Build Project: Suzie!!

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
droppa

Re: Bought a Pickup Finally

Postby droppa » August 19th, 2012, 3:54 pm

man doin a real good job boi.....

neckto

Postby neckto » August 19th, 2012, 4:15 pm

yea Bro,
I'm no welding expert or but i'm pretty pleased with the job so far

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » August 20th, 2012, 9:21 pm

Good job!
But you did not crawl under it before you buy?

neckto

Postby neckto » August 20th, 2012, 10:42 pm

yes i did, still decided to take the chance and buy it and "restore" it

this is my first pick-up and first diesel, i wanted something that i could learn on, i think when I'm finished with this project i would have a good idea and practical knowledge of how pick-ups differ from cars and get better exposure to diesel engines and it's respective maintenance

neckto

Postby neckto » August 22nd, 2012, 12:10 am

Hardest part of repair begun today – beginning with another heap load of scrap iron to cut out – I was around to see and assist so I hope the pics could help illustrate the steps involved

Cant believe that last repair job held together for so long

Next, using paper templates, cut out sections from sheet stock

Then place section on chassis and line up n clamp n tack then check back for best fitment and weld into place

Weld far past the cut section onto the solid chassis body

Now you have a (seal welded) reference point

Next section replacement piece cut and tacked into place for welding

Once both plates welded in place and together, the other junk side can be removed and doctored accordingly

Good Riddance, awaiting the scrap iron van to pass (no not for the whole van. lol)

Situation beginning to look hopeful now

Rest of pics with the completed section will be put tom or latr when I take them, I was too busy assisting n doing other stuff n forgot to take them out

Anyways.......

With the poor chassis condition, I have been thinking about possibly getting some sort of help for the insides of the chassis columns to help slow the rusting from the inside too. And after some online research this is what I came up with:\

Going to (somehow) spray the insides of the chassis with rust remover /inhibitor (wonder) let that dry, then spray in a thick coating of zinc oxide to saturate the insides.

I would love some suggestions here too on how to treat the insides (how to do, what medium to use to coat metal)

I've already began to rig up a contraption to get this job done:

Using an old spray gun, silicone tube tip, tape (masking, duct, thread seal) piece of hose from shower head, hose clip,

I got the first part of the spraying device rigged, now I’m searching around for a suitable spray nozzle for the end, also have a worst case scenario nozzle on standby (taped up garden hose / spray nozzle)

Postby Ted_v2 » August 22nd, 2012, 2:05 pm

I would think that using a spray can should work

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » August 22nd, 2012, 7:48 pm

I can vouch for the wonder 900 it really cleans out the rust and slows the rusting process it acts as a primer also.

neckto

Postby neckto » August 22nd, 2012, 8:19 pm

yep so a gallon should do it, who knows where sells this by the gallon for a good prince in south?

Around

Postby Around » August 22nd, 2012, 8:51 pm

man i hooked on this post waiting for each addition, thanks for sharing, an do ah nice detailed sheet @ the end. mentioning all who worked on proj and contact numbers too.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 23rd, 2012, 10:45 am

^^ good idea - good for business

smallz

Postby smallz » August 23rd, 2012, 7:42 pm

really admire your willingness to take on such a project bro... goin good thus far....

will be following ur build closely......

neckto

Postby neckto » August 24th, 2012, 2:05 am

Well not much new to show, in terms of pics as it will seem like more of the same thing, don’t want the thread to get boring, but basically, we completed the welding repair of the top and sides of the chassis, we gonna flip it over now and complete the bottom.

We choosing to flip it instead of jacking/ crawling under so we can work more comfortably n do a better job.

To me it’s these little extra things u do (inspite of the extra time, effort, headache) that really goes a long way to get the job done right.

