cone filter on diesel pickup

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
toyoman

cone filter on diesel pickup

Postby toyoman » September 18th, 2006, 11:20 am

would it be advisable to use a K&N cone filter on a turbo diesel pickup?
would that filter keep all the dust out the engine and would it make a difference with the performance of the van?

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » September 18th, 2006, 11:32 am

Advisable... yes
Performance.. yes

Postby equipped2ripp » September 18th, 2006, 6:11 pm

better to use a drop-in...

what pick-up btw?

toyoman

Postby toyoman » September 18th, 2006, 6:44 pm

what pick-up btw?

hilux vigo....

Postby equipped2ripp » September 18th, 2006, 7:04 pm

the cone filter might make too much of a "whistling" sound... i used one in a frontier already and i took it out after 1 day, it was quite annoying. now i have a drop-in K&N and it works fine

toyoman

Postby toyoman » September 18th, 2006, 7:10 pm

the cone filter might make too much of a "whistling" sound... i used one in a frontier already and i took it out after 1 day, it was quite annoying. now i have a drop-in K&N and it works fine

seen, did u notice any difference in acceleration?
where'd u get yours? by sheriff?

Postby equipped2ripp » September 18th, 2006, 9:50 pm

acceleration, fuel economy, better response.... better than stock.

i clean the filter every 18-20,000... i should do it more often though. it does be black. when yuh clean and oil it and put it back in, it does pull real nice.

why yuh askin me where i got it when u know who sellin it? :lol:

yes... sheriff's

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » September 18th, 2006, 10:02 pm

Yeah ive put a few of these in turbo diesels for friends, the issue is you can feel alot of improvement but they get dirty fast, because of the huge amount of air diesels consume, so you feel the improvement go away as it gets dirty more often than the gas engines.
Regardless of what kind of filter you use, stock or aftermarket or panel or cone, the fact is the air filters require frequent service.

toyoman

Postby toyoman » September 18th, 2006, 10:03 pm

cool.... :mrgreen:

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » July 27th, 2007, 10:24 pm

My padna took out his Air Filter Box setup and installed a Cone type Filter.......and Boy oh boy, that thing does sound Reaaalll Loud and annoying like a truck :roll:

pothole

Postby pothole » July 28th, 2007, 5:26 pm

i have one in my frontier and i love it to me it sounds great :P
did anybody ever open up there exhaust i was thinkin to put a 3 1/2in from the turbo back. i should get more power

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » July 28th, 2007, 7:08 pm

pothole, Too SMALL exhaust will Reduce power, and too LARGE Exhaust will also reduce power :wink:

sti-hybrid

Postby sti-hybrid » July 28th, 2007, 10:40 pm

^^^^^^agreed^^^^^^^ but pothole what engine you got yd25 or zd30 if is a zd30 a front mounted intercooler might be a good idea then you can raise the boost the only concern is that the engine light will trip on and you might have to run a piggyback ecu to fool the intake sensor so that the brain doesn't go into failsafe....... :!: :idea: :mrgreen:

pothole

Postby pothole » July 29th, 2007, 4:21 pm

i got the 3.0 zd30. the exhaust is really restrictive it has a 90` elbow comin out of the turbo i wanted to change that

sti-hybrid

Postby sti-hybrid » July 29th, 2007, 6:20 pm

it appers to be 90' but it has what you call a mandrill bend so it is suppose to be free flowin already ;NISSAN wouldn't create a restrication there :!:

Postby Greypatch » August 6th, 2007, 2:23 pm

how much for the K&N drop in for the frontier people ?

Postby equipped2ripp » August 7th, 2007, 10:05 pm

i pay $550 @ the time... sheriff's

Stuckindmud

K&N for SR5 toyota

Postby Stuckindmud » August 8th, 2007, 8:34 am

guys anyone find a K&N or other good alternative for the SR5 hilux?
place? price?

Postby Greypatch » August 8th, 2007, 2:57 pm

k thx man when ah close to meh 35k ah will upgrade to K&N

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » August 9th, 2007, 9:20 pm

The k&n drop in for the vigo is like 700 by sheriffs.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » August 17th, 2007, 10:00 pm

anyone knows if they will have for the Rangers?

madcoolieboy
Location: arkham asylum for the criminally insane..Under the alias: 'SYKO'

Postby madcoolieboy » August 20th, 2007, 12:05 pm

yeah the cone filters work on the vans. i had one on my l200. they improve performance slightly...however your engine becomes louder due to the abscence of the filter box.. and if you're boosting, you'll hear the turbocharger whistle while it's spooling

chea

Postby chea » August 21st, 2007, 3:06 pm

Yo i want one for my 2.5t hilux..where can i get one and any idea on pricing ppl?, want one asap...thanx

hilux junkie

Postby hilux junkie » August 22nd, 2007, 2:40 pm

TEKNET have toyota and ranger drop-in k&n filters...call them 625-8638...

venum

Postby venum » September 18th, 2007, 12:04 am

I am using a stainless steel filter in my car presently

better response that the K&N

these are very easy to clean, can take pressure washing and need no re-oiling

so it will be a lot better for a diesel

also quieter than K&N

Arospeed

Qwkwhip has - $300.00

what do you guys think?
Last edited by venum on September 20th, 2007, 11:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » September 20th, 2007, 8:03 am

no re-oiling... so how does it work?
post some pics with it installed V.

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » September 20th, 2007, 2:30 pm

^^ yeah, post some pics,
That sound like the filter you use on a range hood. No offense eh Venum , if it wuking i might consider it too .

venum

Postby venum » September 20th, 2007, 11:06 pm

pics posted fellas

madcoolieboy
Location: arkham asylum for the criminally insane..Under the alias: 'SYKO'

Postby madcoolieboy » October 22nd, 2007, 8:38 pm

another thing that needs to be noted....diesel and turbo diesel engines suck alot more air than gas engines hence why vans have large cylinder shaped filters and not little box filters etc....therefore if you running aftermarket filters....k&n arospeed..weapon R etc...note that they'll have to be cleaned frequently to preserve performance...that stainless steel filter looking nice though...LOL

venum

Postby venum » October 22nd, 2007, 11:12 pm

suppose to be pressure washable

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”