Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Re: Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 12th, 2014, 5:54 am

i got hawk pads on my sti when i bought it, most failed thing in the world and extremely dusty....

i honestly have no issues with the OEM pads on my vigo

Postby Team Loco » January 12th, 2014, 6:34 am

Jimbo wrote:
Team Loco wrote:lol guys. thats my old model tbr ln166. if allyuh think that bad the new model lux with the 2kd is clocking close to 450,000kms. engine job done at 400,000kms. even at that mileage it just needed a ring job. our key to good maintenance is religious oil change every 5000kms. we use castrol and recently valvoline oil. nothing special

Out of curiosity loco, do you have a turbo timer on the 2kd? Would love some real world data on if it makes any difference in turbo life. At your kind of mileage, you're a prime candidate

There is one installed but never used. Van is stock. We replaced the turbo at close to 400000kms. So without a timer we got good life out of it
1389522861551.jpg

Postby DVSTT » January 12th, 2014, 6:58 am

DVSTT wrote:Hey guys, need some assistance locating the front drive shaft coupling for the 4wd on a 1998 hilux.

Anyone???

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » January 12th, 2014, 8:59 am

Team Loco wrote:
Jimbo wrote:
Team Loco wrote:lol guys. thats my old model tbr ln166. if allyuh think that bad the new model lux with the 2kd is clocking close to 450,000kms. engine job done at 400,000kms. even at that mileage it just needed a ring job. our key to good maintenance is religious oil change every 5000kms. we use castrol and recently valvoline oil. nothing special

Out of curiosity loco, do you have a turbo timer on the 2kd? Would love some real world data on if it makes any difference in turbo life. At your kind of mileage, you're a prime candidate

There is one installed but never used. Van is stock. We replaced the turbo at close to 400000kms. So without a timer we got good life out of it

Very interesting! Thx man

rx80

Postby rx80 » January 12th, 2014, 7:13 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:i got hawk pads on my sti when i bought it, most failed thing in the world and extremely dusty....

i honestly have no issues with the OEM pads on my vigo

Ok.. They work pretty well on both my vehicles.. But the distance i drive the stock just wasn't enough. So i switched to them.

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 12th, 2014, 7:22 pm

Hawk is crap...it's a cheaper pad and people use that to justify the "performance". "It work good for the price"

rx80

Postby rx80 » January 13th, 2014, 7:42 pm

Your review from one example? Not even specific to the one I mentioned...
btw anyone using this..... http://www.hks-power.co.jp/en/product/e ... index.html
the hks D? I used another chip upgrade on my last hilux but sold with it.. def had more torque and speed but I'm Interested in the hks one for my current hilux..

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » January 14th, 2014, 10:35 pm

Just curious: is that nudge bar something that is available as a local option form TTTL or is it something sold through the aftermarket dealers?

rx80

Postby rx80 » January 14th, 2014, 11:05 pm

DVSTT wrote:
DVSTT wrote:Hey guys, need some assistance locating the front drive shaft coupling for the 4wd on a 1998 hilux.

Anyone???

Got a pic of exactly what it is? Thinking its a flange you're speaking of...

Stark Auto Rentals

Postby Stark Auto Rentals » January 15th, 2014, 9:14 am

Hi Guys,

Anyone know offhand exactly what bulbs the Hilux uses in the Headlights and Fog Lights?
2007 Model.

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 15th, 2014, 9:36 am

H4 heaflight

Stark Auto Rentals

Postby Stark Auto Rentals » January 15th, 2014, 9:57 am

thanks man. Anyone know the foglight bulb?

Postby DVSTT » January 15th, 2014, 10:09 am

rx80 wrote:
DVSTT wrote:

Anyone???

Got a pic of exactly what it is? Thinking its a flange you're speaking of...

Nope. I'm trying to locate the part for a relative and that's what he told me he needed.

rx80

Postby rx80 » January 15th, 2014, 11:38 am

If its the flange I should have.. he can also use any other that fits.

badart

Postby badart » January 15th, 2014, 10:29 pm

Quality Car Rentals wrote:thanks man. Anyone know the foglight bulb?

Paullct

Postby Paullct » February 1st, 2014, 9:29 pm

fellas

bought myself a Hilux from TTTL. Shipment supposed to arrive Monday so hoping to have it within the next 3 weeks or so.

Spent some time today reading through here from page one. Great info.

What oil should I use? Should I go with what the firm uses or should I provide my own oil from day one? Been hearing about Amsoil, etc. Also what about diesel treatments/ additives?

Any other advice/ pointers are welcomed.

Thanks in advance.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 2nd, 2014, 2:46 am

Paullct wrote:fellas

bought myself a Hilux from TTTL. Shipment supposed to arrive Monday so hoping to have it within the next 3 weeks or so.

Spent some time today reading through here from page one. Great info.

What oil should I use? Should I go with what the firm uses or should I provide my own oil from day one? Been hearing about Amsoil, etc. Also what about diesel treatments/ additives?

Any other advice/ pointers are welcomed.

Thanks in advance.

