Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
PariaMan

Re: Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Postby PariaMan » June 28th, 2013, 9:00 am

badart wrote:ok never changed my water pump, just crossed 90,000 no problems so far. Most likely i would replace the water pump when changing the T-belt at 150,000 k. Never changed coolant so due to change at 100,000k service.

Brother bought a Hilux at around the same time. His own started to leak at the same mileage too.

trini_darkside

Postby trini_darkside » June 30th, 2013, 9:58 am

where could i get a good tray cover for my hilux

toyoman

Postby toyoman » July 5th, 2013, 9:45 am

doing 160,000kms...only thing changed was oil, filters, clutch/pp, starter contacts, a/c magnetic clutch, disc pads, tyres.....all coolant, hoses, brake fluid etc never changed and still goin strong....

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » July 8th, 2013, 11:48 pm

I couldn't remember if the timing belt light came on at 150 or 160k.

Changed out Tbelt, Drive belt, tensioner, waterpump, changed out the coolant etc.

I did see signs of a leak on the old 1 piece waterpump. The new waterpump I got from Jervais in Mc bean was a 2 piece.

Had to remove 3 shims from the AC pully, instead of changing the whole clutch.

I looked at a 2012 Hilux rotor and caliper to retrofit on my 2006.

They look swappable. The same guy, Jervais, in Mc Bean, said its a direct swap( Both rotor and caliper< and youd have to use 2012 pads) Can anyone confirm?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » July 8th, 2013, 11:55 pm

Rainman wrote:
nigel1977 wrote:
Important to note for the 1kdftv folks.

Our alternator is a 4 wire harness, 3 phase type. Meaning, that the ECU governs the alternator field current. Its not easily replaceable with another alt from another vehicle, nor could he add anymore windings to the stator to increase output as its already ram cram in the housing.

Interesting enough, the windings used square wire and not round.

You would think, the Fortuner with more electric load would have a bigger alternator, not so. I checked that last year when I considered options, and its the same unit. :(

Nigel, would you happen to know the Maximum Current that the 1kd-ftv alternator can produce. I'm planning a small system and this information would be crucial in determining the size of the system.

Sorry fr the tardy response.

Its 80A.

badart

Postby badart » July 9th, 2013, 8:50 am

The timing belt light is set to come on at 150k, 2012 brake pads is the same brake pad used in all previous models (2005-2012)

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » July 9th, 2013, 5:24 pm

Interesting.

The rotor is bigger. Different caliper. Same pad?

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 9th, 2013, 6:22 pm

Diff pad. I changed pads a week ago. Diff part number. Doubt the Vigo n hilux r different

Postby Team Loco » July 10th, 2013, 7:40 am

sent the d4d 2.5 to tttl to do checks. replaced water pump, changed shackle rubbers, a/c filter, re-torque suspension, rplaced small turbo line. $8,800.33. it cost me cheaper to do the engine job yes

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » July 10th, 2013, 7:55 am

Team Loco wrote:sent the d4d 2.5 to tttl to do checks. replaced water pump, changed shackle rubbers, a/c filter, re-torque suspension, rplaced small turbo line. $8,800.33. it cost me cheaper to do the engine job yes

At what milage is this

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 10th, 2013, 8:37 am

Team Loco wrote:sent the d4d 2.5 to tttl to do checks. replaced water pump, changed shackle rubbers, a/c filter, re-torque suspension, rplaced small turbo line. $8,800.33. it cost me cheaper to do the engine job yes

Water pump alone is more than 2000$. Mathura carries the same brand (when I changed my own I compared them ) for around 700$.

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » July 10th, 2013, 8:44 am

PariaMan wrote:

Water pump alone is more than 2000$. Mathura carries the same brand (when I changed my own I compared them ) for around 700$.

Lol toyota rip off

rx80

Postby rx80 » July 10th, 2013, 10:49 am

nigel1977 wrote:I couldn't remember if the timing belt light came on at 150 or 160k.

Changed out Tbelt, Drive belt, tensioner, waterpump, changed out the coolant etc.

I did see signs of a leak on the old 1 piece waterpump. The new waterpump I got from Jervais in Mc bean was a 2 piece.

Had to remove 3 shims from the AC pully, instead of changing the whole clutch.

I looked at a 2012 Hilux rotor and caliper to retrofit on my 2006.

They look swappable. The same guy, Jervais, in Mc Bean, said its a direct swap( Both rotor and caliper< and youd have to use 2012 pads) Can anyone confirm?

