Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Dunman

Re: Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Postby Dunman » July 12th, 2011, 11:53 am

Fellas, would BFG's 275/75R16's fit a stock Navara?

catalan24

Postby catalan24 » July 12th, 2011, 2:41 pm

Hey fellarz looking for some good brand name replacement tyres for a vigo 09 model..the current tyre size is 265/65/17....so let me know what u all suggest..

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » July 12th, 2011, 8:13 pm

Catalan, take a brisk read through of the last few pages and see what people keep mentioning..

Then you do some quick calls and see..

Note that 17" good tyres hard to come by at a reasonable price though

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 13th, 2011, 8:57 am

catalan24 wrote:Hey fellarz looking for some good brand name replacement tyres for a vigo 09 model..the current tyre size is 265/65/17....so let me know what u all suggest..

I got some Maxiis Bravo in 275/65/17 HT they do not touch and is very good in both dry and wet but not much good off road

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 13th, 2011, 9:31 am

i am looking for 17's as well - same size, i have a feeling i will have to buy a set of 15's - cover that with MT's and run the 17's on HT.

catalan24

Postby catalan24 » July 13th, 2011, 9:32 am

^^sounding good, watz the price on one of those cuz I might need a set asap cuz its actually bro's van that needs them as yesterday nite he went in a little drain and could not get out cuz of those bald bridgestone's he still running, had to throw it in L4 to get out lol

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 13th, 2011, 10:32 am

Singhs auto Supplies in Penal brings in the BRAVO last price was 850.00 check phone book for number. SHOPBOY on the forum had roadstone when I was buying in 275/60/17 for 1000.00. I got mine from Jacks but he had brought it down for some one who did not want it again so that was a one off deal!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 13th, 2011, 5:23 pm

Dunman wrote:Fellas, would BFG's 275/75R16's fit a stock Navara?

Nope - would rub on the front fender under load.
275/70R16 might fit on the BFG's.

My BFG's are 265/70R16

Wanna buy my scorpions? :mrgreen:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 13th, 2011, 5:30 pm

3stagevtec wrote:

Another pickup running Pirelli Scorpion ATs (I wonder who?!) had alot more trouble in the soft stuff middle section. The TT provided enough traction to give you a running start before getting bogged down. The other truck with the Scorpions was having a hard time trying to get the van moving at all.

Hehehe.... those scorpions need a bit more sting!

I would say that the Destinations & Scorpions are similar in their off-roading ability, with the destinations ahead by a few more points.

Allyuh lucky the rain grade down the soft-sand for yuh :D... I had to do it after the rangers and the two navara's went and dig it up :S

No worries though... let's see how a set of BFG's would handle it! (suspect that with the navara's weight... it'll just dig down deeper, hee hee).

What I would have really liked to see was how an all out MT would have handled that same hill at that point in time. Would have really highlighted the differences between the two.

Why droppa didn't try?

Postby 3stagevtec » July 13th, 2011, 5:54 pm

He was rollin on 18"s... lol

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 13th, 2011, 6:06 pm

ok what hill alyah speak off? is that the trailblazers thing?

Dunman

Postby Dunman » July 13th, 2011, 10:05 pm

lighthammer wrote:
Dunman wrote:Fellas, would BFG's 275/75R16's fit a stock Navara?

Nope - would rub on the front fender under load.
275/70R16 might fit on the BFG's.

My BFG's are 265/70R16

Wanna buy my scorpions? :mrgreen:

lol, nah bro. Got my heart set on the bfg's. Been saving for them since we did the timed attacks, lol.

Think I'll stay stock and just go 265/70/16.

Wait nah, LH you change the scorpions. You dumped them after one hill stick, whey.

BTW, where did u get yours and how much if you don't mind me asking.

I'm getting them for $1620 in Marabella.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 13th, 2011, 10:31 pm

I get mine for $1605 in wrightson road - last set!

and yes, I changed out the Pirelli Scorpions for a set of BFG All Terrain's in 265/70R16.
Was gonna get the BFG Mud Terrains in 255/70R16 - but I was concerned about safety esp. wet traction.

After some deliberation, I decided to get the BFG All Terrains. Had to weigh in several factors including our off-roading style, plus on-road performance in both wet & dry, as well as tread-life. As a good friend of mine put it - for our purposes (side B runs) it's better to get an aggressive all-terrain, than a dedicated mud-tyre for all-terrain style use.

Already tested on a muddy track and given the seal of approval!
So.... anyone interested in giving 4 scorpions a good, loving home?

PM me!
Last edited by lighthammer on July 13th, 2011, 10:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Dunman

Postby Dunman » July 13th, 2011, 10:40 pm

LH, you eh easy!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 13th, 2011, 10:43 pm

^^ boy dunman - you know how we does roll!

I have to show you a real nice set of modifications I wanna do with the Navararararara - once the funds and time-factor are right :D.

droppa

Postby droppa » July 14th, 2011, 9:42 am

those bfgs have some real depp thread boi........

i woulda buy the MTs and ah nex set ah rims tho eh....
seeing u already had the scorps for the daily useage...

catalan24

Postby catalan24 » July 14th, 2011, 11:00 am

update on a set of 265/65/17 tyres for the vigo, I checked deans wheels yesterday they have a set of dunlop for $1400 for a set.......how good is this brand??

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 14th, 2011, 12:48 pm

Which dunlop is it?

The newer Dunlop Grantrek AT3 is better than the older Grantrek At20.

Better tread and better grip in most conditions.

catalan24

Postby catalan24 » July 14th, 2011, 4:16 pm

I really can't say, I will check it out if is anything but thanks for the info.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 14th, 2011, 10:59 pm

did it look like this?

thats the newer grantrek at3.
the older version is what comes as stock on the navaraarararara.

droppa

Postby droppa » July 15th, 2011, 8:38 am

those AT3 works pretty good for on road daily usage and moderate off-road now and then

catalan24

Postby catalan24 » July 15th, 2011, 11:58 am

lighthammer wrote:did it look like this?

thats the newer grantrek at3.
the older version is what comes as stock on the navaraarararara.

^^^na the treadwear did not look so aggressive on the one I saw...I guess its the old one they have..

droppa

Postby droppa » July 15th, 2011, 1:05 pm

we have like that on a navara on work here, the driver does not push it, but u can still feel them holding the road pretty well, ride and noise level is great with the AT3

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » July 15th, 2011, 2:17 pm

What yall think about these..

Classic II

VS

Sidebiter

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 15th, 2011, 2:57 pm

^ prefer 1st option for your hilux :), fits the classic look of the older model.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 18th, 2011, 7:20 am

My scorpions are for sale now!
Check my signature or simply click on this link - http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=384750

Negotiable price, just dropped it!

PM me if you guys want better pics or more detailed, close-up pics.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 18th, 2011, 7:33 am

^^you should get that sell real fass

droppa

Postby droppa » July 28th, 2011, 10:40 am

pheonix what price u gettin those MTs for and what width........the classics are sweet for the older trucks, the sidebiters are for them plastic bumper boyz.....

venum

Postby venum » July 28th, 2011, 12:00 pm

might end up gettinng those same dunlops

MM have no Open Country's now

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » July 28th, 2011, 10:50 pm

droppa wrote:pheonix what price u gettin those MTs for and what width........the classics are sweet for the older trucks, the sidebiters are for them plastic bumper boyz.....

Well honestly i haven't checked the price or the specs yet.. i just saw then in the shop....
I actually like the sidebiters as there is not one piece of chrome on my Hilux... Commercial version.... :?: :| :?:

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”