Tech Thread - Nissan Frontier, Navara, Pathfinder.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
lighthammer

Re: Tech Thread - Nissan Frontier, Navara, Pathfinder.

Postby lighthammer » December 16th, 2010, 4:29 pm

I got the K&N filter so no need for me to change the airfilters again.
But where is ROC though?
I wanna start stocking up on fuel filters for the Nav as well as change the one on the frontier.

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » December 16th, 2010, 7:51 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:450 for air filter??
i brought it by ROC for 195

jonnie i kno i jus did not have the time to get all my stuff so i jus sent in the van and they change the air filter and oil filter

i just mailed the sales rep asking her if i could change my service location to Morvant after future investigating i realized that the some hose going to the the turbo ( solenoid ) looked tampered with , and a friend has similar problems with his vehicle and san fernando hmm any way

jonnie i will go some time after i get my van fixed and stock up on filters what do u think about ROC jonnie ? lots of new original parts

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » December 16th, 2010, 8:47 pm

ROC prices are ridiculously good!!
i called around a couple parts places and all of them were higher, so im going to buy some filters and keep them
LH ROC is in the bamboo
drive all the way down keepign on the main bamboo road, cant miss it

shagadelic99tt

Postby shagadelic99tt » December 21st, 2010, 9:15 am

have to change my disc pads soon...what's a good aftermarket replacement?...d originals costing like $1000...

Dunman

Postby Dunman » December 28th, 2010, 8:15 am

grock wrote:my reverse sensors installed by neal and massy malfunctions and never works if my van is wet.....???

I'm having this exact issue. Will call N&M for them to sort it out.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 28th, 2010, 10:58 am

^ well they working well now - guess it was just some water getting into the seals.

ravist

Postby ravist » February 2nd, 2011, 3:09 pm

Changed oil last week Friday (30,000) service and used shell rimula 15w40 and van not smoking at all.... it is a mineral oil and i know i can only get 5000ks out of it but thus far, it is working pretty good..... I always used mobil from day one but surprisingly, i think the engine is less noisy with the shell...

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » February 2nd, 2011, 3:56 pm

shagadelic99tt wrote:have to change my disc pads soon...what's a good aftermarket replacement?...d originals costing like $1000...

wagner?

ravist

Postby ravist » February 3rd, 2011, 6:55 am

ROTEX works well.... Chase Village Auto!!!!

DSG

Postby DSG » February 11th, 2011, 10:00 pm

Are they any K&N filters for the QD32 engine?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 12th, 2011, 5:32 am

if it's the same airbox as the 7530T - then yeah. It's a cylindrical filter, check Teknet on French street POS for one.

Can't remember the part no. Offhand though.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 12th, 2011, 5:33 am

does anyone know where I can get OEM shocks for the 3.0 frontier?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 16th, 2011, 2:29 pm

Fellas - was driving to work this morning when I started hearing a knockiong noise from the engine compartment, almost like a flapping noise.

Eased off the throttle a little and the noise stopped, but then I drove the nav easy the rest of the way to work.

When I got in, opened the bonnet and saw this:

Didn't notice any drop in power, no rise in engine temp, no smoke and no loss in performance.Current mileage on the truck - 9100KM.

Gonna drop the truck in N&M tomorrow - hopefully they'll cover the cost of the Fan belt and labour.
Called ROC in bamboo, original nissan fan-belt = $275, while in N&M = $345.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » February 16th, 2011, 7:15 pm

nah make noise in they head!!
thaz warrnaty right there
if not stop servicing by them
my side steps come loose and making noise
hav to take the van in sat for service, lil sick right now :(
LH could hav passed by u for a sick day leave lol

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 16th, 2011, 7:40 pm

Well i spoke with the service reps in n&m over the phone - fan belts aren't covered by the warranty. I'll have to pay for the belt + labour - prob around $500 or so.

Seems like the belt disintegrating from age - probably the Nav was sitting out on the lot for a while after the manufacture date (no way to confirm this but that's my theory).

