Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
*Phoenix*

Re: Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Postby *Phoenix* » June 29th, 2011, 5:54 pm

badart

Postby badart » June 29th, 2011, 7:54 pm

^ Laughlin & de Gannes, Check the first page of this thread for more info

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » June 30th, 2011, 6:58 am

Thanks... Will be checking today...

The availability TODAY is not the same as back then..

Question - How come the BFG A/T get so muck love from the guys here but on tirerack its rated so poorly?

Cooper

Postby Cooper » June 30th, 2011, 8:06 am

^^^ Those survey results change frequently. Around this time last year the BFG's were #1 in the list. Some of the factors to consider are the marketing capabilities of the companies selling the tires, which can make one model more popular that another. Also...

Tire Rack's survey results are tabulated from the responses of our customers and website visitors.

... so depending on what's popular, the ratings for that tire on the site will increase. All a Kumho dealer has to do is yell "SALE!" and it could increase the ratings of their product.

This is why it is advisable to get opinions from multiple resources when researching a product.

....BFG's still WIN anyway :!:

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » June 30th, 2011, 8:30 pm

Make sense...

What would you guys recommend in 32x10.5x16

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 1st, 2011, 3:39 pm

Just called Quickserv.

BFG A/T KO in 265/70R16 - $1910 with 15% discount when you buy 4 tyres.

Called mileage mack as well - no stock in Toyo Open Country.
Usual price is about $1145 per tyre in 255/70R16's.

IMO these are the two tyres that are more suitable for moderate - hard off-roading, as far as all-terrains go. Good for dirt trails, gravel, sand, mild mud with hard surface underneath. (eg. canefields, lopinot and blanchisseuse trails).

But if you gonna be tackling deeper mud trails, eg. Las Cuevas, then mud tyres are a better bet - eg. Maxxis Bighorns.

I called Deans wheels yesterday and they have Maxxis Bighorns in 265/70R16's for $1800 per tyre.

venum

Postby venum » July 1st, 2011, 6:18 pm

lighthammer wrote:Just called Quickserv.

BFG A/T KO in 265/70R16 - $1910 with 15% discount when you buy 4 tyres.

that works out to TT$6500.00 for the set of 4

they have been sold for cheaper

but not too bad a price, not the best price, can get better though

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 1st, 2011, 9:46 pm

Found a nice little thread with some tyre reviews.

(yay the scorpions did well!)

http://www.4x4community.co.za/forum/showthread.php?t=23570

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » July 2nd, 2011, 9:01 am

Im getting the BFG for $1628.00

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » July 2nd, 2011, 9:09 pm

Alot for a AT tyre IMO..

If it lasts muchhh longer than the Toyo, well fine, but if not; too expensive.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 3rd, 2011, 6:09 am

^agreed

I'd only buy the BFG's if they last longer than the toyo's.... plus if I can get a slightly wider & taller size - eg. 275/75R16's.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 3rd, 2011, 6:10 am

but then again.. if I can get the toyo's in that same size... we orn like corn.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » July 3rd, 2011, 10:38 am

*Phoenix* wrote:Im getting the BFG for $1628.00

Spoke to my pardner with the BFGs... Said they perform real well on road and off... Take em if you can get em.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » July 3rd, 2011, 11:20 am

I am seriously considering getting the Kumho KL71 in 32x10.5x16 donno the price of that yet....
I heard that they are MT tires but street performance are better than most AT tyres...
Question is would they fit without touching on the stock set-up!!!

Thats the only thing that locking the BFGs for getting put on right now yes.....
The BFGs look mean though!

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » July 3rd, 2011, 6:27 pm

*Phoenix* wrote:I am seriously considering getting the Kumho KL71 in 32x10.5x16 donno the price of that yet....
I heard that they are MT tires but street performance are better than most AT tyres...
Question is would they fit without touching on the stock set-up!!!

Thats the only thing that locking the BFGs for getting put on right now yes.....
The BFGs look mean though!

MT will wear out real fast bro... Unless you geting a dedicated set for weekend warrior activities, but you doh go no where so I doh understand

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 3rd, 2011, 10:12 pm

BFG's a better bang-for-the-buck than the KL71's.

It's true that the KL71's will perform more like an all-terrain, but it's nowhere near as balanced for on-road and off-road as the BFG's, plus the bfg's will last longer.

It's expensive yeah, but I believe they're worth the money.
I really like them... and I'm in the same spot as you, I thinking of upgrading to the BFG's vs. the KL71's.... but I have to consider how much miles I spend on the road (90% on road, 10% off road).

I'd only get the KL71's if I'd be doing off-roading every weekend... or if I lived on a farm and needed the tyres to go to work :D.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » July 4th, 2011, 10:23 pm

yeah but would we get the BFGs in the size we looking for....

