Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
venum

Re: Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Postby venum » May 1st, 2011, 12:39 am

saw some Sumitomo Serengeti on a Nav today

http://www.sumitomotiresuae.com/index.p ... &Itemid=41

looked like was a good fit and teh tread patter was a decent A/T pattern - not street-ish, not muddish

and that means that they were available in 16"

Tyre Clinic is the usual distribiutor

any one with experience with these :?:

never used Sumitomo tyres in any vehicle

from what i know Sumitomo are Dunlop quality . . . give the dunlop price

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » May 1st, 2011, 10:25 am

sumitomo in my experience is a good tyre in terms of grip. but it wears faster thant Dunlops

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » May 2nd, 2011, 10:55 am

Pirelli STR and ATR- $1425 @ Master Serv
Kumho LR78- $1100 @ Laughn
GoodYear Wranger RT- $1300 @ Ramrattan

Which is the best buy here for mostly onroad, looking at ride comfort and traction on wet/dry

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » May 2nd, 2011, 11:18 am

So far my reviews online show that Kumho is leading, reviews show that the Goodyear and Pirelli performs poor on wet progressively.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 2nd, 2011, 4:11 pm

reviews show that the Goodyear and Pirelli performs poor on wet progressively.

Nah, my pirelli scorpions do very well on wet roads. Very little to no hydroplaning at all (depends on how fast you hit the water puddle, but you should be driving slowly anyway in the wet) and the grip is quite good. If you see the tread on the scorpion ATR, they sweep sideways for better water-channeling. The STR's are a bit different, they have a more traditonal tread which looks and performs more like a proper all-terrain. Both have exceptional long-treadwear and good value.

Goodyear is goodyear, nuff said :D.

Kumho's also will give you very good on-road and off-road performance, and the kumho roadventures we had on the frontier lasted up to 65000km's of daily on-highway driving.
Can't go wrong with any of these choices.

venum

Postby venum » May 2nd, 2011, 8:13 pm

Sumitomo Serengeti Radial AT

TT$1070.00 VAT Incl @ Tyre Clinic

Dunlop Grandtrek AT3

Postby 3stagevtec » May 2nd, 2011, 8:20 pm

I like the thread pattern on the Serengeti.. nice price too..

venum

Postby venum » May 2nd, 2011, 9:06 pm

I wann get some nice 16" rims too

so I may get the rims and outfit with cheap-ish tyres

then buy better tyres next time around

the price went up on the Sumitomo, though, in 2009 they were $900.00

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 3rd, 2011, 5:49 am

Dunlop grantrek.... GGGrrrrrrrrrrr :evil: :evil:

Me hates them.

The serengeti nice though, the tread looking like it have real bite.

droppa

Postby droppa » May 3rd, 2011, 11:37 am

serengetti looking good, i see two guys on my side have sumi, one have ATs on a Pajero IO, and the other have MTs on a rocky, both say that they perform great and ride well, the MT as expected give some road noise....

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » May 3rd, 2011, 6:35 pm

Went in Federal on Cipero Street, San Fernando to looking around for a timing belt and came across a nice selection of 4x4 tires.

I will just throw in this picture for the 16" guys. Personally the Hercules Terra Track for $900 works really great. My brother used them for off-roading (the smaller version 235/60 R15) and they shocked me. As for working on the road, I never drove them hard in the rain, but for my everyday driving (which btw is not granny speed I talking about), never gave me any problems.

Next up are the 15" tires.

My personal favorite is the Bolex Desert Star. Really do like the pattern. Nice spaces between the grooves and from what I heard, the slanted pattern works better in mud than say the Terra Track next to it (shown below) whose grooves run straight across the tire. The Sumitomo also looks great and the Firehawk look like a beast, but the price is a deterrent.

A better image of the Terra Track.

This is a comparison of the two Terra Tracks. Notice the shape of the grooves on the one to the right that my brother had as to the one on the left.
He has new tires with that straight pattern and he finds the old slanted grooves worked better. The tires we have now is a different brands, so we are still not 100% sure on that theory.

Postby 3stagevtec » May 3rd, 2011, 6:48 pm

^ correction there, I had the Terra Trac AT, those pictured are the Terra Trac All Trac.. imo, the All Tracs look more like HT tryes when you look closely at the thread pattern.

The Bolex is definitely the winner here, cost and just look at that lug design / wide voids..

The Firestone Firehawk looks mean too!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 3rd, 2011, 7:50 pm

i know a guy with a set of Toyo Open County AT's, with 15-inch American Racing black-teflon coated rims (6-hole, will fit ranger and hilux i believe).

I think he asking $8000 for the set.
PM me and i'll give u the contact.