My mech. pardna says this can happen with cars that were manufactured and left on a lot outdoors for a while.

I checked the pulley while the engine was running, no shake or vibration, and the belt wasn't jumping out of the grooves. So most likely it's just age related disintegration.

Since it's not covered by warranty, I'll service it myself cuz N&M real sticking. Because of my work schedule (have to be in work for 6am!!) I can't go early morning - plus they won't take lunchtime appointments because by that time they trying to finish off their work-list and go home by 4pm.

The service rep suggested I go to automotive components (since they under n&m too) and got the same story. Best they could do is I could leave the truck overnight and collect it next day - but I'd have to supply the belt myself. Also, the service manager there never heard of this problem of disintegrating belts before.

I think I trust my mechanic pardna more than n&m - he was able to diagnose the problem and even suggested that I check n&m first so they can check the pulleys, etc. Too much bullsh!t to go through just to get an emergency servicing.

Hence I'll stop by ROC tmrw and get the belt replaced.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » February 16th, 2011, 8:21 pm

lil things like this should be covered by warranty
i think they are ridiculous
ill read up the book and see wat supposed to be covered cause they give s serious run around
i have become very disenchanted by their service

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 16th, 2011, 9:07 pm

^ yeah me too - so what I do is surf other forums like www.nissan-navara.net and www.navara.asia and try to get more info on troubleshooting and DIY fixes.

I refuse to pay $1400 for a simple oil and oil-filter change, when I can do it myself and get Amsoil at wholesale price, for much, much less.

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » February 16th, 2011, 9:21 pm

lighthammer thats BS man u need to make some noise weather or not its covered by your warranty there is no way at 9100KM. your fan belt should burst at those milages take it to massy complain ask to speak to the manager explain to him the situation be stern if the van was doing 50k+ they might have a case but that van has not crossed 10k yet and the belt burst tell them they sold u crap . with that mileage i am assuming the van is less than 9 months old and fan belts dont burst that easily its either a manufactures defect or something is wrong to the pulleys man u need to make some noise in NM and dont pay a cent . i made it clear when i had turbo solenoid making some noise that this can is to new for it to start giving problems i have owned several other vehicles that made 7+ years trouble free ,and bought this van with the same expectations of 5+ years at least trouble free , for something to happen like that and its only 9k it has to be a manufactures defect they need to fix it and u should not pay for something that should give u at least 50K with out having to change it and 50k is being generous

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 17th, 2011, 5:26 am

^^ agreed, yes they should replace it under warranty, because something like a belt shouldn't give trouble until around 30,000 km when it should be inspected and replaced.

However I checked the warranty booklet that came with the car and apparently drive-belts aren't included under warranty. Nissan states that the dealer should replace certain parts if there's manufacturer defect for free of charge, however there are certain "wear & tear" items that aren't covered. Check out what's written here:

And here's what Nissan says the dealer won't cover under the warranty:

I called the service center yesterday and asked them if the belt is covered under warranty, and the lady checked the warranty book that they have there and confirmed that the belt isn't covered and I'd have to pay for parts & labour. So then I asked her if I were to do the service myself, using original nissan parts - would it void the warranty? She replied that it isn't advisable to do so because then the technicians in N&M can always claim that if something goes wrong it's the outside mech's fault, how he didn't put on the pulley properly, didn't tighten the tensioner enough, etc. etc and I would lose my warranty claim.

She then suggested that I try somewhere closer to home, which was Automotive components since I wasn't able to come in early morning.

Called ACL, got a similar story, but the service manager said I could drop the truck lunchtime and they'd work on it first thing next morning, also I'd have to bring in the belt myself because ACL doesn't have that part.
I can't wait so long on the truck cuz it's my daily driver, so I thanked the guy and said I'll see what I can do. I suspect that if I drop the truck in there, I'd have to wait an extra day or so because they'd still have to bring in the part from N&M (or just buy it from another dealer and claim that they had it original and charge me more for it).