The last part of the top repair consisted of the rotted out cross brace in the back. This was replaced with new 1 ½ schedule 40 pipe.
Took two days running around by various machine shops trying ot get this bent in the original form with a minor offset.
We almost gave up too cause it seemed no one would be able to come through for us. But got it done from a friend at a most unlikely source, and thanks again to the best muffler guy in Trinidad, or at least south anyway ;-)

Sorry pics quality more shitty than usual but it was late n dark. If requested I’ll try to take better ones to show the bend detail more.

Had to line this back up with some measurements we took before removing it. Tack it into place, hook back up the brakes lines, fuel tank, muffler, and make sure all these line in their respective bolt holes/ brackets before welding off. Then remove them all again.

BTW
Anyone doing chassis welding use this brand of welding rods as recommended by the welder, these are softer material rods which will allow for the flexing of the chassis and less likely to for any welds to crack or break under stress, don't try to save 20 bucks n short change yourself.

That was actually one of the first repairs shown earlier on, wanted to show how the rust already setting in asp due to the weather we having these days although its not getting wet or anything so we need to not be sticking with getting it ready for paint.

Just some last pics of the balance of repairs done to the top and sides.

Front had some previous plating done by last owner (the iron termite) so we just strengthened n tried to neaten their sheit work

Completion of back that I forgot to take out

Broken spring mounting bracket remade from H Beam, material. Strong as ever

Another Fun day tomorrow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

jblCROWN

Postby jblCROWN » August 25th, 2012, 6:37 pm

welder doing a good job man

neckto

Postby neckto » August 25th, 2012, 7:18 pm

ya bro

still waiting on that number JBL...........

neckto

Postby neckto » August 25th, 2012, 9:51 pm

Ok so this is a better pic showing the schedule 40 pipe and the bends, wanted to keep as close to original (anything that’s changed is either for the better or last resort) so went thru the extra effort instead of using the pipe straight or fabricating and welding the bends

Ok so the DIY works still going on as time will allow, trying to do the body work on the cab areas that would be hard to get to when the cab is placed back on the chassis

Using thick (cant rem the gauge) sheeting for the underneath and panels

Use ARC for the cab mount points

Thinner sheet on the inside, made patches with folds to minimize the amount of welding and welded joints, only welded a few days and rust already setting in with this weather

Anticipaton of rust is why welds and pathes were left ungrounded, so when we ready to cover then the rust would be ground off in the prep work

PS this is oxy/acetylene welding hence the reason for the charred look and burnt metal, MIG is the newer version but I’ve never used that on auto body so I can’t vouch for the heat effects on tin sheet metal

Front still to be worked on

Poor engine beginning to feel forever alone lol

And were back to the chassis, getting ready to flip her over, on her back, with her legs up in the air

Rear assembly taken out, this took half day to get out those shackles due to the rusted bolts and bushings being seized up on them

Pics of the underside:

The white stuff u seeing here is body filler YES the used lots of PASTE on the chassis, I only now get chance to take a pic of it before it get grind off

Check how worn the rotor (tawa) has gotten on one side

More dirt n grease to wash off

Some welding repairs to the front

This rotor looks better, orange lines are sparks from grinder flying, sorry

If you look closely, you can discern the bondo in white from the shiny bare metal parts

Brackets getting braced up and welded off

Underside sections of new area to be put in now

H beam material bracket I mentioned previously

Underside repairs to be done and side welds to be completed

Thickness of pipe stock I forgot to show

Thickness of old crossbrace

Back to CAB

Panel section, welded area, patch and anywhere affected by heat ground down to metal, and being covered with fiberglass body filler, supposed to be stronger, harder n more water resistant than the regular bondo

Overview of flip

Cross section patch, no more paste on chassis,

Previously welded cab areas ground down and surrounded areas also ground to metal, thick hand coated with zinc oxide primer with hardener mixed in, then following day the body guard (black) was applied and left to dry for a few days. This will be base coat of protection to repaired areas

More of work still to be done

Had to put in this light to be able to work till later into the night

If the project busts, this is my backup plan lol. Engine taped off and prepped for power washing, first sprayed purple blaster, let soak and then power wash.

