TECH Thread - MITSUBISHI L200, Sportero, Triton.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
venum

Re: TECH Thread - MITSUBISHI L200, Sportero, Triton.

Postby venum » December 14th, 2012, 9:06 pm

AllTrac wrote:venum, a couple quick questions, did you remove the top and bottom intake manifold? did you reuse the gasket or had to get new ones? also does the diesel injectors need to come off to get both manifolds off?

i did not remove the manifold as it was not that dirty although the egr was stink nasty, so I can't say about the gaskets

i resused all teh egr gaskets

and I do not believe that teh injectors need to be removed, but I will have to recheck on that one for you

Postby DVSTT » December 15th, 2012, 7:49 pm

Guys, what are good tires to put on the sportero? 265/70/16. Currently has PT2's but the front tires are due for change. The options are Roadstone and Maxiis. Which you recommend?

venum

Postby venum » December 15th, 2012, 10:57 pm

stay away from 275's

the steering gets a bit stiff with anything more than 265

Roadstone is shiot, so between those 2 choice, i would say maxxix

modifierz

Postby modifierz » December 16th, 2012, 12:30 pm

Looking for a powersteering box for the L200 2000 model (TBH series)

Send me a pm or call 6814100

Postby DVSTT » December 16th, 2012, 5:47 pm

venum wrote:stay away from 275's

the steering gets a bit stiff with anything more than 265

Roadstone is shiot, so between those 2 choice, i would say maxxix

Hmm so which tire you recommend out of all? Grandtrek PT2s are good, but the back does tend to fishtail easily exiting turns at normal speeds. Also, the tires screech alot if you pull off hard.

venum

Postby venum » December 17th, 2012, 2:19 pm

DVSTT wrote:
Hmm so which tire you recommend out of all? Grandtrek PT2s are good, but the back does tend to fishtail easily exiting turns at normal speeds. Also, the tires screech alot if you pull off hard.

whatever brand you decide on keep it to 265 max, not more

I have noticed that not all tyres sized 265 are the same width

I was looking at some new BFG AT KO the other day and the 265 looked like 275

the 255 looked like 265

I would recommend Michelin or BFG, but they are expensive, more expensive that I care to spend

the Dunlops are cheaper but nit nearly as good

welcome to the world of open diff, any tyre will screech if you pull off hard, cuz the power is usually more than the tyre's traction can hold, so don't hold it against the tyre

it's really the diff

better traction tyre will be less likely to screech, but I can make any tyre screech, michilin or bfg or any other

I am in the market soon for some new tyres, but I prefer not to spend > $4000.00 as I have many other expenses and prefer to spend the $$$ on those things

I willing to check some Firestone destinations, but not sure where has

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » December 17th, 2012, 7:08 pm

haven't been here in a few days, but thanks trac and venum. This thread has been extremely helpful in my understanding of these trucks; usually I just google something before posting a question, but dammit these tritons/ sporteros seem to get great write ups and tips...... but in russian, spanish, afrikaans, etc :S :lol:
Venum, for the firestones give these guys a call and see if they have what you're looking for:
Ramrattan M Tyre Centre Ltd 39-41 Southern Main Road, Marabella, Trinidad - 653-3124

Postby DVSTT » December 17th, 2012, 8:30 pm

venum wrote:
DVSTT wrote:

whatever brand you decide on keep it to 265 max, not more

I have noticed that not all tyres sized 265 are the same width

I was looking at some new BFG AT KO the other day and the 265 looked like 275

the 255 looked like 265

I would recommend Michelin or BFG, but they are expensive, more expensive that I care to spend

the Dunlops are cheaper but nit nearly as good

welcome to the world of open diff, any tyre will screech if you pull off hard, cuz the power is usually more than the tyre's traction can hold, so don't hold it against the tyre

it's really the diff

better traction tyre will be less likely to screech, but I can make any tyre screech, michilin or bfg or any other

I am in the market soon for some new tyres, but I prefer not to spend > $4000.00 as I have many other expenses and prefer to spend the $$$ on those things

I willing to check some Firestone destinations, but not sure where has

The LSD wouldn't help the screeching? And yea the michellin and BFG are way too expensive. The dunlops seem to be the best that are within budget.