Haunted

Postby Haunted » July 8th, 2011, 11:18 am

i stress if your going to buy tires do not buy from dean he will rip you off left right and centre

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » July 9th, 2011, 7:49 am

I think im sticking with Mileage Mack....
In about 2-3 weeks i will be ready to get them...

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » July 11th, 2011, 10:46 pm

Federal on Cipero Street, San Fernando had these bad boys for sale. What really got me is the price. Gosh these things are cheap for what they are.

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » July 11th, 2011, 11:16 pm

Review of the Hercules Terra Trac A/W (31x10.5 R15).

Finally got some new shoes for my Mazda B2500 4x4. I previously had some Roadstone Rodian AT II. I wish I got the van when the Roadstone’s were new. Would like to give a review on those and compare it to the Hercules. What I can say however is that the Roadstone’s completely worth the price ($750 at the time). They worked great in mud/road/rain even when they were half way through their life span.

The Roadstone finally turned into slicks and had to get new tires. This is how bad they really got. This was up a slight incline, but the road wasn’t all that rough. It was sort of smooth. There is no oil or anything on the road. Just the road was wet.
j1M3jNaG-aM
Went searching all over for tires and found a nice selection. The top three choices were the:

•Bolex : Dessert Star
Price - $780

•Hercules : Terra Track A/W
Price - $900

•Sumitomo : Serengeti SL850
Price - $775

From extra research and talking to others, rumour has it that the Bolex side walls are not that strong. For my off-roading needs, I sometimes may have to air down my tires a little, so I was a bit worried about puncturing the side walls like last time on one of my trips. I will say however, I do like the design of the Bolex. So sadly, the Bolex is out. I must say though, I was highly considering the Bolex earlier.

So next it was between the Hercules and the Sumitomo. Right away the price of the Sumitomo is better than the Hercules. However, again from reviews and talking to other, I found out that the Hercules tire compound was a bit harder than the Sumitomo. This means that the Hercules should last longer. That is a plus for me. The Sumitomo "suppose" to grip better because of the soft compound. Honestly though, how much more grip can it be? So point goes to the Hercules. The other deciding factor was off-road capabilities. The both tires have pretty much the same design when you look good at them but there are some minor difference that tickle my taste just a little more on the Hercules. Its hard to explain those minor differences in just typing. Anyway, point goes to the Hercules again.
Next was simply visual appearance and for some unknown reason, I just find the Hercules look much better. I don’t why but it looks more mud terrain style than the Sumitomo even though they look similar.

There isn't much reasons why I took the Hercules over the Sumitomo. Both tires look like they will perform well.

Changing tires:

Now for the personal experience with the Hercules:

•Ride Comfort - I do a lot of highway driving with the van plus everyone in my house uses it for everyday running around. Diesel nah. Just gotta love the price. Lol. It runs quite smooth. I don't get much road noise at all. If you use all terrain tires already then you would not hear any difference. So yes, the Hercules are comfortable/quite for all terrain tires.

•Dry Road Grip - I've gotten quite use to my worn Roadstone’s and the amount of grip I can get from them. Taking any corner moderately hard will cause the tires to squeal. There is a slow sharp corner I usually like to power through with the van and with the worn Roadstone, they just like to make noise every time. I tried the same corner today with the Hercules and powering out of the corner. Well, the tires just grabbed onto the road without any drama. So in terms of dry road grip, they impress me big time. Plenty traction for everyday driving and plenty traction in reserve for other occasions.

•Wet Road Grip - I haven't gotten a chance to drive the van in some moderate or heavy rain yet but I can still talk from a little experience. When I got the tires, I was driving home and saw a smallish puddle of water at the side of the road. Normally when I drive through a puddle of water with a little momentum using the worn out Roadstone, it would pull at the steering. However, when I tried it with the Hercules, there was no thug at the steering. I can't say for certain yet that the Hercules work great in the wet, but it looks promising.

•Off The Road - Got the tires Saturday around 11am and at around 1pm, I already took it on a test trial off the road. What can I say, I have the Side B spirit in me. It was a trial in sand/clay. The track was not very wet, but still soft and very loose. The trail was also quite messed up due to heavy rains and having 3stagevtec dig up the track even more in front of me didn't make life easy. What I must say though is I can feel the tires digging it’s way through the sand. The Hercules had great traction. They work amazing for traction off the road. The tires self cleaned themselves quite well in that sticky clay/sand. That is one reason why they had great traction all the time.

•Appearance - Come on. You can't have a good tire and it doesn't look the part. All I can say is, they look like mud terrains! Major points for the Hercules.

These tires dig in and toss junks of the terrain like a mud terrain tire. Great for off roading and on the road driving. Still waiting to try it out in heavy/mild rain, but it looks promising.

