Tech Thread - Ford Ranger

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
vharripersad

Re: Tech Thread - Ford Ranger

Postby vharripersad » February 1st, 2011, 8:24 pm

Thanks guys to answering my questions. One concern, how come you guys seem to be pretty please with brake pad at quarter life when doing 38K? My frontier before give me 120K and my old nissan pickup give me 120K. So something seems to be wrong right/?

Also, why not wait and use out the last quarter, what risk I run? Cause my manual say I will know when to change it as the brakes will screech. I want to get the most value for money with my last quarter of brakes. But what is the negative impact of this if any?
One stupid question, does it have brakes on my back tyres? Because I dont see any.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 2nd, 2011, 5:49 am

One stupid question, does it have brakes on my back tyres? Because I dont see any.

Yes but they're not disc-brakes like in front, they're drums. You'll see a big round thing attached to the hub if you look beyond the rims - inside that there's a drum that's used to stop the wheels, instead of rotors & two disc pads like in front.

It's not a stupid question man - it's a genuine seek for knowledge. What matters is that you want to increase your knowledge by asking a question. It doesn't matter what level you're at, it's more important that you want to genuinely increase your own level of knowledge.

SO yeah, keep asking questions and doh study the folks who call you "noob" and make ignorant comments - they were noobs too at some point.

Run your brake pads down as far as you think is safe - just be sure to change them quickly when the time comes or you'll compromise your safety when driving.
When the pads are screeching that means they're on their last set of miles and should be changed very soon, as in the next couple of days.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » February 2nd, 2011, 8:12 am

LMAO!!!

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » February 2nd, 2011, 8:29 am

Heh....2 wheel brakes!

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » February 2nd, 2011, 11:36 am

38K I say is good, because I got 20K out of mine.
However, that 20K is 9 months of everyday 3 hours traffic included. I think that is the killer.
And plus the van pulls like a bitchh... So its natural that you wear down the pads faster..

I am looking all over online for possible brake upgrades.
New slotted/drilled rotors, updated calipers, maybe some more pistions, better quality ceramic brakes, some steel braided brake lines, etc.

I dont want to invest too much, as it's not really something you really need, but knowing how the brakes on the Nav and Lux holds, the Ranger is not as good.

I have not seen this done on a ranger, but if anyone can/has done it, let me know.

JD......

Postby JD...... » February 2nd, 2011, 12:40 pm

Jeremy Mohd wrote:38K I say is good, because I got 20K out of mine.
However, that 20K is 9 months of everyday 3 hours traffic included. I think that is the killer.
And plus the van pulls like a bitchh... So its natural that you wear down the pads faster..

I am looking all over online for possible brake upgrades.
New slotted/drilled rotors, updated calipers, maybe some more pistions, better quality ceramic brakes, some steel braided brake lines, etc.

I dont want to invest too much, as it's not really something you really need, but knowing how the brakes on the Nav and Lux holds, the Ranger is not as good.

I have not seen this done on a ranger, but if anyone can/has done it, let me know.

Well ceramic is definately out, from past knowledge cross drilling has the potiential to start cracking from the point where the hole is drilled in cars so for pickups would be worst.

From my experience best bet would be slotted or slotted and dimpled aftermarket rotors and than will fight brake fade considerabely and also help dry the rotors faster. mated with a good pad and you good. update if you find rotors please

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » February 2nd, 2011, 1:58 pm

Yeah I'm looking.
You find lots for the American fords, but not ours.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » February 2nd, 2011, 4:42 pm

^^thats always the problem - there is so much after market stuff for the american fords that cannot work on ours

JD......

Postby JD...... » February 2nd, 2011, 6:54 pm

check the indonesian/thailand/OZ sites

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » February 2nd, 2011, 8:48 pm

Less Technical, what brand brakes to buy?
Should I also ask the firm to open the back and check?

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » February 3rd, 2011, 1:01 pm

Tell the firm its not holding good, they should check the back and front.
I usually mark some wheel nuts with something easy to remove, so I know at least they checked it.

Brake brands; I recommend GIC or original Tokico (1300+ Vat)
Do not buy Bosch/Wager/Mintex.

If you can find stuff like EBC/Hawk to fit for your Ranger, I will pay you twice what you paid for it :)

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 3rd, 2011, 5:49 pm

^^ Hawk brake pads - check Teknet on French Street.
W2J has hawk brake pads for the lancer evo's, but maybe he can bring in some for our PJ-thailand Rangers and BT-50's.

mariox

Postby mariox » February 11th, 2011, 11:15 pm

hey
i'm considering ranger 4x2, where can i get a fibre glass tray cover, roll bar and other accessories

civic minded

Postby civic minded » February 12th, 2011, 7:28 am

^^if you doing that, just buy the wildtrak from M rampersad - its 4x2 and have everything you ask for there.

mariox

Postby mariox » February 13th, 2011, 8:41 pm

cool. i'll check them out. how is after sales service at m rampersad

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » February 14th, 2011, 1:51 pm

Not too sure.
What I am sure about is that it wont be close to the 100,000Km/5year warranty you get from the firm.

