TECH Thread - MITSUBISHI L200, Sportero, Triton.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
venum

Re: TECH Thread - MITSUBISHI L200, Sportero, Triton.

Postby venum » January 1st, 2013, 1:11 pm

DVSTT wrote:the vibration you got when you pulled hard out of a corner and the LSD kicked in stopped completely.

your model has LSD :?:

i know for a fact that my TCF (2007) model does NOT have LSD

i get severe wheel spin when the weight shifts when cornering, regardless of tyres

AllTrac wrote:nicely done, im thinking its the ac, but i wont go through that hassle and just change one belt so ill change all 3

Good call, warning, the alternator belts are pressure to change due to the tiny space between the fan and rad

we did mine while standing in front the truck, maybe access from underneath may proove easier

HAPPY NEW YEARS FELLAS :!:

Postby DVSTT » January 1st, 2013, 8:42 pm

venum wrote:
DVSTT wrote:the vibration you got when you pulled hard out of a corner and the LSD kicked in stopped completely.

your model has LSD :?:

i know for a fact that my TCF (2007) model does NOT have LSD

i get severe wheel spin when the weight shifts when cornering, regardless of tyres

AllTrac wrote:nicely done, im thinking its the ac, but i wont go through that hassle and just change one belt so ill change all 3

Good call, warning, the alternator belts are pressure to change due to the tiny space between the fan and rad

Our one is an 09, 3.2L. There is a big LSD sticker on the rear diff casing. But it does have it and it works alot better after the oil was changed.

we did mine while standing in front the truck, maybe access from underneath may proove easier

HAPPY NEW YEARS FELLAS :!:

venum

Postby venum » January 2nd, 2013, 10:06 am

seems they brought some LSD models then

lucky bastard

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » January 2nd, 2013, 5:10 pm

venum wrote:seems they brought some LSD models then

lucky bastard

yup:
sorry for the crappy picture, but you get the idea :lol:

also, I have a new years question; for those of you who have done a "fuel flush" using amsoil diesel concentrate, I need to know a couple things.
1) I've heard people saying to just pour the concentrate into the fuel filter (I think Alltrac mentioned this method too), and I've heard about the disconnect fuel and return lines, insert into the amsoil bottle and rev intermittently until the entire bottle has been used up, method. Is there any advantage to doing it one way vs the next?
2) I have a basic understanding of how it's done, but I'd love to get a better understanding of why it's done, why it's effective, and is it better than simply pouring the recommended amount of concentrate into your tank?

As always, thanks guys :)

Postby DVSTT » January 2nd, 2013, 7:21 pm

Dad uses a amsoil diesel treatment in our van. You add an ounce or two every time you fill up. You can mat it from a stand still and no smoke at all comes out. Works good IMO

venum

Postby venum » January 2nd, 2013, 10:38 pm

I use 3 oz every fill-up and then 4oz to finish the bottle

my mech does the filter fillup

i usually don't do it when i change the filter cuz I use it regularly in my tank

may start to though

Val

Postby Val » January 4th, 2013, 10:42 pm

What do you use for water/algae removal aside from the sedimenter/fuel filter?

I use Redline diesel treatment sometimes which claims to remove 3% water. We did some testing on our diesel rental generators and other equipment, and found microbial content in the tanks (note the diesel tends to last a while like at least 2 weeks) due to high water content.

Tested some tanks from a local diesel supplier and reportedly had a fairly high water content too, but I didn't see the report on that so I won't post the name. However, I think that the water content in most diesel storage tanks in fuel stations would be high maybe due to high water tables and condensation in a humid environment. I don't know how the tanks are set up though (i.e. if they are watertight).

When I don't use the treatment for a while, I get a bit more smoke and the engine is much louder and gives a noticeable rattle (just like it sounds when it's cold).

It may not be the best thing, and I welcome your ideas on this, but this is why I try to fill up only when around quarter tank to reduce the water/microbes/solids being recycled in the tank. Also tend to look for when a truck just pulled up in the station to fill then, to get the driest diesel possible (though I doubt it makes much of a difference). Some people say that it's bad to do that as the filling of the diesel stirs up residue in the station's tank, but the vehicle's fuel filter can handle the residue, but not the water.

Thoughts?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » January 5th, 2013, 12:58 am

DVSTT wrote:Dad uses a amsoil diesel treatment in our van. You add an ounce or two every time you fill up. You can mat it from a stand still and no smoke at all comes out. Works good IMO

i does use it too, and mih datsun does wuk good good...

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » January 5th, 2013, 1:01 am

When I don't use the treatment for a while, I get a bit more smoke and the engine is much louder and gives a noticeable rattle (just like it sounds when it's cold).

That's cuz we have a sheity Cetane rating in our local diesel....
IIRC the cetane rating in clean diesel like in the UK is about 56-58, ours locally is like 52 cetane (i dunno lol).

Low cetane, like octane, leads to lower combustion affinity, and can lead to knocking or just low power.