Postby AllTrac » December 17th, 2012, 9:13 pm

guys help me track down this knock, its driving me crazy, funny thing is, its not a consistant knock, sometimes i get it sometimes i dont.
Anyway it sounds like a bad mount, i doubt it could be suspension as I get it when the vehicle is parked. When i start the van when it has been sitting for a while, i head a knock only on start up at the bottom of the vehicle but i feel it in my foot when my left leg is on the pedal rest, next to the brakes. Its just a one knock on start up. I would get it sometimes during the day, but its not a constant thing everytime i start, it varies. I think its coming from the transfer case cause i belive i can feel the knock if i hold the 4x4 leaver on start up.
I had a look at the transmission mount, seems to be in good shape. Might it be an engine mount, remember i feel it most in the driver side foot well.

modifierz

Postby modifierz » December 17th, 2012, 9:16 pm

Any help with the powersteering box for a '00 model (TBH series). It was repaired, however I was unable to get the worm for the box so I still get the occasional problems. Can anyone guide me too someone who can repair it, or where I can acquire all the parts to repair it or possibly where I can get a replacement box?

Postby DVSTT » December 18th, 2012, 9:17 pm

AllTrac wrote:guys help me track down this knock, its driving me crazy, funny thing is, its not a consistant knock, sometimes i get it sometimes i dont.
Anyway it sounds like a bad mount, i doubt it could be suspension as I get it when the vehicle is parked. When i start the van when it has been sitting for a while, i head a knock only on start up at the bottom of the vehicle but i feel it in my foot when my left leg is on the pedal rest, next to the brakes. Its just a one knock on start up. I would get it sometimes during the day, but its not a constant thing everytime i start, it varies. I think its coming from the transfer case cause i belive i can feel the knock if i hold the 4x4 leaver on start up.
I had a look at the transmission mount, seems to be in good shape. Might it be an engine mount, remember i feel it most in the driver side foot well.

Had a similar knocking sound coming from the engine off and on. The prob turned out to be that the plastic intake pipe leading to the air filter housing was slack. (It was two pieces stuck together horizontally) Velcro strapped them together and that was the end of it.
Your problem sounds different to mine, but it's worth a shot checking if it's something similar to the prob I was having.

Val

Postby Val » December 19th, 2012, 6:54 pm

Open diff? Don't Sportero's come with Hybrid LSD? At least that's what's printed on mine. But yes I do get that tyre screech on corner pull offs (with any tire I've used).

Currently using Hercules AllTrac AT 265/70/16s and they work good in pretty much anything. Just a little noisy due to the tread.

I want to clean my EGR this weekend, is there anything specific I should look out for aside from what's been written here and in the service manual? Anyone tried blanking it?

Postby AllTrac » December 20th, 2012, 10:27 am

Val wrote:Open diff? Don't Sportero's come with Hybrid LSD? At least that's what's printed on mine. But yes I do get that tyre screech on corner pull offs (with any tire I've used).

Currently using Hercules AllTrac AT 265/70/16s and they work good in pretty much anything. Just a little noisy due to the tread.

I want to clean my EGR this weekend, is there anything specific I should look out for aside from what's been written here and in the service manual? Anyone tried blanking it?

gonna blank mines in early january from off the exhaust mani, it gonna be done one time as i clean out my upper and lower intake manifolds. Should have an update with pics.

venum

Postby venum » December 20th, 2012, 12:04 pm

AllTrac buddy i have that same knock

I trying to hunt it down unsuccessfully

I though the same as you that it was a mount, but all my mounts seem fine

I get it on startup inconsistently

i was scared that it was an engine part knock, but doesn't seem so

definately not suspension

I will check ramrattan, but I find that he has mostly roadstone tyres

I going back street tyres cuz I have some big expenses coming up and I want to stretch my value for $$$ as much as I can

need an oil and diesel filter change, but hard to get these days as most mechs closed off or busy
underwash and greasing as well

not to mention insurance expiring tomm

I feel i parking up Teri till next year and using the wife's Lancer for a few

Postby AllTrac » December 20th, 2012, 12:19 pm

Venum, i thinking it could be the exhaust hitting somewhere on start up.
Im gonna jack it up this weekend, put it on 4 jack stands, ill go under and let my brother turn it on and off a couple times hopefully one of the times it would knock and I should find the culprit.

