Tech Thread - Ford Ranger

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
lighthammer

Re: Tech Thread - Ford Ranger

Postby lighthammer » January 4th, 2011, 9:53 pm

How often I have to service my Ranger injectors?

Since ur ranger still relatively new, you don't need servicing on the injectors yet. Usually this is done at a major service interval - 50,000km, 75,000km, 100,000km.

Do i have to remind the firm to do this?

Speak to your service manager - get his/her name and make sure you write it down on your service record book so you can remind yourself when it's time.

What RPM to rev up to before changing in #2,3,4 and 5? I heard the more u rev up., the faster u kill ur engine and the less u rev up, the deader ur engine?

Diesel engines don't rev as high as gasoline engines (there ain't no VTEC in there dude) - notice the redline on your diesel lump is at around 4500-5000 RPM.
The powerband on your Ranger should be from around 2000RPM - 3700RPM if yours is the WLT engine, so basically going up to about 3000-3500RPM or so is adequate, maybe a little more if you're in a hurry. You'll be able to figure it out once you pay attention to how your truck's power responds. But yes you're right - the more you push the engine, the shorter its life will be.
Don't worry about revving less though - on the Frontier I used to change gear at around 2700-3000 RPM - this gave me better fuel-economy and a better ride. If you shift at lower RPM's it won't damage your engine, so have no fear.

People please advise, sorry if I sound like I don't know about vehicles, but I really don't know about them.

No worries dude - that's what this forum is for. It's for all diesel enthusiasts to come and read, learn, share and enjoy owning their diesel machines. All are welcome - so come for the diesel, stay for the kix!!

U coming on the next run or wha?

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » January 5th, 2011, 10:21 am

^^ 265/70 might touch on the front guards of the Ranger. You'd have to wind up the Torsion bars just to get proper clearance, and even so you might ever so often get a slight rub.

If your going with a beefy AT tyre like the BFG the 265/70 will touch if your taking a corner, braking, with people in the van and things in the tray. Very slightly.

Other than that, it doesnt touch on normal everyday driving.

Jeremy, u saying 265/70 is the size to go with? Good for the ranger or should I look at something bigger/broader?

265/70 is the Max with the factory rims. Gotta lift it to go bigger ( :lol: )
Type prices/reviews... check the thread the guys have going on the forum, very informative.

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » January 6th, 2011, 5:20 am

Lighthammer, I would like to go on the next run do you have more info on it? I prefer to go on one of the simple runs though cause i still got stock tyres and well, i don't want to damage my van since it is my only vehicle to work.
Jeremy, u sure the 265/70 will touch in the 2010 ranger, cause my dad tyre touches by the mudguard but my mudguard is moulded deeper in as compared to dad one and it gives like an extra 2inches of space. Please advise.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » January 6th, 2011, 6:31 am

We still trying to decide when and where is the next run - more likely it'll be a mini run.

See this thread for details and follow along for updates:

http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=41&t=339966&p=5025625#p5025625

Cooper

Postby Cooper » January 6th, 2011, 7:19 am

Something to take into consideration when changing the tires...

...the tire profile number is a percentage of the width. So if your stock tire is 245/70, that's actually 245mm (at the widest point of the tire) and 70% of that is the profile. Which works out to about 171.5mm (or 6.75 inches)

So basically putting a wider tire with the same profile number means an increase in the space occupied in the wheel-well and a slight increase in the overall height of the vehicle. For example going up to a 265/70 works out to 185.5mm (or 7.3 inches)... which is just over a half an inch increase in the profile.

This will obviously affect other functions of the vehicle, for example the center of gravity is raised (just a tad) and the speedometer will be a little off (it's an average speed reading anyway)

Jeremy Mohd, I presume that touch you're talking about with the 265/70 is on the fenders (I'm talking especially about the front wheels).... have you noticed any rubbing on the inside of the wheel-well?

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » January 6th, 2011, 8:10 pm

Cooper, so what size do u suggest i go with when my stock tyres have to be changed?

Lighthammer, thanks for the update on the possible mini run

Cooper

Postby Cooper » January 6th, 2011, 8:54 pm

The size recommended by the manufacturer is always the safest way to go. This is the size the vehicle was designed and tested around, and this is the size that was used to generate all the mumbo-jumbo specs and features you read in the brochure... So if you want the safest choice get the 245/70/16's

BUT, a 4x4 will always have greater potential than what the manufacturer intended. So getting a bigger tire will have its benefits, besides giving the vehicle a meaner looking stance (and making panties drop) you can always benefit from a little extra ground clearance when you're off-road and better traction because of the slightly larger contact patch on the road surface.

