WTK: SUV Question - Traction Control System

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
NorStar2K

WTK: SUV Question - Traction Control System

Postby NorStar2K » July 9th, 2007, 2:39 am

How important is a traction control system (TCS) when deciding which model of an SUV to by? Some call it ESP, VSC.

Some models only come with TCS in the 4x4 version not the 4x2. e.g the Tucson sells for $180K 4x2. It's $25K just for the TCS and 4x4 feature.

I have no intention in going 'off road' and neither does the Mrs.

So in other words, is the $25K worth it for these 2 features, or is it unnecessary? Could you then just buy the 4x2?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » July 9th, 2007, 11:42 am

Anybody?

daymean

Postby daymean » July 9th, 2007, 12:40 pm

in those vehicles the 4x2 option is usually front wheel drive .... but the 4wd is all wheels....i think that if the so callled 4wheel drive is actually AWD then it would be worth it simply due to the safety aspect.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » July 9th, 2007, 2:14 pm

Agreed, thanks daymean, anybody else?

Postby equipped2ripp » July 9th, 2007, 2:49 pm

buy the 4x4... someday you'll need the 4x4 and you would regret it..

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » July 9th, 2007, 4:07 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:buy the 4x4... someday you'll need the 4x4 and you would regret it..

Any preference? Tucson or Vitara?

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » July 9th, 2007, 8:40 pm

with the tucson u'll have the Diesel engine, which will be nice....But the Vitara looks ALOT BETTER :wink:

turbonator

Postby turbonator » July 9th, 2007, 9:02 pm

Boi check out d X trail. D traction control on dat ting is similar to the ATTESA system nissan employs in their skyline.

turbonator

Postby turbonator » July 9th, 2007, 9:04 pm

Yuh should also check out d X trail GT. 276 hp yuh cyar go wrong.

turbonator

Postby turbonator » July 9th, 2007, 9:04 pm

Yuh should also check out d X trail GT. 276 hp yuh cyar go wrong.

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » July 9th, 2007, 9:10 pm

yea dAndAda has one for 170k :twisted:

Postby tr1ad » July 9th, 2007, 11:27 pm

if traction is lost whilst driving and the TCS is engaged

the engine automatically slows down until traction is re gained

imo 4 x 4 an traction control

it will def come in handy

i have used the same tuscon since they came out with the regular services etc and they are rugged enough

moruga / guaya forest etc

only thing with the diesel is it's a bit noisy

good luck

aviboy

Postby aviboy » July 10th, 2007, 9:15 am

buy the tuscon and in 4wd.... 1st as mentioned above u will need the 4wd 1 day and regret it. 2) A 4wd vehicle has a better resale over a 2wd. 3) its diesel( cheaper to run) 4) sold by neal and massy so if u crash it they stock alot of parts or bring it in very quick if not available... also neal and massy service is cheap compared to toyota, mitsubishi etc etc

originalbling

Postby originalbling » July 10th, 2007, 10:55 am

I am not sure how the 4WD system works in other vehicles, but i think in the Tucson, it senses the road condition changes and directs power to the wheels in a proportionate manner. So u wouldnt have need to manually engage the 4wd.

Postby tr1ad » July 10th, 2007, 12:04 pm

originalbling,

you are correct

turbonator

Postby turbonator » July 10th, 2007, 5:25 pm

D X Trail has three modes:

1) 2WD - In this mode the vehicle operates like a 2WD vehicle (like a front wheel drve vehivle).

2) AUTO - In this mode under normal conditions the vehicle operates as if its in the 2WD mode but once traction is lost by the front wheels torque is transferred to the rear wheels, similar to what happens when the rear wheels of the skyline looses traction and torque is transferred to the front wheels.

3) LOCK - in this mode the vehicle is in a permanent 4WD mode ie. all the wheels are in operatioin (ie. they are all getting power from the engine).

