect.

tte

Postby tte » July 4th, 2019, 12:21 pm

WTB new shift knob for 2014 Toyota Hilux 5fw

Postby *KRONIK* » July 10th, 2019, 7:25 am

Hey guys

Toyota revo TRD skidplate

Comes with all the mounting hardware

708-0101
20190708_160036.jpeg

SHarripersad

Postby SHarripersad » July 27th, 2019, 7:08 am

SHarripersad wrote:Kun26r-prpsy rotor warp. Toyota grinds and a few months later it warps, so it gets replaced under warranty. Replacment warped, I got it grinded and its a matter of time before it warps again. There is a hot cold explanation for this, but for decades of driving, I. Never had this issue on Ford and Nissan vehicles. Can anyone guide?

So I replaced the rotors with aftermarket debe 600 a pair, my
Partner got them 40k already without warp issues thus far so I went on his word and got a new set for mines
Also change the brakes to hi-q 400 for the set. Hope it can last like or near the original

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”