The new 2012 Toyota Hilux

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Re: The new 2012 Toyota Hilux

Postby equipped2ripp » September 15th, 2011, 1:24 pm

$325K for a 4X2 is madness :roll:

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » September 15th, 2011, 3:13 pm

wth, nah....for a big NZE...helllllll noooooo
this country gone thru with car prices yes...whoever buy dat just plain stupid

civic minded

Postby civic minded » September 15th, 2011, 7:59 pm

what de hell!!!!! 365K for the 4x4??, nah something wrong there.

badart

Postby badart » September 15th, 2011, 11:28 pm

Maska is always more expensive than those other "Vigo" dealers. I knw some1 who just paid 330 for the current model Vigo so 365 for the 2012 model is not a surprise, would never buy anything from those dealers. TTTL FTW!

capstar

Postby capstar » September 15th, 2011, 11:31 pm

$365k for a pickup? thats the price of a 3 series!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » September 16th, 2011, 11:13 pm

http://www.trinicarsforsale.com/databas ... 2896-11002

check this one - the mods are awesome but the rice on it - killed it.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 17th, 2011, 12:46 am

@civic - yeah the rice made it look sh1tty..... Typical ricer.
Looks like the hilux hadda sell to make ends meet.

And kill it dead that truck ever see any serious mud action..... Pretty truck for display only.

Havoc

Postby Havoc » September 17th, 2011, 8:30 am

it for sale HOORAY!! nw d queschun is ware i finding $210k....

hot-tie00

Postby hot-tie00 » September 17th, 2011, 10:52 pm

D new 2012 from m.rampersad is 335k with stock 17" rims....pricey buh this includes touch screen dvd with OEM reverse camera, cruise control, VSC and Variable Nozzle Turbo n other niceness (www.mrampersad.com/toyota)....this should make the 3.0 D4-D faster than the 2.5 Navara

Postby equipped2ripp » September 17th, 2011, 11:16 pm

^ same engine as the 2011.

this 2012 is just a facelift.

bt50

Postby bt50 » September 20th, 2011, 7:22 am

Check out the review for the 2012 lux

http://www.themotorreport.com.au/52448/ ... -australia

civic minded

Postby civic minded » September 20th, 2011, 8:47 pm

is it a deliberate trend with toyota to all their vehicles look like the corolla?

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » September 20th, 2011, 9:08 pm

civic minded wrote:is it a deliberate trend with toyota to all their vehicles look like the corolla?

Yes, Toyota deliberately make ugly vehicles.

badart

Postby badart » September 20th, 2011, 9:28 pm

Another review http://www.caradvice.com.au/137084/2012-toyota-hilux-review/

Interesting Fact: 14 million+ Toyota HiLux vehicles have been sold worldwide

Looks great

Postby sliderz1 » September 21st, 2011, 9:46 am

civic minded wrote:is it a deliberate trend with toyota to all their vehicles look like the corolla?

maybe a trademark?

i still prefer the older front tho

civic minded

Postby civic minded » September 21st, 2011, 7:15 pm

I still think the sr5 was the last of the good hilux. Everything afterwards failed.

badart

Postby badart » October 5th, 2011, 9:59 pm

no offence but unless u own a hilux or can provide evidence to back up ur statements then please keep ur thoughts to yourself :twisted:

went and checked out the 2012 hilux at m. rampersad today, it looks different in person, much better, resembles the land cruiser more than the corolla

new features i noticed, all had back up cameras, touch screen double din decks, audio controls on the steering wheel, new instrument cluster etc price starts at around 300k

civic minded

Postby civic minded » October 6th, 2011, 6:35 am

Ohh gezz and ages I would swear you own Toyota yes !... My father in law have a sr5 and I drive it around quite a bit and I drove a hilux sometimes as the company I work for have a couple of them intheir fleet so I do have some experience with hilux. That's why I won't own one!

Havoc

Postby Havoc » October 6th, 2011, 8:04 am

CV, sliderz an BigZ- allyuh ruffling dem toyoda men feathers......plz continue lol!

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 6th, 2011, 12:58 pm

drove one last week.....lovely truck

Postby sliderz1 » October 6th, 2011, 7:40 pm

Havoc wrote:CV, sliderz an BigZ- allyuh ruffling dem toyoda men feathers......plz continue lol!

Postby sliderz1 » October 6th, 2011, 7:42 pm

badart........you're one of those brand loyalty guys huh?

civic minded

Postby civic minded » October 6th, 2011, 9:42 pm

^^boi i swear he is one of them fellas that want to be buried with his hilux yes...lol

boi its a flippin van ....relax yerself nah

badart

Postby badart » October 6th, 2011, 10:36 pm

first of all i dont have feathers im not a bird lol. i had experiences and i knw ppl who have had experiences with alot of different brands and nothing stands up like a toyota!!! if i was rich i would choose euro all the time!

finally i dont have a problem with ppl expressing their views on a particular product but dont just pass judgement without justifying your statements with not just what you think but with published literature from authorized ppl who actually knw wht they are saying! come on fellas we not in primary school again, we should act like we atleast have common entrance/SEA passes lol

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 7th, 2011, 10:40 am

i was *this* close to buying a hilux last year, I even told the bank to call toyota and arrange the paperwork.
But I slept on it and the next morning I called my loan officer and said to cancel it and get a Navara instead.