Good Day and Congrats on the purchase
I am to believe that its a diesel you purchased so i am giving advice for diesel; some of the information is relevant if its a gas but not all of it :)

Starting
Diesel engines have glow plugs...they should be heated before attempting to start; turn ignition to on and wait about 3 seconds before tumbling the engine

Engine Oil
As regards the oil...I think the firm uses Castrol (Not sure if its the CRB Turbo or the Hypuron) but any decent 5/10/15w-40 oil that meets the spec will work (Read Castrol, Shell, Total, Valvoline, Gulf, Mobil 1, Amsoil, etc). If you aren't getting anything off for providing your own oil I would advise using what the firm has. I'm honestly a bit wary of Amsoil's claims; there is no way that I am leaving the same oil in my crankcase for upwards of 15000Km, but to each his/her own.

Treatments/Additives
I wouldn't use any until after the first oil change or 5000km thereabouts. There are a couple treatments that I would consider:
- Redline 85 Plus/Redline Diesel fuel Catalyst (essentially the Same product with a different label)
- Amsoil Diesel Fuel Concentrate & Amsoil Cetane Booster (I Think they should be used together)
- Power Service Diesel Kleen + Cetane Booster (I have never used it but it was recommended by another)
I personally use the Redline 85 Plus adding approx 1 ounce every 80 Litres of fuel (2 separate fill ups of 40 litres).

Other Pieces of advice
Some of this information is listed in the manual but I am providing it here

Running-in
Take your Time with the brand new engine for at least the first 1000Kms;Don't baby it but don't rip it to shreds either. Essentially you shouldn't have cause to cross 3000RPMs. Also don't let the engine sit at one RPM value for too long (So don't for example have the engine doing 2500RPM for the whole highway journey that you might have to make; Try to vary it as best as possible during your journey) I don't advise using any treatments this early in an engine's life as friction is necessary to properly seat the rings (and treatments tend to reduce friction), and what deposits are there to clean after 100Kms. Besides the engine; The brakes are now being properly bedded as you drive and things like gears in the transfer case and diff are now coming up to speed...just take it easy at first.

Tyres
If its the Bridgestones that come on the van from the factory; take care in the wet...the michelins are a lot better. The Bridgestones have abysmal grip. Consider yourself warned.

Turbo
If you don't have a turbo timer installed, let the vehicle idle for at least 60 seconds after spirited driving; On the other hand you can ease-of the speed as you near your destination to allow your turbo to cool (the manual states to allow the vehicle to idle for one minute after driving at a sustained speed of 80Kph and 2 minutes after sustained speed of 100Kph)

Diesel Water Trap
After every couple of fill ups you can check the sedimentor (aka water trap) in the van to see the crap that you pay for. I believe earlier in the thread someone took pictures during a fuel filter replacement. At the bottom of the canister there is a wing nut with a whole in the middle to let fuel out. You turn the wing nut 2 complete turns anti-clockwise to open, place a small cup below and press on the top of the canister to pump out the contents at the bottom of the trap (remember to close it when your done). Behold the "quality" that is fuel in Trinidad.

2wd/4wd
Changing the gears in the transfer case in this van is horrible...instructions are provided on the visor or near the gear itself...my advice: Limit the amount of times you need to change this thing and don't drive on the paved road with the 4wd engaged.

Read the fine print on the Document that Toyota has you sign to get your vehicle serviced and WATCH THEM when they working on your vehicle. Some of them eh know they arch from they elbow inside there and some have the gift of gab and will give you any number of reasons for the things you see going on.

Keep a piece of cloth tied to one of the hooks in the tray/tray liner...Diesel Pumps are always covered in diesel. :lol:

Read the manual for more info :)
I could go on but i'm tired.

Paullct

Postby Paullct » February 2nd, 2014, 8:06 pm

Good read. Thanks kamakazi

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 2nd, 2014, 8:35 pm

No problem...8-)

Premera

Postby Premera » February 4th, 2014, 10:41 pm

Is this mileage good ?
1391568097306.jpg

Paullct

Postby Paullct » February 8th, 2014, 6:59 am

shipment arrived yesterday. hoping to take delivery before month end.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » February 8th, 2014, 8:28 am

Congrats Paul ... bout time !

Paullct

Postby Paullct » February 8th, 2014, 8:45 am

Thanks sweeks

Paullct

Postby Paullct » February 21st, 2014, 7:32 pm

taking delivery tomorrow!

Paullct

Postby Paullct » February 23rd, 2014, 8:33 am

picked up my Hilux yesterday :) heading offshore tomorrow :(

toyoman

Postby toyoman » March 3rd, 2014, 10:56 pm

looking for a working gearbox for my 4x2 hilux 2kd engine....or anyone with a crashed hilux willing to sell the gearbox....thanks

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » April 4th, 2014, 9:57 am

Premera wrote:Is this mileage good ?
1391568097306.jpg

yes this is good mileage
i have 3.0 diesel - 80,000 km
I get 690-730 km per tank of diesel.
this depends on highway and mainroad runs

Maintain your regular Fluid service - if synthetic fluids
8000- 15,000 km
transmission - 30,000 km

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 5th, 2014, 12:06 am

Usually get around 10 km to the litre

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » April 8th, 2014, 2:49 pm

i get around 9.5-10km per litre
depends on the driving...highway vs main roads

jpec

Postby jpec » April 13th, 2014, 2:24 pm

hey guys, need some help finding the U-CLAMPS for the 4x4 hilux. the clamp that goes over the leaf springs and rear axle. any help would be GREATLY appreciated!

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”