Yeh I swapped to the 2012 model, all you need to do is cut a bit off the stone shield. The rotor and caliper is larger..

rx80

Postby rx80 » July 10th, 2013, 10:52 am

I'm actually looking to swap back to the original as the van will be up for sale soon so if anyone wants an upgrade make an offer with your stock and we can probably do a trade.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » July 10th, 2013, 2:58 pm

Where did you get the rotors and calipers from?

Ivar in Santa flora has them from a 201@ for 5000.00

Im sure he has the stone shield too.

Stark Auto Rentals

Postby Stark Auto Rentals » July 10th, 2013, 3:26 pm

Hi Guys,

Having the following problem with my 2006 vigo.

Sometimes when the van is idling, the AC stops blowing cold. As soon as I accelerate slightly, you feel an immediate change in the air to extreme cold. This problem is very intermittent, as sometimes the van could idle for an hour and be cold. I dropped it across to Ultracool and they kept it for the day and couldn't find anything wrong with it.

Any idea on what could be the problem here?

rx80

Postby rx80 » July 10th, 2013, 3:45 pm

Clutch fan? Since there isn't any condenser fans.... Notice if there is ice forming on the evaporator?

Stark Auto Rentals

Postby Stark Auto Rentals » July 10th, 2013, 3:55 pm

didn't have a look at the evaporator, but I will later and see.

King Kool

Postby King Kool » July 10th, 2013, 7:56 pm

We will sort your a/c problem out.

King Kool
674-3653

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » July 10th, 2013, 9:48 pm

Quality Car Rentals wrote:Hi Guys,

Having the following problem with my 2006 vigo.

Sometimes when the van is idling, the AC stops blowing cold. As soon as I accelerate slightly, you feel an immediate change in the air to extreme cold. This problem is very intermittent, as sometimes the van could idle for an hour and be cold. I dropped it across to Ultracool and they kept it for the day and couldn't find anything wrong with it.

Any idea on what could be the problem here?

Remove the bigger of the 3 spacers on the bolts for the pulley. There are 3 sets of spacers keeping the clutch off. The clutch is worn and doesn't come in all the way to engage the compressor.

or

You can change the clutch pulley.

turbohead

Postby turbohead » July 14th, 2013, 10:50 pm

team loco that van yuh bring they really take some licks..lol... 400k and goin strong. pariaman you sure is a original toyota water pump for 700?

Postby Team Loco » July 15th, 2013, 7:54 am

turbohead wrote:team loco that van yuh bring they really take some licks..lol... 400k and goin strong. pariaman you sure is a original toyota water pump for 700?

agreed. its beats palo seco to marabella and back every day and somewhere in between port of spain and back at least 4 times for the week.

the black one coming in tomorrow for you all to play with

btw- american sr5 body stickers for sale:
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=516927

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 15th, 2013, 9:45 am

turbohead wrote:team loco that van yuh bring they really take some licks..lol... 400k and goin strong. pariaman you sure is a original toyota water pump for 700?

Well the Brand name of the defective one that the mechanic gave me back was the same as the one that Mathura is selling. I still have the defective one at home so i will give you the brand name tomorrow!

turbohead

Postby turbohead » July 17th, 2013, 10:14 pm

toyota pumps are aisin pump.. it stamped toyota...

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 18th, 2013, 8:30 am

That is the brand that Mathura selling for seven hundred!

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » July 18th, 2013, 2:04 pm

Where can I get rack ends for the 2010 hilux seems like mine going bad after 90000 kms

rx80

Postby rx80 » July 18th, 2013, 10:46 pm

I bought 555 brand in Faiz marabella

sweeks

Postby sweeks » July 19th, 2013, 7:47 am

If you can't source them oem, make sure you all getting genuine 555 parts .... There is also a Taiwanese 555 out there.

turbohead

Postby turbohead » July 21st, 2013, 10:51 pm

paria man dat rell hard to believe pics or yuh lie...if das the case i goin an stock up on waterpump and sell hm...lol

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 22nd, 2013, 8:32 am

turbohead wrote:paria man dat rell hard to believe pics or yuh lie...if das the case i goin an stock up on waterpump and sell hm...lol

Well they gave me one for the 2.7 Gas which was the same brand as the original and they said they were out of the one for the 2.5 Diesel.

I got a Chinese Brand for around 500.

That was around 75 000 Km.

So far I doing 150,000 KM and no signs of leaks .

Therefore the cheaper one for 500 last longer than the original.

If you look closely at the water pump it is a very simple device do not see why it should be 2000tt

Have a pic of the box will post it up!

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”