Tech Thread - Nissan Frontier, Navara, Pathfinder.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
TG7788

Re: Tech Thread - Nissan Frontier, Navara, Pathfinder.

Postby TG7788 » July 20th, 2011, 7:48 pm

Can someone direct me to a retailer that has Navara tail lights in stock. Both my tail lights were stolen a couple days ago.
Got a pair of LEDs but they have three connecting points where the original has one jack and I didn't want to butcher my harness.
Massey does not have any in stock.
Got a pair at Motorist in Marabella today....one has the correct jack and the other is too big. This was their last pair as well.
By the way I was parked outside of Rising Star....careful where you park.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 21st, 2011, 8:12 pm

Check ROC in bamboo, they have original parts.

TG7788

Postby TG7788 » July 21st, 2011, 8:51 pm

Thanks lighthammer

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 24th, 2011, 3:26 pm

Does the stock 4x2 Frontier have lsd in the rear?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 25th, 2011, 2:31 pm

no it's open diff.

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 25th, 2011, 2:48 pm

yeh it sucks ass.......

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 25th, 2011, 9:54 pm

Ok now does the 4x4 versions have lsd and how hard is it to swap it or any other recomended lsd in the back? Or it just make sense to go with the 4x4, dont really need the 4x4 not going off road soon.

Rah

Postby Rah » July 29th, 2011, 5:40 am

Guys does anyone have a Navara that is more than 3 years old. I have one that will be 3 in August, recently i have been getting one or two strange starts and im wondering if its the original battery that may be about to give up! It has a 3 year warranty and i know in many countries, the batteries are designed to far exceed the minimum warranty but local batteries seem to have an art of dying close to the warranty period being finished. Anybody had to change their original battery and at what age ?

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 29th, 2011, 12:40 pm

TG7788 wrote:Can someone direct me to a retailer that has Navara tail lights in stock. Both my tail lights were stolen a couple days ago.
Got a pair of LEDs but they have three connecting points where the original has one jack and I didn't want to butcher my harness.
Massey does not have any in stock.
Got a pair at Motorist in Marabella today....one has the correct jack and the other is too big. This was their last pair as well.
By the way I was parked outside of Rising Star....careful where you park.

check aleem @ barely legal, he'd organise you....

fed up talk about people and rising star yes

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » July 31st, 2011, 12:55 pm

Rah wrote:Guys does anyone have a Navara that is more than 3 years old. I have one that will be 3 in August, recently i have been getting one or two strange starts and im wondering if its the original battery that may be about to give up! It has a 3 year warranty and i know in many countries, the batteries are designed to far exceed the minimum warranty but local batteries seem to have an art of dying close to the warranty period being finished. Anybody had to change their original battery and at what age ?

mine lasted exactly 3 years so it seems that yours may be ready to change

disturbed

Postby disturbed » July 31st, 2011, 4:13 pm

anybody know wats de price of brakes pad from massey
or other brand pad outside that work jess as good no brake dust or noise and holds good

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » September 10th, 2011, 9:08 pm

just an update:
van at 42,000km
experiencing same turbo trouble as before
part need to be changed out again!!
so keep ure warranty people...second time dealing witha turbo issue

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 10th, 2011, 9:37 pm

i never had issues with my turbo and sold the truck doing a lil over 50k...

heard the new owner abuse the truck though...oil leaks, damaged clutch in less than 6mths...massy say they have never seen a truck go from showroom condition to problem machine in so short a time

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » September 11th, 2011, 1:33 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:just an update:
van at 42,000km
experiencing same turbo trouble as before
part need to be changed out again!!
so keep ure warranty people...second time dealing witha turbo issue

remind us again about the problem and what part was changed?

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » September 16th, 2011, 12:45 am

nareshseep wrote:Ok now does the 4x4 versions have lsd and how hard is it to swap it or any other recomended lsd in the back? Or it just make sense to go with the 4x4, dont really need the 4x4 not going off road soon.

So if you dont want to go offroading why do you want an lsd....
and Yes the 4x4 Frontiers come with LSD I dont think any Navara's have lsd's

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 7th, 2011, 10:26 am

^ the frontier's have an LSD in the rear, the rear diff is made by Fuji Heavy industries (same company that makes the chassis for Subaru's).

The local navara has an open differential in the rear (both automatic and manual) - however the automatic versions in 4x4 have an e-diff system which uses the braking system to stop the spinning wheel in a loose-traction situation. This sends power back to the stuck wheel and in theory would regain traction and get you unstuck. In real world practice, this works to some extent but like any LSD (viscous coupling, gears, electronic, etc) it can be easily overcome if you apply too much power.

If you're not going offroading at all, and you plan to drive the truck on highway at all times, then save yourself some money and go for the 4x2. You can take the money you save and spend it on accessories, rims, tyres, music, etc.

On a side note - my navara has an open diff, no LSD in either front or back. However, I do have good all-terrain tyres, BF Goodrich All Terrain KO - and these make a world of difference. They give me much more grip than the Pirelli Scorpion All Terrains, and I've been in and out of places that other navara's with stock tyres / all terrains can only dream of.

LSD isn't the be-all and end-all in offroading (that's the domain of the Diff Lockers!)

Re:

Postby Kenjo » October 19th, 2011, 1:18 pm

lighthammer wrote:
biggy82 wrote:
lighthammer wrote:This may belong in the Frontier/Navara thread, so my apologies if this post is misplaced.

