TECH Thread - MITSUBISHI L200, Sportero, Triton.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
rmrunner

Re: TECH Thread - MITSUBISHI L200, Sportero, Triton.

Postby rmrunner » June 23rd, 2013, 8:58 am

i saw the sale on tyres at masterserve...which is better though? bfgoodrich vs michellin.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » June 23rd, 2013, 11:42 am

IMHO

On road -> Michelin
Off road -> BF's

Postby DVSTT » June 23rd, 2013, 4:42 pm

Guys, what are good shocks for that 3.2 sportero?

venum

Postby venum » June 23rd, 2013, 6:36 pm

DVSTT wrote:Guys, what are good shocks for that 3.2 sportero?

depends on what u want them for

if it is for oem replacement, then get the oem (Tokico) I think

or is it kayaba, i have soo many Mitsus that i mix them up at times

if it is for upgrades, then teh list is long

Postby DVSTT » June 25th, 2013, 7:40 pm

venum wrote:
DVSTT wrote:Guys, what are good shocks for that 3.2 sportero?

depends on what u want them for

if it is for oem replacement, then get the oem (Tokico) I think

or is it kayaba, i have soo many Mitsus that i mix them up at times

if it is for upgrades, then teh list is long

It's for highway driving. Dad said he finds they bottom out when you corner hard with the OEMs, but it's not going to be lifted anytime soon.

venum

Postby venum » June 26th, 2013, 12:28 am

did he have the oem checked to see if they were bad or if the stabilizer bars were causing the bottom out effect?

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 26th, 2013, 7:15 pm

Guys need some help.

Looking for the actual rubbers, or at least the sizes for the following:

Clutch Master Cylinder
Clutch Slave Cylinder

Details:
4D56 4x4 2007 Sportero, Local.

I emailed Ryan/Filterproz for this a couple weeks ago, but he didn't get back to me yet and I need this asap. I drained my clutch fluid less than a couple months ago and it's black like tar again. Don't want to be in a sticky situation.

Anyone?

Cheers,
Noveck
Last edited by VexXx Dogg on June 27th, 2013, 8:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby 0001 » June 26th, 2013, 11:00 pm

i dunno where to send you to get original parts.

did u try calling him? 708-1924?

he is bringing down some cables for me so he is the guy i go to....give him a call tom and talk to him

other than that ask venum and see what he recommends

venum

Postby venum » June 27th, 2013, 1:11 am

did you check DM :?:

they have reasonable prices on some items - belts, bushings, seals. I buy some things by them cuz the prices good.

check Siaam's in Duncan Village san fernando, they can get (mostly likely no stock) or Federal's (caveat emptor)

or Simpson motors in Barbados

if dont want oem and want to use generic, then you may have to take them out and go hunting

dont think that the older K34 or K74 may work because the KB4\8 has upgraded and more powerful brakes than the older models

but parts places may have the size in stock for another pickup, maybe ranger or canter\fuso
Last edited by venum on May 9th, 2015, 8:55 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 27th, 2013, 8:25 am

*edited post, it's the clutch master, not brake. My brakes are working great!

Postby DVSTT » June 27th, 2013, 9:29 am

venum wrote:did he have the oem checked to see if they were bad or if the stabilizer bars were causing the bottom out effect?

No he didn't. I can tell him to try it.

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 29th, 2013, 4:37 pm

took it out, went hunting in 6 parts places and is SALT.

steups.

Anyone have a pdf version of the FSM for the 2007 sportero? the link to the one in the service manuals thread eh wukking for me.

If I am able to get part nums, I'll order my own blasted ting.

venum

Postby venum » June 30th, 2013, 2:38 am

dude,

did u call diamond motors to find out if they got :?:

I'll check teh owners club for u

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 30th, 2013, 1:10 pm

Calling DM is like pulling teeth.
Called twice and they're not very helpful. Got bounced around and eventually gave up.

