Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
lighthammer

Re: Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Postby lighthammer » March 22nd, 2011, 12:11 am

parmvt - Automotive components in Arima has the Pirelli Scorpions, so does Masterserv.

Cost me about $1400 each, plus balancing and alignment.
I was gonna wait for the toyo open country all-terrains, but I preferred the Pirelli Scorpions for their longer treadwear life (the rating on the bead is 520Treadwear, and the average life is about 65,000 - 75,000 km with regular rotating, balancing, etc.... plus there's a lifetime manufact. warranty on the scorpions).

parmvt

Postby parmvt » March 22nd, 2011, 8:08 am

i think so
is there a difference between the all country and the all terrain or is it the same

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 22nd, 2011, 1:51 pm

^ no there is a difference.

Both are all-terrain tyres.
The "Open Country" is made by Toyo tyres, sold at Mileage Mack.

The "All Country" is made by Hercules Tyres, IIRC, and I'm not sure where it's made.

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » March 22nd, 2011, 3:29 pm

dats rite LH both are made by Hercules Rubber Company, there's no difference btwn both tyres
they're jus branded different names for different markets but is d exact same tyre

i got som on my Frontier, they're pretty worn down but still giv decent wet/dry traction an last relly long(i tryna kill dem to get som new tyres, but dey dont wanna die!!)
for the price dey relly are a decent AT but dont expect much frm dem in sticky mud
btw dey seem to perform similar to a HT tyre in off-roading conditions wen worn down like mine

parmvt

Postby parmvt » March 22nd, 2011, 7:22 pm

thanks for all the info guys but i bought a set of pirelli scorpion atr today and so far it holding real good on the wet road.will tell you how it holding out in mud after i visit las cuevas on next week wednesday

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » March 22nd, 2011, 11:38 pm

parmvt wrote:thanks for all the info guys but i bought a set of pirelli scorpion atr today and so far it holding real good on the wet road.will tell you how it holding out in mud after i visit las cuevas on next week wednesday

Las Cuervas wit AT tyres?!? u hv gotta be crazy!!

Postby 3stagevtec » March 23rd, 2011, 12:22 am

MrCuddles wrote:
parmvt wrote:thanks for all the info guys but i bought a set of pirelli scorpion atr today and so far it holding real good on the wet road.will tell you how it holding out in mud after i visit las cuevas on next week wednesday

Las Cuervas wit AT tyres?!? u hv gotta be crazy!!

Just say when... lol

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 23rd, 2011, 12:30 am

give meh an update on that trail - i wonder how bad it reach........hummmm

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » March 23rd, 2011, 2:10 pm

Got a set of HT 750 Bravo today

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 23rd, 2011, 2:47 pm

Parmvt, you made a good choice.
The pirelli scorpions on my Nav have performed well beyond my expectations.

Excellent grip on dry and wet tarmac, and those aggressice center grooves actually do very well to channel away water. Every puddle that I drive through, the Nav's steering doesn't even budge.

I put about 5500 - 6000km on them already, and they still almost like new. Noise is minimal as well, less than any prev all-terrain tyre I ever used.

They surprised me on this past sunday's run through the clay-soil too. Even though the space between the treads aren't as wide as say, the Toyo Open County A/T, they held their grip well throughout the trail except for that steep incline when the rain turned everything into slush.

Plus that lifetime manufacturere's warranty is a bonus.

Good luck on that cuevas trail - just take the usual advice and be aware of the path ur taking, watch ur ground clearance and be careful through uncertain patches.

parmvt

Postby parmvt » March 23rd, 2011, 3:18 pm

yeah man thanks for the info.
those pirelli are awesome.
but besides las cuevas where else has a good trail to try these tyres out.

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » March 23rd, 2011, 4:42 pm

parmvt wrote:yeah man thanks for the info.

last time i was at d entrance to d Las Cuervas trail it was lifted vehicles on MT tyres only!!! no stock 4x4 runnin AT tyres makin dat buddy.....u guranteed to stick!!