Been trawling this forum for a while, a pickup-truck enthusiast myself - I run a D22 3.0AX TDI frontier myself. Found some information for the Nissan Frontier/Navara folks, hope allyuh find it useful:

General thread on Nissan frontiers (also includes the US spec Gasoline versions)
- http://www.ehow.com/nissan-frontier/

Maintenance books for the 2006 & up D40 models of the Navara
- (general maintenance): http://bit.ly/aubumb
- (Engine & Mechanical): http://bit.ly/8ZKppa

More links for the 2002 D22 model Frontiers
- http://bit.ly/c8zIMF (you need to join that forum for free to access the pdf's, and you can download only 2 pdf's per day on a free-profile)

Hope y'all find the information useful. I'm gonna read up a couple of the maintenace PDF's for my D22 frontier in a while.

Peace. 8-)

Ok guys, so now that this post is in the correct thread (thanks Biggy82), I've got some more information - the service manuals for the D22 Frontier. Got it off http://www.nissanhelp.com and thought I'd share it with you frontier-freaks (I love my D22 3.0 TDI).

Here's the Service Manual for the 2002 D22 Frontier
- http://bit.ly/bsbLzd

And here's the Engine & Electrical manual for the 2002 D22 Frontier
- http://bit.ly/9BTMzM

I'll try to post more stuff on both the Navara and Frontier as I get the material.

Happy digging!

anyone can re upload the navara d40 manuals.these links are dead

Postby sliderz1 » October 23rd, 2011, 5:59 pm

i need some advice on taking the steering wheel out frm a pathfinder. the column has begun to squeak a bit and the owner wants to grease it. im a bit skeptical with respect to the airbag system.
any help i'd appreciate

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 23rd, 2011, 8:40 pm

Just unplug thuh harness bro, no fear.

Re: Re:

Postby Kenjo » October 31st, 2011, 7:51 pm

Kenjo wrote:
lighthammer wrote:
biggy82 wrote:
lighthammer wrote:This may belong in the Frontier/Navara thread, so my apologies if this post is misplaced.

Been trawling this forum for a while, a pickup-truck enthusiast myself - I run a D22 3.0AX TDI frontier myself. Found some information for the Nissan Frontier/Navara folks, hope allyuh find it useful:

General thread on Nissan frontiers (also includes the US spec Gasoline versions)
- http://www.ehow.com/nissan-frontier/

Maintenance books for the 2006 & up D40 models of the Navara
- (general maintenance): http://bit.ly/aubumb
- (Engine & Mechanical): http://bit.ly/8ZKppa

More links for the 2002 D22 model Frontiers
- http://bit.ly/c8zIMF (you need to join that forum for free to access the pdf's, and you can download only 2 pdf's per day on a free-profile)

Hope y'all find the information useful. I'm gonna read up a couple of the maintenace PDF's for my D22 frontier in a while.

Peace. 8-)

Ok guys, so now that this post is in the correct thread (thanks Biggy82), I've got some more information - the service manuals for the D22 Frontier. Got it off http://www.nissanhelp.com and thought I'd share it with you frontier-freaks (I love my D22 3.0 TDI).

Here's the Service Manual for the 2002 D22 Frontier
- http://bit.ly/bsbLzd

And here's the Engine & Electrical manual for the 2002 D22 Frontier
- http://bit.ly/9BTMzM

I'll try to post more stuff on both the Navara and Frontier as I get the material.

Happy digging!

anyone can re upload the navara d40 manuals.these links are dead

no one else still has a pdf of this manual

Postby sliderz1 » October 31st, 2011, 8:14 pm

i should have one somewhere on my harddrive.........i'll update if i find it

Postby Kenjo » October 31st, 2011, 8:20 pm

thank you

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » November 1st, 2011, 4:50 am

Navara drivers, you may want to read this...

http://www.euroncap.com/results/nissan/ ... d2e7388aef

Euro NCAP is the official crash test agency in europe... It seems the Navara may have some SERIOUS issues..

Postby sliderz1 » November 1st, 2011, 7:30 pm

pre 2008 models have issues my friend......

post 2008 have been corrected

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » November 3rd, 2011, 5:13 pm

And for all the foreign used ones being sold here, who is to say what year it is from? Really, you think the fella selling you it will tell you the truth if it was pre 2008?

Postby sliderz1 » November 3rd, 2011, 7:24 pm

foreign used......NO!
all diesels must be brought in new.......unless its a business...blah blah blah

check seat belts for date, and if so paranoid might as well do a check on chassis number

as you were........

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » November 4th, 2011, 12:29 am

CD4Accord wrote:Navara drivers, you may want to read this...

http://www.euroncap.com/results/nissan/ ... d2e7388aef

Euro NCAP is the official crash test agency in europe... It seems the Navara may have some SERIOUS issues..

**sigh**

this was discussed before: the model tested here was the Aventura spec Navara, which is European model. the Navs we get here are Thai models. what was giving the Aventuras low safety ratings was the ease at which the deck would fly out of the dashboard during a collision. also, the was the clutch and brake pedals would trap the drivers foot in a collision. these two faults were specific to the Aventura models, not the normal D40s and certainly not the Thai models

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 4th, 2011, 9:24 pm

... Correct....

Also, the very first set of navs had a problem with delayed deployment of the airbags on frontal collisions. This has since then been addressed and there arent any problems with airbag deployment, definitely not on our thailand models.

Postby sliderz1 » November 5th, 2011, 10:59 am

reported

bt50

Postby bt50 » November 25th, 2011, 3:06 pm

the navara owners...my pal has a TCM local nav just over 30,000kms. Ive been hearing whirring noise comes from the engine. Is that normal?

Van works perfect though

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”