Here was my reasoning:
- comfort: both are very close, the navara having much more space and legroom in front and back
- power: navara wins
- off-roading: hilux has LSD in rear diff, navara has open diff
- pricing: most important variable to me, navara was $25,000 cheaper than the equivalent spec hilux (4x4, manual, fabric seats, top-spec engines).

Here's what I thought - for the price of a bare-bones 4x4 manual 3.0L D4D hilux with fabric seats, I could get a Navara and use the money I'd save to modify/upgrade it.

At the time, the Navara 4x4manual was selling for $205,000, the 4x4 manual hilux was $230,000.

Current price for a fully loaded, 4x4, automatic, leather, barebones hilux is around $270,000.
I could outfit my Navara with Mud tyres, 3-inch lift kit, ARB front bumper & winch, ARB rear bumper, Safari Snorkel, ARB air-locker for BOTH front & back and upgrade my stereo for less than the price of that fully loaded auto hilux.

Plus I'd still have lots of change to spare to buy the wife a nice pair of garden boots so she can come play in the mud too.

And it'd still be more powerful and could hold more cargo and go more places.

It's all about bang for your buck and these days, I find toyota asking big bucks for an average sized bang.

IF anyone asked me which truck to buy (and lots of ppl have) I'd ask them two questions:
- how much money you want to spend?
- what you want to do with the truck?

If they into offroading and want to modify their truck to their heart's content, then buy a cheaper truck or an older model.

IF they want something comfortable and safe, stylish and don't plan to go offroad too much yet still want ot be able to drive on a beach or go on a trail, and as long as they could afford it - yeah man, by all means get the hilux... I would never tell them no.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » October 7th, 2011, 11:25 am

^^thats how i think as well - but since i am existing customer of Mc Enerney I got a nice discount for the 3.0 Ranger as well as a good relationship with them. I choose the ranger over the navara cause of the extensive underbody protection and the offroad capabilities from stock. I dont have kids and most of the time no one sits in my backseat so space isn't an issue. I find the ranger is just comfortable enough for me.
The Hilux is just too expensive at time and availability is bad at the time( have a waiting period of 5 months). Plus toyota not willing to negitioate with price - it was either i take it or leave it... That's kinda lame cause i am paying cash not going thro a bank.

bt50

Postby bt50 » October 7th, 2011, 2:01 pm

Toyota Trinidad overkills with price and service. And all the other dealers following suit....imagine pickup in 300K range...Audi A4 was 260 3 years ago....

Trinidad is the only country where car prices going up and up...Lets see if toyota reduces the price of the new hilux as it is being sold at a reduced price in AUD due to improvements in cost and manufacturing.

We are all entitled to a import license to import one vehicle every 3 years...maybe its time to start exploring that option...

Most of you die hards in here are so versed the only thing i ent see you guys do yet is rebuild engines....lol

Postby equipped2ripp » October 7th, 2011, 4:25 pm

the A4 wasn't $260K 3 years ago... the last time it was around that price range was in late 2001 when it was $267K ;)

badart

Postby badart » October 7th, 2011, 9:18 pm

generally toyota prices all over the world are a bit higher than their japanese rivals because mainly of the build quality, resale value and reputation. however in trinidad because of a high demand, inflation etc TTTL charge higher prices. in terms of servicing i have proof tht TTTL is not the most expensive, did a comparision with TTTL and Mc enerney would share tht later on.

the questions we should be really be asking is tht if toyota prices are so high why do ppl continue to buy? why is toyota still the largest automaker in the world despite the recent tragedies? why is toyota the 6th largest company in the terms of revenue in the world? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_companies_by_revenue

hopefully someone from the toyota motor corp would show Mr. Fujio Cho and reimburse me with an FT-86 for my efforts :twisted:

Postby Team Loco » October 7th, 2011, 9:40 pm

walks in thread........so much too say!!!shakes head...........walks out........save flame thrower for another day........

oh well, cant wait till the next day.

we can get sooooooo passionate about our rides. we all know and it has been established on this forum that "to each his own". ALL MODELS/MAKES OF 4X4S HAVE THEIR PROS AND CONS. quite frankly, i have reached a stage where you can give me a ranger, sportero, navara, bt50, hilux or whatever diesel and i will simply love it. they all damn good.
the new hilux most people complain about it being soft. i beg to differ. i own the old lux and about three others, then i had a new model for a while. my company has a new model clocking 350,000kms. the only thing soft about it compared to the old one is the front bumper. the rest of it is pretty strong. i can even say that the engine is stronger than the sr5 1kzte. the 2kd in this new lux clocking 350,000 has never called for anything, not even a seal. the 1 kzte needs rebuilding generally after 200000kms.
as for the facelift model to me its not about the looks of the van. its about the direction of toyota. its been too archaic and predictable in its recent upgrades. knowing how they do a tri-upgrade series per running of a model, i could have drawn on paper an exact replica of how this new model would look. i could have guessed the front would have resembled the last run of the nze corolla. this is why hyundai and kia giving them licks. i would still buy one because of the rock solid durability.......

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”