:idea: find a trail wit less mud and shallower ruts :wink:

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 23rd, 2011, 4:49 pm

once the rain easeup for a while - the las cuervas trail would be passable

parmvt

Postby parmvt » March 23rd, 2011, 7:20 pm

yeah i understand but what other useable trail can i use??

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 23rd, 2011, 8:36 pm

wait for the brasso secco run nex month! shud be worth it! ;)

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 24th, 2011, 10:14 pm

Looking for a set of 275/70R17 A/T... Anybody see any?

Haunted

Postby Haunted » March 24th, 2011, 10:42 pm

MrCuddles wrote:
parmvt wrote:yeah man thanks for the info.

last time i was at d entrance to d Las Cuervas trail it was lifted vehicles on MT tyres only!!! no stock 4x4 runnin AT tyres makin dat buddy.....u guranteed to stick!!

:idea: find a trail wit less mud and shallower ruts :wink:

this is far from true....once you kno what route you taking and you have momentum u in a gears... but mr cuddles has a point the rute are getting deeper and deeper ive seen stock vehicles back bumper drag from the entrance.... and yall under estimate the power of AT... my padna had BF goodrich AT and used to rel get on in cuevas till the day he got stuck and retired from offroading....once you have power to push them wheels to fling off the dirt you good...just dont over do it and dig yourself in a hole

Haunted

Postby Haunted » March 24th, 2011, 10:45 pm

let me kno how that goes..what kind of rig you got?...hope you not goin by yourself

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 25th, 2011, 2:13 pm

WOuld the 275/70R17 A/T fit on the 2010 Hilux with no problems?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 25th, 2011, 7:01 pm

^^ should be no problems phoenix.

Guys with vigo's wider tyres on 22-inch crims making it normel, so that size you quoted should have no problems with rubbing.

badart

Postby badart » March 25th, 2011, 10:08 pm

^the width (275) should not be a problem but the profile (70) im not sure about, 70 is about 1-2 inches taller than the 65 profile the hilux comes with, i feel it would touch the front bumper but only one way to find out

venum

Postby venum » March 25th, 2011, 11:47 pm

275-70-16 fitted easily oin the Sportero

the steering get lil stiff though

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 26th, 2011, 12:15 am

^^ wider footprint = more resistance.
But as rotated proved on the last side-b run, a wide footprint has some advantages in gaining traction esp if you have good tread. If it's a slick highway tyre, then the advantage is negligible.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 26th, 2011, 7:38 am

badart wrote:^the width (275) should not be a problem but the profile (70) im not sure about, 70 is about 1-2 inches taller than the 65 profile the hilux comes with, i feel it would touch the front bumper but only one way to find out

It come stock with 265/70/17s
Thinking about ordering some... New tyres...

Smeed

Postby Smeed » March 26th, 2011, 8:12 am

*Phoenix* wrote:
badart wrote:^the width (275) should not be a problem but the profile (70) im not sure about, 70 is about 1-2 inches taller than the 65 profile the hilux comes with, i feel it would touch the front bumper but only one way to find out

u sureeeeeee? mine came with 265/65/17

badart

Postby badart » March 26th, 2011, 8:44 am

Smeed wrote:
*Phoenix* wrote:

u sureeeeeee? mine came with 265/65/17

yea u sure about tht, mines also came with 265/65/17

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 26th, 2011, 9:16 am

take pics and post nah....

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 26th, 2011, 9:22 am

2 Hilux men cya be wrong..
Lemme go double check yes...

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 26th, 2011, 9:34 am

sheit I was wrong.. it is 265/65/17
Thanks for the straighten out Guyz...
:oops:

Still want those Destination A/T
just trying to figure out the best size to go with without any touching but with no sizes locally to try on, im guessing....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 26th, 2011, 9:44 am

^^ ask 3stage where he get his own.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”