Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
*Phoenix*

Re: Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Postby *Phoenix* » February 4th, 2011, 6:53 pm

Would 265/70R17 fit on the Hilux...

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » February 4th, 2011, 8:06 pm

After the run on sunday I am going to switch back to the tyres that came with the truck..I am going to try and use them up a bit...Those tyres have about 20k to 30k left in them and that would take me about 6-9 months so I am not worried about dry rot of the Toyo's

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 4th, 2011, 8:12 pm

Venum - will do, will check for cracks and crevices forming.
So far everything looks good.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 5th, 2011, 5:55 am

*Phoenix* wrote:Would 265/70R17 fit on the Hilux...

if 22" crim cud fit! i sure they will!!! cuz i have a padna who had 305/45/24 on his lux and it fitt nicee...! yes i said305.. it looked mean from the front or back.. but from the said was jes bleh.... crimss! FTL!

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » February 5th, 2011, 7:29 am

Stuppeess... That hadda touch tho!!!
I wanna know the biggest size that will fit on OEM rims that wont touch...

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 5th, 2011, 8:54 am

welll one way to find out.....

badart

Postby badart » February 5th, 2011, 9:53 am

phoenix i was wondering the same thing..the front looking like it wud touch but the back have plenty space

Postby 3stagevtec » February 5th, 2011, 12:05 pm

speedaholic wrote:
*Phoenix* wrote:Would 265/70R17 fit on the Hilux...

if 22" crim cud fit! i sure they will!!! cuz i have a padna who had 305/45/24 on his lux and it fitt nicee...! yes i said305.. it looked mean from the front or back.. but from the said was jes bleh.... crimss! FTL!

A 265/70R17 is actually a 31.6" tyre.. that is almost the same diameter as a 275/70R16..

A 305/45R24 is a 34.8"" tyre and wayyy too tall imo.. will negatively affect fuel economy and ride quality by a significant amount.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 5th, 2011, 2:29 pm

yeaa.. like they take that into consideration when they buyin rims...

venum

Postby venum » February 5th, 2011, 3:39 pm

who cares about fuel economy, suspension damage, ride quality and practicality when it comes to pweeedy crims

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 5th, 2011, 8:14 pm

certainly not us dieselheads....

with our big-lug tyres, muddy vehicles, and ugly bullbars.

Certain men excluded though - that black hilux who came on the last mini-run on the 24's prove he-self.... that under all that bling, is still the beating heart of a off-road beast.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 5th, 2011, 8:31 pm

^^ :D :D :D

venum

Postby venum » February 7th, 2011, 10:58 pm

anyone know if the 15" steel rims from the new Hilux will fit the sportero :?:

by fit i mean clear the calipers :?:

a buddy of mine offered me his set of steelies

thinking bout painting them pink, outfitting them with some M/T and using them on Teri for offroad

after all ladies need shoes always

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 7th, 2011, 11:59 pm

pink??? seriously?? how about floresent green? :D

venum

Postby venum » February 8th, 2011, 6:33 pm

^ ^ ^ that is baddis colour

venum

Postby venum » February 11th, 2011, 11:07 pm

anybody on the fitment of the Hilux steelies :?:

lookinmg at teh price of 265\70\17 BFG AT from tire rack - working out to be close to TT$7000 after tax

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 12th, 2011, 4:55 pm

O.o shiett!! das alott!!

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » February 12th, 2011, 9:10 pm

I would love to get my hands on a set of 285/70/17s

Postby Team Loco » February 13th, 2011, 3:22 pm

its been 1 mth since i fitted the new Goodyear Forterras on the lux. after driving the sr5 with crappy roadstone tyres, i must say the difference reminds you about how important tyres are. the forterras i would rate as 10/10. i never thought i'd rate up a goodyear tyre. i use to use goodyear eagles for racing long ago. they were crap and ended up with cracks and never held out. thats when i moved to michelin. however after my last experience with the a/t2 (cracking between threads), i have moved back to goodyear.

definitely worth the price of $1300/piece

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 13th, 2011, 3:39 pm

I want these for the Navara....

After the scorpions have worn out...

Postby 3stagevtec » February 13th, 2011, 4:01 pm

I wouldn't mind getting a set in these...

:twisted:

Postby Team Loco » February 13th, 2011, 4:13 pm

^^^ u have a massey furgeson ??

Postby 3stagevtec » February 13th, 2011, 4:29 pm

it usually gets driven like one... :lol:

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » February 14th, 2011, 1:38 am

lighthammer wrote:I want these for the Navara....

After the scorpions have worn out...

well daz jus a few years away den....

gtiracer

Postby gtiracer » February 14th, 2011, 3:08 pm

Loco where you get those forteras and what size are they?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 14th, 2011, 4:46 pm

automotive components, masterserve and milagemack have the goodyear fortera, I believe.

getrishi

Postby getrishi » February 15th, 2011, 9:35 pm

I need tyres badly for Sportero 265/70/16. Stock duellers gave me 69000 KM. Was going to get the TOYO open county, around $1100.00. Milage Mac say container clearing call next Monday. But those Pirelli Scorpion look interesting. both open country and scorpion are traction A temp B, treadware is 520 on scorpion and 500 open country (not much difference).
95% on highway 5% on dirt roads. but the duellers HT suck on wet road and that is my biggest problem right now especially with the rain these days down south.

What i find dissapointing is 90% of places i called only know brand of tyre but not the model name. so is pressure to find reviews.

Pirelli or TOYO ? Maybe i need to borrow that 25cent and flip it?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » February 15th, 2011, 9:44 pm

Well, what price quote you got on the Pirelli?

Considering you are 95% on road, that would be my first choice.. The comparatively quick wear on the Toyo would scare me off if I was you...

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 16th, 2011, 5:20 am

The price of my Scorpions was about $1485 per tyre, including cost of balancing and fitment. I had asked for a discount and got 5% off the original price, so it came out to about $1485 or around $5900 or so (not including alignment - I did that outside after Automotive Components facked it up and made my truck pull to the left).

I was trying to hold off for the BFG's from Quikserv, but they were really expensive at $1800 or so per tyre. My main consideration though was the same as yours - I drive 95% on-road and 5% off-road, and I read great reviews of the Pirelli Scorpions. Everyone kept saying how it lasted them a long time (65,000km's and more) and they performed very well on road while keeping a decent off-road performance level. The only thing that defeated the scorpions was mud and soft-clay.

I would have gone for the Toyo Open Country, but I wasn't satisfied with the relatively quick wear-rates, although the average life of the tyres from reviews online was around 45,000km. Not too bad but perhaps by taking care of the tyre (regular alignment, rotation & balancing, etc.) it would extend the lifetime.

Here's a side-by-side comparison of my dad's Pirelli Scorpion STR vs my Pirelli Scorpion ATR

His scorpions were bought from Pricesmart in 2007, have about 50,000+ km's on them, and he doesn't drive hard at all.
Funny enough, I think his tyres would do much better in mud and soft clay than the ATR's I have, which are a more road-biased tyre.

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » February 16th, 2011, 10:51 am

Guys who had both can maybe compare them better, but from my end I never regretted or was ever not pleased with the Toyo's.
Fantastic in the dry, good in the wet, and real fun in the mud. They clean themselves great.

The treadwear I guess I will see in time if it was worth it or not.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”