Might try south branch instead.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » June 30th, 2013, 1:21 pm

just make sure and go online and join the ansa macal club. wont get much discount but they tend to treat customers a bit diff.

venum

Postby venum » July 1st, 2013, 7:31 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Might try south branch instead.

if u go they are really much better

Postby DVSTT » July 3rd, 2013, 8:22 pm

VexXx Dogg, like you got the legacy sold? See it parked at the back of Union Hall Gas Station a few times. Looks really good.

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 4th, 2013, 7:10 am

Yeah, a good buddy of mine took her. I miss her terribly, though. A lot of blood, sweat, tears and gears went into that build.

droppa

Postby droppa » July 9th, 2013, 11:02 am

good day fellas, we recently bought a used K74 (4D56 non turbo)

the front was a bit sagged and some needing some suspension TLC

so we did some remedial work, shocks, cradle bushings, stay bar rubbers and greasing up an what not, drove around an the front was still a bit too low, so we cranked the torsion up a few turns, this levelled out the van, but also introduced a small knock everytime the wheels move up and down, is there some kind of bushing on the torsion bar, the noise is coming from there, if so where can we find that??

also is there an EPC for the L200s, if venum aint find that then ill believe it doesnt exist........

venum

Postby venum » July 20th, 2013, 11:51 am

droppa wrote:also is there an EPC for the L200s, if venum aint find that then ill believe it doesnt exist........

Allyuh place too much faith in me :fadein:

if EPC = Electronic parts catalog, then yes, it's called Mitsubishi ASA and is somewhere around the interwebs

the guys in the Mitsubishi forum cud link you, i don't have a recent one

that knock is sometimes caused by seized ball-joints, or torsion bars that have been adjusted to much such that the front upper wishbones moved closer to their bumb stops and now knocking on them

Postby 0001 » July 21st, 2013, 6:35 pm

guys i finding that my front suspension feeling dead .....like when i goin over rough patches / road etc.

i hav already ordered shocks .....anything else could be wrong?

Postby 0001 » July 23rd, 2013, 10:26 am

guys it seems like i have to change my glow plugs, Anybody could recommend somewhere cheaper than the firm? they have it for $1200 and $985 after discount for ONE.

even if there are substitutes i will rally out if i have to order them down. The van hard starting and its getting worse nw

venum

Postby venum » July 25th, 2013, 10:40 am

for teh suspension

check ball joints and stabilizer bar bushings
Last edited by venum on May 9th, 2015, 8:55 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby DVSTT » July 27th, 2013, 5:50 pm

Anyone ever changed brake pads? Lately I've been hearing them screeching when braking.

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 28th, 2013, 1:13 pm

Why I so harden?
I see this and I wants. ALL.

http://www.ultraracing.my/catalog/index ... r=category

Chances are I won't, but anyone running em?
On lifted rides, I wonder how much they can improve chassis and handling dynamics.

Postby 0001 » July 29th, 2013, 1:48 pm

i was lookin at this same thing this morning. was looking to get the front and the rear. but i was wondering if it makes sense as my van is stock

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 30th, 2013, 10:03 pm

How much fluids do I need for an entire drivetrain fluid swap on the 2007 4D56 Turbo Sportero?

venum

Postby venum » August 3rd, 2013, 11:15 am

DVSTT wrote:Anyone ever changed brake pads? Lately I've been hearing them screeching when braking.

Nope . . . no need to change Brakes as we never need them, stock Sporteros are pretty slow, so just let off the accelerator pedal and they will stop on their own :mrgreen:

brakes, just another useless component

I changed from OEM to OEM sometime after I bought mine, then when those OEM were through (~50,000km) I changed to Bosch, cuz my supplier ususal didn't have in stock at the time

Currently using the Bosch. They work OK at slow speeds, not great at higher speeds

Nothing beats the braking experience that I had with OEM. Gonna change back to OEM

I have seen where good ole OHK have damaged OEM Sportero rotors
Last edited by venum on May 9th, 2015, 8:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

Val

Postby Val » August 3rd, 2013, 6:21 pm

I change them every year, rotors every other and not by choice. Oem preferred

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 11th, 2013, 10:13 pm

OMG, I'm in love.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”