I heard that the diesel in Japan is so clean (hence expensive!) that it comes out blue!!

Val

Postby Val » January 5th, 2013, 10:15 am

I don't think that the colour of diesel is an indication of it's cleanliness. Diesels are dyed different colours for different ratings.
I used the blue diesel that came out of a crewboat shipped from the US my old company bought in a Ranger 2.9, and the van worked totally different (better). Don't think cleanliness alone would make such an instant difference.

venum

Postby venum » January 6th, 2013, 10:41 am

Val wrote:I don't think that the colour of diesel is an indication of it's cleanliness. Diesels are dyed different colours for different ratings.

correct, they are dyed,

but i have also heard about the miraculous diesel from japan from owners that brought in roro trucks from Japan

I think that the japanese diesel is not just clean but has a high cetane rating and possibly other additives that are good for your engine (the equivalent of the enriched gasoline on teh us market)

i don't use anything for the water

algae x is supposed to be good

but I know that Mitsu diesel engines handle water content very well, better than Nissan engines, better than Toyota's so I don't really worry about water content

I use Amsoil Diesel Concentrate religiously - 3-4 oz per tank

once my tank isn't filled half or quarter with water from a contaminated tank, my engine will work well

I control that by filling up at a reliable station - mon repos or duncan village only

Postby AllTrac » January 6th, 2013, 4:20 pm

so decided to give the girl a brakes bleed and flush.
Been meaning to do it a while now, always found the brakes fluid a bit dirty looking. Anyone wanting to do the same on their own could try my method below, its a 2 person job and you need someone to pump the brakes. Be very careful with the brakes fluid as it is the best paint remover.

So first I drained out the reservoir from my rear passenger side hub nipple:
I cracked it with a 8 spanner, I have a handy little tool I bough at pep boys years ago to bleed brakes

Unplug the fluid sensor. Then removed the cylinder:
2 brakes line that goes to the abs:

Then remove the 2 12 nut the holds the entire reservoir and cylinder to the booster:

and it pops right out.

all cleaned up:

reinstall is just the reverse of what I did.
Then start pouring in the fluid and start bleeding from the most furthest from the master cylinder which would be the rear passenger side nipple and work your way around doing all 4. Keep bleeding and pumping the brakes till you see all the air bubbles out and the fluid looks clear, well not clear but it should look the same color as the fresh fluid in the bottle. When you think you have gotten all the air and old fluid out. Lock the nipple, let someone pump the brakes to build up pressure, then let them depress it, while they are holding it down, crack the nipple let the fluid push out. Do this a couple times, till the brakes feel nice and firm, always checking the fluid level.

finally, so fresh and clean:

Used about 2 liters of brake fluid. Brakes feel alot more firmer, it got rid of the spongy feeling it had before and stops alot better now.

venum

Postby venum » January 6th, 2013, 8:01 pm

^^^ well done

Postby DVSTT » January 6th, 2013, 8:18 pm

Nicely done Trac!

Val

Postby Val » January 6th, 2013, 9:45 pm

So how much you charging to do mine? lol

Postby AllTrac » January 7th, 2013, 9:04 am

lol nah man it easy to do, my wife helped me, even tho at time i had to run out from under the truck to pump the brakes cause she get tired and was giving some weak ass pumps lol

But its quite simple to do, if you really need help you can spin by, dont mind giving you a hand.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » January 10th, 2013, 9:32 pm

nicely done AllTrac (thanks the pics too :mrgreen: :lol:)
with my earlier post on the amsoil concentrate, guess I'll stick to just pouring it into the tank for now :)
oh, and I finally got around to doing the diff oil change myself :oops: :lol:
anyway, I've come to realize what the Mc in the stealership's parent company's name really means :roll:
rear diff "oil" was so sludgy it wasn't funny :?
anyway, I used venum's write-up as my guideline and put some NP gear oil in there just as a flush; I'll put in the Amsoil maybe by this weekend/ early next week

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » January 10th, 2013, 10:00 pm

quick question for all the guys with older machines:
k74t with 240k on it starts with alot of white smoke (more smoke the longer the engine was off), lasts for a couple mins of driving, then it puffs only on occasional gear change.
is this an injector/pump issue?
btw engine runs fine.