What puts the X Trail ahead of the competition is that the traction control sysytem does not depend on a dual pump system which requires the wheels to completely turn a couple of times before it senses dat traction is being lost. Instead it is an electrical system (similar to the ATTESA system) which only requires a fraction of a complete turn to sense that traction is being lost. All this translates into better control over the vehicle and a faster reaction time by the vehicle in the event that traction is lost.

Postby tr1ad » July 10th, 2007, 9:21 pm

but thast 4WD is not really for all the time

it's like with a hilux or ranger

only when needed

turbonator

Postby turbonator » July 10th, 2007, 10:07 pm

^^ Kinda, but if u driving on d highway in d rain and yuh start to skid in ah hilux will it switch from RWD to 4WD?

SPEC_C

Postby SPEC_C » July 10th, 2007, 10:53 pm

yea boss d 2 wheel drive eh make sense.....u will appreciate d TCS an 4 wheel drive..more fun an safer

Postby tr1ad » July 10th, 2007, 11:45 pm

i understand what u sayin bout the power bein transfered in the xtrail

if it is kept in 4wd mode more strain on engine, tyre wear an fuel consumption

i'm not knocking the xtrail

i've used one before, it's good

but the TCS on the tuscon / sportage is also good

like i said as traction is lost the engine revs decreases and it slows until it regains traction

turbonator

Postby turbonator » July 11th, 2007, 9:33 am

if it is kept in 4wd mode more strain on engine, tyre wear an fuel consumption

U only need to use the 4WD mode when doing some serious off roading. With the X trail if u happen to leave the vehicle in the permanent 4WD mode once u cross a cartain speed it reverts back to the AUTO mode where it's basically a front wheel drive vehicle under normal conditions and only sends power to the rear wheels if the front wheels begins to slip.

originalbling

Postby originalbling » July 11th, 2007, 9:44 am

So looking at both arguments on how the 4WD system works in a Tucson compared to a Xtrail, which is better in terms of $, gas consumption, strain on engine, wear on tyres etc?

Postby tr1ad » July 11th, 2007, 2:05 pm

turbonator,

thanks for the info

turbonator

Postby turbonator » July 11th, 2007, 2:19 pm

^ but as i understand the TCS in the Tucson is very good also somewhat similar to the TCS system on the X trail. So at the end ah d day i believe that it boils down to personal preference. I eh know wha is d price on d Tucson but ah X Trail GT is around 170K (das foregin used eh) and wid 276 hp ah sure it go have real pep :lol: . Anyone knows whats the average price on the Tucson?

Postby tr1ad » July 11th, 2007, 2:23 pm

diesel tuscon 4x4 fully loaded

xtrail 2.5

i have been tru many a trail with the tuscon and the TCS works well

*runs off to tell the boss switch the tuscon for a xtrail to try it out*

banzai suppoed to have driven both vehicles

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » July 11th, 2007, 7:28 pm

tr1ad wrote:diesel tuscon 4x4 fully loaded

Tr1ad pal, dat price change: Eff. Mar.07

4x2 2.0 GL Gas - $180K
4x4 2.0 GL Gas - $205K
4x2 2.0 GL Diesel - $220.5K
4x4 2.0 GL Diesel - $234K
4x4 2.0 GLS Gas - $231K
4x4 2.0 GLS Diesel - $262K

Postby tr1ad » July 11th, 2007, 9:34 pm

nah dawg

i work for massy

sorry i had quoted my price fot the fully loaded one

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » July 11th, 2007, 11:31 pm

Lucky u pallie, the rest of us have to pay $262K. Hopefully we get a (large) discount :lol: :lol: :lol:

*Runs to write a cheque to tr1ad for $215K* :idea: :idea:

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » July 14th, 2007, 10:38 am

the KIA CERATO comes with this TCS..

What really is it purpose in FWD vehicles..

Postby tr1ad » July 14th, 2007, 1:26 pm

traction control

TCS is not four wheel drive

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”