Tech Thread - Nissan Frontier, Navara, Pathfinder.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
mistermorocoy

Re: Tech Thread - Nissan Frontier, Navara, Pathfinder.

Postby mistermorocoy » July 6th, 2011, 9:51 pm

had a navara for 2 yrs considering 22's,any info on effect on suspension and handling

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 6th, 2011, 10:21 pm

suspension - more wear and tear on your shocks
Handling - gets stiffer, harsher ride.

Will have to avoid potholes, so you won't dent your expensive rims.

Postby sliderz1 » July 7th, 2011, 3:19 pm

unlike high profile tyre flex to suit the terrain, low profile tyres usually remain firm, going over bumps and rough spots pull your vehicle. (experience when i had 20'' crims)

depends on your drivin style, road type that u commute on,

all in all try to get a light alloy rim as this reduces strain on axles, ends and shocks.

i saw a Navara once wit 295/50/22 dis mite be a best bet if it could fit!!

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » July 9th, 2011, 12:43 am

mistermorocoy wrote:had a navara for 2 yrs considering 22's,any info on effect on suspension and handling

had 22s on for the life of the Nav (2007 - present). suspension-wise, where as thay should take more of a toll on the dampers, mine have stood up very well. i have changed dampers twice now which isnt bad considering the age of the Nav. other suspension parts are unaffected

handling of course is a bit worse than stock. a little more body roll but you would expect that being higher off the ground. also, more air under the van means your highway speed is more limited (max 140 is enough for me).

tyres have a lot to play in the longevity of your wheels. i have never dropped below 45-series tyres and have driven in almost all terrain with no problems. i once bent 2 rims but that was me hitting a patch of hard clay while doing donuts on Moruga beach. if going chrome for the first time, make sure the tyres have the rim protection lip on them until you get accustomed to the curbs

Eagle

Postby Eagle » July 10th, 2011, 1:45 pm

Fellers new your help need to get an ac compressor for the frontier for the zd30 diesel turbo engine pm or call me at 685 3136

vickyexp

Postby vickyexp » July 13th, 2011, 10:42 am

I need some advice here, I have a nisan frontier 3.0 doing about 157 000k and
recently I noticed that the radiator need topping up about 1 or 2 times each week.
I originally thought the radiator had developed a leak and was going to purchase a
new one but I checked it out further after doing some long runs and noticed the radiator
water is going into the overflow bottle, fills it up and then overflows.

I spoke to my machanic today and he told me that it might be the thermostat, I'm going
to drop it off to him on Friday morning. The vehicle starts in one tumble, runs fine and
isn't smoking excessive.

Has anyone gotten this problem or knows what it might be? I don't want to play around
because I know the cost to replace or repair this engine is very high.

Postby sliderz1 » July 13th, 2011, 4:46 pm

dont play with that, start with the thermostat............... from there you will will be able to tell if the coolant disintegrated and form sludge within the lines and caused a choke, you may need a flush out (hose it down) for normal circulatiion of system

vickyexp

Postby vickyexp » July 14th, 2011, 6:48 am

thanks for the advice, but we're going to start with the thermostat. Do you think
the water pump might also be a contributor to this problem? I'm not to familiar with
the engine, this is the first time I'm getting problems with the vehicle after 2 1/2yrs
of ownership.

Postby Chimera » July 14th, 2011, 6:50 am

biggy82 wrote: i once bent 2 rims but that was me hitting a patch of hard clay while doing donuts on Moruga beach.

lol wtf biggy :lol: :lol:

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » July 14th, 2011, 2:01 pm

vickyexp wrote:thanks for the advice, but we're going to start with the thermostat. Do you think
the water pump might also be a contributor to this problem? I'm not to familiar with
the engine, this is the first time I'm getting problems with the vehicle after 2 1/2yrs
of ownership.

check thermo first cos it might be stuck / fouled and backing up the water into the overflow. but it also may be a compression issue: the block leaking into the radiator and over-pressurizing the rad. being a high-compression engine, it would push loads of coolant into the overflow

i dont think its your water pump tho...

