diesel tuning-HELP!

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
madcoolieboy
Location: arkham asylum for the criminally insane..Under the alias: 'SYKO'

diesel tuning-HELP!

Postby madcoolieboy » December 10th, 2006, 1:19 pm

now fellas bear wit mih here eh. ah new in dis ting.
i have a mitsu L200 TD(intercooled)

i want to make it run but however i don't want to damage my engine.
can anyone advise me on what i can install/modify to get extreme performance? and i want to know what really going on with BOV's on diesel engines cuz i ask around and some ppl tell me it would work and then some some tell me that due to the abscence of the thrttle plates it would not.

p.s. ah from south so if you could point me in the direction of a good tuner/mechanic tha would be reall nice 2. thanks.

Postby equipped2ripp » December 11th, 2006, 6:40 pm

a BOV wouldn't serve a purpose in a diesel engine.

buy a K&N air filter, change oil and filters regularly and you good to go.

refer to the diesel engine maintenance thread.

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » December 11th, 2006, 10:28 pm

and i want to know what really going on with BOV's on diesel engines

it will not work bcause diesel engines revvs according to the amount of trottle open at the fuel pump, and takes in air accordinally. where as fuel inj gas turbos engines works the opposite way...the engine revvs according to the amount of air in at the trottle body and takes gas accordinly.......any1,correct me if i'm wrong!

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » December 11th, 2006, 10:53 pm

u could also "JACK BOOST". some fellas down by us have a b13 with a CD17 turbo diesel & 5fwd gearbox...if ah tell yuh!!... they jack 8/9 psi of boost, and if yuh see how dat ting WUKKIN..all u hearin is turbo boostin..u aint even hearin the engine... when he launch tyres peelin on 1,2,3...and he wokkin taxi with dat.. boost all d way!!

g20freak

Postby g20freak » December 12th, 2006, 8:09 am

Ok first question? How much Hp are you looking for?

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » December 16th, 2006, 3:59 pm

heh heh.. thats the question .. what do u want to get out of ur diesel?

g20freak

Postby g20freak » December 17th, 2006, 10:54 am

Simple things to do.

Bigger intercooler, front mount.
Bigger exhaust system
Fuel pump
Boost controller
Turbo timer is a given with Diesel engines
K&N drop in filter
Oil change

If you want to get crazy.........

NOS
re-calibration of fuel pump
bigger injectors
porting and polishing
cams
ECU upgrade/ re-programmable system.
light weight pullies
clutch system
bigger turbo
turbo manifold system
pistons/ for big boost............50lbs +
removal of clutch fan and replace with electronic system

Trust me I could go on and on.

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » December 17th, 2006, 7:09 pm

hosss.. u forget one thign there.... :twisted:

port an polish a di engine??...

Postby equipped2ripp » December 18th, 2006, 1:34 am

yeah but for that L200, you won't get parts readily available to do such a project.

keep it simple, install a K&N air filter, clean injectors and maintain the engine well and it'll be good to go.

if yuh not satisfied, sell it and buy a gasoline vehicle. simple.

g20freak

Postby g20freak » December 18th, 2006, 5:56 am

Porting and polishing was mentioned. For me, yeah diesel engines all well and fine. You could get some nice Hp out of it, but padnah, when I have to be marking all the gas stations that have water in the diesel, it don't make sense to do all that. This is about the second........no third time I had to drop the tank and flush. I going back to GAS we.........!!!!!! I it was any where else in the world, yeah go ahead and modify.

madcoolieboy

Postby madcoolieboy » January 1st, 2007, 12:58 pm

well fellas thanks for the info. all ah wanted was some faster acceleration and a lil psssssh when ah shiftin lol (rice). if increasin boost and puttin a k&n in helpin me well ah go throw it in. But small thing is diesel anyways. i goin an buy a GSX-R so i go get my speed nourishment there thanks.

Postby equipped2ripp » January 7th, 2007, 1:43 am

go strong

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » January 15th, 2007, 3:41 pm

on the same topic... meh manual in thailand - anese.... :evil:

whats the recc mileage for oil change with a turb diesel eng?

g20freak

Postby g20freak » January 16th, 2007, 3:36 pm

3000 km will be the ideal change. Others do it at 5000 km.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » January 16th, 2007, 9:30 pm

3000k!!!! yikes.. thats like every 6 weeks for me.!!!!!

whats the best brand/type of oil to use?

this is my first experience with an oil burner. are there any lubricant and or fuel additives i should be using?

who has the linkup for toyota vigo oil filters?

Postby equipped2ripp » January 17th, 2007, 1:42 am

nigel1977, i used the slick 50 diesel oil treatment without any major difference. i used it @ 85000kms.

if you use the castrol syntec blend oil, you could even go up to 7000kms without an oil change!

i used to do this when i used to make a UWI run everyday from south... wasn't economical to change oil every month/5000kms or so.

refer to the diesel engine maintenance thread... :arrow:

g20freak

Postby g20freak » January 18th, 2007, 7:42 am

As for me I don't use treatments in the diesel oil. Main reason for doing so. After a while, the oil will become sludgey, why, because the treatment tends to cling. As for going up to 7000 kms, your choice. The reason for me changing every 3000 kms, is for the engine, and the turbo also.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » January 18th, 2007, 8:21 am

^^^and thats using normal or snyth oils for 3k km?

g20freak

Postby g20freak » January 18th, 2007, 4:06 pm

Syth oils through out. Natural tends to burn off faster. Worst yet when doing a hard run and you switch off. The oil inside that turbo will fry and screw it up so fast.

Craver

Postby Craver » January 19th, 2007, 12:38 pm

call 730 5850 he would be able to tell u exactly wat to do.........
he has a disel engine in a mark 2 cressida runnin 14.82 sec. 1/4 mile

730 5850 bobby :stalk:

madcoolieboy

Postby madcoolieboy » February 23rd, 2007, 4:14 pm

craver the man never had a cressida with no diesel engine runnin 14.82. doh put up ting dat not real nah dawgg.

madcoolieboy

Postby madcoolieboy » February 23rd, 2007, 4:16 pm

but thanks anyway..

madcoolieboy

Postby madcoolieboy » February 23rd, 2007, 4:28 pm

btw....can i put in a 6 fwd trans in a L200?

g20freak

Postby g20freak » February 23rd, 2007, 4:49 pm

Well I guess your thinking about using the new gearbox from the L200. There are a lot of things to look at.

1. Gear ratios
2. Bell housing and bolt up
3. Lenght of the box in relation to the mounting position
4. If it's ECU tied in or fully mechanical
5. To see if the range will work or not.

So you see there are quite some things to look at before doing that.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”