As a side note, I know a guy with an excellent 4x2 Mazda with less than 20Km for sale. 125,000.

mariox

Postby mariox » February 14th, 2011, 10:32 pm

Jeremy Mohd wrote:Not too sure.
What I am sure about is that it wont be close to the 100,000Km/5year warranty you get from the firm.

As a side note, I know a guy with an excellent 4x2 Mazda with less than 20Km for sale. 125,000.

I bet the warranty won't be the same. I'm financing so its easier if I go new. Thanks for the heads up

civic minded

Postby civic minded » February 14th, 2011, 11:28 pm

It's always better to go with the firm, but some want to get the wildtrak options - m rampersad have them

mariox

Postby mariox » February 14th, 2011, 11:46 pm

civic minded wrote:It's always better to go with the firm, but some want to get the wildtrak options - m rampersad have them

most likely i'll go stock and check out m rampersad and 4x4 trinidad for the after market stuff

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 15th, 2011, 5:25 am

^^ it's cheaper to get the 3.0TDCi or 2.5TDCi rangers as bare-bones and then put on accessories from outside.

2.5TDCI ranger 4x4 auto - $225,000
"Hurricane upgrade" (steel sidebars, roll bar in tray, hurricane stickers) = $15,000 extra

3.0 TDCI ranger 4x4 auto - $239,000
"Thunder Package" (steel sidebars, steel rear bumper with reverse sensors, chrome rollbar, 3-gauge info center console, leather seats) = $265,000

But if you buy barebones, here's the average prices for accessories outside:
- Chrome Rollbar = $3000
- Front bullbar = $3500 - $4000
- Sidesteps = $2500 - $300

If you buy all three, you still won't reach $15,000 - so it's cheaper to buy the barebones and then buy accessories.

mariox

Postby mariox » February 15th, 2011, 7:49 pm

lighthammer wrote:^^ it's cheaper to get the 3.0TDCi or 2.5TDCi rangers as bare-bones and then put on accessories from outside.

2.5TDCI ranger 4x4 auto - $225,000
"Hurricane upgrade" (steel sidebars, roll bar in tray, hurricane stickers) = $15,000 extra

3.0 TDCI ranger 4x4 auto - $239,000
"Thunder Package" (steel sidebars, steel rear bumper with reverse sensors, chrome rollbar, 3-gauge info center console, leather seats) = $265,000

But if you buy barebones, here's the average prices for accessories outside:
- Chrome Rollbar = $3000
- Front bullbar = $3500 - $4000
- Sidesteps = $2500 - $300

If you buy all three, you still won't reach $15,000 - so it's cheaper to buy the barebones and then buy accessories.

thanks for the info
being new to this forum, is it safe to assume 4x4 trinidad is the best place accessorise or m rampersad
I dont want to be driving or even calling all over Trinidad to compare prices

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 16th, 2011, 5:07 am

you can check 4x4 trinidad for accessories - he has a lot of Carryboy and Winbo stuff.

I got my accessories from an authorized 3rd party seller by Neal & Massy.
Kazim Ali - 6807104

He brings down official brand-name accessories, not just for Neal and Massey but all brands of trucks.

mariox

Postby mariox » February 16th, 2011, 12:25 pm

lighthammer wrote:you can check 4x4 trinidad for accessories - he has a lot of Carryboy and Winbo stuff.

I got my accessories from an authorized 3rd party seller by Neal & Massy.
Kazim Ali - 6807104

He brings down official brand-name accessories, not just for Neal and Massey but all brands of trucks.

thanks LH
I'll give him a call
I spoke to Terrence at 4x4 this morning, I will check out their showroom next week
I've been trying to call team loco but they not answering, can anyone share their cell number, maybe I have it wrong or maybe you can confirm this, to get rid of some of the bounce I'm thinking of a steel rear bumper to add some weight, does this really work
thanks

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » February 16th, 2011, 1:41 pm

Mariox; got a new ranger? Congrats on your purchase, what model/specs/price if your willing..

The steel bumper might help with the added weight. You can place something compact and heavy at the rear with the close/comparable weight of the bumper and take a drive to see for yourself.

TL; have you done a complete set for anyone; bumper/rollbar/front bull bar?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 17th, 2011, 4:52 pm

Just came from ROC in bamboo - they have the original Ranger front disc pads - $895 for the pair.

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » February 17th, 2011, 5:35 pm

Thats for the 4x4.
I am not 100% sure (as I never checked myself); but there are 2 different sizes for the 4x2 and 4x4 2010 Ranger.

The firm sells them at 2 different prices, the 4x4 pads being 1300 + Vat.

What was the brand? The original is Tokico, (as is the whole brake setup)

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 17th, 2011, 7:01 pm

^not sure but the guy said they only deal with original parts.

Call ROC to find out.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 23rd, 2011, 10:24 pm

M rampersad version of the wildtrak is a BIG imitation!

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » February 23rd, 2011, 11:43 pm

yea the 1 dey have is d 4x2 version .....i dont even think d firm brings dem

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 24th, 2011, 12:08 am

nope the firm doesnt...

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”