Hand prime filler work, yes, hand prime!!, this is just a coat to stop the weather while can is outside, it will be sanded and final filler and putty will go on then prime back properly with spray gun – main reason for this is that high grade paint thinner is too expensive to be mixing and spraying little areas and using up the thinner to clean back the spray gun each time.

neckto

Postby neckto » August 27th, 2012, 12:04 am

prepped and taped up the engine today for painting.

painted with Harris Heat resistant engine enamel: Ford Blue

paint pics tomorrow, didn't get chance cause I had to rush out to get to get to work.....which seems to be the norm these days

Nperry

Postby Nperry » August 27th, 2012, 10:58 am

Coming along nice pal

neckto

Postby neckto » August 27th, 2012, 9:45 pm

hey thanks,

well prepped the chassis today, grinding, coated with wonder, clean up and now done sray with zinc oxide primer, engine also painted but pics of that tom, cant find my datacable

neckto

Postby neckto » August 28th, 2012, 10:14 pm

Here are the pics from last night of the chassis primed and then with the body guard coating applied (today), also pics of engine paint completed

First coat applied to welded areas

See the two tow hooks we put on, there wasn’t any when we got it the larger one is from a chain block.

Painted engine, was skeptical about the blue but it looks good not that it's on

Body guard, completed

hopefully will be dry enough in the morning to it can be painted in industrial black

civic minded

Postby civic minded » August 28th, 2012, 11:41 pm

looking good dude!

neckto

Postby neckto » August 29th, 2012, 5:47 pm

hey thanks

Completed hand coating of body guard

Changed out some rubbers on the front end suspension one time, also replaced fasteners on the areas we loosed to change rubbers

PAINT!!!!

Industrial enamel, gloss black, mixed with hardner and reducer and sprayed on

Like new again!!?!

droppa

Postby droppa » August 29th, 2012, 8:00 pm

great work being done here boi, hard part is u will never get back ur dollar for dollar value if you ever selling, but i kno its not about that...keep it up!!!!!

neckto

Postby neckto » August 29th, 2012, 8:05 pm

yea buddy, if it was i would never have even ventured into it, i just want to go with it to the last owner and pull up like if i didn't even do anything to the pick-up and give him the bucket of scrap iron i cut out n tell him i don't need these and smile n pull off lol then I will sell it for a fair price and be happy

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 2nd, 2012, 12:35 am

That welder earn he munny yes.
Looking good.

neckto

Postby neckto » September 2nd, 2012, 9:55 pm

lol, yes LH, he was a godsend!

Update time !!!!!!

The little man just itching to get his hands dirty too, at age 4, it’s the moments like these that keeps projects like these from becoming frustrating

Accident free record for this project out the window lol

Chassis and differential flipped back/over to complete the painting etc

Primer was hand painted this time to minimize over spray and creating double work

Purchased some of the parts for the mechanical part of the project

Many thanks to Ryan (Fliterproz) for his assistance but due to age of vehicle original parts were not available for some items so we decided to just go with good quality replacements sourced locally.

Ryan, I’ll still be checking you for some other less critical parts once we’re mounted back up

Clutch plate
Pressure plate
Release bearing
Pilot bearing
Rubbers and mounts
Fasteners
Gearbox shaft cover

Cab/chassis mounting rubbers made by Sasco Limited on Cipero Street, THAT’S THE LAST TIME I GIVING THEM MY BUSINESS, guy took forever, I still had to wait for them to finish them the day I finally went to collect and still got rushed down products that I have to trim etc to make them work, and on top of that the owner want to quarrel with me cause I asking how long again while waiting to collect it a week later. All that and the prices are premium!!

