Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
bt50

Re: Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Postby bt50 » July 25th, 2013, 1:42 pm

Fellas I considering running HID in my fogs. Any recommendations?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 25th, 2013, 3:10 pm

bt50 wrote:Fellas I considering running HID in my fogs. Any recommendations?

I put in a kit 35w 8000K. Did not like. Did not find visibility was good in my regular night runs countryside.
Looked pretty though.

Ordered a set of 4300K bulbs. Better lighting now. sometimes I drive the entire road with just the foglights and those pot holes are clearly defined!

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 25th, 2013, 3:41 pm

personally my fogs are off lol...after i did my retrofit, didn't need the fogs

bt50

Postby bt50 » July 26th, 2013, 9:12 am

@ pariaman

Where u got the 4300k bulbs? I'm assuming you used the same 35w ballast?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 26th, 2013, 9:37 am

Ordered them over the net just the bulbs alone. Used the same ballast. Had trouble finding the 4300 K bulbs in Trinidad guys said that most people want the 8000k. Everything was just plug in with no need for joining of wires an easy DIY.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » July 30th, 2013, 9:11 am

Damn airbag light came on. Anyone had this problem?

Going to have it scanned this weekend.

rx80

Postby rx80 » July 30th, 2013, 11:19 am

Prol the spiral cable...^^^^

RNR66

Postby RNR66 » July 30th, 2013, 7:58 pm

Could be your clock spring/ spiral cable.

I have a new one up for sale - check link below

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=513564

Postby Team Loco » July 31st, 2013, 7:15 am

at over 450,000kms on the d4d, we have changed 5 spirals. why do they go bad?

Sonneillon

Postby Sonneillon » August 4th, 2013, 3:35 pm

nigel1977 wrote:Damn airbag light came on. Anyone had this problem?

Going to have it scanned this weekend.

Definitely the spiral cable

kenrickr

Postby kenrickr » August 6th, 2013, 8:29 pm

First time diesel owner and I am officially and idiot! I mistakenly put a redline gasoline treatment in my diesel tank. Does this have any detrimental impact to my engine?

This is the exact one I used http://www.redlineoil.com/product.aspx?product=60103

Postby equipped2ripp » August 6th, 2013, 10:27 pm

kenrickr wrote:First time diesel owner and I am officially and idiot! I mistakenly put a redline gasoline treatment in my diesel tank. Does this have any detrimental impact to my engine?

This is the exact one I used http://www.redlineoil.com/product.aspx?product=60103

just try to keep on topping up your tank so the treatment won't be as strong... so say by time you reach 3/4 tank, fill up again... or you can always google for a solution :mrgreen:

kenrickr

Postby kenrickr » August 7th, 2013, 3:53 pm

Thanks man, will do.

Postby Rainman » August 7th, 2013, 4:12 pm

kenrickr

Postby kenrickr » August 7th, 2013, 9:26 pm

Vehicle started smoking a lot today, really worried as this is a brand new vehicle, only had it two weeks.

Postby Aaron 2NR » August 7th, 2013, 10:09 pm

where do u fill up..have mine almost 2 years and no smoking

kenrickr

Postby kenrickr » August 7th, 2013, 11:28 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:where do u fill up..have mine almost 2 years and no smoking

I fill up at NP piarco. Will take it back to M Rampersad to see what they can do concerning the gas treatment i had mistakenly used.

alarms_wiz

Postby alarms_wiz » August 7th, 2013, 11:36 pm

M. Rampersad will tell you sheit. Drain the tank and fill with new diesel. Change the fuel filter to be safe. I use amsoil diesel concentrate, about 4 ounces to a full tank every couple I fill ups. No smoke and no problem, plus the diesel pump rattle is reduced as it lubricates the pump.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 8th, 2013, 1:44 am

You have two good suggestions above. Be mindful that M Rampersad may void your warranty.

A partner once filled his tank with premium gas ... When he realized, he parked up the van, called a flatbed wrecker and took it home. He then drained the tank, changed the fuel filter and was good to go after that.

Postby Rainman » August 8th, 2013, 8:08 am

I'm baffled at the fact that people make those mistakes, i guess it can happen to anyone.

alarms_wiz

Postby alarms_wiz » August 8th, 2013, 8:30 am

Tell Rampersad the gas station attendant accidentally put gas instead of diesel so they won't void warranty. When I bought my hilux from them it smoke like hell two days after and all they tell me is " yuh get bad diesel"

bt50

Postby bt50 » August 8th, 2013, 1:31 pm

Fellas how do you drain the tank? I looked under for a drain plug and didn't see any.

Kenrickr- just get tank completely drained cuz if you tell the dealer what u did and u have some issues with injectors down the road they will cute this as the culprit and not honor warranty.

tripplediamond

Postby tripplediamond » August 8th, 2013, 9:19 pm

How to remove a 2008 hilux dashboard? want to repaint it...

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 8th, 2013, 9:27 pm

tripplediamond wrote:How to remove a 2008 hilux dashboard? want to repaint it...

Check TurboHead on that 495-2320.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 8th, 2013, 9:33 pm

Fellas this is the last of my inventory for sale:

Older unbreakable model (pre 2006 D4D):
Boot rubbers
Disc pads
Fuel filter
Shocks
Engine mount
Timing belt
Idler arm bushing
Bulbs
Oil filter (1kz,5L)

For the D4D:
Oil filter
Fuel filter
Brake shoes 4x4

Y series (gas) engine :
Oil filter
Fuel filter
Plugs
Thermostat
Oil pressure unit

Everything oem. PM if interested in anything.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » August 9th, 2013, 9:02 pm

Anyone interested in a carryboy for a Hilux?

I think its a superlid. Could be wrong.

I'm piping it away.

kenrickr

Postby kenrickr » August 10th, 2013, 7:23 pm

Eventually ran out the fuel... Smoking has stopped, and vehicle works perfect. It's truly a beast.

thestroke

Postby thestroke » August 10th, 2013, 7:51 pm

How much?

kenrickr

Postby kenrickr » August 13th, 2013, 5:35 pm

felt a grate for about 5 seconds while applying brakes today. vehicle only doing 3000km, what can be the cause of this?

Postby Rainman » August 13th, 2013, 5:37 pm

kenrickr wrote:felt a grate for about 5 seconds while applying brakes today. vehicle only doing 3000km, what can be the cause of this?

Sure it wasn't ABS?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”