Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
venum

Re: Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Postby venum » February 16th, 2011, 10:19 pm

that is the only concern with toyo open country

great tyres

wonder if I will get in 17" :?:

dealers should start bringing 17" A/T since the new lux is 17" alloys

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 16th, 2011, 10:58 pm

yea i fine so too!

droppa

Postby droppa » February 17th, 2011, 11:09 am

hopefully the local market will start looking into bringing in the larger sizes in AT seeing as more of the newer trucks are coming with 16s and 17s, they should have realized that there will be a good market for this a longtime ago....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 17th, 2011, 12:28 pm

^ yeah but it'll all be Nexen and Roadian tyres..... :(

getrishi

Postby getrishi » February 17th, 2011, 2:24 pm

I was going to buy the perilli scorpion str (was around 1380 for one ACL). so i decided to go with TOYO but milage mack do not have 265/70/16, only 255. so i decided to try maxxis HT-750 Bravo Series. paid 780 for one plus 40each to spped balance and mount. alot cheaper tan the scorpion, so now i'll have to see how they handle in the wet. another thing s milage mack does not have the HT tyre, only AT, and a highway tire is what i really need.

i hope the maxxis is better than the roadstone!

venum

Postby venum » February 17th, 2011, 4:15 pm

^^^ they should be

although there are some pretty good maxxis out there, there are still some economy oriented ones eh

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » February 17th, 2011, 5:31 pm

Maxxis bighorn!!! :):):)

I likee.. nice to buy and put on a set of black steel rims an keep!

rampy

Postby rampy » February 17th, 2011, 7:12 pm

I also installed 4 - 265-70-16 Maxxis HT-750 Bravo series on my BT-50 4x4
No complains so far, also paid $780 for 1

droppa

Postby droppa » February 18th, 2011, 8:19 am

Jeremy Mohd wrote:Maxxis bighorn!!! :):):)

I likee.. nice to buy and put on a set of black steel rims an keep!

exactly,

bighorns or rodian m/t, will be my choice of mudders on my spare wheels....
cheap and good performance.....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 18th, 2011, 12:06 pm

^ guys just remember when buying mudders to stay close to stock height (roughly 31' x 8') otherwise the tyres will rub on the wheel wells.

I saw a guy fitting some Maxxis bighorns to his Navara with a 3' lift kit, and they still rubbed on the front fender, esp with full lock.

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » February 18th, 2011, 12:50 pm

Saw what loooked like 275/70/15 bighorns on a 2006/07 white Ranger last week..

Lookss meannnnn...

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 18th, 2011, 1:09 pm

was it a boxy ranger? Black rims?
Somewhere around barataria - aranguez?

Seen one like that before around there.

badart

Postby badart » February 24th, 2011, 1:19 pm

New model hilux owners and those who running 17's and looking for tyres, Laughlin & de Gannes has the Kumho Road Venture SAT (SAT for Stylish All-Terrain) in 265/65/R17, $1400 per tyre.

I know someone who bought the kumho for his hilux and he said it was great and doesnt give a rough ride like the crappy bridgestone when they are worn. Dont know how it would perform offroad but it looks good.

Smeed also posted that wheel wizards has the Maxxis Bravo AT 263/65/R17 for $1100.

So those who running 17's we have some options nows.

droppa

Postby droppa » February 24th, 2011, 2:57 pm

there are all terrain tires available in larger sizes, jus the dealers don't stock them......

those kumhos looking decent for road and some slight off-roading, if they a vehicle with LSD and a good wheel man they mite even pull tru some mud too.....

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » February 24th, 2011, 3:29 pm

getrishi wrote:I was going to buy the perilli scorpion str (was around 1380 for one ACL). so i decided to go with TOYO but milage mack do not have 265/70/16, only 255. so i decided to try maxxis HT-750 Bravo Series. paid 780 for one plus 40each to spped balance and mount. alot cheaper tan the scorpion, so now i'll have to see how they handle in the wet. another thing s milage mack does not have the HT tyre, only AT, and a highway tire is what i really need.

i hope the maxxis is better than the roadstone!

Where did you get thos MAXXI Tyres?

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » February 24th, 2011, 6:17 pm

Thats the same tyre that BleedingFreak using on his Hilux...

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » February 24th, 2011, 8:28 pm

*Phoenix* wrote:Thats the same tyre that BleedingFreak using on his Hilux...

Got the tyres last year June or so... About 20,000km later and they still look like new. I have yet to rotate them... Should do that tomorrow! Hmmm...

But also take into consideration that my 5L-TE tops out at 145-150kmph and I rarely past 120kmph with the big gurl cause of the revs! :roll:

The tyres not really all that good when I was trying to pull up the hill in La Vega... Really failed me there.