Postby DVSTT » January 10th, 2013, 10:09 pm

tourniquet wrote:nicely done AllTrac (thanks the pics too :mrgreen: :lol:)
with my earlier post on the amsoil concentrate, guess I'll stick to just pouring it into the tank for now :)
oh, and I finally got around to doing the diff oil change myself :oops: :lol:
anyway, I've come to realize what the Mc in the stealership's parent company's name really means :roll:
anyway, I used venum's write-up as my guideline and put some NP gear oil in there just as a flush; I'll put in the Amsoil maybe by this weekend/ early next week

According to our mechanic, DM was using the wrong oil in the differential and wrong engine coolant. After the differential oil change, it works a lot better and smoother. Not sure how the coolant change affected it though. Thought this was something worth sharing with you guys, especially those who still service at DM.

venum

Postby venum » January 11th, 2013, 1:51 pm

tourniquet wrote:

NP dude

the dealership buys their fluids based on contracts, so depending on how the oil dealers prices and availability are, well that would determine what oils they choose to buy in bulk

ado15mk3 wrote:quick question for all the guys with older machines:
k74t with 240k on it starts with alot of white smoke (more smoke the longer the engine was off), lasts for a couple mins of driving, then it puffs only on occasional gear change.
is this an injector/pump issue?
btw engine runs fine.

white smoke on mornings is usually caused by water vapour in the intake air

also by under boost. if u remove the intake hose from the intercooler to the manifold and revv, u will get a lot of white smoke

injector dribble is usually black smoke on start due to excess diesel in the cylinders

Postby DVSTT » January 13th, 2013, 7:46 pm

Guys, the little light above the front center console before the sunroof controls, how in the hell did a 2 inch moth get into it :?

Postby ronsin1 » January 13th, 2013, 9:14 pm

went yesterday for the 50k service changed oil filters brake pads
they addressed the squeak on the leaf spring

GET was supposed to be serviced however they did not and told me that I need to come back as per stated on the invoice
alignment was not done as technician was not there
was pissed at them when I was told that as I saw a vehicle on the ramp aligning man say that is the only vehicle being done
I intend to deal with the service manager on Monday about this

Postby DVSTT » January 13th, 2013, 9:45 pm

ronsin1 wrote:went yesterday for the 50k service changed oil filters brake pads

GET was supposed to be serviced however they did not and told me that I need to come back as per stated on the invoice
was pissed at them when I was told that as I saw a vehicle on the ramp aligning man say that is the only vehicle being done

See their customer service has not changed.

Val

Postby Val » January 14th, 2013, 12:32 pm

I stopped dealing with them a long time ago. Imagine I call to make an appointment, all is well. Then when I get there, drop the van then pick up after service, they tell me if I booked online I would have received a discount.

I asked why nobody told me this over the phone, and why should an online service booking make a difference it's still an advance booking, the woman said to me, "Sir I'm telling you now about this".

I said that's incredibly stupid to tell me about a discount after I already paid for the service. North branch mind you, never had these issues in South.

Postby ronsin1 » January 14th, 2013, 3:18 pm

it was the first time I dealing with this guy so he did not know how I operate, The Guy I normally deal with was not there and Service Manager was not there

They also change my oil pan plug and charged for it. Which I disputed will also deal with that

All Round I never had any major issues with the firm the service was always good. But I will be in their ARSE for this

Postby ronsin1 » January 14th, 2013, 3:19 pm

BTW it is the EGR I requested servies not "GET" blasted auto-correct :lol:

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » January 14th, 2013, 5:25 pm

ronsin1 wrote:went yesterday for the 50k service changed oil filters brake pads

how did they address the leaf spring squeak? as far as I've been told, our springs came with a teflon type coating on them, and through normal wear and tear, the coating eventually wears away leaving us with our relatively new vans sounding like an old school estate truck :?
you went on a saturday right, what time were you there from? I have a gripe with businesses on the whole with their saturday hours, but that's for another time and thread. Not saying this is what happened with you eh, but usually on saturday's DM south closes either at 12:00 or 1:00pm, so maybe they were running out of time so they asked you to come back.
ronsin1 wrote:BTW it is the EGR I requested servies not "GET" blasted auto-correct :lol:

stupes, had me googleing "automotive G.E.T." like a royal ass :? :lol: :lol: :oops:

venum

Postby venum » January 14th, 2013, 7:44 pm

sigh, the woes of stealership maintenance . . .

I do not have any of these problems :D

PM me if you want to get dealership servicing, without dealership price and excellent customer service

tourniquet wrote:how did they address the leaf spring squeak? as far as I've been told, our springs came with a teflon type coating on them, and through normal wear and tear, the coating eventually wears away leaving us with our relatively new vans sounding like an old school estate truck :?

not teflon coating, Teflon inserts between the springs

look at the rear of leaf springs by the shackle, between the lifts

white flat piece of teflon insered between the lifts

yes it wears out and then is ole iron noise . . . sigh . . . i miss the ole iron noise

btw fellas . . .

viewtopic.php?f=55&t=481428

Postby DVSTT » January 14th, 2013, 7:55 pm

Venum that ad is awesome, best I have ever seen on here, van is excellent as well! Lucky you don't have the opening back glass otherwise those subs would have never fit lol! GLWS bro!

But, why didn't you put the turbo timer that fits in the blanks on the dash instead?

Hamtonic

Postby Hamtonic » January 15th, 2013, 8:36 am

Hey can any of you guys tell me how much engine oil the 08 3.2 sportero is suppose to be using. Because I'm starting to think the firm was robbing me.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”