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » July 14th, 2011, 2:03 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
biggy82 wrote: i once bent 2 rims but that was me hitting a patch of hard clay while doing donuts on Moruga beach.

lol wtf biggy :lol: :lol:

what? :oops:

Postby Chimera » July 14th, 2011, 2:04 pm

nun nun.....lol

vickyexp

Postby vickyexp » July 14th, 2011, 2:46 pm

biggy82
I dropping the van for the mech later this evening and
I'm hoping it's the thermostat, would the issue of the
block leaking into the radiator cause the engine oil to
mix with water too?

I checked the oil this morning and it looks normal.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » July 14th, 2011, 3:58 pm

not if its the head gasket

vickyexp

Postby vickyexp » July 14th, 2011, 4:14 pm

biggy82 wrote:not if its the head gasket

what would a fix for that cost? incl parts & labour

Postby sliderz1 » July 14th, 2011, 4:39 pm

so it seems your thermostat got stuck.......engine overheated and blew the head gasket

did your temp gauge go up??

vickyexp

Postby vickyexp » July 14th, 2011, 5:01 pm

it did go up once, that was some time ago but I switched off immediately,
the temp guage didnt get to go much above half. I refilled the radiator with
water and continued.

vickyexp

Postby vickyexp » July 15th, 2011, 9:39 am

so here this guys, the mech went to remove the thermostat and there was none present.
I bought the van used so I guess the previous owner removed it, on another note, I spoke
to a radiator guy who said that the plastic radiators get clogged over time because the water
passages are very small. I'm now going to change the radiator and see form there.

What do you guys think?

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » July 15th, 2011, 1:43 pm

vickyexp wrote:I spoke
to a radiator guy who said that the plastic radiators get clogged over time because the water
passages are very small
. I'm now going to change the radiator and see form there.

lolwhut? :lol:

all radiator passages are small. they have to be to increase the surface area for cooling. so if it happens in a plastic rad, then it should happen in a metal rad as well

if so, a rad changeout is not required. a rad flush may be more appropriate and less expensive. get a compression test done one your engine as well, to confirm head gasket integrity

i also suggest that you install an original thermo. engines need the thermo to be throttled on startup to bring them up to operating temp quickly. not doing so could increase the soot buildup in your engine and cause problems with plugged injectors, turbo and cat converter (if applicable)

vickyexp

Postby vickyexp » July 18th, 2011, 6:49 am

biggy82

I'm going to purchase a new thermostat and get it installed, I also want to get that
engine compression test done, any suggestions on where I can do this?

I changed the radiator to a new metal one, and it's working good for now.
cost so far :
$1800 - new metal radiator
free - radiator installation
$60 - check the thermostat in engine

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » July 18th, 2011, 1:35 pm

i did a compression test on a car years ago at Motor Critic. dunno if they still around.

check places like MasterServ and Ron's; they should have the expertise to do it

$1800 for the rad? hope you got a double-core one

lovemyride

Postby lovemyride » July 18th, 2011, 5:14 pm

Hey sup peeps..
first time in the forum, overly helpful, extremely informative. thanks to all

got my navara from N&M, running 12k or so. Took it offroad about 1month ago. had no idea a van could take so much licks (didnt know would be that bad till got in and had to push thru). WOW!

Questions though...
1. Concerned about high costs at neal and massy u'all describing..my van pulling slightly to left now, needs alignment. did this outside about 6 months earlier..cost about $600. whats the cost in N&M..any good cheap place to recommend.? would doing this outside void my warranty???

2.Weird squeaking noise coming from under tray near centre. cant find from where but van riding good..already shock oil and ting.