So my final decision is to simply buy the belt from ROC in bamboo and have my mechanic check it out. He's a fairly competent guy and I trust him enough to work on the Nav (he had diagnosed the boost-hose problem on my frontier, without having to take it apart). If we find any problems like a loose pulley or misaligned pulley, then I'll take it to N&M to have them service it because that should be covered under warranty according to the book.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 17th, 2011, 5:59 am

Speaking of which, I have a serious gripe with the cost of Neal & massey's regular scheduled servicing.

I know they would claim that their servicing is up to a certain standard because their mechanics are trained by Nissan and have qualifications, etc. etc. - but I don't believe that they can justify charging such a high price for simple oil-changes that any mechanic can do.

Besides, I believe that my own mechanic is similarly qualified - the only real difference between an outside mech and one from N&M is that the company's mech's have a service manual from NIssan from which they use as reference. I have a copy of that service manual as well, so hence in terms of level of information & specifications, we should be equal with them.

Look at what N&M charged me at my last 5000km servicing:

And thus the final breakdown came up to:

AFAIK, they use Castrol Hypuron 15W40 oil, which is a mineral oil and original filters.
I can get Amsoil 15w40 full synthetic oil outside for cheaper, as well as original filters from ROC bamboo and here's what my own estimate would work out to be:

- Amsoil 15W40 synthetic oil, 8 quarts/2 gallons = $360
- Original Nissan oil filter (outside seller) = $145
- Labour (plus tip from me) = $65 (+$20 tip) = $85

Total = $590.00

Savings = $1087.02 - $590.00 = $497.02

Now, I'm not a cheapskate, I believe in paying for good service and making sure my truck gets the best parts, materials and highest standard of labour - but I also believe in getting the best value for service and clearly I'm not getting it here.

Look at the sales receipt - how the fack does "Sublet Amount" come up to $457.50, and look at sales tax at $141.79 ??

Even when I was servicing the Frontier at Laughlin & degannes (which isnt' a cheap place), I was paying only up to $350-$400 for servicing, which included the cost of two gallons of Shell Rimula R4.

I just find this to be total B/S and the dealer hanging the statement "If you don't service by us, you lose your warranty coverage of other stuff that's not really supposed to break" is also total bullsh!t.
They're only using the warranty to bully you into spending more money in regular servicing by them.

Think about it this way, if I did my own regular servicing, I'd be saving almost $500 every time I change the oil. I only now reaching the 10,000km servicing, and I expect to keep the vehicle for the next 150,000km's. Imagine how much money I would be saving......

If you want the actual calculations, that amounts to:

150,000km worth of servicing = 15 services (at 10,000km each) = $7500 total saved.
Don't forget that at each major servicing they charge more (the 10,000 km service is a major service interval) - up to $1600 or so for these services.
And what do they do at these intervals? Besides changing the fluids & filters, they just check the brakes, push down on the suspension to see if it's working, check the alignment, and top up whatever fluid which is not up to mark.
That's it. That's what they'll charge an extra $500-600 more for.

See? Total bullsh!t.

All it takes is customer education. Be an educated consumer. Read as much as you can. Don't stick to one source of information - confirm the facts at other reliable sources.
I personally am a member of two sites dedicated to Navara's:
- www.nissan-navara.net
- www.navara.asia

and I use these sites regularly to find out info and troubleshoot for my Navara & Frontier.
By being educated and well-read, you can avoid costly repairs and paying blindly for marked up service.

If anyone wants the service manual listings with the specified service intervals, PM me and I'll give you the link. This manual states at what mileages the servicing should be done, and what items need to be looked at, checked and replaced at these intervals.

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 17th, 2011, 7:14 am

hmmmm......

i had a lil problem with servicing when i got my truck but massey has stepped up their game...well at least in my experience....
i never knew fan belts werent covered, i knew brakes pads, wipers and other wear and tear items werent....speak to the manager, with that mileage they make exceptions.....

one of the reasons they void warranty if you go outside and ive seen it happen already, a guy went by his mango tree mechanic, broke a bolt and then the guy went to the firm complaining that it sheered while driving etc....simple things like that can cause a head ache...

