Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
lighthammer

Re: Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Postby lighthammer » April 9th, 2011, 7:05 am

^^ Clicks *LIKE*

Any rubbing on the wheel-arches when the front tyres are locked?

What size are these tyres?
Personally I don't really fancy the OEM rims, the Kumho KL-71's would look better on a wider 16-inch rim (which is IMPOSSIBLE to find in Trinidad, due to almost ALL navara rims being 22 inches and above in size....)

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 9th, 2011, 7:13 am

seriously - its easier to find 22" tires for your van than to find A/T's or M/T's 16's or 17's

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 9th, 2011, 7:30 am

that does facking piss me off dread.

Too many posers on the roads - not enough real truckers.
At least they make us look good :D :D

Postby 3stagevtec » April 9th, 2011, 8:50 am

lighthammer wrote:What size are these tyres?
Personally I don't really fancy the OEM rims, the Kumho KL-71's would look better on a wider 16-inch rim (which is IMPOSSIBLE to find in Trinidad, due to almost ALL navara rims being 22 inches and above in size....)

Actually, you have to be careful. For off roading purposes, it is actually better to have a slightly narrower rim. That way a wide tyre can protect your rim when playing in the mud or rubbing up against ruts etc while off road.

From the pic 4WD posted, the stock rim looks pretty wide! I am not seeing his 275 width tyre bulging out too much..

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 9th, 2011, 10:29 am

^^ exactly!!

4wd

Postby 4wd » April 11th, 2011, 7:51 am

lighthammer wrote:^^ Clicks *LIKE*

Any rubbing on the wheel-arches when the front tyres are locked?

What size are these tyres?

Tyre size: 275- 75- 16"

No rubbing during the test fit BUT it was close to the loose rear mud flap.

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » April 11th, 2011, 5:15 pm

thats amazing that it fits without touchingg..

I would HAVE to remove the arches from the wheel well to fit that..

Slack

Postby Slack » April 14th, 2011, 11:24 am

Anyone know who has the BFG AT's T/A KO in stock 265/70/16? Quickservice giving me beans. Every week is "next week we getting". I need to get some shoes for meh van bad. Those stock tyres have some thread but it ain't doing sheit.

Any help will be appreciated.

droppa

Postby droppa » April 14th, 2011, 12:09 pm

u have to order that boi, or try by MM

Slack

Postby Slack » April 14th, 2011, 12:13 pm

^^ Sorry.... but who is MM?

droppa

Postby droppa » April 14th, 2011, 12:15 pm

mileage mack.....

but u must have BFGs....

so many others locally available

Slack

Postby Slack » April 18th, 2011, 1:35 pm

I looking at the Michelin LTX AT2 as well. What you guys think?

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » April 18th, 2011, 10:33 pm

Tyre man told me that they were coming from Brazil and the quality is not as good as before. He says hes heard alot of complaints about them, especially from those bought at L&DG.

I have no idea if its true or not.., but maybe someone else has heard/experienced this?.

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » April 26th, 2011, 9:00 pm

Ford Ranger 2010 4x4 looking at buying these (see link ) this week from Mileage Mack 1050 per tyre
Vehicle main purpose for long driving and ride comfort, absolutely no offroading.

http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp ... mpare1=yes

What are your thoughts or what else and by who can I consider, pricing etc?

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » April 26th, 2011, 10:11 pm

dat price aint worth it imo
ATs will com in handy at som pt or another....yuh neva kno wen u'll encounter a sticky situation an need their assistance

leave HTs fuh 4x2s

Postby 3stagevtec » April 26th, 2011, 10:40 pm

MrCuddles wrote:dat price aint worth it imo
ATs will com in handy at som pt or another....yuh neva kno wen u'll encounter a sticky situation an need their assistance

leave HTs fuh 4x2s

x2.. ATs are quite good in both the wet and dry on road.. and when you go to the beach etc, you not gonna get stuck so easy..

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » April 27th, 2011, 9:02 am

"2010 4X4 Ranger.. Absolutely no offroading"

Poor van never getting to flex its muscles or show its true colors.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 27th, 2011, 9:54 am

^ agree on the AT > HT.

Even if u get HT's, there will definitely come a time when you'll need AT's and you'll want to buy them.

AT's generally get longer treadwear than HT's - the only real advantage of HT's over AT's is the marginally lower road-noise levels.

If you're budget-minded but still want good quality - consider going for the Hercules Terra Trac AT's - heard good things about them, no complaints. Roughly $800 per tyre, I believe.