3.getting increased free play on steering wheel. dunno if it still within normal limits doh

4.VERY INTERESTED in installing fuel filter (algaex). i regularly use fuel conditioners for the diesel, never had a problem yet..van runs fine..no black smoke except during hard hard pull offs. should i make the sacrifice and install filter still? even after installing filter should i continue using fuel conditioners with full ups or is it unnecessary??
or and i know achievors installs for $1800. , whats the cost in N&M? and would installing it outside affect my warranty?

i know..a lot of questions. not everyone is good with the auto tech..but i know i love my ride and would like it to live another 20 years or so...

thanks ppl

vickyexp

Postby vickyexp » July 18th, 2011, 5:22 pm

biggy82 wrote:i did a compression test on a car years ago at Motor Critic. dunno if they still around.

check places like MasterServ and Ron's; they should have the expertise to do it

$1800 for the rad? hope you got a double-core one

yes, the new radiator is 2 core.

thanks for the info, will check Masterserve

Postby sliderz1 » July 18th, 2011, 8:19 pm

lovemyride wrote:Hey sup peeps..
first time in the forum, overly helpful, extremely informative. thanks to all

got my navara from N&M, running 12k or so. Took it offroad about 1month ago. had no idea a van could take so much licks (didnt know would be that bad till got in and had to push thru). WOW!

Its a NISSAN!!!!!!!!!!!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Questions though...
1. Concerned about high costs at neal and massy u'all describing..my van pulling slightly to left now, needs alignment. did this outside about 6 months earlier..cost about $600. whats the cost in N&M..any good cheap place to recommend.? would doing this outside void my warranty???

I do mine in Sangre Grande, a guy in Baker Trace, he's a good friend of my dads

2.Weird squeaking noise coming from under tray near centre. cant find from where but van riding good..already shock oil and ting.

The spare tyre may be slack on the mount........this squeak noise also caught me.....i greased em'

3.getting increased free play on steering wheel. dunno if it still within normal limits doh

rack ends maybe....dont thing other joints will be bad as yet.....the vehicle get hit?

lovemyride

Postby lovemyride » July 18th, 2011, 8:35 pm

or yea, side rail slammed into a tree root, no damage to body of vehicle doh

Postby sliderz1 » July 18th, 2011, 9:37 pm

oh yeah......check the bolts that secure the tray on the chassis if the 1st case isnt your solution

Postby Chimera » July 18th, 2011, 10:42 pm

padna navara get stolen tonight outside sunflower restaurant and bar in chase village yes

TCP 2662

White navara

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 19th, 2011, 2:19 am

wtf... that sucks man.
Hope he recovers it.

Friggin carsearch for mine yes.

Was it at at gunpoint?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 19th, 2011, 2:40 am

Concerned about high costs at neal and massy u'all describing..my van pulling slightly to left now, needs alignment. did this outside about 6 months earlier..cost about $600. whats the cost in N&M..any good cheap place to recommend.? would doing this outside void my warranty???

Naww, it won't void teh warranty - although N&M is supposed to do a free tyre rotation/balance and alignment for you at each minor servicing interval i.e. 10,000km intervals are the major services, and 5,000km intervals are the minor servicing. At the 10,000km intervals, they'll charge you $210 to do the front wheel alignment (navara's dont have adjustable camber on the rear wheels). I usually tell them not to do the alignment cuz it's not needed - van driving straight as an arrow.

Just dont' tell them that you've been secretly cheating on them..... lol !!

And yes, you should try to do an alignment after each off-roading run, or at the very least every 10,000km.

I usually do mine at Aranguez Alignment Center and they charge only $110 to do front end alignment.

If you're coming off the new Aranguez flyover and gonna head back east from that new roundabout - go straight instead of turning left to go highway. From there, go onto Aranguez Road (you'll pass the big "Thor" sign and yellow building on the corner) and then take the second left which is "Rambhuju Trace". Drive about 1/4 mile and on the right you'll see "Aranguez Alignment Center". They have signs posted up so you'll see them.

They're open 7 days a week and they have computerized 3d alignment equipment. They also qork really, so a simple alignment takes about 45 mins there, instead of fricking half-day like in Laughlin & Degannes.

lovemyride

Postby lovemyride » July 19th, 2011, 10:42 am

thanks much...:)
any thoughts about the algae x filter as per above?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”