The 2012 Ford Ranger & Mazda BT-50 - THEY'RE HERE!!

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
lighthammer

Re: The 2012 Ford Ranger & Mazda BT-50 - **LEAKED IMAGES!!!

Postby lighthammer » October 24th, 2010, 10:05 pm

civic minded wrote:the bt-50 went to the more feminine side - why did they do that??? it was always regarding as a manly ride...they just spoil it - look who they choose to design the truck - a flippin gay weirdo-fruity-floofy-JAPANESE fella , no wonder it turn out that way.

FTFY

civic minded

Postby civic minded » October 25th, 2010, 6:33 am

LOL!!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 17th, 2010, 6:17 am

New video on the interior of the 2010 Ford Ranger.

Hmm.. almost as big as a Navara, i see....
8) 8)

spydafrog

Postby spydafrog » November 17th, 2010, 11:17 am

like we really needed to hear about the names of the colors they chose! Give us a damn 360 tour of the interior. Thanks for posting that vid lighthammer.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » November 17th, 2010, 3:59 pm

i just hope the ones we get down hear are like these, i want to go in and test drive the 3.2 as soon as it landed here.

spydafrog

Postby spydafrog » November 17th, 2010, 4:17 pm

agreed civic minded.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » November 17th, 2010, 8:50 pm

we have to wait so damn long!!

johnn hommes

Postby johnn hommes » March 31st, 2011, 1:46 pm

Basic Over View....for whats coming People,, so save up or keep you current one....

The Navara has been around since 2005 and is built in the same factory as the Pathfinder SUV, which has also been upgraded. Both cars use the same ladder frame chassis which is suited to their rugged character. The key advantages of retaining these underpinnings, instead of opting for a more modern and refined monocoque, are simplicity and strength. This means that as well as coping with off-road terrain, thanks to its switchable four-wheel-drive, the Navara can lug a load of up to 1,090kg, and tow a 3,000kg trailer when fitted with the new 3.0-litre V6 diesel.

To mark out the latest Navara, there’s a new front bumper, bonnet and grille which extends the length of the nose by 8cm. Despite not being radical changes to the Tonka-toy looks, the rounded bumper is more aerodynamic, benefiting fuel consumption. New 18-inch alloy wheels, and the option of the striking Electric Blue paint applied to our test car, complete the tweaks.

In contrast to its rugged exterior, the interior is not so luxurious. Three in four of the 4,000 Navaras sold per year in the UK are specced in range-topping Tekna trim, which includes heated leather seats which have redesigned backs for better support on long journeys. The switchgear includes big, easy to use buttons and chunky indicator stalks, while cruise control now features a speed limiter.

Under the bonnet, power is provided by a choice of 2.5-litre four-cylinder or new Renault-Nissan Alliance-developed 3.0-litre V6 diesels. Our car was equipped with the latter, which has been engineered for refinement and power, so the unit idles at just 650rpm, while its peak 550Nm of torque comes in at a low 1,700rpm max 180kmph. The truck weighs over two tonnes, which was supplemented by 225kg of stone chips which Nissan had added to the launch cars, but the engine coped well with the truck’s weight. The unit is only available with the seven-speed auto gearbox found in the sporty 370Z, albeit with revised ratios. The box shifts quite smoothly, but is often caught out by gradients in the road, and takes some time to find the right gear.

The switchable four-wheel drive means that the Navara is mostly rear driven on the road. But there’s a low range transfer box which gives the truck ample off-road ability. The low-geared steering takes some getting used to, but the handling is quite good given the car’s size, plus the added stone in the rear of our test car. However, the downside of the car’s simple ladder frame chassis is that the leaf-sprung rear suspension is fidgety, especially over expansion gaps on the motorway, very poor for off road and traction not unusual to Navarra's. The chassis also transmits vibrations through the cabin, steering wheel and pedals, which can get tiring on longer drives. And while body roll is much of an issue for the driver, who has the steering wheel to hold on to, the amount of lean in corners is likely to give passengers an uncomfortable ride. Wind noise and road roar from the tyres is pronounced too.

