QD32 diesel engine... What do you know?

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
*Phoenix*

QD32 diesel engine... What do you know?

Postby *Phoenix* » March 17th, 2007, 11:51 pm

So Tuners what do you know about this power plant. Specs, Cost, Comparison.......

Postby equipped2ripp » March 18th, 2007, 6:03 am

them maxi men using it

transporter001

Postby transporter001 » March 19th, 2007, 8:52 am

dem engine real fast, my paddna had one in he maxi an he was giving me heat with my libero, very powerful on the hills too

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » March 19th, 2007, 1:10 pm

Good engine. Real strong and imo better than the 2.5 TD from the new Frontier. I have one in the D22 Frontier and it working nice. Just crossed 100,000 km and with regular maintenance should cross 500,000 easy. My QD32 only gives a little smoke on startup and that's it. Excellent at the pumps. It takes about $12 - $15 diesel to get me from Siparia to Curepe and back with the A\C on (cause I never take it off)
Oil changes every 5000 km = (6 quarts Castrol Ultramax) = $120.00
Oil filter change every 5000km = (Purolator L30001) = $23.00

Air filter = $65.00
Fuel filter and Water trap changes every 15,000 km.

There, that should help. :)

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 20th, 2007, 8:17 pm

D22 Frontier hmmmmmmmmmmmm.. i feel when i sell the L200 i buying a Frontier.

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » March 22nd, 2007, 2:13 pm

i have one on my bus and it works like a beauty... my QD32 is matched with a power clutch 5 forward.... she pulls off like a gas engine.... excellent on mileage/fuel consumption.

mild2wild

Postby mild2wild » April 4th, 2007, 3:29 am

very good engine. had one in my D22. lots of torque and low end grunt and more available power throughout the powerband than the smaller (2.5 n/a) diesel motors. can't hold up to any of the turbo-diesel motors up top but with the bigger displacement and lack of turbo lag it can give then a good go from a stop once the shifts come quickly. very good on fuel and your driving habits determine your consumption, if driven like a grandma you can stretch a tank over a week of around town driving. i can make it to maracas and back three times from sando on a tank of diesel...

sti-hybrid

Postby sti-hybrid » July 28th, 2007, 11:53 pm

good strong engine the reason transpoter say
dem engine real fast, my paddna had one in he maxi an he was giving me heat with my libero, very powerful on the hills too

is because the maxi is equiped with a 5 fwd alone not a 4wd the whole problem a qd32 n/a feels lazy is because it has a transfer case attached to it on the 4*4 basic D22/frontier thats why it has little power on the p/up..
where as the ZD30 4*4 has a turbo chager hooked on so you don't fell the lack of power :!:

Postby streetbeastINC. » July 29th, 2007, 2:05 am

all i know i lookin for one to put in the patrol!////can anyone link me up with one/?

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » July 29th, 2007, 9:49 am

sti-hybrid wrote:where as the ZD30 4*4 has a turbo chager hooked on so you don't fell the lack of power :!:

I like the boost on the ZD30DDT :D

sti-hybrid

Postby sti-hybrid » July 29th, 2007, 11:22 am

I like the boost on the ZD30DDT

and imagine you can raise it :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Greypatch » August 13th, 2007, 10:21 am

evolution7tt wrote:Good engine. Real strong and imo better than the 2.5 TD from the new Frontier. I have one in the D22 Frontier and it working nice. Just crossed 100,000 km and with regular maintenance should cross 500,000 easy. My QD32 only gives a little smoke on startup and that's it. Excellent at the pumps. It takes about $12 - $15 diesel to get me from Siparia to Curepe and back with the A\C on (cause I never take it off)
Oil changes every 5000 km = (6 quarts Castrol Ultramax) = $120.00
Oil filter change every 5000km = (Purolator L30001) = $23.00

Air filter = $65.00
Fuel filter and Water trap changes every 15,000 km.

There, that should help. :)

u from siparia hoss i from penal

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » November 22nd, 2009, 10:14 am

is it possible to turbo this? like a direct swap from a td27 or zd30ddt?

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » November 26th, 2009, 6:03 pm

anyone?

termite01

Can i run my QD 32 with only one fuel filter

Postby termite01 » November 29th, 2009, 6:37 am

my QD23 has two fuel filters which cost approximately $200 each. Can i use one filter only?

semontj

Postby semontj » January 6th, 2010, 6:49 am

You can use only one filter, the older frontiers came with only one filter.

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » January 9th, 2010, 5:32 pm

Jon_One wrote:is it possible to turbo this? like a direct swap from a td27 or zd30ddt?

heard about this done a few times before using the td27 intake and exhaust manifold with turbo plus the injector pump (as it has the boost diaphragm). should pull VERY nicely with a nice intercooler added.

rikosher

Re: QD32 diesel engine... What do you know?

Postby rikosher » June 5th, 2010, 8:08 am

ne1 has or noe of a qd32 floor shift gearbox for sale

Postby Damien » June 5th, 2010, 5:53 pm

whats the going price for a qd32 ?

supanats

Postby supanats » June 18th, 2010, 2:48 pm

Engine and Tranny is bout $13 gran down south. Engine alone, bout $10,000.

Rokho

Postby Rokho » December 2nd, 2011, 6:02 pm

Guys ah have a pretty unique problem.....Bought a d22 4x4 recently with a QD32 engine number as follows.......QD32 - ..................thats it and strange is that there is no evidence at all that the rest of the engine number was rubbed out............How big a problem is that with License office for Inspection?

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » December 2nd, 2011, 11:45 pm

wow never heard of that....what does your certified copy say?

The Bamboo Online

Postby The Bamboo Online » March 6th, 2013, 9:01 am

Guys need some info. I have a maxi with a TD27 got a deal on a QD32 head and block.

What i need to know is If the accessories from the TD bolt to the QD?

So far I know
The gearbox will bolt up.
The exhaust manifold will fit as well.
Pressure plate

Ok everything fits.....lol

Confirmed

Help me out fellas
Last edited by The Bamboo Online on March 10th, 2013, 10:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » March 10th, 2013, 10:12 am

I just curious, whats the cost of an engine swap like?

The Bamboo Online

Postby The Bamboo Online » March 10th, 2013, 10:18 am

Paid $13,000 for a QD32

Postby nervewrecker » March 10th, 2013, 10:51 am

I mean cost to install it, properly.

Postby Ted_v2 » March 10th, 2013, 7:06 pm

cater 3k for oils and labour cost maybe a bit more if you changing clutches ect

R. Hertz33

Postby R. Hertz33 » April 6th, 2013, 7:15 pm

did anyone put this in a d22 frontier 4x2 ie the one with the yd25? what i would like to know is would the existing gearbox of the d22 (4x2) bolt on and work with a qd32? my yd25 failed and im persuing my options, so far nothing but positive reviews on the qd32 except that i wont get a floor shift gearbox...

my number is 685-1573

also looking for a good mechanic who has already done this conversion

2slide

Postby 2slide » May 12th, 2013, 4:57 pm

Got a QD32 in my e24 maxi and it runs great! DO NOT mate it to a TD27 box...it will destroy it in 6 to 8 months! I bought the maxi with the understanding that the entire drive train was 32 but, as it turned out, box was 27, engine and diff 32. Found it felt like it needed another gear! 4th gear synchro mesh and brass washer was deestroyed! Replaced the box with 32 and it runs like a beast now!

Postby sliderz1 » May 20th, 2013, 1:13 pm

looking back at the pic after all these years, the pic is that of a QD32T.
it was this thread that brought me to tuner back in 2008!!

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”