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » May 3rd, 2011, 8:57 pm

I got the Pirelli ATR Scorption set of 4 total cost to install $5700 @ MasterServ today 265/70R16. They riding and holding the road pretty well, I was able to run my van 140km/hr and it seemed pretty stable (my speed guys is 90-110km/hr, 140km/hr was just a test drive today)
My wife said she found the ride smoother than the original stock tyres, but the ride itself was rugged. So I may consider reducing the tyre pressure in the back and see if it makes a difference but will probably have the techs at Mileage Mack advise me on this. I was thinking 28 in the back tyres and 30 in the front for my 2010 4x4 XLT Ford Ranger. My van never carries load, only people. What do you guys think about this? Anyone has lower pressure that is safe, does not affect tyre wear negatively and works well?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 4th, 2011, 5:14 am

I keep my scorpions at around 35psi in front and 34psi in back (that's cuz i have a heavy-@ss navara).

Smooth ride, excellent traction.
Went off-roading this past weekend and no problems at all with grip.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 4th, 2011, 5:26 am

vharripersad wrote:I got the Pirelli ATR Scorption set of 4 total cost to install $5700 @ MasterServ today 265/70R16. They riding and holding the road pretty well, I was able to run my van 140km/hr and it seemed pretty stable (my speed guys is 90-110km/hr, 140km/hr was just a test drive today)
My wife said she found the ride smoother than the original stock tyres, but the ride itself was rugged. So I may consider reducing the tyre pressure in the back and see if it makes a difference but will probably have the techs at Mileage Mack advise me on this. I was thinking 28 in the back tyres and 30 in the front for my 2010 4x4 XLT Ford Ranger. My van never carries load, only people. What do you guys think about this? Anyone has lower pressure that is safe, does not affect tyre wear negatively and works well?

Basically, incorrect tyre pressure will cause uneven wear in the tyre tread.

- Low pressure will cause the outer edges of the tyre to wear out faster, since the sidewalls are now supporting most of the weight for the tyre
- high pressure will cause the middle section of the tread to bear most of the weight and wear out faster.

Safest best is to go with what's recommended by the manufacturer. Check the instruction booklet and see what tyre size you should stick to, eg. the Ranger is 245/55/R16 (i think) and the stock tyre pressure should be around 30PSI. If you go bigger like your 265/70R16's, go a little higher like 32PSI.

So I'd estimate 32psi in front, 30psi in the back for optimum on-road performance.
Off-road, you can safely air down to as much as 25PSI, but be sure to air-up again at a gas station ASAP or with a portable air compressor.

I think i'll go back down to 34psi front and 32psi rear. With 35PSI i'm getting really good fuel economy (650km per tank now) but I'm worried about wearing out the middle treads.

Postby 3stagevtec » May 4th, 2011, 1:44 pm

Ranger stock is 245/70R16..

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 20th, 2011, 8:58 pm

Picture I took yesterday of my Pirelli Scorpions, at approx 15,000km's of wear so far.

Love my scorpions :D

rx80

Postby rx80 » May 21st, 2011, 8:12 am

I find the Dunlop Grand trek doesn't work well offroad or on pavement, the hercules i have currently don't hold road at al, nearly lost control at 40km at a round a bout.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 21st, 2011, 8:20 am

The pirellis are a whole different class to the Dunlop Grantreks.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » May 21st, 2011, 1:46 pm

Image check this out! dont think it selling locally! saw it on google...

Postby 3stagevtec » May 21st, 2011, 1:50 pm

^ Look at the design on those lugs!

rx80

Postby rx80 » May 21st, 2011, 10:16 pm

lighthammer wrote:The pirellis are a whole different class to the Dunlop Grantreks.

How do they compare to the Michelin AT2?

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » May 21st, 2011, 11:22 pm

ey speedy dem tyres get som rel gd reviews jed....wey u see dem sellin an fuh hw much so??

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 22nd, 2011, 12:18 am

Kumho Roadventure AT's, 265/70R16 from Laughlin & Degannes.

$1150 each.

Not bad at all.
The last set we had on our frontier lasted 3 years, or approx 65,000km of 99% on-road driving.

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » May 22nd, 2011, 4:04 am

but d Nokian Vatiiva M/T looks like a rel winner with ride quality an wet traction being its top sellin points, it seems like dey cood giv those KL71s a run for their $.....well depending on the cost dat is...
*waits for speedy to jumpeen thread*

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » May 22nd, 2011, 4:53 am

you goh have to look around too see where sellin them and if u can bring dem een... it not sellin down here...

badart

Postby badart » June 1st, 2011, 4:20 pm

anyone ever bought anything from tirerack? do they accept TT credit cards?

Postby equipped2ripp » June 5th, 2011, 11:43 am

^ I bought from TireRack already. I used my Republic Bank CC to pay for it, I just had to use my US billing address to do the transaction. They would call you like a day or two after you do the transaction to confirm the order and payment info.

badart

Postby badart » June 5th, 2011, 7:18 pm

^ Ok cool thanks for the info, still checking around but most likely i would have to purchase from tire rack

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”