nissan frontier 3.2

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Paullct

Re: nissan frontier 3.2

Postby Paullct » May 14th, 2011, 4:29 pm

Thanks MrCuddles but I'll be in Tobago on the 22nd anyway :( so won't be able to make that :cry: I cant wait to bring it home. Should be this week hopefully. :mrgreen:

Postby sliderz1 » May 14th, 2011, 6:14 pm

Paullct wrote:yeah i did. but still more expensive than the frontier. my grandmother is purchasing the vehicle for me and she does not wanna go second hand. so she said i can have a 4x4 just find the cheapest one from the firm available

:D :D :D

Paullct

Postby Paullct » May 15th, 2011, 8:35 pm

:roll: :oops: :twisted:

Paullct

Postby Paullct » May 19th, 2011, 8:06 pm

question:

what would happen if one was to drive with the manual hubs locked but still in 2H?

Postby sliderz1 » May 19th, 2011, 9:05 pm

Paullct wrote:question:

what would happen if one was to drive with the manual hubs locked but still in 2H?

the front axles would turn along with the front diff and shaft, however the TC being in 2H wouldnt send any power to them

Paullct

Postby Paullct » May 19th, 2011, 9:32 pm

so i guess technically it wont do any harm? just basically more wear on the axles over time? correct?

Postby sliderz1 » May 19th, 2011, 11:12 pm

yes, although the wear factor may be quite lengthy, i know 1 from wasa dat doin 325XXXkms, its has been locked from day 1 and its running quite strong to date

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 20th, 2011, 6:25 am

sliderz1 wrote:
Paullct wrote:question:

the front axles would turn along with the front diff and shaft, however the TC being in 2H wouldnt send any power to them

^^ correct.
Also, once you switch into 4H, the front axles will receive power and will rotate in a locked mode, hence your steering will be affected. Once you go back to 2H, they won't affect the steering as much but the diff will still be locked, hence they'll still be slightly stiffer as you turn the steering wheel.

Best thing to do really is just to unlock it, to save yourself any potential trouble. Only lock it when you come on a run or go offroading.

Paullct

Postby Paullct » May 20th, 2011, 6:39 am

Cool just checking. Never hurts to ask right? :oops:

termite01

Postby termite01 » May 25th, 2011, 7:42 pm

Instructions on the visor states you shouldn't drive more than 30km/hr with the hubs locked to prevent mechanical damage

Postby sliderz1 » May 26th, 2011, 7:18 pm

termite01 wrote:Instructions on the visor states you shouldn't drive more than 30km/hr with the hubs locked to prevent mechanical damage

^^i'll post a pic

but it says
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
4L : Use this position only when maximum power and traction ( eg..... ) is required
When using this position always set free running hubs on lock
Speed must not exceed 30mph/ 50kph
--------------------------------------------------------------------------

this restriction is only when 4L is engaged because of the increased gear ratios
edit :
there is no speed restricittion when 4H is used or when hubs alone are locked

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 26th, 2011, 11:44 pm

don't go about 50kph on 4H either man.

I wouldn't do that, even if there's no warning.
Don't want to wind up the diff's and cause cracking.

I'd say the fastest you should go is approx 35-40km/h in 4H and stay below 20km/H in 4L.

Postby sliderz1 » May 27th, 2011, 9:27 pm

lighthammer wrote:don't go about 50kph on 4H either man.

I wouldn't do that, even if there's no warning.
Don't want to wind up the diff's and cause cracking.

I'd say the fastest you should go is approx 35-40km/h in 4H and stay below 20km/H in 4L.

tru........i mean if u using 4 wheel drive in the first place, the road definately isnt suited for fast driving

sham1984

Postby sham1984 » January 2nd, 2013, 8:49 pm

Paullct wrote:so i guess technically it wont do any harm? just basically more wear on the axles over time? correct?

The frontier with the locks on the wheels features a full locking front differential. It means the two tyres when locked will rotate at the same rate. That translates into bad wear on the tyres when turning as one tyre travels a longer distance than the other when turning. Besides pressure on the axles, tyres will be eating up.
In 4H or 4L, the back tyres turn faster than the front tyres, so its not advisable to turn on 4WD when driving on dry pitch roads or you'll be unnecessarily stressing the drive train and eating tyres.

droppa

Postby droppa » January 2nd, 2013, 9:05 pm

sham1984 wrote:
Paullct wrote:so i guess technically it wont do any harm? just basically more wear on the axles over time? correct?

The frontier with the locks on the wheels features a full locking front differential. It means the two tyres when locked will rotate at the same rate. That translates into bad wear on the tyres when turning as one tyre travels a longer distance than the other when turning. Besides pressure on the axles, tyres will be eating up.
In 4H or 4L, the back tyres turn faster than the front tyres, so its not advisable to turn on 4WD when driving on dry pitch roads or you'll be unnecessarily stressing the drive train and eating tyres.

where yuh get them drugs dan.......that is the most crap i have read for the year!!!!!

sham1984

Postby sham1984 » January 22nd, 2013, 1:48 pm

droppa wrote:
sham1984 wrote:

where yuh get them drugs dan.......that is the most crap i have read for the year!!!!!

First you have to be a 4x4 Frontier owner. Mine locks at the wheel (full locking front differential) Secondly you should read the manual.

But I'm sure you're all too happy to bask in your own ignorance and not do your own research so I'll point you to a thread that explains it better
viewtopic.php?t=236360
look for biggy82 post on Sat Mar 28, 2009 1:51 am

Postby sliderz1 » January 22nd, 2013, 10:07 pm

sham1984 wrote:First you have to be a 4x4 Frontier owner. Mine locks at the wheel (full locking front differential) Secondly you should read the manual.

brb LOL-ing

sham1984 wrote:so I'll point you to a thread that explains it better
viewtopic.php?t=236360

search and understand difference between a centre locking system rather than f/r differential lockers,

then maybe you'll say this to yourself after :arrow:
sham1984 wrote:But I'm sure you're all too happy to bask in your own ignorance and not do your own research

zaria

Postby zaria » January 23rd, 2013, 7:33 am

sliderz1 wrote:
sham1984 wrote:First you have to be a 4x4 Frontier owner. Mine locks at the wheel (full locking front differential) Secondly you should read the manual.

brb LOL-ing

sham1984 wrote:so I'll point you to a thread that explains it better
viewtopic.php?t=236360

search and understand difference between a centre locking system rather than f/r differential lockers,

then maybe you'll say this to yourself after :arrow:
sham1984 wrote:But I'm sure you're all too happy to bask in your own ignorance and not do your own research

Behave guy's,no need to go ballistic cause someone has wrong info.
I don't have a frontier,but also do not know of any manufacturer(our local market) that puts lsd in front diff,much less diff locks(it will be impossible to steer the vehicle)so pretty sure the lock sham1984 is referring too is to simply lock the axles to the hub,unlock improves fuel economy/handeling/power and reduces wear on front axle.
What the sales and marketing people do is tie up ur head with the words"front diff lock"or"center diff lock"

droppa

Postby droppa » January 23rd, 2013, 1:01 pm

i eh no rocket scientist eh, but i go just be ignorant and stay quiet........

@ sham 1984, bring that frontier and ill show you how to use it.....

i have one question, if ur faced with a steep hill that U MUST get up and no matter how you try the rear wheels keep spinning out in 2WD, what would you do???

zaria

Postby zaria » January 24th, 2013, 8:18 am

my guess???
slap that mother in 4wd!!!!

but is it a trick question? cause that is the obvious ans.

Problem starts when u in 4wd and still not getting up.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”