"need an oil and diesel filter change, but hard to get these days as most mechs closed off or busy
underwash and greasing as well"

There is a guy on caroni savannah road, who has done my engine oil and filter change twice on my triton, he knows it well, he charges $60 to do it, no guess work involved. He also does underwash, shock oil and nipple grease for $180-$200. He is really good an detailed, he works on sundays also, down to xmas morning he opening. If u want his contact ill message it to you. He has a hydraulic ramp so you dont have to drive up on anything. Real cool fella.

modifierz

Postby modifierz » December 20th, 2012, 3:49 pm

Any advice on the power steering box for the L200. I'm not getting it to purchase anywhere, not even in the company. Any advice on a substitute or where I can get the parts to rebuild it?

Postby AllTrac » December 20th, 2012, 5:00 pm

sorry bro, cant help yuh there, dont know. Better start doing some online searches, you could bring it in.

venum

Postby venum » December 20th, 2012, 10:25 pm

modifierz wrote:Any advice on the power steering box for the L200. I'm not getting it to purchase anywhere, not even in the company. Any advice on a substitute or where I can get the parts to rebuild it?

Filterzpro - 708-1924
Simpson Motors (246) 417-7777
Diamond Motors for the rebuild\seal kit
Ricky 684-4113
Faizam -662-0118
George - 678-5511
Nick 684-0547

Trac you asking answers, send teh number nah

i ent want to go so far from south to do oil change, but if he underwashing and greasing it will be worth my while

Insurance renewed today

Val wrote:Open diff? Don't Sportero's come with Hybrid LSD? At least that's what's printed on mine. But yes I do get that tyre screech on corner pull offs (with any tire I've used).

Dunno bout that hybrid LSD in teh Sporteros nah Val

none of teh locals came with anything except open difff afaik and that is because DM ordered them so

the uk ones got the super select transfer case (from Pajero)

Val wrote:Currently using Hercules AllTrac AT 265/70/16s and they work good in pretty much anything. Just a little noisy due to the tread.

I getting these for $995 and considering them

Postby 0001 » December 21st, 2012, 3:57 am

i know i am kinda late but..i have used a number if tires and here is my verdict

Kuhmo road ventura AT - poor tire, wet traction is very bad, wore very fast, and the van almost went off the road turning a simple corner at 40 km/hr in a wet road but it had stop raining.

Hankook AT- poor tire, wet traction is very bad, my brother actually slid into a wall coming home one nite with his van.

currently i have Michelin M/S2 and these work excellent in wet and dry conditions and wear is very slow. i do a lot of highway driving and these have surprised me for the extra money

on my brothers sportero i recently put on Michelin Lattitude tour Hp (M/s2 sold out) and again very good dry and wet traction. Thread wear is very slow and he drives the highway more than me.

My verdict is if you can afford it buy the michelin, you will never be dissatisfied. With the special on nw i paid approximately $6800 for 4 tires

If you are on a budget there are good tires out there like the Firestone which holds up pretty good as well as the Hercules.

Postby AllTrac » December 21st, 2012, 9:08 am

looks like the 2010 and up sportero coming with the hybrid lsd.
Saw a TCX at the underwash place i spoke about with the hybrid lsd sticker on the diff.

I wish i had hybrid lsd :(

Val

Postby Val » December 22nd, 2012, 10:59 am

Yea mine is a 2010. I don't think it makes much of a difference based on my limited mud experience.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » December 22nd, 2012, 3:03 pm

Alltrac, we have that same "hybrid lsd" sticker on the diff, and ours is a 2008 (2.5L though).
I would know, I spent a fair amount of time yesterday trying to change the diff oil, and was unsuccessful :(
tried removing the fill plug and drain plug using a 15/16" socket (which fit fine), but both plugs feel welded down :S
I really hate paying people for simple stuff like this, especially since I have the time now, but looks like I'll send it somewhere next week.