Maxxis Bravo AT's are also decent tyres for the money, good aggressive tread pattern but quiet on the road. $850 per tyre I believe.

For more premium all-terrains, I'd recommend Pirelli Scorpion AT's - $1450 ea. And also Goodyear Fortera AT's - $1500 each. Both are very quiet on the road, have great wet-traction & wet performance (my scorpions just swish the water away when driving through puddles) and they both have very long treadwear life (so you'll have them for about 65,000km average). Both also have decent performance off-road if you ever need that - IIRC Wagon_R has goodyear forteras on his ranger and I have pirelli scorpions.

If you do decide to keep full off-road potential when u eventually decide to buy - then go for the Toyo Open country AT's - $1220 ea. More aggressive, but still good on-road manners.

Roadstone and Nexen HT's are ok, but I'm hearing that they don't last as long, prone to premature wear (esp if you don't keep regular alignments) etc.

Slack

Postby Slack » April 27th, 2011, 10:36 am

I just acquired the Michelin LTX AT2 for my outside woman..... 265/70/16.... I have a slight rub on the front left fender, but not worrying about that.

Road noise is next to nothing.... traction on these is awesome both on wet and dry. Still have to try them out in some mud. everything cost $7,002 VAT Inclusive from Quickservice.

It is substantially larger than those Bridgestone duelers and a million times better in every way.
By the way I still have Duelers and they still have half life. If you or anyone may be interested in buying them, I selling it for $1,200 for the set. PM me.

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » April 27th, 2011, 2:46 pm

Just price out GT Radial at QuickService $1000 per tyre, tyre is like the one in the link below HT Tyre
http://www.tyres4u.com.au/brandselector ... _show.aspx

What you guys think?

Haunted

Postby Haunted » April 27th, 2011, 7:35 pm

4wd wrote:To my fellow Navara Owners here is a 275/75/16 Kumho Venture MT on a stock Navara Rim and it clears without any lift kit.

I found them yesterday at MM in St.James.

this is probably because these are 31's x10.5.....

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » April 29th, 2011, 6:15 pm

Kumho KL 78 265/70R16 $1100 at Laughn & De Gannes, are these good tyres to invest in? My top feature is ride comfort

badart

Postby badart » April 29th, 2011, 9:15 pm

^ Michelin tires have the best ride comfort, kumho aint bad but for about 400 more u can get a good all terrain tyre

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 29th, 2011, 11:58 pm

vharripersad - we had the kumho KL78 roadventure tyres on our frontier in 265/70R16. Lasted about 3 years, over approx 60,000km. Once u keep them aligned every 10,000km and rotate them every 10-15,000 km, they'll last you a long while.

ride comfort was very good, just as good as any high-way tyre.
On a truck with soft suspension, you wont notice the difference. You'd only see it in something with a stiffer suspension.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 30th, 2011, 10:17 am

vharripersad wrote:Kumho KL 78 265/70R16 $1100 at Laughn & De Gannes, are these good tyres to invest in? My top feature is ride comfort

one thing baffled me here - if you want ride comfort - why buy a ranger ? and a 4x4 to boot?

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 30th, 2011, 1:38 pm

^^^^ LOL!!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 30th, 2011, 3:08 pm

well i mean - the same price for a 4x4 ranger you can get a 4x2 hilux or a 4x2 sportero . Resale value is best with the Hilux. Getting the 4x2 means less weight so on-road performance is increased. I dont mean to sound nosy or anything - just trying to understand the reason behind choosing the ranger 4x4 if you have no intention of offroading.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 30th, 2011, 3:17 pm

the same reason ppl buy vigos and tritons....

which i dont kno!

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » April 30th, 2011, 4:11 pm

LOL guys u r making fun of me, but honestly I have no reason for buying the 4x4, at the time when the model was new I got it for $169,000 on the road so it was a good deal then. I wanted a 2 wheel drive van that was high like the 4x4 but none came in manual which is my preference. Hope this clears it up.

But since buying the van, the family has also expanded by 2 so hence the reason ride comfort would be the most important thing to me at this time.

Having said this and reading the advise above, it's seems as though I will change on Monday to the Kl78 Kumho, will let u guys know how it goes.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 30th, 2011, 4:58 pm

kool scene man! but you shud make some use of your 4x4!!! its a hell of a lot of fun!!! look tru some of the pics on this forum you'll see!

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”