As you’d expect, the larger diesel is more refined and powerful than the four-cylinder unit, and also uses more fuel. But unlike the smaller unit, the V6 has to be serviced annually or every 12,000 miles, rather than every two years or 18,000 miles, which will bump up the running costs....

Time to step it up Nissan,,,since navarra's came out 2004/5,, six years later,,,,not much has change,,,,infact judging from the specs,,,,you all getting worst,,,,,,,,,,,,

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » April 16th, 2011, 9:26 pm

Take this and dream...

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 16th, 2011, 9:38 pm

interesting

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 16th, 2011, 10:07 pm

... that orange doesn't look so good on that Nava- ... oh wait, I see.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 17th, 2011, 12:53 am

Rutless Tiida wrote:Take this and dream...

this! FTW!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » June 2nd, 2011, 6:23 am

So now the BT-50 is confirmed, here are some pictures of it in real-life.

Looks even uglier than the concept-photos.
(yecchh!!)

Not everyone will appreciate the styling, which makes the new 2012 bt-50 look like a Sportero & Hilux mated together and then someone beat the baby with a piece of iron.

Sorry but I don't care what engine they put in that thing - it could travel to the moon for all I care, IMO it looks ugly.

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 2nd, 2011, 6:31 am

oh jesus...that thing is ugly

civic minded

Postby civic minded » June 2nd, 2011, 6:57 am

Ok I admit , that flikkin thing realll ugly!

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » June 2nd, 2011, 7:12 am

I like it.... ;)

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » June 2nd, 2011, 12:07 pm

lmao@someone beat the baby with a piece of iron

but it'll gro on us eventually....especially wen ppl start throwin lift kits an mudders on dem ;)

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » June 2nd, 2011, 1:26 pm

I don't think it's bad at all actually ...

Postby Habit7 » June 2nd, 2011, 3:46 pm

Mazda is going for this smile/fish look and I allowed it for the 3 and 6 but that is not a look I would like for my ute

Sierra-117

Postby Sierra-117 » June 2nd, 2011, 3:57 pm

has the front of the CX-7 interesting.....

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » June 2nd, 2011, 7:33 pm

yall doh find it looks asian....kinda resembles Leo imo

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » June 2nd, 2011, 8:10 pm

^^ LMAO!! u is a rell arse yuh kno boicuddlesboidanboi! but

DAYMNNN det beyatch uggglllliiiiii!!!!

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 7th, 2011, 5:19 pm

ansa called me today...new ranger would be going for $280k fully loaded....should get a brochure next week

civic minded

Postby civic minded » June 7th, 2011, 5:24 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:ansa called me today...new ranger would be going for $280k fully loaded....should get a brochure next week

:sick:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » June 7th, 2011, 10:39 pm

^^ prob the bare-bones model without any overpriced accessories.

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » June 7th, 2011, 10:53 pm

If that 280 is the 5 cylinder 3.2 Auto 4x4..

Lets just say there will be a 3.0 auto 4x4 for sale on trinicars real soon..!!

But I doubt.

marcuantearcop

Postby marcuantearcop » June 8th, 2011, 10:29 am

Price eh too bad!!!!!! :roll: lol!!!! Will hatta step up d hustle a bit!!!! das alll :D 280 eh,......hmmmmm

jdeen

Postby jdeen » July 4th, 2011, 3:40 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:ansa called me today...new ranger would be going for $280k fully loaded....should get a brochure next week

plz pass on that brochure if you get it. i called today to find out about it and the sales rep said they not expecting them for a really long time and I would be better off buying the current model.... i dunno if they just tryin to move stock till the new one comes.

badart

Postby badart » July 4th, 2011, 4:36 pm

^ doh study them sales ppl they would tell u anything to sell a vehicle..wait for the new ranger should be here by the end of the year

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » July 4th, 2011, 4:54 pm

It's not going to be here till Jan - Feb next year.
The price I've been told is not going to pass the 300k, but be close.

I don't believe that as now the fully loaded lux is already at 315.

With McEny.. You just hadda wait.. the salesmen would always try to sell you what it have instock.

If you looking to buy a ranger, and you not willing to spend the 275+ pricetag, buy the current model. Work a deal with a 4X4 2.5...

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”