Postby DVSTT » December 22nd, 2012, 3:48 pm

tourniquet wrote:Alltrac, we have that same "hybrid lsd" sticker on the diff, and ours is a 2008 (2.5L though).
I would know, I spent a fair amount of time yesterday trying to change the diff oil, and was unsuccessful :(
tried removing the fill plug and drain plug using a 15/16" socket (which fit fine), but both plugs feel welded down :S
I really hate paying people for simple stuff like this, especially since I have the time now, but looks like I'll send it somewhere next week.

We have a 3.2 2009 and it has the hybrid lsd sticker as well.

But these plug and play ecu upgrades work?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Chip-It-Diesel- ... 2eb903ea55

Val

Postby Val » December 22nd, 2012, 7:25 pm

I managed to clean my EGR today, it wasn't so bad, used Liquimoly diesel intake cleaner on it and the EGR pipe. The intake manifold was the same way, but looking at how many vacuum lines and bolts I would have to remove, I opted not to do it now.

Van is idling better and seems a little quieter, but I think it's just placebo. No noticeable difference in power.

DVSTT, I use a plug n play fuel controller and boost controller, and I would advise you not to waste your money. Yes it is much more powerful, but the van isn't balanced (brakes etc) so I almost always have the settings on stock.

Postby DVSTT » December 22nd, 2012, 8:03 pm

Val wrote:I managed to clean my EGR today, it wasn't so bad, used Liquimoly diesel intake cleaner on it and the EGR pipe. The intake manifold was the same way, but looking at how many vacuum lines and bolts I would have to remove, I opted not to do it now.

Van is idling better and seems a little quieter, but I think it's just placebo. No noticeable difference in power.

DVSTT, I use a plug n play fuel controller and boost controller, and I would advise you not to waste your money. Yes it is much more powerful, but the van isn't balanced (brakes etc) so I almost always have the settings on stock.

I understand your point, all those vans get kindy tricky when you get over 160kph and most of them can do that easily. Btw, went a wedding a few months ago and saw this black l200, rell bess. Looked pretty hot, huge front mounted intercooler with light blue hoses, that they somehow managed to fit behind lower front grill. And about 22" Black rims. Don't know what other goodies were in it though. Anyone know more about this van?

Postby AllTrac » December 22nd, 2012, 11:06 pm

tourniquet, mines is a 3.2L 2008 also, did you buy yours at DM?
Its alot easier to crack open the diff filler plug when the vehicle is on a ramp and you and standing under it, when lying under the van its gonna be hard to apply force, I changed mines on a ramp.
My intended work for my triton in Jan 2013 is to install a catch can, remove intercooler and clean and also remove upper and lower intake manifold and give it a good clean and block egr. Im not gonna take on the manifold removal myself, gonna let my mechanic remove it for me then ill clean it myself and let he reinstall it. My manifold is really caked up wtih soot, i think cleaning it would help with some inconsistent idle problems ive been getting, not really bad issues but i notice small changes and those sheit bug me.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 22nd, 2012, 11:19 pm

Good read guys. Looking at a triton for next ride, any advise will be great.

venum

Postby venum » December 23rd, 2012, 4:47 am

Thanx for the PM buddy

Changed my diff oils and transfer case oil myself earlier this year

did it on the ground, while under the vehicle. easy to loosen the fill and drain plugs with the right size sockets and a nice long extension

Val

Postby Val » December 23rd, 2012, 8:09 am

Larger intercooler is easy to fit, there is a lot of space there, just not so much for thick intercoolers. I opted against installing it, any little impact with the front bumper can contact the intercooler and damage it if there's no space between.

I had a small fender bender in the front with another van, and nothing happened to the stock intercooler. Same reason I don't have a bullbar.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » December 23rd, 2012, 10:16 am

venum wrote:Thanx for the PM buddy

Changed my diff oils and transfer case oil myself earlier this year

did it on the ground, while under the vehicle. easy to loosen the fill and drain plugs with the right size sockets and a nice long extension

no nice long extension here, but I thought I could make up for it with determination and enthusiasm :oops: :( :lol:

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”