I think the 255/70/16's might be another safe choice, but that size may be a bit hard to get as the 265/70/16 is more common. It all depends on how you use your vehicle... if you want an A/T tire but do a lot of driving on the road and you don't have a lot of load to carry, try the 265's.... I do a bit of hard driving on 'challenging surfaces' so my suspension gets a bit of a workout and I foresee fender lines on the edge of the tire if I get the 265's, so I'm gonna hunt for 255's first and harass any Ranger owner I see with the extra rubber on their trucks.

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » January 7th, 2011, 9:59 am

Jeremy, u sure the 265/70 will touch in the 2010 ranger, cause my dad tyre touches by the mudguard but my mudguard is moulded deeper in as compared to dad one and it gives like an extra 2inches of space. Please advise.

Only under these combined factors: Loaded Van, Braking from a speed (say about 60)and taking a corner.
I have tried ALOT to make it touch otherwise (just to see), and it doesn't.
And yes, I have 2010 model (3.0 Duratorq Auto).

Jeremy Mohd, I presume that touch you're talking about with the 265/70 is on the fenders (I'm talking especially about the front wheels).... have you noticed any rubbing on the inside of the wheel-well?

Yes the inside fender, not the inside wheel-well, it's clear of that.

And yes, it does help offorad with the wider type...

Vharripersad, yes come on the next small run! The ford count was loww... only 1!!

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » January 7th, 2011, 11:54 am

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:Guys,
Looking for a right front axle and 1 of these rims(n tyre if possible-see pic below)) for a friend.
Pm me...
thanks

:( :(

Cooper

Postby Cooper » January 7th, 2011, 1:16 pm

^^^ No feedback huh?.... I'll assume you already checked the Bamboo ....try calling "The Auto Shoppe" and ask for Chris (can't find the number, but they're in the book) they may be able to source the parts for you.

Jeremy, thanks a lot for the feedback. If it's a touch on the inside of the fender, I'm sure I can live with that. Now I have to start hunting for new boots.

Depending on the cost, I'll either just do another rotation on the tires to get some more life out of them and purchase the tray cover (roll-n-lock) or just change the tires altogether.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » January 11th, 2011, 9:21 am

bamboo?
They carry ranger parts?

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » January 11th, 2011, 1:18 pm

Cooper, no problem...
Rotate and run the stock tyres down, all the while keeping your eye out on tyre prices/stock.

Coming to the small run on the 23rd?

JD......

Postby JD...... » January 11th, 2011, 7:17 pm

Thinking about the future

anyone know of either:
2.5TDCI, 3.0TDCI engines for sale?
if these will bolt you to the 2.5 WLT gearbox
anyone who sucessfully modified their WLT lump (local or foreign, change turbo, fuel pump etc)

i want more power without loseing too much reliability

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » January 12th, 2011, 9:17 am

Lose reliability?
Meaning the auto tranny that comes standard with the duratorqs is not?

JD......

Postby JD...... » January 12th, 2011, 12:19 pm

reliability of a modified engine, i think its easier to mod a TDCI than a WLT. i was too impatient when purchasing, i still want to keep it manual, but the WLT doesn't pull like it used to since i put on the 33"s, hence either upgrade turbo, fuel pump etc, or try and line up a TDCI on the gBox, not sure if anyone has done anything like this b4

Cooper

Postby Cooper » January 12th, 2011, 8:01 pm

Jeremy Mohd wrote:Cooper, no problem...
Rotate and run the stock tyres down, all the while keeping your eye out on tyre prices/stock.

Coming to the small run on the 23rd?

My schedule is usually packed in the beginning of the year. If I do make it out to a run, it's usually just a quick meet and greet to put names to faces then it's back to work. Only from June I'll be free.

On another note, the stock wipers finally changed today on my Truck. Rain-X and even a later addition of washer fluid concentrate couldn't stop the ....what only could be described as...... a "farting noise" coming from the wipers on the glass.

Wasn't even clearing the windscreen properly. It was real stress to drive in the rain this morning, so I pulled into the LDG later on, and walked in and got the Michelin Radius wipers and put them on one time in the carpark....a real big difference.

Damaged to my pocket was big too.... over $90 per blade.

JD...... wrote:reliability of a modified engine, i think its easier to mod a TDCI than a WLT. i was too impatient when purchasing, i still want to keep it manual, but the WLT doesn't pull like it used to since i put on the 33"s, hence either upgrade turbo, fuel pump etc, or try and line up a TDCI on the gBox, not sure if anyone has done anything like this b4

There are a few 3.0 TDCi engines mated to manual trannys in this country. These were special order from the firm....but cost up to 25k more, without accessories.

You can try searching the ford forums around Asia and Australia to see if it was done before. I'd have to get under the vehicle to make comparisons, but I believer the transmissions on the TDCi and WLT may be similar enough for the mod.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » January 13th, 2011, 8:35 am

i think you used the rain-x incorrectly.
Sometimes 2 applications are necessary, but usually wipers and rain slide smoothly from the windshield

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » January 13th, 2011, 10:34 am

Not only was it costing more, they were asking for a full 50% downpayment and 3 months wait time for the manual 4x4 3.0 TDCi.
Hopefully with the new model they get smart and bring the 3.2, 5 cylinder, manual 4x4... :):):)
Granted it would be easily priced >300k...