I can't give it a full rating yet because I’m still testing them out. What I can say so far however is that I do not regret buying them and they are more than matching up to my expectations.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 11th, 2011, 11:50 pm

@rene - at least allyuh call meh name at 2:22 in the first video, hahaha! Sorry that the nav was missing in action though.

"dis is where Leo did stick yunno" - HAHAHAHHAHA!!

Runul did real like heself on that hill climb, hehe. That sand looks shallow but it's treacherous and gets deep real quick!

But that initial slope looks a little less steep now cuz of the rains washing the sand out.

Nice review Runul, couldn't have done it better myself. Good job on the review and good job on the videos.
Congrats on your new tyre purchase, happy for ya dude. Now we'll get to see some mazda powah on our runs now :mrgreen:

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » July 12th, 2011, 12:47 am

EXCELLENT review there.. Great work and we need more like that.... Keep the info coming

I hope they still have those Firestone Firehawk ATX when time comes to replace mine.. I have them on about 4 yrs now and not even halfway worn yet on the Pajero

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » July 12th, 2011, 6:19 am

Anyone care to cough out some $$ and buy one of these?? I know the brand suppose to be good but almost $2000 for one is insane. No matter how good these are, it could never be worth this price. (I beg to be corrected if I'm mistaken). Would really like to know how the A/T version will compare to others.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 12th, 2011, 6:48 am

^^ those tyres will last FOREVER!

They're very good highway tyres, and will give a nice smooth ride with great on-road performance. The two tyres on each end of the pic are more for snow?ice, given the tread and amount of siping.

Good tyres, but I agree that the $2000 price tag is a bit steep.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » July 12th, 2011, 6:49 am

^^^ I wish i coulda get the AT2 in the size that i want... Hmmmm...

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » July 12th, 2011, 7:43 am

For the most part michelin is quality but I would NEVER pay that much for it...

If you are willing to spend around $1500 each you can get an EXCELLENT tyre such as the Kumho KL71 or the BF Goodrich ..

In the end name is just a name, the reviews should all concern the specific model of tyre and not the brandname itself... Think about it, Michelin makes some excellent tyres but my mother's company car was given some truly horrible Michelin Energy tyres, so you need to do research based on model itself..

www.tirerack.com helps a lot

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » July 12th, 2011, 8:45 am

the Hercules All Country(identical to the Terra Trac) handles wet pavement pretty gd, i mean it wont grip like a HT tyre but the compromise for its decent off-roadin capabilities is the trade off
takin corners a bit hard will break their traction a bit, but they hold their own once u dont push them too hard
on wet highway i hv pushed these tyres to about 110km wit no issues, beyond that i cant say
wen it comes to aquaplaning i hvnt noticed much of it, but that may be because i usually take it easy in the wet, but if u got a tyre like mine(265/70-16) u will notice som loss of traction wen takin puddles hard, the wider the tyre the more prone to aquaplaning it is

i hv put about 18,000kms on my tyres an hvnt noticed a big difference in tread depth, but jus like Runul i wish i had them frm new and not half worn as i got them.....at present i'm tryin to kill my tyres so i can purchase a new set but apparently they refuse to die!!

so needless to say those new Terra Tracs are gonna work wonders for u in just about evry terrain u encounter, jus be mindful not to push them too hard in the wet and as ur tyres get worn down(which wont be anytime soon, unless u do burnouts an donuts an sh!t) ur driving style will hv to be altered a bit to compensate for reduced traction

Runul- great review btw hp dis helps a bit

Postby 3stagevtec » July 12th, 2011, 9:36 am

That hill really tests the ability of tyres to find traction in soft / loose surfaces and it is surprisingly difficult to climb, which I like. It can really show the differences between tyres.. It is comprised of 3 sections, the initial steep ascend (where I had trouble), the soft middle (where the Mazda had trouble) and the final bit was a short steep climb up a rocky surface.

I had some trouble at first because of a 'vehicle fault' that forced me to drive off the ideal line (that's also why I kept backing off the power). Once I got things sorted out, my Firestone Destination ATs did pretty well, but were not as good as the Terra Tracs IMO. You could have seen the TT taking larger bites out of the ground while trying to find grip, which was impressive. The Destinations seem more suited to harder off road terrain rather than soft mud from my experience.

Another pickup running Pirelli Scorpion ATs (I wonder who?!) had alot more trouble in the soft stuff middle section. The TT provided enough traction to give you a running start before getting bogged down. The other truck with the Scorpions was having a hard time trying to get the van moving at all.

What I would have really liked to see was how an all out MT would have handled that same hill at that point in time. Would have really highlighted the differences between the two..

Smeed

Postby Smeed » July 12th, 2011, 10:46 am

still no luck gettin any good 17 inchers for de lux ...only maxxis might be an option. i feel next step is to get a us address on meh credit card and vibes tirerack oui!!

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”