Honestly, i prefer pay a lil extra for the piece of mind. If something goes wrong during installation etc, they would change it at no cost, where as with an outside mechanic, "boss that thing was faulty, you'd have to buy a new one"

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » February 17th, 2011, 9:15 am

yes but sometime they are ridiculous
my 20,000km service i brought all filters outside
they changed them, something i could have done easily
dint do one other thing
my van ditn go up on no ramp, no oil change nothing else
but the charge me 2000 cause thats the fee for that service
bull... massey is a waste of time
and to top it off the put their stink black foot on my cream carpet
waste of my time, after 40k frig them ill service it myself

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » February 17th, 2011, 7:13 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:yes but sometime they are ridiculous
my 20,000km service i brought all filters outside
they changed them, something i could have done easily
dint do one other thing
my van ditn go up on no ramp, no oil change nothing else
but the charge me 2000 cause thats the fee for that service
bull... massey is a waste of time
and to top it off the put their stink black foot on my cream carpet
waste of my time, after 40k frig them ill service it myself

exactly lol i am doing the same thing

Dunman

Postby Dunman » February 17th, 2011, 10:23 pm

I totally agree. LH my 5000km service was the same cost but I brought all my parts and oil so I was charged $457 plus tax for the labour.

I think the best thing to do is carry everything and save money. Don't buy anything there so all they can overcharge you for is labour.

Plus, I does walk in de garage and watch them do everything (no swapping of my parts).

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 18th, 2011, 5:16 am

I brought all my parts and oil so I was charged $457 plus tax for the labour.

Yeah but where does that $457 come from? The service manager said at the time that with the minor services (5000, 15000, 25000 km's) they don't charge for labour - just the 10,000, 20,000 and 30,000km etc. services.

What does "Sublet Amount" mean?
I'll have to ask them when I bring in the truck next time.

But even so - if I had my own oil and filters, that's as far as the cost would go - just change it myself or pay $60 for the mechanic to do it.

Sigh.....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 18th, 2011, 5:52 am

So this is the belt after changing it out with a new genuine Nissan belt from ROC

And this is what happened to it:

You can see that the internal rubber core is still intact - so technically the belt was still good and could run for a while more. Hence we didn't think it was a manufacturer defect, more of a wear & tear problem.
I suspect N&M would have said the same thing and then charged me an arm & leg just to change it out.

Fan belt by N&M = $365
Fan belt by ROC = $265

From the wear & tear pattern on the edge, looks like something got caught in the pulley and caused the external layer of braided cloth to shred.
Most likely it was a piece of debris, perhaps a stone or stick from the last off-roading stint, that caused the shredding problem with the belt.

And this is the nut from the pulley that was seized & locked onto the bolt. No matter what we tried, couldn't get the damned thing out. Had to remove the entire tensioner arm and pulley to finally get the belt off.

Imagine what N&M would have charged for that now?!?

All-in-all, a simple job that could be done in half an hour. Slacken the bolts, get the Power steering belt off, then the fan belt, slip on the new fan belt, put back the power steering belt, and then retighten the tensioner bolts, tumble the engine and check for tightness then adjust... and that's it! Took a bit longer cuz of the seized nut, but that's nothing.

Total job cost: $265 + $60 = $325.

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 18th, 2011, 7:12 am

^ therefore it wouldn't have been a warranty issues since it wasn't a manufacturer defect....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 18th, 2011, 9:49 am

^ yup.
Hence they would have charged a whole bunch of money simply to change the belt.

Eg:
- part
- labour cost
- garage fee
- quality test
- sales tax

I wouldn't want to see that bill nah.

At the very least, I think I'll service until 40,000km or so and just bring in my own oil & filters. After that I'll do it myself.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » February 21st, 2011, 2:56 pm

anyone have the colour code for a black navara?

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » February 28th, 2011, 8:15 am

made a south run sun, and strangely this morning the engine sounding very heavy
loud knocking sound and fuel efficiency slightly falling off
hope its not a prob
will keep monitoring

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”