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » January 13th, 2011, 12:20 pm

So... 20k Service today.

Ford said my disc pads needs changing, and it will cost 1350 inclusive of Vat/Labour.

Anyone used anything other/better brands the original disc pads?

JD......

Postby JD...... » January 13th, 2011, 1:11 pm

rain x is shiet, i use it on all glass execpt the outside of the windshield.

anyone seen any TDCI engines in the bamboo for sale

Cooper

Postby Cooper » January 13th, 2011, 3:20 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:i think you used the rain-x incorrectly.
Sometimes 2 applications are necessary, but usually wipers and rain slide smoothly from the windshield

Nah fella, I've been using Rain-X for years and I know sometimes you have to put on at least two coats. Trust me, the wipers have seen a lot of work....even on sunny days.

I sometimes drive through some of the "developing back roads" in my area that have a lot of muddy puddles just for fun.

It's a lot of dirt for the wipers to take off.... unfortunately I do have a few minor scratches and pit marks on the windshield from all the wildness :twisted:

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » January 13th, 2011, 8:50 pm

daddy hurricane tdci2.5 automatic, when driving slow of fast, screeching noise, similar to when ur brakes is going bad. but he not getting it when he hitting brakes only is while he driving. noise sounds from more to the front of the van underneath, but does not some like its coming from the engine. the front cabin, underneath around there. he starting getting the noise only today and it continued persisting all day long.
Going firm in the morning, but what could this be ?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » January 13th, 2011, 11:48 pm

Not only was it costing more, they were asking for a full 50% downpayment and 3 months wait time for the manual 4x4 3.0 TDCi.

This.

Same thing happened to me when I asked for the 3.0 4x4 manual. And when I said I'd have to think about it, the salesman get vex and rude, hang up on me.

So a drive up to N&M and a test drive later, I was hooked on my current choice of 4x4 truck.
Mc&Earney really need to get their salespersons some proper sales and customer relations training.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » January 13th, 2011, 11:52 pm

vharripersad wrote:daddy hurricane tdci2.5 automatic, when driving slow of fast, screeching noise, similar to when ur brakes is going bad. but he not getting it when he hitting brakes only is while he driving. noise sounds from more to the front of the van underneath, but does not some like its coming from the engine. the front cabin, underneath around there. he starting getting the noise only today and it continued persisting all day long.

Could be any of the following:
- brake rotors being warped
- wheel hub bearings going bad
- A/C clutch and fan bearings

and so on.

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » January 14th, 2011, 1:02 am

Each of which will cost no less than 2-3k to have fixed at the firm...

civic minded

Postby civic minded » January 14th, 2011, 6:39 am

Wait a min - 20k and you need to change disc brakes?

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » January 14th, 2011, 7:59 am

Thanks for the feedback guys, van in firm now so waiting to c what the resolution and cost would be, keep u guys updated. This van (daddy's van hurricane 2009 hirider 2.5TDci automatic 2Wheel drive) is now doing 37K

JD......

Postby JD...... » January 14th, 2011, 8:03 am

vharripersad wrote:daddy hurricane tdci2.5 automatic, when driving slow of fast, screeching noise, similar to when ur brakes is going bad. but he not getting it when he hitting brakes only is while he driving. noise sounds from more to the front of the van underneath, but does not some like its coming from the engine. the front cabin, underneath around there. he starting getting the noise only today and it continued persisting all day long.

front hub seals need lubricating and Mazda had put a tech bulletin out about the prob, must be a common thing to happen cause i have the same issue, the tech told me its just to take out the hub, pack it with grease and re assemble and yeh its not covered by the warrenty

they have a thread about it on www.4x4action.com

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » January 14th, 2011, 11:34 am

civic minded wrote:Wait a min - 20k and you need to change disc brakes?

just got back mine from 10000 service.
Went in complaining about a serious vibration on steering wheel when slowing down.
They said the rotors were warped due to probably heating and cooling.
Service cost $1339.00.
No charge for polishing of rotors(warranty).

Happy again with van.
Apparently , going thru water after long driving and associated braking, can cause your discs to warp and in some cases crack. So be careful driving thru water,, puddles etc.

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » January 14th, 2011, 1:26 pm

Guys, the firm look at my dad van this morning and said the cross was bad. So it scheduled to be replaced on Monday under warranty. So my dad van is doing 37K, does that mean ford is defective stuff and a Ranger was a bad buy that he made?
Cause now I am worried about my Ranger, doing 37K as well except I got the manual XLT 4x4.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”