Page 1 of 2
cone filter on diesel pickup
Posted: September 18th, 2006, 11:20 am
by toyoman
would it be advisable to use a K&N cone filter on a turbo diesel pickup?
would that filter keep all the dust out the engine and would it make a difference with the performance of the van?
Posted: September 18th, 2006, 11:32 am
by Big Z
Advisable... yes
Performance.. yes
Posted: September 18th, 2006, 6:11 pm
by equipped2ripp
better to use a drop-in...
what pick-up btw?
Posted: September 18th, 2006, 6:44 pm
by toyoman
what pick-up btw?
hilux vigo....
Posted: September 18th, 2006, 7:04 pm
by equipped2ripp
the cone filter might make too much of a "whistling" sound... i used one in a frontier already and i took it out after 1 day, it was quite annoying. now i have a drop-in K&N and it works fine
Posted: September 18th, 2006, 7:10 pm
by toyoman
the cone filter might make too much of a "whistling" sound... i used one in a frontier already and i took it out after 1 day, it was quite annoying. now i have a drop-in K&N and it works fine
seen, did u notice any difference in acceleration?
where'd u get yours? by sheriff?
Posted: September 18th, 2006, 9:50 pm
by equipped2ripp
acceleration, fuel economy, better response.... better than stock.
i clean the filter every 18-20,000... i should do it more often though. it does be black. when yuh clean and oil it and put it back in, it does pull real nice.
why yuh askin me where i got it when u know who sellin it?
yes... sheriff's
Posted: September 18th, 2006, 10:02 pm
by InDeForest
Yeah ive put a few of these in turbo diesels for friends, the issue is you can feel alot of improvement but they get dirty fast, because of the huge amount of air diesels consume, so you feel the improvement go away as it gets dirty more often than the gas engines.
Regardless of what kind of filter you use, stock or aftermarket or panel or cone, the fact is the air filters require frequent service.
Posted: September 18th, 2006, 10:03 pm
by toyoman
cool....

Posted: July 27th, 2007, 10:24 pm
by Dragsta
My padna took out his Air Filter Box setup and installed a Cone type Filter.......and Boy oh boy, that thing does sound Reaaalll Loud and annoying like a truck

Posted: July 28th, 2007, 5:26 pm
by pothole
i have one in my frontier and i love it to me it sounds great
did anybody ever open up there exhaust i was thinkin to put a 3 1/2in from the turbo back. i should get more power
Posted: July 28th, 2007, 7:08 pm
by Dragsta
pothole, Too SMALL exhaust will Reduce power, and too LARGE Exhaust will also reduce power

Posted: July 28th, 2007, 10:40 pm
by sti-hybrid
Posted: July 29th, 2007, 4:21 pm
by pothole
i got the 3.0 zd30. the exhaust is really restrictive it has a 90` elbow comin out of the turbo i wanted to change that
Posted: July 29th, 2007, 6:20 pm
by sti-hybrid
it appers to be 90' but it has what you call a mandrill bend so it is suppose to be free flowin already ;NISSAN wouldn't create a restrication there

Posted: August 6th, 2007, 2:23 pm
by Greypatch
how much for the K&N drop in for the frontier people ?
Posted: August 7th, 2007, 10:05 pm
by equipped2ripp
i pay $550 @ the time... sheriff's
K&N for SR5 toyota
Posted: August 8th, 2007, 8:34 am
by Stuckindmud
guys anyone find a K&N or other good alternative for the SR5 hilux?
place? price?
Posted: August 8th, 2007, 2:57 pm
by Greypatch
k thx man when ah close to meh 35k ah will upgrade to K&N
Posted: August 9th, 2007, 9:20 pm
by nigel1977
The k&n drop in for the vigo is like 700 by sheriffs.
Posted: August 17th, 2007, 10:00 pm
by civic minded
anyone knows if they will have for the Rangers?
Posted: August 20th, 2007, 12:05 pm
by madcoolieboy
yeah the cone filters work on the vans. i had one on my l200. they improve performance slightly...however your engine becomes louder due to the abscence of the filter box.. and if you're boosting, you'll hear the turbocharger whistle while it's spooling
Posted: August 21st, 2007, 3:06 pm
by chea
Yo i want one for my 2.5t hilux..where can i get one and any idea on pricing ppl?, want one asap...thanx
Posted: August 22nd, 2007, 2:40 pm
by hilux junkie
TEKNET have toyota and ranger drop-in k&n filters...call them 625-8638...
Posted: September 18th, 2007, 12:04 am
by venum
I am using a stainless steel filter in my car presently
better response that the K&N
these are very easy to clean, can take pressure washing and need no re-oiling
so it will be a lot better for a diesel
also quieter than K&N
Arospeed
Qwkwhip has - $300.00
what do you guys think?
Posted: September 20th, 2007, 8:03 am
by *Phoenix*
no re-oiling... so how does it work?
post some pics with it installed V.
Posted: September 20th, 2007, 2:30 pm
by Stuckindmud
^^ yeah, post some pics,
That sound like the filter you use on a range hood. No offense eh Venum , if it wuking i might consider it too .
Posted: September 20th, 2007, 11:06 pm
by venum
pics posted fellas
Posted: October 22nd, 2007, 8:38 pm
by madcoolieboy
another thing that needs to be noted....diesel and turbo diesel engines suck alot more air than gas engines hence why vans have large cylinder shaped filters and not little box filters etc....therefore if you running aftermarket filters....k&n arospeed..weapon R etc...note that they'll have to be cleaned frequently to preserve performance...that stainless steel filter looking nice though...LOL
Posted: October 22nd, 2007, 11:12 pm
by venum
suppose to be pressure washable