Very good highway tyre. No noise, fair ride comfort (considering it's a older Hilux. I cant really compare to anything cause the tyres I got on the truck were Laredo 265/70R17's... Big and meaty! th 265/65/17 isnt that much different I suppose.

venum

Postby venum » February 24th, 2011, 9:38 pm

them kumho looking like strictly street tyres

no real evidence of AT as far as i am seeing

and freak also confirms that they not great

$1400 for Kumho is ridiculous, that is $100 less that BFG

Anyone know the price of the Kumho AT KL8 :?:, saw some on a Sportero sat and they looked OK enough for consideration

Want to go 17" in stock profile with AT

Smeed

Postby Smeed » March 1st, 2011, 1:11 pm

so i checked around in central and south......nuttin interesting in 17" AT.

nuttin in Laughlin
nuttin in Quikservice
nuttin in Tyre Clinic
nuttin by Maharaj on de wharf
Maxxis Bravo in 265/65/17 by Wheel Wizards for $1100
called James.....said he will reopen somewhere in chaguanas in a coupla weeks....said he has 15" - 18" rims and tyres for de lux
next stop go be ACL in arima and Dean's in Diego.....

i almost convinced i go hadda go 16" to get AT or maybe 18".....17" looking next to impossible

badart

Postby badart » March 1st, 2011, 3:18 pm

i checked wheel wizards yest in chag they didnt hav any 17 AT, the guy said they only hav HT

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 1st, 2011, 4:00 pm

I still wish i could get some Destinations ATs for the Hilux and ah fix...

venum

Postby venum » March 1st, 2011, 4:49 pm

the sad reality

roadstone/ nexxen rodian owns us all

Smeed

Postby Smeed » March 1st, 2011, 8:09 pm

badart - i went in and met with miss wheel wizard....she then went to the back and brought out one ah de tires.....i believe was de maxxis bravo 771 for $1100

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 1st, 2011, 8:28 pm

badart wrote:i checked wheel wizards yest in chag they didnt hav any 17 AT, the guy said they only hav HT

when they get stock it usually sold quickly - you need to book the order and they will bring it in for you

badart

Postby badart » March 1st, 2011, 9:39 pm

^ ok cool if i decide on the maxxis i would hav to do tht, btw any1 using the maxxis AT? any reviews on it?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 2nd, 2011, 2:46 am

Smeed wrote:so i checked around in central and south......nuttin interesting in 17" AT.

nuttin in Laughlin
nuttin in Quikservice
nuttin in Tyre Clinic
nuttin by Maharaj on de wharf
Maxxis Bravo in 265/65/17 by Wheel Wizards for $1100
called James.....said he will reopen somewhere in chaguanas in a coupla weeks....said he has 15" - 18" rims and tyres for de lux
next stop go be ACL in arima and Dean's in Diego.....

i almost convinced i go hadda go 16" to get AT or maybe 18".....17" looking next to impossible

^yup, I can confirm that for you.

Deans wheels in Diego Martin has some "Dominator" all-terrains in size 265/70R17. He had them last year, not sure if he does now but I think he brings them in regularly. Was $1100 per tyre, and the tread pattern was similar to the Toyo Open Country.

Almost no-one in trinidad brings in 17-inch tyres because 16 is the default size for most pickups/suv's for many years now.

And even so, the three vehicles that now use 17-inch wheels: The Hilux, Prado and Fortuner all use HT's as their stock wheels. You'll only get Roadstone and Nexen HT's in those sizes, and for higher-end tyres you'll probably get Goodyear and Pirelli's in that size - but again, only in highway tyres.

Probably over the next couple years you'll start to see 17-inch all-terrain tyres start to trickle into the country, but for now 16'' is the standard size.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 2nd, 2011, 2:48 am

badart wrote:^ ok cool if i decide on the maxxis i would hav to do tht, btw any1 using the maxxis AT? any reviews on it?

A friend of mine has Maxxis Bravo's All-terrains on his Suzuki GV.
Says they're pretty good on the highway, low noise and good wet traction.
Hasn't taken it off road yet, but the tread-pattern is pretty aggressive so I figure it'll do decently enough on dirt trails and sandy beach.

But like most all-terrain tyres, deep mud, clay and waterlogged soil would probably prove difficult.

I reckon it's a good tyre and a decent choice for all-terrains.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 2nd, 2011, 5:58 am

Nah the maxxis is really sweet - good threadwear, great for wet roads and offroading. That's my next tire purchase

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » March 2nd, 2011, 6:43 pm

Seeing alot of vehicles these days with the Maxxis Bighorns...

I can also attest to the fact that no one brings in good AT tyres in 17"... I searched for close to 5-6 months before I got the Kumho. I got a very good deal with them from LDG, that's why I took em!

Great on road. Moderate offroad.

Smeed

Postby Smeed » March 2nd, 2011, 10:15 pm

more searching.....

nutten in federal
nutten by Lynton Ramasir
Dunlop Grandtrek in 265/65/17 at Ramrattans - $1500 - treadwear of either 420 or 480 (i cyah remember).....sales fella say is AT......buh i doh tink is AT.....looking on tirerack all de dunlop grandtrek is HT....i cud be wrong

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”