Why the parts place hadda b scraping off the bearing number jed? Steups

Painting completed

Paint not dry yet but I couldnt wait to start back mounting up lol

Main lifts back from the machine shop, outfitted with Teflon bushings and hanger pins replaced due to worn threads on the old ones

Fuel lines brake line and rear electrical harness going back up, mounting clips that weren’t fitting snug reinforced with tie straps
Harness shroud wrapped with electrical tape to further protect

This and work was my independence weekend, how was yours? Lol

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 4th, 2012, 11:29 am

boy we went and bade on d beach independence weekend... but looking like all the action was going on here!!

Looking good so far, and exedy is a good clutch! It's what mazda uses as their stock, and i believe ford does too.... so must be good enough for an Izzie like urs!

(that's a good name for the truck... Izzie or Suzie)

I swear is de smallman doing ur welding.. i woulda say he getting underpay!

Lol @ accident free record.

Keep going, go go go go!

neckto

Postby neckto » September 5th, 2012, 6:55 pm

Hey LH, hope u had fun for both of us lol

thanks for the name suggestion, i never even got to thinking so far yet lol

well we trying to push the work cause we need to at least get the van back in one piece by mid sept but seems that every part, nut or bolt we touch needs some kinda work or TLC so it slows the progress, also waiting on tradesmen is like waiting on Jesus, they always coming soon. thank god this is a mostly DIY project yes.

thanks for the encouragement btw!!

Update time:

More challenges, the van only came with 2 pc lift spring on the left (main and shortest piece) and three on the right. Due to this the main lift on the left lost tension as is it a thinner, narrower spring.

Looking around and shopping for lift springs was a great ordeal and didn’t have much luck, we ended up by Faiz in marabella looking for other parts and I saw a lift on display on their battery rack outside which looked just like the ones I needed. So I enquired and sure enough they were for the TFR, however, they were being sold off as is cause customers claims were that they shorter than the original springs so I bought one bundle and separated them out and using them as leafs to make back the proper amount and sizes need for the both back lifts

This is the new bundle

Some other parts sourced:

Couldn’t find brake shoes anywhere, took the old one to the parts place and also took out one the rear brake cylinders to replace saw Nissan marked on it (WTF) so with that and the bad luck with the shoe we began to suspect a changed diff!! And sure enough it was changed and replaced with a Nissan E-24 panel van SMH.

So we got the E24 brake shoe and cylinder with no worries. And will be using that diff for now until we can find back an Isuzu replacement, we just hoping the new springs line back up without major problem.

Foreseeing some parking brake replacement issues tho, sigh

Cleaned and primed springs

Same with fuel tank

While that drying, clean up the rear brake assembly parts and prep for reassembly

Primer dry, paint time!!

While paint drying, finish assemble brake.

Paint dry, time to reassemble spring and hope it work out, at least for now

Start working on gearbox, changed the shaft cover, replaced release bearing and repaired worn area on fork with some silver solder (not the soft one used in electrical) files it back to shape and smoothness and replaced (forgot to take pics of that)

Painted fuel, power steering and brake lines and put back on the fuel tank

Also, we decided to not use the replacement pilot bearing and have a bushing made, should get that in the morning

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » September 6th, 2012, 4:24 am

watching the brake shoes is 2 different types from the ohk to the brake set up,bess project

neckto

Postby neckto » September 6th, 2012, 2:44 pm

Yup, the OHK in the pic was the first set we bought for TFR and then realized we needed the E-24 that i talked about in the post write-up which u r seeing on the brake setup

neckto

Postby neckto » September 6th, 2012, 4:17 pm

Btw the E-24 shoes we got were Noki, never heard of it but it looked like same liner material as the OHK so giving it a try

UPDATE

This is the Bronze bushing to replace the pilot bearing

Bushing mounted on crankshaft

Clutch and flywheel put back up

Gearbox mounted back up, spent all morning looking for bolts to replace because some were missing when I got it

Tried some more magic with the Diff/ king bolt assembly: the king bolt holes on the diff were worn and became elliptical, so I filled the hole completely with welding and then marked back the centre as best I could and drilled back the holes, so tomorrow I will see if this magic work or bust

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”