Ranger torsion bar adjustment
Posted: August 14th, 2007, 9:28 am
by Sabot
I couldn't help but notice that my TBT Ranger 4x4 is lower in front than the back. This is a limited edition ranger that came with the running boards and stuff back in the TBT time( has limited stickers on thats how I know

) Anyways the front is noticably lower than the XLT's and others. Is this how its supposed to be? If not, where do I go to have this sorted out? I have seen other TBT and TBU look a little low but I was thinking that the running boards made it appear low but now I am not sure. Any advice will be good since I know nothing about the front suspension really....
Posted: August 14th, 2007, 10:13 am
by Greypatch
bess u give the firm a call man
Posted: August 14th, 2007, 11:21 am
by 323_wagon_dude
Check your front shocks as well, they may be damaged.
Posted: August 14th, 2007, 5:03 pm
by Sabot
shocks are ok, will call McEnearny and let u guys know what they say...
Posted: August 14th, 2007, 6:33 pm
by Greypatch
good move they will advise wrt the height
Posted: August 15th, 2007, 3:12 pm
by sti-hybrid

well........................
Posted: August 15th, 2007, 3:58 pm
by Sabot
like these ppl ent too sure either nah, they give me a cell number for the service manager called Joe but so far he unreachable by both the cell and land line..... still tryin
Posted: August 15th, 2007, 5:40 pm
by equipped2ripp
carry it by mileage mack
Posted: August 15th, 2007, 6:29 pm
by Greypatch
hmmm carry it in boi must have eet
Posted: August 16th, 2007, 11:19 am
by Sabot
McEnearny advised for me to bring in the van today, no charge for the adjustment they said, will see wha happens....
Posted: August 17th, 2007, 1:27 pm
by Sabot
Well took the van in to McEnearney, they put it on the ramp and adjusted it. Ranger stands strong now almost level which in my opinion looks way better. Ride quality is not affected either. What did happen however is that my alignment or camber or something was affected somewhat so I need to have this rechecked even though they said it would not have been affected. No charge as well. Should this have done anything to the alignment?
Posted: September 9th, 2007, 10:27 pm
by nismodriver
I find my whole van itself lower...Bess I have it checked ....
Posted: June 30th, 2008, 1:06 am
by greatbear
hmm i see de same ting happen to mine, ah fell ah gon make some noise cause dey tell mih dat supposed to hpaaen
Posted: June 30th, 2008, 7:05 am
by wagon r
torsion bar adjustment will affect your alignment.....so have it double checked....
...have to get mine raised as well, but it doesn't help that i have an extra 175lbs hangin off the the bumper....

Posted: June 30th, 2008, 10:47 am
by Stuckindmud
Torsion bar adjustment is not difficult for those who not on warranty ..
its as simple as jackin gup the fron so the suspension is not under load , and tightening up a nut .
check this link. : (yeah its for the mafia ppl , but the concept is the same)
http://www.4x4wire.com/toyota/tech/torsion_bars/
Posted: July 1st, 2008, 7:32 am
by 323_wagon_dude
sooo..... when we tackling the ranger??

Posted: July 1st, 2008, 7:39 am
by wagon r
ranger in for service as we speak......went to get the gearbox oil changed and the torsion raised......
....when i pulled up, everyone was like

at the condition of the van...

Posted: July 1st, 2008, 8:13 am
by 323_wagon_dude
^^-- you didnt trust us to do the gearbox oil change when the van was on the lift??

Posted: July 1st, 2008, 8:15 am
by wagon r
^no, but i didn't have enough oil.....we did the transfer case and ran out of fluid for the GB......which, in hind sight, we should have done first.
Posted: July 2nd, 2008, 11:28 am
by Greypatch
175 lbs
Posted: July 7th, 2008, 4:57 pm
by venum
wagon r wrote:^no, but i didn't have enough oil.....we did the transfer case and ran out of fluid for the GB......which, in hind sight, we should have done first.
But Sweeky benefitted in teh end
mafia business again
Posted: July 8th, 2008, 6:39 am
by wagon r
^ true....but i got that sorted out yesterday, and it feels so much different